Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2000 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruiser reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

116 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Brian Peoples

Reviewed on 2022-08-31

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I certify that this review is accurate and is based on my personal experience with the Motorcycle. I have no personal or business affiliation with the manufacturer of this Motorcycle, nor have I been offered any payment of incentive by such manufacturers to submit this review. My submission only discusses the Motorcycle and does not discuss other people or dealership.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott

Hawaii

Reviewed on 2022-04-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I raced professional motocross in the 1970’s, Montesa 125 and CZ 400. I own a Super Duke and MV AGusta Dragster 800 rr but wanted a dirt bike again. Luckily I am small and only weigh 150 pounds. I Chose the 2022 YZ 85 for its history of reliability and horsepower. 160 pounds wet and 23 plus horsepower gives it the same power to rate as the YZ125 and I can touch the ground flat footed. 2 strokes have more power, easier maintenance, great sound, addicting on/off acceleration vs heavier 4 strokes with their top heavy rotating mass. The YZ 85 is perfect for me with fantastic looks like it’s bigger brothers. Starts first kick, light weight means more fun and agility. So happy with the purchase. Everything is perfect out of the box.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Adam

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2008-09-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a 2000 V-Star 650 Classic in April of this year as my second bike. I've consistently put over 1000 miles a month of this bike without a single problem. Maintenance is pretty easy, and just recently I upgraded from the stock exhaust and air filter to some aftermarket parts and it definitely made a difference in the power; not that it was lacking to begin with. In short, I can't see why anyone would need a bigger bike, when I can cruise highway at 75-85 MPH all day without a problem. What more do you need?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William Warr

Winnemucca, Nevada

Reviewed on 2006-06-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great for a mid-sized bike, I bought this one new in 2000, and have put over 16000 miles on it, only have changed the oil and plugs twice, and both tires once, great ride for both my wife and I on it. Yamaha says it will handle only 400 lbs of gear, But me and my wife have put over 500 lbs on it and it still went down the highway at 75 mph with no problem, and plenty of throttle to spare.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bear Claw

Toronto, Ontario

Reviewed on 2005-09-22

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I chose the 2000 Yamaha V-Star Classic for its classic lines, traditional air-cooled v-twin, driveshaft, and great after market support (after all, I am a mechanic and love to tinker). I learnt to ride on my mother's (yes, my mom rides) 1997 Suzuki Savage 650 and when time came to get my bike, I wanted something with a bit more oomph while keeping the cc down to afford to insure the bike (I'm under 25 and a new rider). I wanted something that was great in the twisty country roads but was still comfy enough on the highway. I wanted a bike that would achieve 250+kms to a tank (I like to go past at least a few gas stations without needing to stop). And lastly but definitely not least, I wanted a bike that was comfortable to ride and just plain fun. The V-Star gave me all of those and then some. It has great low end grunt to it and pulls strong through. It has no troubles hitting 150km/hr although she's definitely screaming anywhere near that. I did not buy my bike for speed, I bought it to cruise the country a little more freely than in my big old pickup. I find its seat and controls perfect and very comfy for even a big guy like myself at 6ft 270lbs but after about 3hrs I'm ready for a coffee stop. The bike is incredibly smooth and is great in the turns and very stable and offers a lot of confidence (already hitting the pegs). The appearance is exactly what I was looking for and I love the red and burgundy two tone paint. All in all, I'm very pleads with the bike and feel I will keep this one for some time to come (of course with some goodies along the way).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

B Buntin

Schererville, Indiana

Reviewed on 2004-09-29

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a used V-Star 1100 Silverado at the end of July. I have put about 1100 miles on it so far and cannot get enough. The fat tank, low seat, and all over stance is awesome. Once I got the proper handlebar/riser configuration, the comfort level went way up (wife still complains about the stock back seat though). The baffle was punched when I bought it so the stock exhaust does have more rumble, but I will upgrade it next year. For me it has plenty of get up and go both in town and on the highway (a 6th gear would have been nice). If you have not checked out Yamaha cruisers, do it. You will not be disappointed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

brian schlosser

bluevale, Ontario

Reviewed on 2004-02-16

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Awesome bike, works great and looks even better. Put almost 15,000 miles on this bike in 14 weeks last year before the rain and snow made it impossible to ride, can't wait to start over again. I was so confident in this bike we went on a 8,000 mile trip to California, 10 days after picking up from dealer, passenger and all the camping baggage, the bike worked superbly, with all kinds of power to spare. Yes, the bike does need a 6th gear, and the oil level checks/oil changes are an inconvenience but maybe someday the engineers will finally take heed to the people that pay the bills and change things. Until then we can't wait for this snow to disappear and so we can get out and ride again. Already the plans are in the works for another trip to the west coast, this time to B.C.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

KEN HORTON

PANAMA CITY, Florida

Reviewed on 2003-11-25

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I traded in my Suzuki Intruder (800) and bought the silver/titanium VStar 1100 Classic on Oct 31. I have only put 604 miles on it due to Heart surgery, but I am now getting better and will resume riding next week. Likes: The big bike look and feel. This bike has a lot going for it, size, reliability-shaft drive, large gas tank. A lot of aftermarket accessories are available. Love the placement of the speedo-IMHO, the best out there! I addeded Yamaha 21" windshield, passenger floorboards, saddlebags, luggage rack and Willie & Max Pac. Still less than Silverado! Dislikes: Woeful sound from stock pipes, hard to change oil filter, stock seat is not comfy for cruzing! Future upgrades: Hard Krome 2.75 pipes, Mustang seat, Yamaha Jet Kit. I will be a happy rider. I have a friend who bought a H/D fat boy just B4 I bought mine. I think he is jealous!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

A.T. Smith

St. Petersburg, Florida

Reviewed on 2003-08-07

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a '99 VStar 650 in March. I've been riding for 20+ years and this is my third bike (Suzuki, then Yamaha Maxim before this one). I can't say enough about this bike: low seating(I'm 5'4")I can plant both feet on the ground, light weight(push it around garage easily), hugs the curves (took it to Knoxville,TN for Honda Hoot in June-loved the Smoky Mountains'runs)speed and pick-up are just fine; after 5 hour poker run did not feel worn out - terrific comfort. I LOVE this bike - can't ride it enough!! My husband and son have both ridden it and agree, but of course not enough CC's for them. The Classic style is an eye catcher - get lots of compliments. Last but not least, love the throaty sound from the Cobra pipes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

reellady

Nashville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2003-06-14

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After much research and recommendations, I bought a 2001 Vstar 650 as my 1st bike. I came right out of the MSF safety class and jumped on this bike. If there are any ladies out there considering a 1st bike, this is the one. It has a great center of gravity and balance , not to heavy and performs great under the pressure of a new rider. I agree we need a 6th gear, but OK for me now. Most people think it's a fatboy because of the low profile, which makes it fit a lady just perfect!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 12
  • 1 - 10 of 116 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: