Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2000 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycle reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

30 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Rod Schulz

Heidelberg

Reviewed on 2004-12-04

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2K "Trumpet" last year, at an absolute steal with hard bags included! This is a bike that really can do it all. Once you toss a leg over, the bike fits great. Risers from the tree give the bars a nice height versus a hardcore SuperSport. The seat is pretty cushy, and the ergos are great for long distance runs; I had a few 300 mile days and with no problems at all. Turn the key, and a little whine from the fuel pump lets you know the fun is about to begin. The triple has a great note to it, unlike any twin or I-4 out there. You just have to hear it to appreciate it. The Sprint is responsive in any gear, even at highway speeds with plenty of torque on tap. Speaking of highways, on the autobahn this thing just flys. I found myself looking at 156 miles per hour in no time, and the Sprint was just as smooth as it was at 80mph. Not to mention there was still a little room left on the throttle! Fuel mileage in normal US speeds is around 45-50 to the gallon, which is superb for a liter bike. The brakes are the same high end models from the Daytona, with lots of feel and power. The clutch is a little stiff, as is the shifting, but missed shifts are an extreme rarity. The bike does take a bit of convincing in the twisties versus a Super Sport, but in capable hands they won't get away from you. Those low set pegs hit the pavement a little before you would think; I've got a scuff where the Sprint touched down ever so slightly while I was reaching out with my knee! Luckily the bike is very forgiving, and the quarter sized scuff on the belly pan was all the damage recieved. The Sprint is very nimble for a tourer, and after riding in the mountains of Europe, I've got a few track days planned for next season. I just can't say enough good things about the bike, and if you have any doubts, go test ride a 2004 before the new 2005 comes out.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott

Roswell, Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-04-29

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My ST is awesome! Other than being the biggest bike I have yet to own, it is the most fun! Love the power and how easy it is to ride. I have been to the North Georgia mountains and a trip to bike week in Daytona. Both times I went with a bunch of cruisers, man, they were filling up when I still had 3/4 tank left! I have the three bag set with some other accessories.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

EuroBikerTrash

Grand Prairie, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-08-01

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I ride mine to work every day, have almost 23K miles on it and have not had a problem yet. It starts up and runs great in all weather conditions, from temperatures in the low 30s to the 100s. On weekend trips, you can keep up with almost any sportbike rider in the twisties (as long as you know when to pull your feet up), but at the end of a 300K mile day you'll feel no pain and be ready for more. No need for handlebar risers or a taller windscreen. Insurance rates are low, I'm only paying $330 a year (quotes for sportbikes usually run me at least $2000). On the negative side, the bike feels a bit heavy until you get used to it, and the fuel guage is almost useless (but the fuel light works fine). No real complaints: 4 out of 5 is my highest rating for anything. Check out some of the Triumph accessories, the Sympatex gloves and TriTech boots are well made, waterproof and comfortable.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeremy Brown

Salinas, California

Reviewed on 2003-07-16

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike in February 2000, and I have been in love ever since. I had a Ducati 851 which had looks, sounds, and handling, but had awful ergos and slow speed manuvers were just scary. The Sprint has looks (I get positive comments EVERYWHERE I go), sounds wonderful, handles very well, and is comfortible. I ride it to work five days a week on a 40 mile loop. On weekends I take it canyon riding. I added a Staintune hi-pipe, short stalk clear lense rear signals, Triumph rear hugger, Zero Gravity light smoke Double Bubble, hub ammo, new factory FI map, K&N filter , I removed the snorkles and metal divider in the airbox, and frame sliders. I have been getting 52-53mpg, and I do not baby my bike. It has never done anything but run perfectly. I have 15,000 miles on the ODO. I'm on the original clutch, the chain was replaced at 14,000 miles(sprockets still look new), The valves needed NO adjustment at 13,000 miles, and I am running a set of Bridgestone BT-010's. I am on my second 200-50-17 rear. It fits perfectly due to the six inch wheel, and lots of clearence. I got 4,500 miles out of the last rear, and about 8,000 out of the front. I can buy any bike at any time to replace my Sprint ST, but I can't see any reason to part with such an all around great bike. Of course an MV Agusta F4 as a second bike would perfect!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck D

Victoria, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2003-01-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my red '02 St last june and have enjoyed it more than I can say. It runs like a top, never a problem. I like the understated styling as it's not too "flash". I dont make a lot of dough so it was important to have one bike that did everything I wanted to do exceptionally well...400 miles/day no prob, tons of power, lots of torque in the USABLE rpm range. To some the ST is a sport-tour but to me its a "gentlemans sport bike"...much less tame than the general perception, I think. This is an awesome, fast, sexy bike. Get the triumph carbon pipe and the heated grips and you'll fall in love baby! I'd buy this bike again in a second. A+
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peter Smith

Melbourne, Aust, Alabama, Australia

Reviewed on 2002-05-29

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Does it all well, great around town if you need to commute, on country Australian Rds you can fly, and for all day, and a great tourer, bought 2001 model delivery Jan 2002, 6,000km up, clutch cable broke after recall , fuel guage does nothing till last 100km, but otherwise and dream bike
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Woynilko

Prior Lake, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2002-04-11

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Oringinaly wanted a ZRX1100.Sat on Sprint and was amazed at comfort and ergonomics.At 6'3"250lbs comfort was a major priority.Being my first modern and new bike purchase, I was naturaly very impressed with dual floaters in front and a single disc out back.The powerband is everywhere.Recently added a stainless steel Triumph racing can and the sound is very unique and exotic.Relaced stock bridestones with michelin pilot sports.Excellent tire if your a quicker rider.The racing can came with remapped fuel injection which makes for crisper throttle response.Also eliminated a problem I had with engine dying every once in a while.Dealer says you can thank EPA for forcing engines to run so lean.Overall I'am very happy in my first year of ownership of this bike and would reccomend it to anyone looking for a very versatile machine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Schofield

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2001-07-15

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I now have a couple of bikes, a 2000 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic, and a New Sprint ST. I did ride the Honda VFR800, and I will say it's a nice riding bike, and everything the mags say, but the Sprint ST, is just as comfortable, has a better "off the line" acceleration, and there is lots of stuff you can buy for the bike. This is an excellent bike, and if you read the articles in many of the bike magazines, this bike won hands down. The one concern I had with the Honda, is that I happened to test ride the bike in the rain, and the link braking system they use, is a little un-nerving when it comes to stopping, if I want to use the front brake, I'll pull the hand grip, but on the VFR, hit the back break, and you also get the front !!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Pearce

Waterloo, Ontario

Reviewed on 2001-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I started riding again this spring after a 26 year break. I always rode Ducatis, so I looked at the ST4 first. I've always been impressed with Honda's reliability, so I tried the VFR800. I didn't like the riding position on the Ducati, even though I have very long arms. I would have bought the Honda, but I wanted hard bags and my wife loved the Triumph. The first thousand miles have been incredible. I have a few negatives. I weigh about 205 and find the fork undersprung. The engine can stall when hot in stop and go traffic. The bike falls into slow corners. I probably should have gone with the tall windshield - this area is very windy in the spring and I'm tall from the waist up. The positives are numerous. Take the bags off and it's a sport bike. Incredible powerband and awesome brakes, with very stable handling. Very good looking in red. The Triumph heated grips (dealer installed)are tremendous in the cool weather. The hard bags are very well designed both in mounting and in use. Gas mileage and cruising range are great. The seat and riding position are very comfortable. The engine is very smooth at touring speed, with little vibration in the bars. I love the traditional gauge design, although the digital clock is hard to read in direct sunlight.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Orange County, California

Reviewed on 2001-05-22

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

2.0
I purchased my 2001 ST 5 weeks ago. Had to take it back to the dealer twice for FI problem and fairing fit & finish problem. The FI is a bit rough, and the tach wanders around and is jerky below 3,000 RPMs. The power is nice, and the handling is great. However, after trying out my friend's Honda 929, and experiencing it's smoothness, refinement, and fit & finish, I became exceedingly depressed...I bought the wrong bike!!! The 929 is lighter, problem-free, and cheaper, and handles better, oh, and has more power, better 1/4 mile, better mileage, better 0-60, and higher top-end. What was I thinking???? Still, my ST is a tad bit more comfortable on long rides, mainly because of the higher grips. What really upsets me is the Honda is silky smooth, has less vibration, and shifts a bit smoother then my ST. I think I am not alone...I think most buyers of the ST are like me.....they didn't test drive the Honda first.
Reliability
2.0
Quality
2.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 30 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: