Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers Reviews (14)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2002-09-10 2000 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1996 royal starr with 32,000 on it and NO promblems. This bike has every option you can get. Yes I'm proud of it and it gets a lot of looks and people are alwas asking me what kind of bike it is.Ill ride at the drop of a hat.It dose not matter if there is another rider on it still handles the same and still has the power to get you on the high way and cruse an easy 70mph. Ive had many other bikes and even some Hds but this bike is by far the best. Handles great in the rain. I've been riding for 26yrs.
- Keith, lima, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-25 2000 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 1997 Tour Deluxe last month with less than 4500 miles on it in pristine condition. After exhaustive research on price, specs and performance I narrowed my choice to the Royal Star and Harley's Road King. I have to say when I saw the bike in person I was sold. With acres of Chrome and beautiful lines I knew what I was going to purchase the bike. The ergos are wonderful, my wife loves riding again, and the bike performs wonderfully. Although I love Harley and their products, this is a first class bike for less than half the price and a five year warranty to boot. (Harley would shut down if they had to honor a 5-year warranty). Bottom line is people love the look of the bike, it rides like a Cadillac, has a ton of storage space and was within my price range. If you are looking for the "classic" touring bike look no further.
- Jason, Greensboro, NC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-24 2000 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got a 1998 model last year on sale at 25% discount. What a deal! This bike stands tall on the road and apart from any other bike, in clear distinction from other heavy duty stock cruisers. Its unique styling back to the '50s era of boulevard cruising. This bike is really the best bike anyone can ride. This bike looks like it was built to bring the unique experience of pleasure and success, it is distinctively better than any other heavy cruisers. This is not a motorcycle, it's a time machine brought back from the past into the present with today's technology and modern engineering. this is a master piece of art.
- Rider, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-13 2000 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 98 Royal Star Tour Delux, new in August 2000. I've added top rails, side rails, grill cover, driver's back rest, and a few other goodies. I'll never run out of options to put on this beauty. I put on 12,000 Kms in 3 months before winter shut me down. I had a 84 Venture before this for 15 years, and it took awhile to adjust to this new machine. Everyday, I ride this beauty, I love it a little more. It is a totally different machine from the old Venture, and it take awhile to really appreciate how it's designed to be ridden. I'm leaning, and loving it as I learn. Will hold it's own with most cruisers, and is more comfortable and better looking than anything I've ever seen. What a machine. At 58 year, I'll probably wear out, before it does, but it's going to be fun trying! My wife like riding on it much more than on the Venture. I'm not sure why, but I'm not complaining.
- E. White, Oakbank, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-08 2000 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After much reading, riding and going to dealers, I found a 97 Tour Deluxe on eBay and bought it. About two years ago while riding my Connie, I stopped at Jim & Jims in Santa Rosa. Not knowing what I was looking at, a black and chrome motorcycle caught my eye. Wow! This thing looks like a Harley but in some ways, better. It was used and much cheeper. I took a test ride and went home to read all my motorcycle mags about the bike. Well before making up my mind it was gone. The next year while thinking about an Electra Glide, I would run into people who had a Harley and now rode the Royal Star. Not once did I here a negative comment. Well when the 97 showed up on eBay, I bought it. I figured I could always (step up) if I wasn't happy. Well at the time of this writing I am very happy with the Royal Star and wonder if a change might be a step down?
- Brian Whitney, Petaluma, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had two other bikes beside the Royal star tour CII. I have now. It is the best I thank btween the two, Honda goldwing & HD sportster. I love to ride it because its smooth and reliable.Try it you will like it.
- James, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Finally I've found a bike that fits the growing group of riders that are tired of loud, vibrating, unreliable and uncomfortable cruisers from that other company that so many riders still worship. I'm now on a bike that I can ride all day, and not feel beaten half to death. This 2000 royal star has a "5 year unlimited miles"warranty and road side assistance. (And peace of mind.) Many of my friends have put thousands of dollars into thier harley's just to try to keep up with me. I do agree with the others on the front end. but only after about 80 miles an hour.
- Larry Pringnitz, Lake Orion, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-22 2000 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got a 1999 model this year on sale at 30% discount. What a deal! This bike stands tall on the showroom floor and apart, in clear distinction from other heavy duty stock cruisers. Its unique styling harkens back to the '50s era of boulevard cruising. And the best part is one gets that "Bad Boy" look straight out of the dealership. A few additions help emphasize its unambiguously evident retro style: visors, engine guards, custom leather grips, clutch and brake lever leather skins, and the front fender rail. This bike is really two bikes in one. At the lower end of the RPM range, it growls distinctively, like other heavy cruisers, and moves forward majestically. Starting at about 45mph, and above, with the gearbox in the 5th and overdrive engaged, the engine whispers quietly and the bike floats above the road effortlessly. This is not a motorcycle; it's a time machine -- a piece of timeless classic combined with the comfort, confidence, and reliability of modern engineering. Get one; you won't regret it! See you in the past.
- C. Biesiadecki, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-07 2000 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted a big cruiser and test-drove several of them. I nearly put money down on a new Yamaha Drag Star 1100 (V-Star in the States I believe), but a friend of mine got me testing a second hand -97 Royal. I did not like the looks - too big, I live in a traffic infested very large town -- nor the colour. But after the first time I turned the accelerator I knew this is my bike. This is the Mercedes of all cruisers. What an incredible pleasure to drive. If you want more shakes, vibes, max out on the low-end torque and the manly rough stuff, this is not a bike for you. But if you want to go for the ultimate cruising, you can't find better. At least I didn't.
- antti rajala, Venezuela

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-23 2000 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started shopping for a cruiser/tour bike about six months ago. I'm a hard sale and I looked at everything. I came across this 1996 Royal Star Classic with less than 3,500 miles. I have almost doubled that in a month. Can't say enough about this motorcycle. I have been riding for over 20 years. Best bike for the money. Hey.... It's the best bike for even the more expensive ones.
- Tom, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-26 2000 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1997 Royal Star in palemino leather. I've had two Intruders previous to this. My friends all ride Harleys and call me a Harley want to be. I get a lot of flack for riding a rice burner, but when we ride I still get the looks. Everyone thinks it, a Harley till they get up close. I went with Samson Exhaust Fish Tails, they make me ride behind because they say I drown out their Harleys. Seriously a great ride for the price, dependable, and finally after market has given us recognition. I recommend it to anyone who's got an eye for the classics and the ride. I agree with the previous comments on the front forks could be a little more responsive. The important thing is to ride and keep your mind right no matter what you ride.
- Joe M. Lopez, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-06 2000 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 1999 Royal Star Tour Deluxe, 95% of my riding is done with my wife Linda. We have 18,000 kms on our Tour Deluxe at present and we have not had it a full year. We love riding it and would strongly recommend this bike to any one who wants to look good cruisin and to cruise long distances. The Tour Deluxe handles our luggage for a week or two-week trip with no problem. This June we did an 800-km day starting out in rain, I felt better at the end of the day than I would have if I had driven in my car. Through Yamaha you can get some great high quality accessories (Chrome) which can really dress your bike up. Many times Bikers and non-bikers have approached me in Canada and in the Northeast USA to comment how great the bike looks.
- Wayne A. Foley, Riverview, NB

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-04 2000 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I finally found the machine I would have designed after riding for 50+ years. Mine is a 1997, but there have been only minor cosmetic changes. I have owned many bikes since the late 40's and this one is stable, reliable and such a pleasure to ride. At highway speeds it is absolutely comfortable and the engine is just loafing. It looks sooooo good. It sounds great. I have ridden the Tour Deluxe 10k miles so far and I wouldn't change a thing. Do yourself a favor and ride one of the Royal Stars before you buy a cruiser -- you won't be disappointed. I have also found dealer service to be totally satisfactory. In summary, I just love the Royal Star Tour Deluxe.
- Richard E. Armstrong, El Paso, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

1999-12-28 2000 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the bike, but the front forks do have a more than fair amount of wheel hop...you need to keep both hands onto the handlebars when doing high speed sweeping turns on the freeway. This is not a hot-rod bike by any means. It has slowed me down since I used to have a v-max. The difference is night and day. The Royal Star is great for two-up cruising and very reliable. The bike runs great and I would recommend it, especially for getting the maximum amount of motorcycle for the least expensive price.
- David R. Maclary, North Andover, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: