Yamaha Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (261)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-09-30 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2000 V-Star 650 Classic in April of this year as my second bike. I've consistently put over 1000 miles a month of this bike without a single problem. Maintenance is pretty easy, and just recently I upgraded from the stock exhaust and air filter to some aftermarket parts and it definitely made a difference in the power; not that it was lacking to begin with. In short, I can't see why anyone would need a bigger bike, when I can cruise highway at 75-85 MPH all day without a problem. What more do you need?
- Adam, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-29 2000 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in the winter of 06 with 4500 miles. Now in the summer of 08 it has 27000 miles all trouble free with absolutely no oil usage. It is smooth, comfortable, and powerful. When I'm on vacation, I average 500 miles a day. I'm 60 yrs old and when I get off this bike after 12 or 13 hrs I am not sore. I am tired but not hurting. I've been riding for almost 50 years and this is the best bike I've ever owned. It averages 49 mpg.
- jim mieras, walker, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-30 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in December 1999 and it is my favorite cycle I've ever owned. I love riding it and have not had any problems except needing a new battery. It is a rare cycle and it stands out from other bikes. I have seen 5 others in seven years. I also have owned a 2004 Vulcan 2000, 2006 Harley Street-Rod and they just don't get the same attention.
- glenn rucker, van alstyne, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-04 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought used in early 2005 and now over a year later I still love my 650 Custom. Whether it's the great looks, the extra chrome and Cobra pipes or the 4.2 gal tank, I often get comments about it being a Harley or something bigger than a 650. Only improvements could possibly be the stock seat or another gear for interstate speeds. The wife and I (over 360 lbs together) ride comfortably at highway speeds on weekend cruises. I ride in town to work alot and consistantly get 50 to 55 MPG! GREAT BIKE FOR THE BUCK!
- Kevin Zehr, Eau Claire, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-30 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great for a mid-sized bike, I bought this one new in 2000, and have put over 16000 miles on it, only have changed the oil and plugs twice, and both tires once, great ride for both my wife and I on it. Yamaha says it will handle only 400 lbs of gear, But me and my wife have put over 500 lbs on it and it still went down the highway at 75 mph with no problem, and plenty of throttle to spare.
- William Warr, Winnemucca, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-22 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I chose the 2000 Yamaha V-Star Classic for its classic lines, traditional air-cooled v-twin, driveshaft, and great after market support (after all, I am a mechanic and love to tinker). I learnt to ride on my mother's (yes, my mom rides) 1997 Suzuki Savage 650 and when time came to get my bike, I wanted something with a bit more oomph while keeping the cc down to afford to insure the bike (I'm under 25 and a new rider). I wanted something that was great in the twisty country roads but was still comfy enough on the highway. I wanted a bike that would achieve 250+kms to a tank (I like to go past at least a few gas stations without needing to stop). And lastly but definitely not least, I wanted a bike that was comfortable to ride and just plain fun. The V-Star gave me all of those and then some. It has great low end grunt to it and pulls strong through. It has no troubles hitting 150km/hr although she's definitely screaming anywhere near that. I did not buy my bike for speed, I bought it to cruise the country a little more freely than in my big old pickup. I find its seat and controls perfect and very comfy for even a big guy like myself at 6ft 270lbs but after about 3hrs I'm ready for a coffee stop. The bike is incredibly smooth and is great in the turns and very stable and offers a lot of confidence (already hitting the pegs). The appearance is exactly what I was looking for and I love the red and burgundy two tone paint. All in all, I'm very pleads with the bike and feel I will keep this one for some time to come (of course with some goodies along the way).
- Bear Claw, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-17 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought mine used last wed., learned to ride on Saturday, and put 180 miles on it in 2 days. From limited experience (and a very sore rear end) I really like the bike. I have a 10% grade hill going up to my house, and this bike will haul major rear uphill in 5th at 45 MPH. A lot more than I was expecting from a little 650. The styling on the custom is excellent. The seat hurts wider-reared people after only 20 min. But that can be solved with a new seat.
- Erik , Aiea, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-01 2000 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hi, I have had my Silverado since new. I had a chance to purchase a 2001 yet I went with the 2000 due to the color combo. Since I have bought the bike, I have had nothing to complain about except I do not get enough ride time in each year. SInce I bought it new, I have added a luggage rack, Various chrome pieces and a windshield bag. Yamaha's are build to last as long as you keep up on the maintenance. The dealership can help you out with that if you do not know how to do it.
- Shotgnz, Bolingbrook, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-08 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Oynx 2000 Road Star in February of 2000. I thought then, and still think, it is the best choice for anyone looking for an air cooled, pushrod V-Twin. The only other choices are built for folks 5'9" or less. My Road Star has had the seat replaced with an '04 model seat (much more comfortable) and has had many additions from Yamaha accessories and from the great aftermarket choices.
- David Heverin, Bel Air, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-24 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I could not have asked for a better fist bike. I rode every day this summer, rain or shine, and this bike was perfect for teaching me how to ride. I have footpetals and cobra pipes and the pipes are so loud that when I ride down the street people put their fingers in their ears and it makes me feel great. The foot petals saved a whole lot of money when a dog jumped out in front of me. When I got up there was only a little dent and some scraping on the tank as the foot petals took the brunt of the slide (I got a slick paintjob out of the deal too). Shaft drive is great, bike is super slick looking and riding. The only problem in my mind is the seat, it sucks. I am ready for a larger bike possibly a BMW r1150r or a 1100 V-star Classic. I cannot say enough about how great this bike was to start out on. For a new rider these 650's are the best bike on the planet.
- Jmichael, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-22 2000 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If your serious about riding and not just bar-hopping, this is your bike. Unbelievable acceleration, reliability, handling, and looks better than a Harley. I've ridden for years and owned this bike for 1 year, by far the best I've owned. My Harley friends enjoy riding my bike. I've put 4000 miles on it this year, riding every chance I get.
- greg waldron, Lindale, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-29 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a used V-Star 1100 Silverado at the end of July. I have put about 1100 miles on it so far and cannot get enough. The fat tank, low seat, and all over stance is awesome. Once I got the proper handlebar/riser configuration, the comfort level went way up (wife still complains about the stock back seat though). The baffle was punched when I bought it so the stock exhaust does have more rumble, but I will upgrade it next year. For me it has plenty of get up and go both in town and on the highway (a 6th gear would have been nice). If you have not checked out Yamaha cruisers, do it. You will not be disappointed.
- B Buntin, Schererville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-11 2000 Yamaha Virago 535 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just want to tell you guys that there is no better starting and mid size bike than the Virago. In fact, I have always been a fan of Hondas, but I fell in love with this bike. 750cc is a great size, lots of power for the city and looks great. Mine still runs and looks like new with 14000 miles. I got married a few month ago, but for the last 4ys of single life, I can't tell you how many compliments I have received from this bike! In fact,it has so much chrome on it that I had many girls asked me if it is a Harley. The height is excellent, good ground clearence and the weight of it is perfect to manuver around traffic. The only thing negative about this bike would be for a long road trip. It will go 70 miles p/h on the highway for as long as you want, but due to the size of the engine you will feel the vibration and it will tire you some. If you plan to take a lot of trips more than 60 miles than get something bigger like a 1200cc. But if you are thinking about buying something on 750cc size, go ahead and get a Virago. I have been riding motorcycles for 24 ys, since I was 15ys old. I have owned 5 different cruisers and this has been the best one yet.
- David, New Orleans, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-07 2000 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been shopping for over two years for a cruiser. I started looking at new Harleys and decided they were too expensive. So I started to look at new metric cruisers and they were a little out of my price range. Then I started to look at used metrics. I eventually stumbled across this 2000 Roadstar Silverado. It was beautiful and I just pictured myself on this bike. Now, this is the first street bike that I have ever owned. And, it is the first bike that I have been on in over 25 years. I have been nothing but pleased ever since I purchased this bike back in October of '03. If and when I have to purchase another bike. It will be another Road Star Silverado.
- Philip S. Drone, Mentor, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-16 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome bike, works great and looks even better. Put almost 15,000 miles on this bike in 14 weeks last year before the rain and snow made it impossible to ride, can't wait to start over again. I was so confident in this bike we went on a 8,000 mile trip to California, 10 days after picking up from dealer, passenger and all the camping baggage, the bike worked superbly, with all kinds of power to spare. Yes, the bike does need a 6th gear, and the oil level checks/oil changes are an inconvenience but maybe someday the engineers will finally take heed to the people that pay the bills and change things. Until then we can't wait for this snow to disappear and so we can get out and ride again. Already the plans are in the works for another trip to the west coast, this time to B.C.
- brian schlosser, bluevale, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-11 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is without any question the best buy you can get for your money. Yamaha did a good job to keep it simple. With all the articles on how to customize, you can transform this into a super custom as you can see.
- BOSSIN LUC, Hasselt, Belgium

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-25 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my Suzuki Intruder (800) and bought the silver/titanium VStar 1100 Classic on Oct 31. I have only put 604 miles on it due to Heart surgery, but I am now getting better and will resume riding next week. Likes: The big bike look and feel. This bike has a lot going for it, size, reliability-shaft drive, large gas tank. A lot of aftermarket accessories are available. Love the placement of the speedo-IMHO, the best out there! I addeded Yamaha 21" windshield, passenger floorboards, saddlebags, luggage rack and Willie & Max Pac. Still less than Silverado! Dislikes: Woeful sound from stock pipes, hard to change oil filter, stock seat is not comfy for cruzing! Future upgrades: Hard Krome 2.75 pipes, Mustang seat, Yamaha Jet Kit. I will be a happy rider. I have a friend who bought a H/D fat boy just B4 I bought mine. I think he is jealous!
- KEN HORTON, PANAMA CITY, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-07 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I LOVE it!!! I just had Cobra pipes put on, K&N air filter and the carb jetted. Quite a bit of performance now. I plan on keeping this bike for a while. It has plenty of power for around town and the highway. I personally don't beleive it's that important to go over the speed limit. On another side, I completed the MSF course one month ago and it has saved my butt many times already. If you haven't taken this corse, do so.
- Michael Kern, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-07 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
By far all the power cruiser I will ever need. I purchased My Roadstar new in 2000. The basic model,deep purple color. I have made some upgrades. 6" riser and new bars. new bigger and softer corbin seat. cobra staggered drag pipes with baffles taken out and rejetted to match the pipes. I also installed a K&N free flow filter kit. I added the aux. light kit for the front and Signal -Stat Brake light module for the rear. For looks I added some Yamaha black leather saddle bags and Yamaha backrest. I really get a lot of compliments stopped at the red light. I also leave a lot of Harleys behind at the green light! I just get the bike serviced every spring, oil change ,spark plug ,the basics. I now have 10,000 miles and have had NO major problems. With modifications kits and accesories offered for this bike, I will never need to upgrade. I rate this bike five star.
- James T. Kerr, Willoughby Hills, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-07 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a '99 VStar 650 in March. I've been riding for 20+ years and this is my third bike (Suzuki, then Yamaha Maxim before this one). I can't say enough about this bike: low seating(I'm 5'4")I can plant both feet on the ground, light weight(push it around garage easily), hugs the curves (took it to Knoxville,TN for Honda Hoot in June-loved the Smoky Mountains'runs)speed and pick-up are just fine; after 5 hour poker run did not feel worn out - terrific comfort. I LOVE this bike - can't ride it enough!! My husband and son have both ridden it and agree, but of course not enough CC's for them. The Classic style is an eye catcher - get lots of compliments. Last but not least, love the throaty sound from the Cobra pipes.
- A.T. Smith, St. Petersburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-14 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After much research and recommendations, I bought a 2001 Vstar 650 as my 1st bike. I came right out of the MSF safety class and jumped on this bike. If there are any ladies out there considering a 1st bike, this is the one. It has a great center of gravity and balance , not to heavy and performs great under the pressure of a new rider. I agree we need a 6th gear, but OK for me now. Most people think it's a fatboy because of the low profile, which makes it fit a lady just perfect!!!
- reellady, Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-11 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I look at bikes on a bike by bike basis not a Brand by Brand basis. I looked long and hard for an under 10k cruiser. I wanted a Harley so bad, but found out qwickly there was only one bike Harley makes that can be had for this price. For what the V-star is(1100 midsize cruiser), there is nothing better. You can get a Sporter 1200 for about $2000 more, but you get about half the bike. Just look at one side by side. I'm not Harley bashing, I thing the bigger Harley's are great, and probably beat out the Road Stars(not counting reliability). But this is not the case in the 1100-1300 class. The V-star is the clear leader in this market.
- cg, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-19 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The VStar 1100 has great acceleration and is a good overall bike. The classic cruiser look attracts attention wherever you go. I'd recommend an aftermarket oil filter relocation kit and a hypercharger if you want it all. Whether you cruise aroun town or across the U.S. this is is the best bargain around.
- Smilin' John, high Ridge, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-13 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I use to own a 2000 Road Star. I added a light bar, Memphis Fats windshield, nice bags and a back rest for the then wife. Well I got divorced early in 2002 and had to sell the bike. (Selling the bike broke my heart more than the divorce!) During the summer of 2002 I was going crazy to ride so in July, because of low funds I picked up a new Honda Shadow 750 Deluxe. Well we're coming to the summer of 2003 and the little Honda just won't do. (It's a great bike but more of a starter bike.) So I'm going to MOM's (Motorcycles of Manchester) where they have a 2001 Road Star in Platinum. If I can work a fair deal I'll own it tomorrow and it'll be on the road as soon as the snows gone. But if the deal isn't good enough I'll be getting a new 2003 Road Star from the local Yamaha dealer. I've been through 6 bikes and never got as much pleasure as I got from my 2000 Road Star. So it looks like Mr. Road Star will be the 5th and 7th bike I'll own. (And it will be with me for many years to come i'm sure.) I'm looking forward to the summer of 2003 with a new lady on my arm and a new (or new used) Road Star in my drive way! Keep the rubber side down and the shinny side up! See you on the road! I'll be the guy on the Road Star wearing a big grin!
- Ray, Lowell, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-01 2000 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Understand first that I may be overly crytical as I have owned and ridden American Iron most of my life. I purchases this bike for my wife (to my surprise the test ride was very impressive). I do ride it to work from time to time. The bike was stock except for a set of aftermarket slip ons making the exhaust a little louder than stock. CONS: I disliked a couple of items right off the top. First it was the horn, the thing sounded like it came off a moped. Second was the plastic fenders...what's with that? The other thing that really bothers me is the pressed fuel tank seams. Why didnt they make the seams like they did on the Road Star? Oh...The handle bars drove me nuts. I replaced them with a set of Yamaha Drag bars (Much Better). PROS: The ride is all there... smooth but not sloppy. Torque, rummble power and engine feel (not a rubber mounted motor). Feels "Old School", the engine is well dressed in chrome. The brakes are just right. Sitting next to the old Super Glide in our Garage it looks right at home. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
- W. Miller, Mariposa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: