Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (19)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-03-19 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2000 Thunderbird for a year and a half and ridden in all kinds of conditions and many types of roads (all flat land). I can testify to this - This is the perfect bike for my size and riding style. Except for a new battery, I have not touched it other than standard maintenance. I ride with a verity of other makes and am able to out run almost all of them. The brakes are very good but I would rather have had dual front disc. It handles corners as if they were straight. By far the best all around I have ever ridden. The ergonomics are correct for me as they come from the factory but the seat can become uncomfortable on long runs. The fit and finish are almost 100% and the "look" is enviable. A friend parked his brand new 100th anniversary $27,000 HD next to my Thunderbird recently and everyone that passed by was looking at the Thunderbird. He was not happy. I waited quite awhile to share this review so that I truly had an overall perspective on the bike. In my opinion, this is the greatest value in motorcycles today, especially if you like the classic style. Too bad Triumph has decided to cease production of the Thunderbird.
- Joe M. Carriere, Slidell, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-25 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put a few thousand miles on a used T-Bird. Previously owned a Honda Shadow. The paint and chrome are excellent and I always get compliments when out and about. The aftermarket seat , winshield and bags have been added. Forward pegs from Great Bay and Kurakyn grips have completed the package. Pickup, lack of vibration and smoothness are positive features. The bike handles well with two up with little loss of pickup. A great choice.
- Chuck Hoesel, Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-13 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a young bloke I used to ride a Lambretta scooter and quite a few of my mates would ride Triumph's, ufortunately they would spend most of their weekends trying to get them to run. But I always loved Triumph's(being English) and wanted to get one, instead I got married and the bike was put on the backburner. Then of course children came on the scene and there was definitly no funds available for a motorcycle. One day I said to my wife, "I'm going to have a Triumph by the time I'm 40". Then I said, "I'm going to have a Triumph by the time I'm 50". I am now 48 years of age and the proud owner of a 99 Thunderbird, which in my opinion is the best looking bike on the road (lots of beautiful chrome to polish). The only downside to the bike is the removal of the seat and the seat being a bit uncomfortable on longer trips. But I can put up with that.
- Robert Ibbeson, Bunbury, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-20 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike brand new in March 2002. I decided that I was entitled to a mid life crisis and it's my first bike for 22 years. I have fitted a summer screen which is surprisingly effective. Triumph Nylon saddle bags- extremely useful. Aftermarket pipes -which sound great and a luggage rack. The bike gets a lot of attention particularly from older people who have owned Triumphs years ago. It's easy to ride and is plenty fast enough for me. It also handles better than any cruser I can think of. If I had any complaints it would be that the seat is a pain to take off- 2 hard to get at bolts. Surely Triumph could have come up with something better than this. I've now done nearly 3000 miles which have been trouble free and I'm looking forward to the next 3000. I can't really think of any bike I'd rather have including some which cost twice as much!
- Robin Wilcox, London, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-24 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike while waiting on a Bonneville. After a year, I would have traded in the Bonnie. I have added the aftermarket pipes, lower bars, flyscreen, and a custom seat. The other day I did a ton through town on the highway with a GSXR following, this bike has been accepted by the sportbike guys and cruiser guys alike and will hold its own with either. Last week, I rode 140 miles with the wife on the pillion and was plenty comfortable. This is a very good all-round motorcycle.
- Bryan, St. Petersburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-05 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike will be a Cruiser if it kills me. It's performance is exceptional, and the looks,,,well the thumbs up and a honk from passing cars is humbly gratifying. I'm bound to make this bike a cruiser,,,with no frame, I'm making supports for highway pegs (I'm 6'3")lowering the rear monoshock 1", and finding an aftermarket saddle to reduce the total seat height to about 28 inches, from 30.5. This is a bike to be seen on trucking around the country.
- C. Cox, Rockford, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-15 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At 2450 miles the engine seized and dumped me in the road at about 45 mph. Healing time including shoulder surgery has been three months. The dealer took the bike apart (under warranty) and replaced the damaged parts but wouldn't do anything more because Triumph America would not approve.No one at Triumph will answer calls or letters as to whether the bike was fixed and is now safe to ride. The bike was fine up the crash but Triumph has really shown their true colors since. I'm now sueing them.
- Danny Stegall, Richmond, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-18 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first real bike. I'm 46, did my research and got myself a 2K leftover. Wish I could have gotten a TBS (adjustable suspension, more ponies, dual front disks) but the classic T-Bird is a sweet machine. I was very concerned the first couple of days, the bike is a little top-heavy (big 5 gallon tank) and it took me a couple of days to find the sweet spot in first gear (dropped it once, but no real damage). I just clocked my first thousand miles with not even a hiccup, no leaks, no squeaks, runs like a champ. Since we are now well aquatinted and she's near the end of the break-in period, I've cranked her up a bit and she can move! Very torquey, incredible power and I haven't pushed it too hard yet. She likes curves, is good on the highway, but can't wait to get a street shield to cut down one the wind. The bike is extremely comfortable for my 5'8", 180 lbs. haven't gone on a long trip yet, but have ridden totally comfortably for an hour at least. I did get the sissy bar and will get the luggage rack and the center stand is a must for maintenance (and winter storage). After my initial trepidation (OK I was scared), I look for excuses to ride this bike and sometimes go out and ride without one!
- Jerry V., New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-21 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having previously owned a '71 Tiger I recently bought a 2001 T-Bird. I really like the appearance, handling and riding position. I get a lot of positive comments whenever I'm out on the bike, especially from other riders. Not as many as when I'm on my '74 Commando but that's to be expected. The engine has adequate power and I like the 3-cylinder feel. My only negative comment so far (I have under 1000 miles on it) is a strange vibration felt mainly thru the right footrest while pulling a grade or accelerating in 4th, 5th, or 6th gear between 2900 and 3500 rpms. It comes on suddenly and goes away by 3500 rpms. The dealer has taken it for a test ride and also felt it. He's contacted Triumph and is waiting to hear back from them. I'm hoping that the vibration can be identified and fixed without a lot of hassle and I can enjoy the summer on this otherwise great bike.
- Terry, Susquehanna, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-04 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought a new 2000 T-bird. I had a 1995 t-bird, which I sold about 2 years ago. The new bike is basically the same but with a few disappointments. First, the headlamp shell, instruments and warning light cover are black instead of a much classier chrome finish on the 95. Second, the seat removal is completely ridiculous requiring the removal of two very difficult to reach bolts. On the 95 this was accomplished by inserting and turning the key in the side panel. And what happened to the "Triumph" on the clutch cover? This is Triumph's best selling model and they are selling it short.
- Brian Miller, Pittsburgh, PA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-20 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Although I confess to having a soft spot for Brit bikes in general and Triumph's in particular I truly like this bike. Having owned Triumphs and BSA's in the sixties and 70's, I found the "appliance like" character of the Suzuki's and Honda's I rode in the 80's and 90's boring and lacking an undefinable quality:soul. My T-Bird's got soul! Great all-around bike and unlike it's predecesors, after 4,0000 Miles, no problems.
- A. Machado, Puerto Rico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-03 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike! Smooth with lots of torque. I'm 6'3" and it's comfortable even for me. The only bad points I've come across are that Triumph accessories are expensive ($475 for a sissybar????), there's little aftermarket available, and it's a little tall for shorter riders but that's why they make the Legend TT. Other than that, I'd recommend this bike to anyone.
- Jim B, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-30 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my new 2000 Thunderbird three weeks ago. I have put well over a thousand miles on my new machine. To say this bike has more than lived up to my expectations would be an understatement. I already own a 96 Triumph Daytona 1200 with 20,000 trouble-free miles on it. I expect this machine will be just as reliable. Fit, finish and build quality are typical Triumph, in a word excellent. The paint is top quality and the chrome is better than what has come on Japanese bikes that I have owned. Many onlookers have asked me if I custom built this bike. Ergonomics are good for my 5'7" 160 lb frame. The suspension and ride quality are a little stiff for my taste, but not being new to the Triumph ownership experience, I know after a few thousand miles on the clock the springs soften up and the ride quality becomes better. The same goes for the transmission. Right now it's a little notchy but after a few thousand miles on the clock Triumph transmissions are among the best on the road. Handling is very good for a standard. Once warmed up the stock Pirelli Dragons stick like glue. My seat of the pants Dyno tells me Triumphs horsepower ratings are on the conservative side. Power delivery is smooth through the entire rpm range. Torque and roll on power are very good. This triple combines the torque of a v-twin with the smoothness of a four. This bike is probably faster than my big Daytona in the real tight twisties. Ducati pilots had better look out. My new Thunderbird is a modern machine with classic retro looks. Right now my only gripe is the bike should have come with a centerstand as all chain drive bikes should. Triumph does offer an aftermarket centerstand. This is a warning, if you decide to purchase a new Thunderbird for yourself be prepared to hear all the old stories about oil leaks and Lucas electronics. Mike Shelton
- Mike Shelton, Winston Salem, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-22 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 2000 T-bird. She really stands out from all the rest. I get many comments and looks. I added the new pipes and it made a great difference in performance. My dog loves riding on the backseat. We traveled over 200 miles together on the Nachez Trace. I added the triumph windscreen, saddlebags and chrome radiator endcaps. I'm a 5'6', 120 lb. female and have no trouble handling this bike. I can't imagine ever owning another brand. I changed seats when I purchased the bike. I took the seat from the Adventurer - much more comfortable on longer rides. I'm still waiting for Corbin to make a gunfighter seat for the 2000 T-birds.
- Toni Swarthout, Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-11 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Y2K T-Bird for about six months and have put 2800 miles on already. I ride it to work every day, and take longer rides on the weekend. This bike is smooth, fast, and easy to handle; it's the perfect compromise between too-sluggish cruiser and too-hyper sportbike. Seating position is perfect for me (I'm 5'10"). Stock seat is comfortable, although I haven't made any long trips as yet. I added the factory roadster windscreen which does a good job, although I would have liked it to be an inch or so taller. Also added the factory nylon saddlebags, which although a little small, are some of the best made bags I have ever seen. I would eventually like to add Triumph's "off-road" pipes, as this bike is just a little TOO quiet. Quibbles? Just one, really. I live in Las Vegas, where summer daytime temps are regularly in the 100's. There is a lot of heat that comes out of the air scoops right between your legs, and it can get uncomfortable. I haven't ridden it in the winter yet, though, and I bet I won't complain so much then. This is one beautiful bike. People always ask what year it is and are amazed that it's a new one. I think that it would also be an excellent women's bike, or just a bike for anyone who is getting tired of asking the wife to "help push me, please." Cruisers have gotten way too large, and I believe bikes like the Triumph Thunderbird are the way "Back to the Future."
- Lon Rozelle, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-29 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've just bought the beauty and went for a week holiday around the south of France coast. Well apart from the fact that everybody was admiring her, I really felt what a motorbike should be -- power and beauty at its pureness...what can I say more? I've fallen in love
- gian, Italy, Europe

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-21 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 1996 is a looker! Very traditional looking but with the latest upgraded technology. With the Corbin seat and a removeable windscreen, an all-day trip is comfortable. If you purchase one you might as well buy a couple of license plate light housings because when backing the bike up, a slight touch will break the egg-shell like housing. Thank you Triumph and Team Mr.
- B.N., El Paso, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-09 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really like this bike, great torque, (especially with after-market pipes). I also added the leather seat and straight bars from Triumph. I get a lot of comments on this bike. Mostly I get asked what year it is. When I tell them they are always surprised.
- Anonymous, Joliet, Illinios

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-22 2000 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Our 2000 Thunderbird is the perfect blend of class and brawn. It looks like a motorcycle should and people who don't ride seem to identify with it. The "off-road" accessory pipes add a welcome touch of roughness to the exhaust note but that is a matter of choice and noise by-laws! Lose the stock seat if you will be riding 2 up for any length of time and put on the King & Queen seat from Triumph or a Corbin. The engine has huge torque available from a dead stop to a roll-on, no hesitation at all, even when you are two up. It will toast those Japanese pseudo-cruisers without breaking a sweat and I have surprised more than one crotch-rocket pilot (so don't take the factory HP figures at face value). The bike feels good, stable at any speed below 120 MPH, and handles without surprises. I think that the Triumph Thunderbird represents what is best about motorcycling without the hyper-bike or Harley wannabe labels attached to it.
- Stock Jockie 99, Regina, Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: