Yamaha Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (12)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-12-26 2000 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am only 15. I have been told that it would be too much power for me and I have been told it wasn't. So when I got it, it went as fast as I wanted it to. It jumps smooth and it rides smooth. It depends on how fast you want to go. This is the best bike I have ever ridden!
- mobely, eagle point, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-20 2000 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike about 2 weeks ago and I've been riding it every chance I get; I even rode in 10 degree weather! The bike is so fast. Also, it's very easy to manuever, but does get loose when you want it to. Excellent power and torque. My buddy rode it and he couldn't even get traction it has so much power. If you want a bike that will do everything for you and beat just about everything ,try to find yourself a YZ426. There was a lil bit of trouble starting in the cold but when it's a lil warmer it starts easy.
- Nick , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-16 2000 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a weekend novice rider. Woods, sand pits, and ripping it up under high tension power lines is where I spend my time. My 426 is a sweet machine but being an Mx bike has a drawback. Stock first gear is too high for slow woods. This bike was never designed to crawl along. I have a 3 tooth smaller sprocket and this helps in the technical stuff and boosts acceleration a little too, but it also brings top speed down alittle . I know I can't do 75 anymore. But that's OK actualy for my health. But don't misunderstand me, the bike is stable. It has no bad habits. It has great throttle response. Sufficient power down low that turns into a midrange that barks. It'll put a smile on my face every time I ride it. Suspension is good and doesn't do anything weird. I change the frame held oil with partialy synthetic and bring it to the dealer once a year. The YZ426 has never given me a mechanical failure. Always relible. And I beat this machine hard. I give this bike 4 stars only because it isn't completely versatile. But then again it was designed to be apure MX bike.
- PFREE, Adirondack, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-03 2000 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
wow, this bike is the best overall bike you can ask for. if you don't give this a 5 out of 5 then there's either something wrong with your bike or you are crazy. this bike has been so much fun and very effective at totally annihilating all of it's competition. i'm very pleased with its performance and recommend this bike to all!
- Brian Adams, Muscoda, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-16 2000 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i am a 300lb. rider and this bike works great for any type riding i do even better than my last bike 2000 drz400
- bigdaddy98x, middlebury ctr., Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-13 2000 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't have any complaints about this bike. The suspension is awesome the motor is unstoppable. I am way faster on this thing than I was on a 250 2 stroke. Maybe it's just me but this is the perfect bike.
- tom, danville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-13 2000 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The yz250 is the bike to have. It can be used for anything whether it's supercross, motocross, hare scrambles, or just having fun, riding around.
- Whit, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-19 2000 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the bike when it was 11 months old. The bloke who owned it before me was a bit of a nutter and to say the least he thrashed the tits off it in the time he had it. I've had it for 4 months now and its still going strong, considering its still on the original piston/rings I think that's pretty good. The new stiffer sub frame is good in a way as it makes the whole bike stiffer but WATCH OUT a sharp blow to this will cause it to shatter in to a million pieces taking the rear guard, air box, both side plates and exhaust with it. I made the mistake of flipping it 4th gear flat out on a mono. EEEEK. $2.500 later it's all fixed (wont be doing that again if I can help it). The bike reaches a top speed of 102km/ph stock. Give or take a few. It beats the 2000 yz426 until you touch 5th gear. Handles like a dream. Gets as much power to the ground as you want it to (ie. if you want it to spin it will) I weigh nearly 100kg and it doesn't even know I'm on its back. Looks good with green on the numberplate and side guards. Good all-round bike but will lack a bit of speed in the bush if left stock
- Julian Larsen, Victoria, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-18 2000 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A GREAT bike that has a power deliverly that is the smoothest of all the other 125 bikes ie. CR, KX, SR. It has the plushest suspension. The easiest bike to ride very fast or slow But does not have a great build quality.
- Rider, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-24 2000 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since purchasing this bike i have been extremely pleased with its performance. It has great mid and top range power but the only thing i don't like it that it has very little low end. I was out at my favorite track last week end, and i was drag racing one of my friends. He has a 91 Kawasaki 125. I was really pumped to race him. When we started he jumped ahead of me. I think it was because he had really great low end power. Eventually after about 60 yards of so when i got into the powerband and i whipped it into 4th i kicked his butt. But i really think if you are just a recreational rider this bike wouldn't be for you. IF you are the type that likes to putt around at your track, and you don't get into the powerband it is no fun to ride. But if you like to go fast,pop wheelies, and whip around berms. This is the bike for you. If you race. This bike is a tried and true winner. The say how else can you explain 4 straight years of bike of the year. I think Yamaha is onto something. So far i have enjoyed my bike to the fullest. And i have had no mechanical problems. This is a really kick butt two stroker. I would recomend it to anyone who has ridden before. And knows how to use the powerband to the fullest.
- Jon Poche, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-27 2000 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been a two-stroke junkie for 20 years. I have had CRs, RMs, KXs, you name it I've had and raced them all. don't get me wrong, I loved everyone of these bikes and I am not writing these off. I kept on hearing about the YZ 426F and how awesome this four-stroke bike is and that it outperforms the 2 strokes. I had to experience this to believe it, sure enough; I did and I have to tell you I was so taken over by how flawless the bike ran that I purchased a 2001 YZ 426F. Everything on the bike is maintenance free and no pre-mixing all you have to do is gas it up and go. Remember guys always wear your safety equipment and enjoy.
- Van Halen 5150, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-04 2000 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My friend just purchased one of these babies. (We have nicknamed TAZ.) I have ridden bikes for over 20 years and this one is the dream bike I would create if given the chance. Great low end through top end power. The only thing I would change is how hard it is to start. You "have to get the hang of it" to get it going without killing yourself (your leg to be exact). Overall excellent ride and a bike to grow into.
- Joe, Deer Park, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: