Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers Reviews (60)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-11-30 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in December 1999 and it is my favorite cycle I've ever owned. I love riding it and have not had any problems except needing a new battery. It is a rare cycle and it stands out from other bikes. I have seen 5 others in seven years. I also have owned a 2004 Vulcan 2000, 2006 Harley Street-Rod and they just don't get the same attention.
- glenn rucker, van alstyne, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-08 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Oynx 2000 Road Star in February of 2000. I thought then, and still think, it is the best choice for anyone looking for an air cooled, pushrod V-Twin. The only other choices are built for folks 5'9" or less. My Road Star has had the seat replaced with an '04 model seat (much more comfortable) and has had many additions from Yamaha accessories and from the great aftermarket choices.
- David Heverin, Bel Air, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-07 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
By far all the power cruiser I will ever need. I purchased My Roadstar new in 2000. The basic model,deep purple color. I have made some upgrades. 6" riser and new bars. new bigger and softer corbin seat. cobra staggered drag pipes with baffles taken out and rejetted to match the pipes. I also installed a K&N free flow filter kit. I added the aux. light kit for the front and Signal -Stat Brake light module for the rear. For looks I added some Yamaha black leather saddle bags and Yamaha backrest. I really get a lot of compliments stopped at the red light. I also leave a lot of Harleys behind at the green light! I just get the bike serviced every spring, oil change ,spark plug ,the basics. I now have 10,000 miles and have had NO major problems. With modifications kits and accesories offered for this bike, I will never need to upgrade. I rate this bike five star.
- James T. Kerr, Willoughby Hills, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-13 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I use to own a 2000 Road Star. I added a light bar, Memphis Fats windshield, nice bags and a back rest for the then wife. Well I got divorced early in 2002 and had to sell the bike. (Selling the bike broke my heart more than the divorce!) During the summer of 2002 I was going crazy to ride so in July, because of low funds I picked up a new Honda Shadow 750 Deluxe. Well we're coming to the summer of 2003 and the little Honda just won't do. (It's a great bike but more of a starter bike.) So I'm going to MOM's (Motorcycles of Manchester) where they have a 2001 Road Star in Platinum. If I can work a fair deal I'll own it tomorrow and it'll be on the road as soon as the snows gone. But if the deal isn't good enough I'll be getting a new 2003 Road Star from the local Yamaha dealer. I've been through 6 bikes and never got as much pleasure as I got from my 2000 Road Star. So it looks like Mr. Road Star will be the 5th and 7th bike I'll own. (And it will be with me for many years to come i'm sure.) I'm looking forward to the summer of 2003 with a new lady on my arm and a new (or new used) Road Star in my drive way! Keep the rubber side down and the shinny side up! See you on the road! I'll be the guy on the Road Star wearing a big grin!
- Ray, Lowell, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-14 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike starts off as a beauty and customizes into something stunning. It handles very well in the twisties and will carve a great line through a bend with minimum of adjustment. The floor boards are low so you spend a bit of time dragging iron. Once you get used to it happening you don't think much about it but it does pucker you up the first time. The range is an astounding 215 miles on mixed riding however high speed Interstate riding starts to suck down the gas.
- Iain Tyndal, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-14 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After one year of use, summer in canada & winter in Florida= very pleased with this bike. More for the look with the improvements i made, chrome, hypercharger,cobra exhaust, etc . The MM is MMMMMMM very nice
- J Guy Vachon, Quebec, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-02 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Road Star approximately 1 year ago and love it! I put on a set of Cobra pipes, jet kit and K&N air filter and it sounds great. I thought of taking the baffles out, but someone told me if I do that I will lose some of the low end torque and acceleration. Is this true that taking out the baffles will affect performance?
- Dale Jones, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-09 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2001 Road Star in July of '01 and I can't get enough of this pleasure cruise. I have already taken it to San Diego for the day and besides the normal long ride fatigue, the Road Star handled great. I got a lot of looks and compliments on it as well. It looks great and the power is outstanding. The only complaint I have is the rumble is kind of tame to my satisfaction, so enter some custom pipes to make the cats scurry away.
- D. Rios, Orange County, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-22 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I saw a used Road Star 2 days ago and was blown away by the look and quality. Took it for a ride and was even more impressed. Pure joy to ride. I am buying a new one today. I have had many bikes over the years including Harleys, Ducati's, Intruder, and this is the best bike I have ever ridden. Well done Yamaha!
- Rider, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-27 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had previous bikes, most recently a VStar, and never thought things could improve. I was wrong in all respects. No other bike creates such a complete and inspiring image coupled with a superb engine and ride quality. Yamaha has proven itself a leader.
- Dax Rizo, Dallas, TX

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-26 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've dealt with the harley's, (8 of em') and now i'm riding and not repairin'.....love the feel the ride and the torque is incredible..i ripped everything off the bike and put a stiletto seat on, vance & hines longshots and took the baffles out and i'm rockin' and rollin'.....cover yer ears......
- JAY MICHAELS, Tuscaloosa, AL

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-20 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I brouht my bike home and started to custonize first a hyper charger then a Vance & Hines long shot exhaust. Changed the ignition so I could raise the revs and then went and had it repainted. This bike is better than any Harley ever made. It never breaks down and everywhere you go everyone is checking it out. By far the best bike I have ever owned.
- Bob, NJ

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-05 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The engine noise started up around 600 miles and I took it back to the dealer three times. All I got from them was "It is just the nature of the beast."...So I went to another dealer and traded it in for a Honda..my fourth one and I love it. Just couldn't take that lower engine noise, it spoiled the ride.
- E. Billups, Sumner, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-04 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After selling my 96' Yamaha Virago 1100 in april of 2000, I spent the next 6 months in agony. You see I hadn't spent a summer without a motorcycle for a long time. You see with a wife, 4 children and a 60 hour work week, I figured to be too busy to miss my riding time. Boy was I wrong. By October 2000 I couldn't take it any longer and I went to my Yamaha dealer and found my salesman Bobby and he put me into a new 2000 Road Star Silverado. I only had 2 good weekends to spend on this machine but I managed to put just under 1000 miles on it before the weather turned bad. Needles to say this has been the longest winter I can remember. It is now April 4th 2001 and the forecast for this weekend looks like it wiil finally allow me to Rev up my beauty and feel the wind rushing past me once again. Never have I ridden such a wonderful machine. This ones gonna last me a long ,long time.
- Alan, Stevens Point , Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-27 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Road Star 2000 in May of 2000 and already have 9000 miles on the bike! I really feel the competition has to be bugging about the Road Star. Get on the throttle and hold on! My only complaint about the Road Star is it's too quiet with the stock pipes. The ride is comfortable and the looks have turned many heads. You cain't go wrong buying a Road Star. I have had absolutely no problems with this machine and the price is just right. In summary, I'm still grinning!
- Augustus M. Smith, Abbeville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-27 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
An update for all the Road Star critics: I have had my 2000 Road Star for nearly a year now. I have 4500 miles now after taking it to Florida for vacation riding. The Road Star has been flawless, not one single problem at all. This is the first bike I have never had to tweek even in the first year. I just love the bike, I upgraded the pipes and It is a looker everywhere I take it, even at Sturgis last year. This is the best bike I tried out and I could not be happier. Critics take note: If you have problems with this bike, you are doing something wrong.
- Steven Dahl, Faribault, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-10 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first review I am giving on the Road Star Silverado based only so far on the looks. I just purchased in January and it is still at the showroom. I looked at the Suzuki, the Honda Areo and Harlies but WOW!!! It's just more beautiful then the rest. Here in Nova Scotia, Canada it is too cold to ride now, we still have three feet on snow on the ground. A recent article on this web site compared the Silverado with the Fat Boy and that convinced me to get the Silverado. The Canadian dollar is just about worthless compared to the US dollar, which helped me with my decision also. A NEW Silverado retails for $17,600 plus 15% tax shipping etc. makes the out the door price about $21,000 Canadian. A NEW Fat Boy retails for just shy of $26,000 plus 15% tax shipping etc. put IT out the door at about $31,000, 10 large more! A lot of money for any bike but TTOOOOOOOO much for the Fat Boy. I have to give it 10 out of ten stars just for looks! What are these bikes worth in your area????????????????????? Waiting for Spring.... Dave
- NEW Owner, David

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-09 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my Siverado 3 weeks ago, and have over 1500 miles cruised already. I am so impressed with looks, the power, and handling that I cannot imagine owning anything else. I've loaded it with several options, like Cobra slash cut pipes, new air intake system and jet mods, and has eliminated the fresh air induction system. That removal really opens of the engine to view, and it looks nice. The power improvement is quite noticeable as well. I highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a world class cruiser! My Harley buddies love it... I think they're a little envious...
- Bill Anderson, Georgetown, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-08 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a 2000 Silverado, I love the bike, however when I turn the engine off the starter makes a noise as if you were to hit the starter while the engine is still running. Also when I start up the bike and let it warm up, when I pull the clutch a few times and put it in gear the bike stalls (almost as if the clutch hasn't disengaged) Has any one else had these problems?
- anthony, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-07 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Silverado may 2000, rode her 5000 miles to date no problems at all. Loads of compliments and head turning with the V&H long shots. I have no regrets at all.
- BILL, Germansville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a 01 Road Star. I put about 800 miles on it before winter and love this bike. Anyone interested in this bike should checkout "The Road Star Riders" on the delphi.com forum. There are over 400 members on this forum and the information it contains is very helpful for a perspective buyer, and even better once you own a Star. The aftermarket is producing some great customizing parts in adition to what Yamaha offers. Just my opinion, great looking, geat riding, alot of motorcycle for the money.
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-22 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took the bike on a 9000-mile road trip wesport-San-Fransisco back....my two best friends blew two Road-Kings in Colorado... brand new....We waited two days....in Aspen not bad ...my only maintenance was the gas...I just check the oil that's it,...my friend after the HD being fix pour a quart of oil every day, we had a good time ,and the Harley network work,people stop all the time when they where stuck....or I went to get help...well needless to say I'm happy..and they are buying Somet
- john, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-08 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Deciding to trade my 1997 1500 Vulcan Classic in on a new fuel injected model, my head was instantly turned when I set eyes on Yamaha's MM Limited. Photos of this bike does not do it justice. Even Harley owners that have seen it remark that you can't beat it for the money. It has the eye appeal and performance that sets this bike apart from the pack. If you are looking for a bike that performs, or just want to park it in the center of the living room as an art object, you don't need to look any farther than the big Road Star. Besides, paying $10,000.00 more for a bike with a name doesn't make me more cool.
- Dean Dorman, Winter Haven, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-17 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Welp, I've had my RS for about three months now and your not gonna hear a complaint from me I spent two months in search of the perfect bike. at the end it was down to the RS and a HD Deuce..........I know tough choice well I think I made the right one. Beside the fact the Deuce cost exactly two times as much as the RS I felt the RS gave you more for your money. a little sluggish on the turns though so be careful with it she's a big heavy machine with chilling low-end torque. not to bash Honda but at the same time I got this a friend bought a Honda Shadow (same style bike) He's now fighting with Honda about all the chrome on his bike rusting through: (just something to think about if your looking at Hondas as well since these two bikes are very similar I think the Yamaha is in a class all its own... I hear some talk of engine noise. So far I have not experienced this as of yet and I have over 1000 miles on mine but I'm sure if it happens my five-year warranty will cover it so no worries here (Harley does not offer a warranty near this good)hmmmmm wonder why? I'd say its because Yamaha is a lot more confident in their bikes Happy trails :) Jug
- Jughead, Lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-13 2000 Yamaha Road Star MM Limited Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2000 RS is just a great machine -- plenty of everything. I got mine in June took a lot of time breaking it in then rode it to Myrtle Beach, South Carolina in sept/oct. this bike just loves to cruise at 80 mph on the interstate and is smooth and rider friendly. The only drawback is getting access. For my bike be it factory or after market, but like another reviewer I'm also changing the pipes (hard-chrome straights) and a few other little tricks, having the work done as I type. So many people have asked me what model HD my bike is and I just laugh and tell them it's a RS and they could buy two of these for the price of a HD (almost) if your looking for a big cruiser this is the one for you
- dave sterling, Williamsport,, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: