Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bike Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bike Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2003-09-01 2000 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike for my 15th birthday and I figured it was a good bike to have. The gas mileage is exellent and the power is phenominal and it would be even better with a Big Gun Exhaust system. It handles good for a real heavy weight bike(250 some pounds without gas!!!)and the power is smooth and extremely predictiable. This bike is good for adults and not childern. But for young teens , the size and the power of the bike will soon be outgrown and they will want a bigger faster bike or will want to put on tons of hop ups! I liked the look ,the design and every thing. The one problem is that it hasn't changed.
- Scott Holigroski, Beausejour, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-13 2000 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only things I dont like about this bike is the weight. When you ride it on the trails you can feel all of the weight and it is hard to handle. I also dont like the time it takes to warm up. It takes 5-10 minutes. everything else i like. I would recommend it to a strong guy that can handle the weight.
- Ryan Vaughn, Waterford, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-12 2000 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2001 tt-r225 and i bought it new in April. this bike is totally amazing. go ahead and compare it to the competition (mainly a Honda xr200). it will beat it in just about every category. the one category where the XR wins is rear suspension travel. it has about .7 more inches. but, the Yamaha makes up for it by having a little bit stiffer spring and shock out back. but its a good stiff, not a punishing stiff. it still rides smooth and soaks up the bumps good, it just helps when it comes to jumping. every other category it dominates. front suspension travel, 25 more cc, ground clearance, electric start, front disk brake, and all this for 300 cheaper than the xr200. its a little on the heavy side but once u get used to it u can still corner very nice with it. it also has an excellent seating position (nice height). i have read all the other reviews and the negative ones give inaccurate descriptions of the bike. the front fork could stand to be a little stiffer. its fine on everything but jumps. but as i said earlier, if u land it a little on the back wheel first then its fine. the rear suspension is plenty firm for a trail bike. this bike is easily capable of jumping 50+ feet. i do it all the time. some said that it has trouble starting in the cold. well mine sure doesn't. it always starts right up by the second kick of the electric starter. it does take a while to warm up but big deal. at least this way u know when it is at a good operating temperature. i found the best way is to let it warm at idle for a couple min. the cruise up and down a road/path for a little bit with a load on the engine but still taking it easy. do some throttle roll-ons and you will know when it is ready to go. this brings me to the engine. its awesome! it was good at first but i HIGHLY recommend u put on a Big Gun Race Series Pipe and have it re-jetted (do this after your 20hr. break in period). you will find this makes a world of difference. low and midrange torque is much stronger, throttle response is 10 times better, and it sounds totally bad ass to boot! i am completely satisfied with this bike and once u learn how to ride it fast it can be very fast for a trail bike. i have raced a guy in the woods who had 20yrs of riding experience (19 over me) and was on a 2001 YZ 125 and i kept up with him pretty damn good (that was with the Big Gun on). i was quite proud of my thumper that day! this bike is also damn good at hill climbing. i haven't not made it up a hill yet and i try some pretty crazy shit on my baby. once i get off this bike i'm always looking forward to the next time i get to ride. and for what its worth this bike also looks pretty sweet. well, i hope that was thorough enough for ya. if u don't want to get one of these now then there must be something seriously wrong with you.
- Anthony, Massillon, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-09 2000 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned this bike for almost 2 years I bought it new. It was goofy-looking at first (it reminded me of a street bike looking dirt bike)but i can go any where I try and if you arent a wimp you can withstand the 260lbs. But I must admit i have treated it like a yz, it will do it but it will bottom out if you go over 15 feet high. I must also warn you its nothing like a dirt bike to me it reminds me of a hooligan bike(because its great for second gear wheelies if you slip the clutch and i love doing stoppies on good pavement, it wont do it to good on dirt, dry grass is good though)with a 225cc torquey and smooth single cylinder engine. I must add i love this (i like riding it more on the road than trails and don't mind ramping it. Well for under $3000 its the best bike for that price. Well I can't say anything more about it except it sucks on ice. Oh yeah when and if you go 15 feet high with this bike if you decide to purchase one make sure you have a landing ouch. And remember its to an off raod its more of a dual sport but more grunt. p.s. If you think you can try beating my record for going 100yrds riding a wheelie
- john, Stilwell, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-17 2000 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been a wonderful introduction into the world of off-road riding. The engine is very forgiving and will pull you up a steep bank in 3rd gear. It also is a very powerful engine that easily pulls the bike up to its top gear giving very smooth shifts the whole way. Unfortunately those are about the only good things about this bike. The suspension is a laugh bottoming out over the slightest of jumps and the bike is extremely heavy. The electrical system can be a hassle because connections tend to shake loose and the bike has a hard time cold starting. It has no backup kick and trying to roll start it is nearly impossible. I'm planning on throwing lights, a speedometer, and road tires on it because it would perform the role of a dual sport much better. Unless you plan on doing some very mild trail riding, pay the extra $1000 and get a TT-R250 that is a very good beginner/intermediate bike.
- Rider, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-25 2000 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine to ride with my son on his ttr90. suspension could be better, jumping this bike, it bottoms out. cold starting take too long 5-8 mins. Also needs a kick starter. Has all the speed I need, will go anywhere and looks great. Does anyone know of an aftermarket pipe? Let me know
- don cerminara, Oakdale, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-13 2000 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like this bike. It has more than plenty of power. My kids love it and my wife has tried her hand at riding it. I like that it is not real loud. So far I have been very pleased. The price is even better. You can not go wrong with this bike.
- mkass, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-03 2000 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike cause of the low seat height and price. I like the electric start but found if you leave the key in the on position it will drain the battery. A kick start back up would be nice. This bike is heavy compared to most off road bikes. The back brake is a useless drum! The front forks are tiny and bend easily. There is little suspension to speak of and grounds out often. There are no after market parts available yet, and the bikes been out since 99. The throttle mechanism on the side of the bike sticks open if you hit allot of mud. Will pop out of gear under load like going up a steep hill. Does not like to start in the cold and takes a long time to warm up. The motor is torquey and smooth. This is a good choice only if your doing very light trail riding. Yamaha could easily address these issues and make this a great bike!
- Pat, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-18 2000 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, for all you people out there that's considering buying this bike...DO!! The very first time I set my eyes on this baby I fell in love! You wouldn't believe how sweet the motor sounds, and with electric start and all, you can't go wrong with this bike! There is one thing that kinda bugs me though. When you start it you have to let it run for bout 4-6 min. while your watching everyone drive away, but once you get that baby growln'...you'll catch up in no time. With it's four-stroke motor, wicked suspension, awesome height, sweet handlin', and (last but not least) speed, I can't get enough of this bike! Its sweet colours suit it perfectly while flying through the air, or cruisin', 120 clicks down the road. It's not only a perfect bike, it's a good looking' one too! So for all you dudes out there who like a growln' four stroke, over a screamin' two stroke, go with me on this one. Get the TT-R 225. It's worth it.
- Krystle Eidse, Manitoba Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-08 2000 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my TTR 225 as an economical way to ride with my 10-year-old who has a TTR90. The styling is very appealing and the lower seat height is great for shorter riders. The electric start is a decent feature but a traditional kick-start would be a welcomed addition. My TTR tends to be rather cold blooded and needs a good 5-7 minutes to warm up. The power and torque of the 225 is smooth and plentiful. On several occasions I have experienced shifting problems where the bike finds a false neutral. This can be very distressing about 3/4 of the way up a hill. I have had the opportunity to ride this bike on some vastly differing terrain from wooded flat areas of Illinois, to the sandy bottoms of St. Joe's park in Southern Missouri and some hilly wooded areas of Central Mi. This bike's major flaw is its suspension. It holds up well on most trails where the terrain is smooth but rocky, bumpy rutted terrain exposes the TTR's limitations. Over jumps the TTR just can't soak up the landings and frequently bottoms out, leaving your body to absorb the brunt of the landing. I would recommend investing in a good kidney belt. In summary the TTR225 is an excellent choice if price is a major concern. The TTR is a good entry-level bike but most riders will wish they had another $1K of suspension under the saddle.
- Jim West, Hartsburg, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-01 2000 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased this bike 3 weeks ago, and I could not be any more satisfied. I did a lot of research before purchasing this bike, and this bike blows away its competition. (Especially for the money!) It's easy to handle, rides like you wouldn't believe, and it will take you anywhere you want to go. I have already challenged this bike on 760 acres of woods and terrain. There were few places I couldn't go! Oh, yes, and this bike does fly! You can't go wrong with this one!
- Matt Nigh, Galion, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-23 2000 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is a cool bike. My whole family likes it. I just got it last summer and no one ever sees me when I'm not on my bike. All I ever do is ride, eat, sleep, repeat. All I can say: if you're thinking of buying a bike for off road use get this one cause it is cool.
- Adam Dale, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: