Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles Reviews (34)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-11-16 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden this bike from Phoenix to Denver and it's quite an experience. 48 mpg on that ride! It's been reliable and lots of fun in the city and touring. However after 200 miles you may need a new saddle. I did add bar risers well worth the $100 for a long haul. The triple's midrange has excellent pull along with that triple growl. I recommend this bike to any individual who wants to be different and get the best of all world riding...
- Sammy, Ashburn, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-21 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this machine used with 32000 miles on the clock, from a young fellow who said it was too big for him. Taded a 2001 Blaster and 1200 bucks. After adusting the clutch this thing has done nothing but make me smile. I had no idea a machine could be so fantastic. Took a bit getting used to after old Triumphs, but now...There is no way I would ever go back. I too have found the mirrors to be useless, and had hoped to find a solution in this forum.
- Larry D Collins, Demossville, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-24 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Previous reviewers note: Triumph has recalled the injector disconnects so you should be able to get new ones fitted by your dealer. Previous bikes: Suzuki 1200BanditS, Kawasaki 750 GT (endurance racing twin headlight fairing), Yamaha TR1 V1000 (cockpit fairing), BSA A10 600, BSA DBD500 Goldstar, Suzuki 250, Royal Enfield 250. Goes where you point it. If in doubt, countersteer. (Bandit used to go straight on at roundabouts under acceleration). Fairing (2" higher replacement from M&P) just works at European highway speeds (70-90mph). Engine is like a massive electric motor, pulls from zero to 9000 rpm (eat your heart out Harley, I rented a Dynaglide, no comparison) at which time you're doing 70 in first or 150 in top! Twin headlights are a treat after single Japanese light. Note you need a $3 auto relay in the empty slot to make both work at once. Export Triumphs have the relay removed to suit stupid German legislation. NOT EEC legislation. Sadly dropped from Triumph range 2005. Get a Speed Triple instead and buy an aftermarket fairing such as Sprint Manufacturing.
- Charlie, London, British Columbia, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-05 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First Triumph. This bike is sick!! Fast and responsive. She offers a bit more than I can handle, leaving my imagination running. Only two gripes: Ride a tank of gas, and you'll be stiff! Second, she's kind of like me, Cold morning starts can be hard to get going.
- Chewy, Detroit ~!!~, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-27 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having ridden most of the current Triumph sport lineup I must say they all feel the same. Torque to burn. Aside from the Daytona which has a different feel. My 2000 RS has great torque and full range power. It handles itself well against the rice bikes but lacks the top end snap. Low and mid range is where it really shines.
- Mike B, Missoula, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-13 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
my bike is actually a 2001. Fun bike, pretty smooth & fast enough. Been great up until last week. The problem was the bike developed a rather bad fuel leak. I have heard similar reports on this site and in talking to techs, they don't seem suprised. Rate of leak was quite disturbing and was so bad I had to park outside until it could leak itself out. Since I bought the bike the dealership in my area was sold and the new dealer dropped the line so nearest dealer for warranty work is 100 miles away. Dealer told me my problem to get it to them, but since it is not safe to drive this is a major hassle. Called Triumph (U.S.) and at first they had no good solutions, but am still working with them. I'll post how it goes later but I am not optimistic.
- RTB, Ft. Myers, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-06 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Sprint RS it is powerful, stable, and fun, I replaced the stock wind screen and got the belly pan which I belive finishes the bkie. The on problem I have and I am not sure if others have the same problem but the darn plastic fuel quick connects crack and break with no provocation.. I am looking at getting metal replacements and that is the only grip I have. Triumph needs to spend a little more on the little things they think won't matter as they usually do. Other than that the Triumph Sprint RS is the best bike I have ever Owned in verisital and fun, with good otpions from the get go.
- Deryl Shipp, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-24 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
According to "THE LIST" in motorcyclist magazine the sprint R/Sis "Half faired version of the s/t:still looking for a niche"phooooey! Lets see, a motorcycle that has a 5.6 gallon tank that will let me ride 225-250 miles with out stopping and affords me the comfort to do so. Excelent handling on the street and with little work the track too ! Factory touring acessories,as well as after market. And a soul grabbing growl from the triple that rivals the sound of a Ducati.Its not a cruiser,not a sport cruiser or a power cruiser. not a sport bike or a standard.not a naked bike........enough! One thing for sure if Motorcyclist magazine finds a name for this "NICHE" you'll be seeing alot more of them on the road. But for now the few of us will have to enjoy riding the R/S while the rest of the world waits for a name from motorcyclist magazine for this phenominal "NICHE"
- wayne denis, baldwin, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-01 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 30 years, starting in the dirt and then adding street about 20 years ago. I do o.k. in A class hare scrambles. I've been abusing my 89 hawk gt for a decade. It's fun to slide and chatter around on but it won't haul 2 people very well. I'm a little biased since I was the service manager for a Triumph dealer in the mid 90s. (but we also sold BMW and Yamaha) The good- The RS is a very stable bike that is also very precise and easy to point. The brakes aren't as powerful as some but provide excellent feedback and are great in the real world. The suspension is firm but keeps the tires on rough roads even when leaned over. The engine is so perfect for what I do! It has gotten 47-54 mpg so far. The throttle response is so very nice, as good as a set of carbs I'd fiddled with for months. The powerband is very linear from 3 grand to redline. It comes with a DID xring chain, the best there is and it is geared for the real world, not the quarter mile. The bad- The tranny isn't as slick as most Japenese bikes. The bars are too low for my old body. Too much time on dirt bikes and in the gym focusing on forearms in my youth might be a factor here. The clutch pull is stiffer than most modern bikes, but the modulation is nice and progressive. I appreciate a quiet bike, but this thing doesn't have nearly the semi truck sound at idle the 885 triples did. It also doesn't have the wailing Paul Rodgers sound at high revs. I'd be interested in hearing from people about bar risers (wish LSL made a top triple clamp for 7/8 bars). I am also interested in a still social but more emotional sounding exhaust. The bottom line is I am very critical and this one is going to stay with me. I should also add that I only paid $6600 for it brand new! My Dad's zrx1200 ain't bad but it just doesn't have soul. Jeff
- jeff tarlton, hot springs, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-19 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I may be a tad prejudiced in my feelings being that I've always been a "Triumph" guy but in all honesty this is the most well rounded bike I've ever ridden. It may not be the fastest, most comfortable, smoothest, or best handling but it certainly comes close in all categories. After 18 years of owning my big-brothers' hand me down '73 Bonnie I stepped up to an '01 Legend TT. Instantly if it wasn't under 40 degrees and raining I was on the thing. Shopping, errands, or whatever and the next thing I knew there are 13,000 mi on it in just over a year. I kissed it goodbye last week in favor of a new leftover '01 Sprint RS (hey, at 7500 US how could I say no =D) Saturday afternoon I left the dealership, with the salesman saying "See ya in a few weeks", Wed. on my lunch break I'm dropping it off for the "500 mi service" with 560 on it. This bike is a total dream. It handles awesome, acceleration is a non-issue, and the looks? No worries there. I ride 80 mi a day round trip to work, almost all highway and it's plenty comfy at 85/90 mph on the Pa. T/P. Twisties? Pick a road, any road. I know it could be the novelty of a new machine, my love for the name, or just plain insanity talking here but if this bike is as reliable as the Legend was I may just have it longer then that ratty old Lukens Electric plagued Bonnie that rattled my nads for such a long time.
- Eric Porteous, Spring City, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-12 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 01 RS from North County Yamaha June 12, 2002. After not having ridden for 26 years, I was apprehensive for this bike might be too big for me. I lived about 20 minutes away from Mt. Palomar and is considered as one of the prime location for biking the twisties. The bike was very responsive and yet forgiving. I followed a co-worker who was quite adept in two wheeling and in a matter of days, I was comfortable negotiating hairpin turns on the south grade of Mt. Palomar. The bike is a joy to ride and own. I wonder how much more fun factor I would have if I had the performance of the 02 engine.
- Sonny Cavarlez, Escondido, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-26 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In 12/01, at age 49, realizing after 35 years of wanting a Triumph that my ability to do so and ride one was rapidly fading, I bought a yellow 2000 RS at a good discount. My first motorcycle, any problems I have had are my limitations, not the bike's. It looks great, runs well, and is waiting patiently for me to gain the skills to allow it freedom. I will never sell this motorcycle. I hope to own more in my dwindling future, a Tiger, maybe a Speed Triple, a Ducati or Moto Guzzi also. Right now, this bike is perfect. It does all I want it to do and tells me more is out there. Enough of the poetry. All Sprint RS owners should get a hold of the August 2002 Motorcyclist. The Sprint RS.S is coming. It is a beautiful motorcycle designed by Triumph's Italian connection. It seems to be creeping in on the area left wanting by those who want the best Of the Daytona, RS, and Speed Triple. John Bloor and company are doing a fabulous job of responding to those who love the British motorcycle industry, without which none of us would have any idea of what a motorcycle should look like and be. If there are any faults with the new Triumphs it is the same problem that Rip Van Winkle had. He slept awhile, but he woke up, and he caught up. Peace to all, ride safely. JIm
- Jim Hohmann, Langhorne, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-05 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my RS from Baxter Cycle in Marne Iowa. I have put 6300 miles on the bike. It runs flawless. Baxters put the race canisters and tuned it for the canisters. I installed the the high risers from Gen Mar to get away from the wrist pressure and they work great I also added a higher wind screen from Zero Gravity for cold Montana rides.. I have been riding and racing motorcycles since 1952 and owned everything from Ducati 900's to Harley 's I have never had a finer ride nor dealt with a better dealer than my Triumph dealer who happens to be 1500 miles from my home. He's that good and so are the bikes he sells. I have never needed more horsepower and the handling is great on a mountain road . The 2002's even make more power .Happy trails
- Ken allaman, virginia city, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-17 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently took a 1300 mile trip on this bike (Honda Hoot) and let me make one thing abundantly clear, it was not as comfortable as almost any Cruiser on the market. Having said that, I still do not regret my purchase. The weight on my wrists took some getting used to. Pain from there would then creep to my elbows and shoulders. No highway bars to hang weary legs on. And the angle of the seat places the family jewels in a rather uncomfortable position. These ergonomics become a nuisance only, on long boring interstate travel. Once on the backroads, however, these problems fade to nothing. It truly is exhilarating riding this bike. Your whole body comes alive as you do things impossible on a cruiser. I strongly recommend this bike to any ex-cruiser out there. It will give you what you have been searching for. Search around for a good deal. They are out there. (I paid 1600.00 under MSRP for a 2000 model in 2001. 9400.00 is too much for this bike.) Hope I've been some help. Give a wave if you see me. I'll be the one on the yellow RS wearing a biker jacket and a big sh!!-eating stupid gin.
- Mike Selbe, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-08 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my RS in August of '00. It shares my riding with a Legend. I ride the RS to scare the daylights out of myself and it does! Runs better than I can. Had a clutch cable problem that was replaced no questions. Seems some of the Rs's had the cable routed wrong at the factory. No other issues. Very happy. Biggest improvement was getting rid of the Bridgestones at 2700 miles for Michelin macadams. Having done a lot of dirt riding in the past I tend to be heavy on the rear brake. This caused constant skids and sideways slides with Bridgestones. The Michelins are straight as an arrow. Every Triumph accessory I have purchased for it has been first class.
- Stan Warner, Gainesville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-12 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my RS back in March, and since have put on about 2k trouble free miles. The bike is very sweet. It can do anything from commute, sport tour two up, to carve up a back road. The engine has tons of torque that is available everywhere, making this a very serious very street worthy bike. Once the power comes on, it is there to stay. The riding position is fairly comfortable for this sort of bike, with good windweather protection from the half fairing. It handles very well, and is incredibly stable in almost all situations. I bought this bike because it can do just about anything a modern motorcycle should be able to do, and can do it well. I think the Triumph reliability issue is a thing of the past, as this bike is extremely well engineered and well built. And the novelty of the Triumph badge just makes the bike that much more interesting. I plan on having this bike for a long time.
- JBM, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-22 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike other than shifting 1st to 2nd I am giving them one more chance to correct. For some strange reason this has been a persistent problem with my bike. There is something very wrong with the foot shifter. The techs in GA say it is a quick fix, I do not want to hear about a break-in period. 1600 miles and sometimes it is a safety hazard to not be able to go into second. If this problem could be fixed then I would be so happy. I have talked to several triumph owners and nobody has had this severe a problem. I suspect the dealer has not taken it out for a test drive.
- glenn savastano, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-14 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in a Shadow Spirit for this bike. Oh! So this is what it's like to ride a motorcycle. I will cruise nevermore. 1200 miles no regrets. Honda Hoot here I come via the Dragon.
- Mike Selbe, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-30 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yellow without those annoying RS letters. Long past the break-in period and WOW this thing is quite the sleeper. It keeps up with many of the Boy racer types without sacrificing comfort. Can't say how many people ask...." what is that?".... can't help but just smile under my helmet. This one is a keeper.
- Theodore E Martin, Corpus Christi, TX

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-23 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2001 racing yellow RS. I looked at the Jap bikes and was leaning towards a Ducati, but after comparing quality I went with the Triumph. It has a solid ride with great performance. I also like the fact that there aren't a lot of them on the road. When I cruise up to our areas bike night, people all stop and look to check it out. I strongly recommend the bike!
- Nick Chillemi, West Palm Beach, FL

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-17 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a 2nd bike to compliment my Honda Gold Wing that would be fun, handle well, be reliable, and also be a little different than all the rice rockets or Harley cruisers that all seem to blur into the same. After a while, a rice rocket is a rice rocket, a Harley is a Harley.... and on and on ... What I found was exactly what I wanted but came as a surprise. I mean the history of Brit bikes is not one of reliability or perfect handling - different, yes , but at a cost . Usually a tow truck to finish the last part of your ride. The Triumph Sprint RS restores my faith in the old adage that there will always be an England. In a few words, the bike is wonderful. Instills confidence in riding thru all conditions, beautifully finished, RELIABLE, and buckets of fun. I ride with a constant grin. Perfect, well , no it's not ... but I love it , that is all except the mirrors , but I found a partial solution for that . If your needs are as mine were, I think you'll be happy - I am!
- Jim Keller, Los Angeles, CA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-16 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a reasonably priced, comfortable (with risers) sportbike for the real world. Power and handling capabilities are more than most will use. The local dealer (Gold Coast Motorsports) appears very customer oriented. Minor complaints include stiff shifting which seems to be improving with age, beautiful paint that scuffs very easily and a clutch pull that will leave you with arms like Popeye after being stuck in traffic. Overall the bike provides a high level of performance and comfort at a good price, while maintaining some degree of exclusivity.
- JP, Long Island, NY

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-21 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
in July of last year I got in a motorcycle crash and totaled my 86 Honda. I immedeatly started looking for a new one. I did a lot of research and decided between Triumph and Ducati. I choose the Sprint with one look. The head mechanic at the dealership had one with a custom paintjob, custom pipe, and Avon tires. I loved the way it looked and felt when I sat on it. Two months later I went in and that exact bike had a tag on it. I put it on laway in October and visited it religously since then. Today I picked it up and is was worth the wait. The bike is smooth as silk and agile like a cat. I have 500 miles left on break-in and that will take no time at all to finish up. Of course, like all other reviews, I must state the mirrors are useless. My Brother-in-law( who owns a Ducati) gave it his approval. I put 75 miles on it today, and can't wait to put more. If any wants to see it go to angelfire.com/extreme/uthe and click on Jeff's pictures. I will update regularly.
- Jeff Uthe, Richton Park, Illinios

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-10 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my RS since July and have put a little over 4k miles on it. So far, I'm very pleased. The bike has excellent power with flawless fuel injection. The riding position is sporty enough to work well on the Blue Ridge Parkway's curves yet sane enough for my 40-mile daily commute. The bike gets better than 50 MPG and well over 250 miles per tank. The handling is excellent, with light turn in but a very stable feeling once leaned over. The suspension is a little stiff, but a fine compromise overall. The only things I don't like, so far, are the lack of a helmet lock and bungee hooks. If you're looking for an all around bike that does everything well, you should see if your local Triumph dealer has one to test ride.
- Keith Hooker, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-04 2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the RS on April 1, 2000 and put 6000 miles on it in 6 months. When I first saw the bike I knew that this was the sport-touring bike I had been hoping the Japanese would build. The tank and frame blend together so there are no pronounced notches to force your knees into. Helibar risers take some strain off the wrists and kneck. The stock seat is incredibly comfortable which is good since the 5.6 gal tank gives a range of somewhere over 280 miles. The stock mirrors are inadequate so I got the lever mounts from the Speed Triple with mirror mounts and used some conventional mirrors. The bridgestone BT020 tires have 1000 or so miles left in them which is double the milage of any sport bike I've owned and have gripped flawlessly wet or dry. This is my first experience with Bridgestone fo I'm pleased. So far there have been no problems other than the fuel sensor which has been updated. My seat of the pants impression is performance somewhere between the VFR750 and VFR800 with much better fuel economy. I have seen a low of 46.5 mpg and a high of 54.2 mpg with little difference in riding conditions. I have all the luggage options from Triumph which are the highest quality I've seen. I currently work in a Yamaha/Kawasaki dealership and sell many wonderful machines but the Triumph suits me. Triumph claims that their engines are built with tolerances much tighter than Japanese bikes. Mine did not begin to loosen up until about 3500 miles. This is my 23rd bike in 30 years so I realize that it lacks some refinements compared to the latest CBR/YZF type bikes but it has personality and ridability second to very few. On the backroads of North Georgia I have chased down many "higher" performance bikes without trying and I really don't care that it won't do 180 mph. The highlight of the year was riding 512 miles in one day by backroads without straining. This is an easy to live with motorcycle. Thank you for allowing me to share this with other riders. Ride safe and have fun!
- Jeff Roberts, Kennesaw, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: