Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (13)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2003-06-14 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got a Corbin, solving the seating problem. I had them lengthen the front seat 1 inch.This does shorten the rider's seat slightly but allows for 3 distinct riding positions. However, I am rather tall (6'2"). Took a little getting used to but really like it now. Thanks.
- Tom C., Montgomery, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-06 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Bike during bike week in March. Since then I have added a 45-liter Tour Trunk, mud guards up front and back, a Corbin seat, foam grips, as well as a Scott oiler for the chain, a 5 over Gustovsen shield cured the wind turbulence around my head. The bars still need to be moved back about an inch for the best ride. Maintenance items have been 3 temp sensors replaced, balancer shafts, an annoying Temp light that always comes on on a warm day when stopped for more than about 30 seconds. And normal services. The gas mileage is atrocious unless speed is kept under 70. When tooling around at about 60-65 as high as 45 can be achieved per gallon. When any speed over 75 for extended periods of time are used mileage drops like a rock to around 35-37. Thank God for a big tank. 12,000 miles in about 6 months has showed some of the flaws of the bike, but it's still a good buy for the money. I think the suspension needs some finer tuning but I haven't had the time to really tweak it. Over all the bike seems to run well and the power is good for a bike its size. A trip to Canada In July was great. The luggage is superb as well as watertight. Over all I would say as long as Triumph supports their products I will continue to buy them. And I will recommend them to a friend.
- Randy, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-25 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had many bikes during my 2-wheel riding tenure. I started off on a sl90 and most have remained Hondas. I recently had the opportunity to trade for the 2001 "Triumph Trophy". This 1200 4-cyclinder, is probably one of the best-kept secrets in the world of 2-wheel transportation. I say transportation because I am no longer just a weekend warrior. People choose the bikes they ride for many different reasons. This bike not only is for weekend rides on some freeway. I find it pleasant for mundane everyday transportation to and from work or even to run errands. I had looked at the new gGold Wing but the price and all of the unnecessary do-dads did not impress me. To many things to take your attention from the road. The trophy weight is just over 500 lbs. The engine has a smooth accelerating ride. Its response and handling give a tremendous confidence to the rider. It is remarkably agile in corners as well as accelerating on a long stretch of roadway. The finish consisting of a full fairing and bodywork allow me time for not having to spend hours polishing chrome gadgets. Like most bikes there is some room for improvement. The seat is not the most comfortable. The handlebars are more forward than i would like on a bike made more for a straight up riding position. But all in all the bike is class with a lot character. It is a true workhorse of the industry.
- Mike Byrd, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-14 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to ride a Honda 1100 Shadow. It was great around town and it looked great but, on the highway and on long trips I asked myself why did I buy this thing. So I searched for a replacement, I looked at every thing,( BMW, Harley, Kawasaki Concourse).Then at the annual bike show I saw the Trophy 1200. It had every thing I could want and more. After a couple of months of being a very proud owner, I can never see myself ever owning a different brand of bike. I know longer wish I had someone else's bike.
- Jack Sterling, Downers grove Il

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-19 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Platinum '99 Triumph Trophy near the end of November of 2000. It was barely broken in with 1900 miles so I considered it good as new. I could not be happier. I test drove BMW R1100RTs (nice but - yawn, sorry), Honda ST1100 (too heavy), Kawasaki Concours (dated styling) and a Suzuki Bandit 1200 before my eyes fell upon the Trophy; what a beauty. When I took it for a test ride in light apparel on a blustery 38 degree F day, I was awe struck. Wow - was all I could say. It was quick, handled very well, braked as well as any of the others I've ridden, and oh so smooth. On top of that, after 30 miles of test riding, the only parts of me that were cold were my hands (cloth dealership motocross gloves did not help that much). I now ride in any temperature as long as it is dry without electric gear only because of the great weather protection it provides (the HJC snowmobile gloves keep my fingers toasty down to 20F). This was a big factor in swaying me away from the Bandit as it now gives me at least 2-3 months longer riding seasons. The other factor was the stylish purpose built luggage for packing the requisite gear for the longer tours I like to take. Even though the weather protection is great, it is a little wind-noisy at highway speeds. The updraft from the windscreen lands square in the middle of the face. I ordered a taller Clearview Tour Windscreen to correct the only flaw (if you can call it that) I've found so far.
- Rich Gard, Trenton, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Trophy 12 is a very competent, enjoyable ride. Triumph calls it their "touring" bike, but it is too light and powerful, and handles too well to qualify as anything but a sport-tourer. I rode it on several 600-mile days in the eastern AZ mountains last year and found the seat comfortable enough to get me to the next fill-up. Handling was quick and precise, weather protection good (I'm 6'1"), and riding position comfortable. The engine produces a huge power spread and gobs of torque, and the 6-speed trans shifts well and has well-chosen ratios, except that in the interest of fuel consumption I wished 6th had a little overdrive. that's not a complaint, though I experienced fuel milage in the low 30's if I didn't get carried away with the loud-handle. Attention-grabbing paint&styling.
- Mike, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-10 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just returned from Germany where I first saw the Trophy at a bike show. Fell in love. Upon retiring from the Army and returning to US, found the dealers much more disappointing than the bike. Too few and not very knowledgeable of the product, most sell other brands such as Honda, and Triumphs as a side. As far as the bike, purchased about 2 months ago, she's quick, somewhat heavy, and I find the seat just a little too high. Extremely reliable though, and here in S.C. (not to many triumphs around), the Harley riders always ask "where did you find that?", one friend of mine actually sold his Harley to get one! A real head turner! Would recommend to anyone, very smooth and the wife actually loves it. A great motorcycle for mature riders who love riding more than being seen on the latest weekend fad.
- Chuck Harrington, Sumter, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-30 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2000 Trophy 1200 a month ago and my other motorcycle (Kawasaki Vulcan) is up for sale. The Trophy is smooth, powerful and the baggage system is very well designed. It handles like a sport bike but you can carry a passenger and lots of stuff on it also. Windshield/faring work well to protect from the elements. One recommendation - it is difficult to get on and off without kicking the side bags. Take them off until you need them. Love the bike.
- Bill Traer, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-06 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had many different types of cycles in my 34yrs of riding, but nothing that really stirs the soul like my Trophy 1200. As soon as I laid eyes on her I knew it was going to be mine. This bike is capable of far more than I can handle. The engine is strong though out the RPM range, great handling, super brakes,(no ABS) very good wind protection, reasonably comfortable seat, slick shifting 6speed and killer good looks. The only complaints I have and I feel they are minor are, 1) very weak turn signal indicators (in sunlight) 2) Wimpy sounding stock exhaust (I now have D&D slip ons) 3) excessive heat on crotch in summer (eliminated with Triumph accessory fairing inserts) PS great saddle bags
- greg beishir, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-19 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding the 1200 Trophy for a year now and I have found this machine to be great for any kind of riding other then off road. The handling is light and responsive for windy roads as well as down town traffic. The speed and power are pretty awesome and this bike is as smooth as silk, with no noticeable vibration. It has a very comfortable riding position, which works well on short or long rides. The luggage is great for either long trips or trips to the grocery store! In short, this Triumph is great for just about any occasion. And in the year I've been riding mine it has been totally reliable. The only complaint I have is the seat is a little high for my 5'10" height. My feet are just barely able to reach flat-footed, which makes it difficult to walk the bike on uneven surfaces.
- Rider, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-14 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my 2000 (actually 1999 left over) Trophy 1200. I love it. I traded in my Honda Pacific Coast. I thought that was a great bike. This trophy has it al: style, power, range, and a painful seat. What else could you ask for?
- Mike Guffin, Flanders, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-03 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1998 that I purchased new. There are 12000 miles of which 80% are two up. The seat is not all that great but have a thick sheepskin for this due to being too cheap to buy an overrated Corbin. It has great power and handling. The trunk is a great option. I did not think I would need it but did get it if making any kind of trips. Overall finish is great. Plus it gets a lot of looks and good comments.
- Scott Bruce, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-17 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After six months on my Trophy 1200, I am very pleased with the quality of the bike. The price was a major factor in my purchase. The comparable Hondas or BMWs were significantly more expensive. The real highlight of this bike is the powerful engine with a very broad spread of power. Perfect for touring long distances. Fit and finish are excellent, especially the paint quality. Triumph offers some excellent accessories. The 45L top box, heated grips, and anti-theft device are all useful additions. Ergonomics are good although the reach to the bars may be a little long for smaller riders. The brakes and handling are excellent. Finally, the warantty, 2yrs, unlimited miles, which can be extended, is a great bonus. So far the service from Triumph and my dealer have been great. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a versatile, high speed, long distance mount. I also use it to commute everyday to work, a task the bike is also well suited for. The only drawbacks to this machine are limited aftermarket accessories and the seat is not the most comfortable for long distance (this defect can be fixed by Corbin).
- Anonymous, Durham, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: