Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles Reviews (20)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-03-07 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got lucky & had a 1999, great low seat height. It has been my favorite bike in many years. I have had 4 different bikes since my 1999 was rear-ended & totaled; I finally realized I will not be satisfied until I get another, so the hunt is on! Powerful, smooth, unique. Every lady has to have a Harley, now I have something to still be different!!
- johnnyswildone, knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-04 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 2000 Adventurer in June 2000 and I have got approximatley 17,000 fun-filled, awe-inspiring, comment generating miles on her (Gina). In east Tennessee she's right at home on the curvy mountain roads and around town as well. I have yet to have ANY problem with her...at all! I would take another 2 or 3 of them if i could. The bike even got Kyle Petty's attention in Bristol last year...he "chased" me down just to give me the thumbs-up and to say "great bike!"
- john slaughter, Kingsport, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-23 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This thing Trumps other naked street bikes in just about every category. I had a T-160 Trident back in the day and this thing reminds me a lot of the that crotch rocket but with much less maintenance hassels. It retains the english country road breeding of Brit bikes and corners on a rail. You can just keep leaning over and rolling on more throttle for what seems an incredible long time. Increasing apex turn, no prolem just keep cranking. I've had riders behind me on trips come up to me at a rest stop and say "My God that thing handles well don't it" Carves corners like my granddads Shefield slices a Thanksgiving turkey. It is easy to ride in traffic, great on the freeway, and looks interesting enough to start more than a few conversations. Not really great for long distance touring unless you want to strap gear bags all over the place but that's not it's forte. I am thinking of getting a 1200 Trophy for that stuff but for fun, this is my ride. If you have long legs you might get a bit cramped on the standard foot pegs. I have a set of highway pegs that come in handy on long highway driving. And I'm glad they quit making this as my classic model will soon be a classic. BTW the name Adventurer was used on a 72-74 Triumph 250 that was also sold as a Tiger Cub or some such name. Not a lot of those were sold either.
- Wild One, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-20 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i own a early 98 model adventurer. in the 20,000 + miles i have put on this bike, i can count only 3 times were a problem accured. #3 ignition coil, 1 each rear wheel spoke, (triumph dealer replaced hole wheel) and the radiator fan motor. the handling is way beter than you would think a cruser can handle. brakeing is good with stock brake pads. way better with sbs brake pads. with gobs of torque thrueout the power band. you want to go faster...just twist the throtel. with a corbin solo sadle and highway bars i can ride in comfort for an easy 9 to 10 hours, with out any achs or pains. try that on a harley. the fit and finnish and build quality is second to none. the "off road pipes" help the sound and power out. why triumph got rid of this model i do not know, one only hopes that they will reintroduce it once again. you can not go wrong with an adventurer.
- tim lett, minot, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-28 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2000 adventurer and I really love it.In my opinion its what a motorcycle should look like.Naked,clean,retro.Clasic upright riding position,no plastic!It REALLY handles great.Ive been on several trips to the mountians of New Mexico and Arkansas.It really carves a canyon.The balance is superb,the power is great.I put on the offroad slashcut pipes from the factory,and set off car alarms around town.The sound is awesome.I have about 11,000 miles now,the only problem Ive had was the spoke on the rear wheel broke twice,Triumph replaced the wheel at no cost.Its not the best long distance bike out there,but for around town,bar hopping, out to the lake,or fast mountian curves its very good.Every where I go I always get a lot of good comments.I run into t-birds and t-bird sports but rarely see another Adventurer,so I like having something different.I happen to like the rear fender on my bike better than t-birds to. It fits in nicely at harley rallys,or with my rice burning crusier buddies.Everything about this bike is well thought out,and of very high quality. Triumph discontinued this model last year, Im going to hold onto this bike for a long time.
- Drew, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-20 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
On any given day, on any production line, there is one DUD. I bought my 1997 Adventurer second-hand for $15,000 from the local dealer showroom. It had just 7,000 kilometres on the clock. Within 10,000 it needed a new alternator because the screws in each end of the alternator spindle anti-rotated out and ran amuck inside the housing - $2,000. The bike leaked oil throughout a long trip I took when it came back from the workshop. I had to take it back and get a gasket replaced - $600. Coming up to its 20,000km service the camchain tensioner disintegrated, allowing the camchain to come loose and knock the teeth off all the sprockety things under the head - conservative estimate $2,500 to fix. In this condition I have traded it (got $7,800 from the dealer) on a Legend TT. I am not fazed, and will try another Triumph. I pick the new one up today. Some bikes are just trouble. Registration number is 21 TXD. You've been warned.
- Chris, Wellington, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-30 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many bikes in the last 39 years of riding---there have only been a few bikes that I was truely impressed with---this is one of them----the last British bike that compares(in my mind) would be when I bought a 1971 Rocket 3 BSA----This bike is extremely fast--and handles like a dream---if I had a complaint--it would be that the turning radius is a little short--
- Darwell, long beach, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-28 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a 97 Adventurer with 600 miles on it, so it was for all intents and purposes, brand new. I have put over 1000 miles on it the first month, and it is a great bike. Several people have come out to see the bike while I was fueling, saying what a beautiful bike it was, and I have to agree. It runs strong, with lots of low and mid range torque. It doesn't have the top end of my last bike, but I don't need to go over 100 very often, anyway. All in all, a really nice motorcycle that should last me many years.
- pat, casper, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-20 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a 25 year hiatus from owning/riding bikes, I got the "bug" about 3 years ago after my cousin bought a Harley Sportster. I was ready to "order" my Harley when someone informed me Triumph was manufacturing motorcycles again. I checked them out and immediately made my decision. This bike is the best all around motorcycle I ever rode. Power, handling, appearance, braking, it's a true winner. I have had only one small leak with was fixed by my dealer. By the way, my cousin(who owns the Harley) rode my Adventurer and the look on his face said it all. I could tell and he did finally admit how much better an all round this bike was, compared to his Sportster. Although Triumph discontinued making this model, the T-Bird follows in its footsteps. As a side note, buy up all the used Advenurers you can find, they'll be worth something years from now (a secret my dealer shared with me).
- Marty Braun, Coraopolis, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-25 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 99 Adventurer in Ft. Myers while on vacation and rode it home. It's my first bike, so I didn't have a lot to compare it with. Since then, I've put over 3k miles on it and LOVE this bike. Still have yet to see anyone else riding one, and my Harley buddies respect it a lot more than they would an Asian import... A couple of complaints -- when starting the bike up to ride, shifting into 1st gear is almost violent. The bike wants to jump out from underneath me. Problem solved by rolling it forward while shifting into 1st. This goes away after the bike is warmed up. Also, the pipes are blueing quickly. Anyone have advice?
- Keith, Lakeland, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-26 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After looking at Yamaha, Suzuki, and (used) Harley Sportsers, I bought a 2000 Triumph Adventurer Demo -- Couldn't be happier! As a returning rider (after 20 year), I wanted something easy to handle--the hydraulic clutch is smooth as silk, the brakes are awesomely powerful, and of course it's a Triumph--It's cool. It also has enough power to handle the mountain roads and a water-cooled engine for summer desert crossings.
- Glenn Palmer, Ogden, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-19 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a 1999 Demo with 700 miles on the clock. Then packed a large duffel and the wife and took off for a 3000 mile trip through the northeast U.S. What ride! this bike never missed a beat. Got all kinds of looks and compliments from people of all walks of life. This bike is tourquey, quick, solidly built and stable at speed. Believe me I know- I've been all over the U.S. on other bikes. This one can do it all! Built like a tank, yet nimble. It's not a plastic crotch rocket nor another flashy, overpriced "me too" Harley. It never pretends to be anything other than a competent and satisfying motorcycle. Bloor really did it right! This bike is one truly classy British product. The ONLY nitpick I have is that it does not have a centerstand.
- Chris Smith, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-03 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Oh my god ...this bike is fantastic. This thing is so fun to ride. Great for someone who doesn't want to become another Harley rider.
- Anonymous, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-09 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have now ridden for 2900 miles in the month that I have owned this bike. I can't say enough good about it. I owned a "Trophy" in the 70's and it did what I wanted, but was underpowered but beautifll. This bike is that and now more. You want to take off from a light,then twist the throttle. You are on the freeway at 80 and need more, then twist the throttle. You want conversation, then stop at a light or gas station. Two up ?? no problem. Baggage?? Some problem!!The baggage rack is a bit small for my expandable T-bag and it tends to cover the brake light. The bags are dinky but will hold enough "stuff" that you need to get to quickly. Gass mileage at "cruising speed is 50 mpg. Up the speed to 70 and it goes to to 45+. get above 70 and it goes rapidly t 35 and less. Point it through a curve and take it at whatever speed thrills ya, and you will come out the other side . Seat is good enough to keep you on it till the tank is empty. Passender might complain about the low backrest on long stretches. My only complain is keeping all the chrome "shinin purdy" !!!!
- RichardWeber, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-05 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 99 Adventurer won out over a BMW R1100R for my 50 something midlife re-entry bike. The Beemer may be the better bike but it has no personality. All of the rave reviews listed are completely true. Great sound (slash cut pipes) great go, great mountain-road sport cruiser, and the best conversation bike rolling - sometimes to a fault. You have to add an hour to every trip to talk to old guys who had a Triumph in college -- must be a million of um. But the best thing about it is rolling into my local Harley dealership, and having everyone - even the dealer himself, come out to admire my Brit scooter. I tell um it's a wide glide that zigs! This is a bike you can take to a HOG rally or the BMW club and be welcome either place. don't even get me started on pulling into your local Honda dealership. The only problem is lack of after-market stuff - seats and windscreens are about all you can find.
- Dick Graham, Fishersville, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-05 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 99' Adventurer for 9 months. I cannot even count the number of compliments I've gotten from riders and non-riders of all ages. Riding this bike be prepared to have to talk to strangers at stoplights and gas stations. In 1700 miles I have only had one problem and that was a leaky boot on my oil pressure sensor. The bike is a joy to drive with very good handling, excellent brakes, and a very broad spread of power. You can never catch the engine off guard. The 3cyl is smooth and has a great sound when combined with the Triumph Slash-Cut silencers. The rear suspension mentioned in another review is stiff for the first 1200 miles but works in and gives a very good but controlled highway ride. The comfort level is good for about 300 miles, then I've had it. It's a medium range cruiser. The Triumph accessories are expensive but I cannot fault the quality. I have the whole catalog and with the exception of the saddlebags being too small everything is great. Buy the slash cut pipes!! You can't believe the Sound! You'll have to smile when you hear your bike. Note: don't re-jet this bike. Triumph made it good from the factory. If you want a little more go, the carb needles should be shimmed up with a washer when combined with the pipes.
- Alan Srodawa, Dearborn, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-09 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my '99 Adventurer. I absolutely love it. The triple has a tremendous amount of snap torque. I love cruising the highways and back roads. This bike handles like a dream. Much better than the Sportster and Softail. The 900 has more power than any V-twin with modest carb jetting. I get so many compliments and looks from people while I'm riding, it makes me feel even better about purchasing the bike. Triumph has put allot of workmanship and pride into this bike. Harley and Jap bike riders beware.... Triumph is back!!!!!
- Steve Russo, Amelia Island, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-01 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My '99 Adventurer is great! I wouldn't trade it for ANYTHING. I can't stop at stop lights without someone rolling down their window to comment on it, heads turn and smiles start. This bike has gobs of torque and can pull away from almost anything at any speed. Comfortable enough to ride all day long!
- Ben Black, Grand Rapids, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-20 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 1999 Adventurer continues to impress, and I don't plan to sell it anytime soon. It has almost everything on it, but it would be just as good stock! I ride with all kinds of bikers, some love it and some hate my guts - but they all turn their heads when I go by! Webmaster - MotorCyclesIntl.Com
- Shawn L. Reed, Fayetteville, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

1999-12-01 2000 Triumph Adventurer Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 98 Adventurer with the loud pipes and extra chrome goodies! I get great comments from everyone, even Harley riders. The Adventurer has great low torque perfect for the stoplight to stoplight grind. There isn`t a better sounding engine than Triumph`s triple, although you must get the non-stock pipes. The Adventurer also handles great! The only complaint I have is the stiff rearend can wear on your backside after a couple of hours. Not great for passenger either! But if going to town or cruising the country roads is your bag it`s great! I would take The Adventurer over a Sportster anyday.
- mike ayers, Columbus, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: