Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers Reviews (114)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-09-30 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2000 V-Star 650 Classic in April of this year as my second bike. I've consistently put over 1000 miles a month of this bike without a single problem. Maintenance is pretty easy, and just recently I upgraded from the stock exhaust and air filter to some aftermarket parts and it definitely made a difference in the power; not that it was lacking to begin with. In short, I can't see why anyone would need a bigger bike, when I can cruise highway at 75-85 MPH all day without a problem. What more do you need?
- Adam, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-30 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great for a mid-sized bike, I bought this one new in 2000, and have put over 16000 miles on it, only have changed the oil and plugs twice, and both tires once, great ride for both my wife and I on it. Yamaha says it will handle only 400 lbs of gear, But me and my wife have put over 500 lbs on it and it still went down the highway at 75 mph with no problem, and plenty of throttle to spare.
- William Warr, Winnemucca, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-22 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I chose the 2000 Yamaha V-Star Classic for its classic lines, traditional air-cooled v-twin, driveshaft, and great after market support (after all, I am a mechanic and love to tinker). I learnt to ride on my mother's (yes, my mom rides) 1997 Suzuki Savage 650 and when time came to get my bike, I wanted something with a bit more oomph while keeping the cc down to afford to insure the bike (I'm under 25 and a new rider). I wanted something that was great in the twisty country roads but was still comfy enough on the highway. I wanted a bike that would achieve 250+kms to a tank (I like to go past at least a few gas stations without needing to stop). And lastly but definitely not least, I wanted a bike that was comfortable to ride and just plain fun. The V-Star gave me all of those and then some. It has great low end grunt to it and pulls strong through. It has no troubles hitting 150km/hr although she's definitely screaming anywhere near that. I did not buy my bike for speed, I bought it to cruise the country a little more freely than in my big old pickup. I find its seat and controls perfect and very comfy for even a big guy like myself at 6ft 270lbs but after about 3hrs I'm ready for a coffee stop. The bike is incredibly smooth and is great in the turns and very stable and offers a lot of confidence (already hitting the pegs). The appearance is exactly what I was looking for and I love the red and burgundy two tone paint. All in all, I'm very pleads with the bike and feel I will keep this one for some time to come (of course with some goodies along the way).
- Bear Claw, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-29 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a used V-Star 1100 Silverado at the end of July. I have put about 1100 miles on it so far and cannot get enough. The fat tank, low seat, and all over stance is awesome. Once I got the proper handlebar/riser configuration, the comfort level went way up (wife still complains about the stock back seat though). The baffle was punched when I bought it so the stock exhaust does have more rumble, but I will upgrade it next year. For me it has plenty of get up and go both in town and on the highway (a 6th gear would have been nice). If you have not checked out Yamaha cruisers, do it. You will not be disappointed.
- B Buntin, Schererville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-16 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome bike, works great and looks even better. Put almost 15,000 miles on this bike in 14 weeks last year before the rain and snow made it impossible to ride, can't wait to start over again. I was so confident in this bike we went on a 8,000 mile trip to California, 10 days after picking up from dealer, passenger and all the camping baggage, the bike worked superbly, with all kinds of power to spare. Yes, the bike does need a 6th gear, and the oil level checks/oil changes are an inconvenience but maybe someday the engineers will finally take heed to the people that pay the bills and change things. Until then we can't wait for this snow to disappear and so we can get out and ride again. Already the plans are in the works for another trip to the west coast, this time to B.C.
- brian schlosser, bluevale, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-25 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my Suzuki Intruder (800) and bought the silver/titanium VStar 1100 Classic on Oct 31. I have only put 604 miles on it due to Heart surgery, but I am now getting better and will resume riding next week. Likes: The big bike look and feel. This bike has a lot going for it, size, reliability-shaft drive, large gas tank. A lot of aftermarket accessories are available. Love the placement of the speedo-IMHO, the best out there! I addeded Yamaha 21" windshield, passenger floorboards, saddlebags, luggage rack and Willie & Max Pac. Still less than Silverado! Dislikes: Woeful sound from stock pipes, hard to change oil filter, stock seat is not comfy for cruzing! Future upgrades: Hard Krome 2.75 pipes, Mustang seat, Yamaha Jet Kit. I will be a happy rider. I have a friend who bought a H/D fat boy just B4 I bought mine. I think he is jealous!
- KEN HORTON, PANAMA CITY, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-07 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a '99 VStar 650 in March. I've been riding for 20+ years and this is my third bike (Suzuki, then Yamaha Maxim before this one). I can't say enough about this bike: low seating(I'm 5'4")I can plant both feet on the ground, light weight(push it around garage easily), hugs the curves (took it to Knoxville,TN for Honda Hoot in June-loved the Smoky Mountains'runs)speed and pick-up are just fine; after 5 hour poker run did not feel worn out - terrific comfort. I LOVE this bike - can't ride it enough!! My husband and son have both ridden it and agree, but of course not enough CC's for them. The Classic style is an eye catcher - get lots of compliments. Last but not least, love the throaty sound from the Cobra pipes.
- A.T. Smith, St. Petersburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-14 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After much research and recommendations, I bought a 2001 Vstar 650 as my 1st bike. I came right out of the MSF safety class and jumped on this bike. If there are any ladies out there considering a 1st bike, this is the one. It has a great center of gravity and balance , not to heavy and performs great under the pressure of a new rider. I agree we need a 6th gear, but OK for me now. Most people think it's a fatboy because of the low profile, which makes it fit a lady just perfect!!!
- reellady, Nashville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-11 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I look at bikes on a bike by bike basis not a Brand by Brand basis. I looked long and hard for an under 10k cruiser. I wanted a Harley so bad, but found out qwickly there was only one bike Harley makes that can be had for this price. For what the V-star is(1100 midsize cruiser), there is nothing better. You can get a Sporter 1200 for about $2000 more, but you get about half the bike. Just look at one side by side. I'm not Harley bashing, I thing the bigger Harley's are great, and probably beat out the Road Stars(not counting reliability). But this is not the case in the 1100-1300 class. The V-star is the clear leader in this market.
- cg, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-19 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The VStar 1100 has great acceleration and is a good overall bike. The classic cruiser look attracts attention wherever you go. I'd recommend an aftermarket oil filter relocation kit and a hypercharger if you want it all. Whether you cruise aroun town or across the U.S. this is is the best bargain around.
- Smilin' John, high Ridge, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-11 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2000 VStar Classic 1100 for a little over two months now. Love the looks, typical Yamaha quality. It's an enormous amount of bike for the money, especially since I got an excellent deal on a used one. Things I don't like are the oil filter location, the oil level check window location and the stock seat. Everything else I dig. Great front brakes, adequate power, fairly smooth for a V twin and fairly nimble. I've installed handlebar risers to get a little extra height and pullback out of my handlebars. This improved my shoulder comfort a lot. Next will be the addition of a Mustand seat...for both my comfort and my wife's. After I install an oil filter relocation kit, I imagine that I will be logging a lot of miles on this baby.
- Wicked Willie, Gainesville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-07 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've never had problems with this bike. I've enjoyed riding it for over two years. It has two problems though. It needs a sixth gear and a slightly bigger engine. Overall, an excellent first bike.
- ebarrett, Georgetown, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-11 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great.My first one was an 1100 vstar classic 2000.I was excited for a vulcan nomad so i bought one and it was such a nice ride.But most of my riding is in town and a little on the highway so i missed my v-star.It is so easy to push around compared to bigger bikes ,but yet when your flying at 70 - 80 miles an hour it is pretty smooth sailing.This bike is the closest thing you'll get to an all round bike.Good in town and very comfy on the highway.Highly recommended
- real landry, thunder bay, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-16 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the 650 v-star. At age 66 it is a great ride for me as a cruiser and as a single tourer. My first one was a 99 and i mistakenly let it go, now I am buying a used 2000. My 99 had a shield and I do not know what brand/model. I will need to put a shield on the 2000, I prefer one with maximum protection as I spent most of my riding behind a fairing. I would appreciate any suggestions from those of you out there that can give me good advice based on experience. Thanks in advance. Respond please to my e-mail address
- Dave Blackim, Hutchinson, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-20 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
...the key issue I have with it is the narrow powerband, especially when starting from an upgrade - overrevving first gear when I hit about 10-11 mph - thus, have to quickly shift to 2nd almost as soon as I start off just to get enough power to get going up the hill...otherwise, bike is great for newbies (of which I am one) - great handling, fairly easy to maintain, good-looking, comfortable ride
- Mike, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-02 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike from a buddy in April 2001, and have put about 1100 miles/month on it thru commuting, weekend rides, and a 400 mile trip to Rolling Thunder in DC. It has performed superbly. At 5'-8" &175lb, I really enjoy the seating positon, and by adding a PRO-TAC driver backrest, it is really comfortable on any distance ride. One minor complaint is the braking as I was used to 3 discs on a Kaw, but the adjustment was easy to make. Yes, I too am sometimes hunting a 6th gear that just isn't there, but this is no big deal. This one is a keeper for me and I feel no need to "step up" to anything else. Ride safe-Ed.
- Ed Ruotanen, Belmont, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-17 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a return rider after 19 years . The V-star 1100 was well worth the wait. I have just installed a set of Cobra Classic slip on and Barons BAK for even better sound and performance. Filer changes are a bit tuff but once your get used to it not so bad.
- Robert Franden, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-13 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2000 model in December 2000. The Vstar Classic is a great bike for the money. I bought mine with Mustang seats, a windshield, chrome footpads front and rear, and a front fender rail. The bike looks great and is very comfortable two-up. And with the baffles removed the sound is really sweet. The bike has plenty of power and can cruise at 70 mph. But at about 55 mph it really begins to want a 6th gear and you feel like you're pushing the bike too hard. It has the power, it just needs another gear to pull the rpm's down. Next stop. Road Star. Happy riding.
- Ace Holeman, Baton Rouge, Louisianna

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-28 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2000 V Star that was salvaged due to a lay down. A new black tank and fenders and she looks fine and runs nice. It's my first bike, and it feels good. Only 3700 miles on it and I paid $3700. I'm ready for a long ride in the cool AZ mountain air. That rear drum brake is spooky! Now I'll install the windshield.
- Richard, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-22 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted to buy a cruiser bike for all the great roads here on Vancouver Island. I saw a V Star classic at Tim Hortons (coffee/donut chain) and after talking to the very satisfied owner, I drove my Honda Shadow VT 750 to the local Yamaha dealer and bought a beauty of a red and burgundy V Star 650 Classic. So far I have only put 165 km, 100 miles to you guys in the south, and have enjoyed every single click. No problem torquing up the mountain roads, the 650 has plenty of power. Is there a good after market windshield for the V Star, or should I stick to OEM only. If you are on the island let me know and maybe we can ride so of the most scenic in Canada.
- Dan, Port Alberni, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-12 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my V Star for almost a year now, and I'm still pleased I decided to take the plunge. I was also looking at the Vulcan 750 (I wanted shaft drive), but finally decided on the more traditional cruiser look of the V Star and I'm glad I did. The many chrome parts that come standard provide a nice contrast to the black model I chose. I've also added bags, a lightbar, a windshield, Cobra drag pipes (which may be a bit too loud), front and rear floorboards, a backrest and engine guards to complete the look. Although it's no crotch rocket when it comes to speed, it suits my needs just fine, thank you. In my opinion, it's an overall nice cruiser package. Being my very first bike (at age 44, no less) I didn't have any experience to go by when shopping around, so I relied on the advice of trusted friends, this Web site, reputable dealers and a couple of books on the subject. I highly recommend The Idiots' Guide to Motorcycles for any other newbies out there who are looking for their first bike. While I'm at it, I'd like to give a plug for the MSF Rider Safety Course - this was a valuable experience for me and well worth the time. Best of all, if you happen to live in PA the course is free, since it's subsidized by a couple of extra bucks that riders pay each time they renew their licenses. I recommend this class to everyone, even if you have to pay. It's worth it.
- Ron, Sewickley, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-03 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started to purchase a new 1100 Classic, and happened to stop by another dealer today and he had a carryover 650 classic, the 1100 and the 650 were sitting side by side and it was really hard to tell them apart. I liked the two-tone red and black 650 and it was about 2,400 dollars cheaper than the 1100. Well, I thought for the difference in money I could put a lot of accessories on the 650 and keep the wife smiling. I rode it home from the dealer (120 miles) and it ran just great! This is my fortieth motorcycle in my lifetime and it's nice to cruise without any worries. Enjoy riding and see you on the road.
- Jeff Rawls, Baudette, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-25 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been waiting to do my part here until after I reached 1500 miles and had a chance to get a good feel for the bike. About myself, I am just under 6' about 190 lbs. My primary use for it is commuting to work about 8 miles one way. I also like to tear up some country roads. The bike is very stable and has plenty of muscle when you roll on the throttle. But you need to roll on it. At 60 mph I am only 1/4 into it. There is plenty of top end for this 650cc when you need it. I broke it in by the manual and personally I think breaking a bike in properly is important. This doesn't mean I have babied it though. Today I had it up to 80+ mph and there was plenty of throttle left. I am averaging 45 mpg. Overall I am extremely pleased and would recommend this bike highly.
- Todd Weaver, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-08 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked my V-Star up yesterday from the dealer. Let me tell you, this bike is well worth the money spent. It rides like a dream! The only thing I find that might be a dislike is the 5th gear, it needs a 6th. It feels as though 5th winds up too quick, but other than that, I really like the bike so far.
- jcwells, Dallas, TX

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-27 2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have read many reviews on this bike and have grown tired of the "valve clatter" issue, the "lack of accessories" issue the "plastic parts" issue and the "oil filter" issue. First of all, this bike uses screw and locknut valve adjusters. It's an "older" technology but it is very dependable. If you look at the maintenance specs, the clearance for the valves is pretty liberal. If you want to reduce the clatter just adjust them on the tight side of the scale. Other types of valves are either more expensive to build in or are much more complicated to adjust. By the way, the rest of the engine is so smooth that the valves do seem a bit loud. It is not doing any damage as long as you are within specs. Point Vstar. On the oil filter issue..... First of all, this engine has been around forever on the Virago. For those of you who say, "why didn't they redesign it?" remember that those re-designs cost $$. It would have made the selling price of the Vstar higher and the price of this bike is another reason I say: Point Vstar. (By the way, I like to work on my bike. If you hate it you should have investigated different bikes. Oh and also, the whole oil change thing is not nearly as difficult as everyone makes it out to be once you do it once.) Plastic parts. Yeah I know they are a little chinsy but remember the price of the bike? Again, more metal, more $$$$. And remember I already gave a point for price. And finally, the lack of accessories. What do you expect when you buy a bike in it's first model year you dummy? Neither Yamaha or aftermarket companies realized how popular this bike would be. Now that they have realized, you are starting to see new stuff all the time. I love this bike. It's cheap for the amount of bike you get. It has great styling and uses tried and true engine technology. For all of the people who keep talking about more power or nonsense like that what do you want? A cruiser or a sportbike? This thing hauls my 220 lb frame along around nicely.
- D. Breault, Chateaugay, NY

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: