Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2000 Triumph Sprint RS Motorcycle reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

34 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Sammy

Ashburn, Virginia

Reviewed on 2006-11-16

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint RS

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have ridden this bike from Phoenix to Denver and it's quite an experience. 48 mpg on that ride! It's been reliable and lots of fun in the city and touring. However after 200 miles you may need a new saddle. I did add bar risers well worth the $100 for a long haul. The triple's midrange has excellent pull along with that triple growl. I recommend this bike to any individual who wants to be different and get the best of all world riding...
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry D Collins

Demossville, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2005-07-21

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint RS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this machine used with 32000 miles on the clock, from a young fellow who said it was too big for him. Taded a 2001 Blaster and 1200 bucks. After adusting the clutch this thing has done nothing but make me smile. I had no idea a machine could be so fantastic. Took a bit getting used to after old Triumphs, but now...There is no way I would ever go back. I too have found the mirrors to be useless, and had hoped to find a solution in this forum.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charlie

London, British Columbia, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2004-11-24

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint RS

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Previous reviewers note: Triumph has recalled the injector disconnects so you should be able to get new ones fitted by your dealer. Previous bikes: Suzuki 1200BanditS, Kawasaki 750 GT (endurance racing twin headlight fairing), Yamaha TR1 V1000 (cockpit fairing), BSA A10 600, BSA DBD500 Goldstar, Suzuki 250, Royal Enfield 250. Goes where you point it. If in doubt, countersteer. (Bandit used to go straight on at roundabouts under acceleration). Fairing (2" higher replacement from M&P) just works at European highway speeds (70-90mph). Engine is like a massive electric motor, pulls from zero to 9000 rpm (eat your heart out Harley, I rented a Dynaglide, no comparison) at which time you're doing 70 in first or 150 in top! Twin headlights are a treat after single Japanese light. Note you need a $3 auto relay in the empty slot to make both work at once. Export Triumphs have the relay removed to suit stupid German legislation. NOT EEC legislation. Sadly dropped from Triumph range 2005. Get a Speed Triple instead and buy an aftermarket fairing such as Sprint Manufacturing.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chewy

Detroit ~!!~, Michigan

Reviewed on 2004-10-05

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint RS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First Triumph. This bike is sick!! Fast and responsive. She offers a bit more than I can handle, leaving my imagination running. Only two gripes: Ride a tank of gas, and you'll be stiff! Second, she's kind of like me, Cold morning starts can be hard to get going.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike B

Missoula, Montana

Reviewed on 2003-05-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint RS

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Having ridden most of the current Triumph sport lineup I must say they all feel the same. Torque to burn. Aside from the Daytona which has a different feel. My 2000 RS has great torque and full range power. It handles itself well against the rice bikes but lacks the top end snap. Low and mid range is where it really shines.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RTB

Ft. Myers, Florida

Reviewed on 2003-05-13

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint RS

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
my bike is actually a 2001. Fun bike, pretty smooth & fast enough. Been great up until last week. The problem was the bike developed a rather bad fuel leak. I have heard similar reports on this site and in talking to techs, they don't seem suprised. Rate of leak was quite disturbing and was so bad I had to park outside until it could leak itself out. Since I bought the bike the dealership in my area was sold and the new dealer dropped the line so nearest dealer for warranty work is 100 miles away. Dealer told me my problem to get it to them, but since it is not safe to drive this is a major hassle. Called Triumph (U.S.) and at first they had no good solutions, but am still working with them. I'll post how it goes later but I am not optimistic.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Deryl Shipp

Tucson, Arizona

Reviewed on 2003-03-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint RS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love my Sprint RS it is powerful, stable, and fun, I replaced the stock wind screen and got the belly pan which I belive finishes the bkie. The on problem I have and I am not sure if others have the same problem but the darn plastic fuel quick connects crack and break with no provocation.. I am looking at getting metal replacements and that is the only grip I have. Triumph needs to spend a little more on the little things they think won't matter as they usually do. Other than that the Triumph Sprint RS is the best bike I have ever Owned in verisital and fun, with good otpions from the get go.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

wayne denis

baldwin, New York

Reviewed on 2002-08-24

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint RS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
According to "THE LIST" in motorcyclist magazine the sprint R/Sis "Half faired version of the s/t:still looking for a niche"phooooey! Lets see, a motorcycle that has a 5.6 gallon tank that will let me ride 225-250 miles with out stopping and affords me the comfort to do so. Excelent handling on the street and with little work the track too ! Factory touring acessories,as well as after market. And a soul grabbing growl from the triple that rivals the sound of a Ducati.Its not a cruiser,not a sport cruiser or a power cruiser. not a sport bike or a standard.not a naked bike........enough! One thing for sure if Motorcyclist magazine finds a name for this "NICHE" you'll be seeing alot more of them on the road. But for now the few of us will have to enjoy riding the R/S while the rest of the world waits for a name from motorcyclist magazine for this phenominal "NICHE"
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jeff tarlton

hot springs, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2002-08-01

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint RS

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I've been riding for 30 years, starting in the dirt and then adding street about 20 years ago. I do o.k. in A class hare scrambles. I've been abusing my 89 hawk gt for a decade. It's fun to slide and chatter around on but it won't haul 2 people very well. I'm a little biased since I was the service manager for a Triumph dealer in the mid 90s. (but we also sold BMW and Yamaha) The good- The RS is a very stable bike that is also very precise and easy to point. The brakes aren't as powerful as some but provide excellent feedback and are great in the real world. The suspension is firm but keeps the tires on rough roads even when leaned over. The engine is so perfect for what I do! It has gotten 47-54 mpg so far. The throttle response is so very nice, as good as a set of carbs I'd fiddled with for months. The powerband is very linear from 3 grand to redline. It comes with a DID xring chain, the best there is and it is geared for the real world, not the quarter mile. The bad- The tranny isn't as slick as most Japenese bikes. The bars are too low for my old body. Too much time on dirt bikes and in the gym focusing on forearms in my youth might be a factor here. The clutch pull is stiffer than most modern bikes, but the modulation is nice and progressive. I appreciate a quiet bike, but this thing doesn't have nearly the semi truck sound at idle the 885 triples did. It also doesn't have the wailing Paul Rodgers sound at high revs. I'd be interested in hearing from people about bar risers (wish LSL made a top triple clamp for 7/8 bars). I am also interested in a still social but more emotional sounding exhaust. The bottom line is I am very critical and this one is going to stay with me. I should also add that I only paid $6600 for it brand new! My Dad's zrx1200 ain't bad but it just doesn't have soul. Jeff
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric Porteous

Spring City, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2002-07-19

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint RS

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I may be a tad prejudiced in my feelings being that I've always been a "Triumph" guy but in all honesty this is the most well rounded bike I've ever ridden. It may not be the fastest, most comfortable, smoothest, or best handling but it certainly comes close in all categories. After 18 years of owning my big-brothers' hand me down '73 Bonnie I stepped up to an '01 Legend TT. Instantly if it wasn't under 40 degrees and raining I was on the thing. Shopping, errands, or whatever and the next thing I knew there are 13,000 mi on it in just over a year. I kissed it goodbye last week in favor of a new leftover '01 Sprint RS (hey, at 7500 US how could I say no =D) Saturday afternoon I left the dealership, with the salesman saying "See ya in a few weeks", Wed. on my lunch break I'm dropping it off for the "500 mi service" with 560 on it. This bike is a total dream. It handles awesome, acceleration is a non-issue, and the looks? No worries there. I ride 80 mi a day round trip to work, almost all highway and it's plenty comfy at 85/90 mph on the Pa. T/P. Twisties? Pick a road, any road. I know it could be the novelty of a new machine, my love for the name, or just plain insanity talking here but if this bike is as reliable as the Legend was I may just have it longer then that ratty old Lukens Electric plagued Bonnie that rattled my nads for such a long time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 34 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: