Yamaha V Star Custom Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (26)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star Custom Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha V Star Custom Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-08-04 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought used in early 2005 and now over a year later I still love my 650 Custom. Whether it's the great looks, the extra chrome and Cobra pipes or the 4.2 gal tank, I often get comments about it being a Harley or something bigger than a 650. Only improvements could possibly be the stock seat or another gear for interstate speeds. The wife and I (over 360 lbs together) ride comfortably at highway speeds on weekend cruises. I ride in town to work alot and consistantly get 50 to 55 MPG! GREAT BIKE FOR THE BUCK!
- Kevin Zehr, Eau Claire, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-17 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought mine used last wed., learned to ride on Saturday, and put 180 miles on it in 2 days. From limited experience (and a very sore rear end) I really like the bike. I have a 10% grade hill going up to my house, and this bike will haul major rear uphill in 5th at 45 MPH. A lot more than I was expecting from a little 650. The styling on the custom is excellent. The seat hurts wider-reared people after only 20 min. But that can be solved with a new seat.
- Erik , Aiea, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-24 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I could not have asked for a better fist bike. I rode every day this summer, rain or shine, and this bike was perfect for teaching me how to ride. I have footpetals and cobra pipes and the pipes are so loud that when I ride down the street people put their fingers in their ears and it makes me feel great. The foot petals saved a whole lot of money when a dog jumped out in front of me. When I got up there was only a little dent and some scraping on the tank as the foot petals took the brunt of the slide (I got a slick paintjob out of the deal too). Shaft drive is great, bike is super slick looking and riding. The only problem in my mind is the seat, it sucks. I am ready for a larger bike possibly a BMW r1150r or a 1100 V-star Classic. I cannot say enough about how great this bike was to start out on. For a new rider these 650's are the best bike on the planet.
- Jmichael, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-11 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is without any question the best buy you can get for your money. Yamaha did a good job to keep it simple. With all the articles on how to customize, you can transform this into a super custom as you can see.
- BOSSIN LUC, Hasselt, Belgium

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-07 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I LOVE it!!! I just had Cobra pipes put on, K&N air filter and the carb jetted. Quite a bit of performance now. I plan on keeping this bike for a while. It has plenty of power for around town and the highway. I personally don't beleive it's that important to go over the speed limit. On another side, I completed the MSF course one month ago and it has saved my butt many times already. If you haven't taken this corse, do so.
- Michael Kern, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-03 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In July of 2001 I was at a dealer looking for my first motorcycle. The dealer recommended a 2000 VStar 650 Custom. It was considered "used" because it had 1200 miles on it, so the price was right. I was told that the bike was light enough to learn on, would have enough power to handle nearly any type of ride, and would simply run without problems. HE WAS RIGHT! 8 months later, and there have not been any problems mechanically. The bike just runs flawlessly. For a bike that looks this cool (and it does look sharp) the ride is comfortable, and has a light and well-balanced feel. This helped me to learn to ride with ease and confidence. As far as power goes... for a 650 this bike has plenty of power. I have never wished for anything more while riding in town. Getting off the light, passing a car or merely pushing the speed limit, has never been difficult. Now the highway is something different. While the bike is strong enough to stay up with traffic at 80MPH, passing is a chore, and a bit nerve racking, but can be done. SUMMARY - If your looking for a first bike, you won't go wrong. If your looking for a bike and intend to spend most of your time riding around in town. I say get the 650. You will be completely satisfied. And with the money you will save can be used to customize the bike. If you want to hit the highways, you will probably want a bigger engine. But for me... nothing beats the Vstar 650 Custom for overall performance and looks. Did I mention that the bike looks sharp?
- Scott, Wilmington, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-27 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 26,000 miles on this machine and runs like a top! It's easy to ride and very forgiving for new riders. The bike is great for around town, cheap on gas, easy to park and looks damn sharp. Only real problem is power for cruisin' on the highway. At 70mph there isn't much "umph" left to overtake that semi. The light weight is a blessing in the parking lot, but a hassle on the highway. All in all, it's a great bike for the money.
- Shad, Clearwater, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-16 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a new female rider. Grandmother in fact. I completed the MSF course 2 weeks ago and immediately started riding my V Star. The seat height and size is perfect since I am only 5'3" tall. In fact it is the only decent sized bike I could find that my feet would touch the ground firmly. I love it. The only item I would like to see changed is the location of the gauges. When wearing a full faced helmet it is hard to see the gauges. But I will probably quit looking at the speedometer once I get more experience. I highly recommend this bike for women riders and new riders that want a cruiser style.
- Debbie, Sandy Ridge, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-07 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 5'7" and weigh 155 lbs. This bike is perfect for me...not too heavy. The low profile makes the weight easier for me to balance and manage. This is MY first bike and I have no regrets and no desire to "upgrade" anytime soon. I like the fact that it shifts so smoothly even when cruising at slower speeds. I read where someone wrote that it shakes at high speeds... I haven't been over 65 mph so I can't comment on that. (65 mph on a bike is fast enough for me). I just went to Daytona last weekend and even the HD-riders gave me second looks. I was proud to have a bike that looked as good as theirs without spending as much money!!
- Kelly, Plant City, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-15 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I bought this 2001 V star about a month ago now.. I can't get off of it. It is so stylish and rides nice. I get many stares while riding this bike. All around you are not going to find a bike that is better than this one. The shaft drive is really nice too. Finding parts is easy too. Well this is a good starter bike or just an all around low, long, slung out cruiser without the big price. You will just have to try one!!!!
- greg gidding, Newport, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-05 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love the look of the bike, but the power could be improved. At low speeds it is great but when you hit the open highway and speeds above 70mph the engine sounds like it is working very hard. I ride with a large group of riders, all of which have larger bikes than I and this may account for the need for more speed! All in all it is a great bike, especially for the price. I get compliments on it everywhere I go. My wife will be taking over this bike and I will either get a V-Star 1100 Custom, or a Harley Sportster 1200 custom. Ride safe!!
- MEA, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-05 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One thing that I really don't like this bike is tempting me too much to get on and take off, especially when weather is too cold to ride in Virginia.
- Jon, Fairfax, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-31 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my V-star.!!! I have only had my Black 2000 model custom 3 months now and have logged on 3500 miles. And this is my very first bike. But I guess the weather in California helps with that a lot. A lot of people complain about buzzines at speed but I don't know maybe it's the way I've broken the bike in. I get no vibration at all on the highway unless of course I start getting past 90 then there is some. but all in all it's a fairly smooth ride. I've done 300 mile days in total comfort cruising the coast from Monterey to Bodega Bay. it handles great for what it is and becomes a blast on those short straights on twisty mountain roads.
- Jerome Aguiao, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-28 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2000 Custom in June in the Cranberry color. I get a whole lot of compliments, and even the Harley guys take a look. One of my friends, a hardcore Harley dude, sat on it and said, "You know, if I wasn't so stuck on Harley's..." Now, that's respect, coming from him. The ride is great. It's a hell-of-a fun bike, and the cost is super. You get so much for your money. It's a steal. Oh, and the balance and low-slung feel is cool. I think it's more of a city-cruiser, rather than a tourer because of its weight, but it could do either with style. My only complaint is that with a passenger, it loses a lot a pull. For this reason, I almost wish it were an 800cc. But, if you're doing a lot of cruisin' around by yourself, you can't ever go wrong with this one.
- W2, Euless, TX

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-08 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At the age of 53, I took the Safety Riding Course, passed and bought a little 250 Rebel. Practiced my heart out and put 5800 miles on that bike before buying the one I have now. I searched and searched for the look, the fit, and the power that I needed. I purchased the 2001 the week it came into the dealership. ( and I had three dealerships looking for one to come in.) I purchased the Platinum and I love it. Any and all adjustments I had to make with the bike to fit my size and the look I wanted--- I was able to do. I am under 5' but the heart and will to ride of any one 6' and over. haha . I will be taking it to Daytona and to Bowling Green,Ky for the Star Days Celebrations at both events....
- Terri Nemeth, Sarasota, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-21 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a mid life crisis and wanted to learn how to ride a motorcycle. Fell in love with the V-star custom, and purchased it even before taking the MSF course. Only regrets, had to settle for the cranberry, because no more onyx ones were available.
- lko, Florissant, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-08 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had 14 different road bikes. From 350's to 1000's and have enjoyed them all.If you are looking for an every day driver and occasional long haul bike, this is the one I recommend. I have ridden for 27 years and wanted to downsize and enjoy the ride. I made the right choice.
- Wayne Maynard, Satsuma, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-17 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a new rider I really love this bike. I've had the bike for 1 month and already had many compliments on it. Many people can't believe that it is only a 650. I'm going to put some pipes on it and a few other extras for now. My girlfriend loves the bike as much as I do. My only complaints are that the bike is a little to light on windy days and I wish that the handlebars where a little bit wider.
- c. morris, Henderson, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-09 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased a 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom 650. I had a few small bikes when I was considerably younger. I was looking for a bike that I could use to commute to work when the weather is nice. I think the V Star custom will do this well. I also plan to take an occasional short trip on the motorcycle. After looking at the Suzuki Savage 650, the Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe, the Kawasaki KLR 650, and the Yamaha V Star, I decided on the V Star for the following reasons: (1) It looks great. Mine is onyx. I couldn't get past the "urban assault vehicle" look of the KLR 650, and green has never been one of my favorite colors. (2) Except for the KLR, the Yamaha has the largest gas tank; 4.2 gallons, I believe. (3) The Yamaha has shaft drive while the Honda uses a chain. The Suzuki looked great but just didn't have enough "muscle", and also had a small gas tank. I have put 700 miles on my new bike and I am very happy with my decision. It is a lot of fun to ride. It has sufficient power. I can accelerate in high gear going uphill with my wife on the back. I am 5'9", 175 lbs. My wife is a bit smaller than me. This bike, with its low seat height, feels very controllable both when still and when it's on the move. Even after I decided on the V Star, I had to choose between the Custom or Classic. I liked the look of the Custom a little better. The Classic was too retro, for me. Choosing the Custom also gave me about $300 to spend on accessories (new seat, as it turns out). I have received several compliments on the motorcycle, and It's a hoot to ride. There are only two things that I find missing. I wish it had a center stand to simplify maintenance, and the passenger seat (pillion pad) is not comfortable. I have ordered an after-market seat from Mustang, along with the sissy bar and pad to keep my wife happy. I also installed the Yamaha engine guards and an inexpensive low-profile windshield that can be quickly removed or re-installed. On the "plus side", I hardly notice my wife when she's on the back and the V Star seems to have good brakes. I think I will be very happy with this bike for many years.
- Rick Watkins, The hills of East Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-27 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I befitted form these reviews, so it's time to pay back and contribute. Like a lot of guys, I reached my mid-life crisis and suddenly yearned to own something I had not had since my early twenties - a motorcycle of course. I began my search thinking largely of "somethingused and "somethingfor around $2500. I learned quickly that everything had changed (imagine that) since my early 70's Honda CB-450. Everything looked so big and clearly $2500 was not going to go very far. $2500 fast became $3500, and $3500 became $4500 and finally, after what turned out to be very sound advice from the Sales Manager at Long Island Yamaha-Kawasaki, I stepped onto and drove home with a new 2000 V-Star Custom at $5500. Thankfully, my bride of 26 years was supportive and encouraged me to get something new and get something I would enjoy. I'm only now approaching my 600-mile brake-in service. I have had zero problems and many compliments. Most people can't believe it's only a 650. I can see stepping up to an 800cc-1100cc bike in a summer or two, but for now, this is a great ride! I took refresher lessons and got legal on a Honda Rebel 250 that was surprisingly harder to control steadily at slow speeds than this 460 pound light cruiser. I'm only 5'8and I love being able to plant both soles on the pavement. Sadly, I weigh 185, but the V-Star doesn't seem to mind. Like others, I hate the oil level sight glass placement and wish that some of the "chrome" was not plastic, but all in all, Yamaha did their homework very well. Lastly, auto-canceling turn signals are heaven. I can't believe that every decent bike doesn't have them! Have fun safely.
- E. Fasano, Smithtown, NY

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-31 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One hell of a bike!! Get some bars, pipes, mirrors, etc. and this bike is bad a**. My woman rides it and loves the feel -- now I'm her second love. The parts take too long to come in, but well worth it!!! There are a lot of parts to customize your bike. It's the best looking bike for the price!
- Mike Farrell, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-31 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Compliments, compliments, compliments. This is the best looking bike for under 20K. Get some pipes and you won't believe the difference in loudness and performance. The only complaint that I can say is that it doesn't weigh enough, but other than that - it's great! By the way, the picture up top does the bike no justice!!!! You have to go look at one.
- angie morgan, Little Rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-13 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had not been on a motorcycle for 33 years and was looking for something that was not to big, looked sharp and had a bit of a kick. I found it in the Custom, The bike is a pleasure to ride and has enough power for an old guys Toy or a new rider.
- Tom, Kitchener

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-15 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a new 2000 V-star 650 and I think I'll hold on to it for about a year till I upgrade it to a bigger cc. People compliment me all the time on how awesome this bike looks, but once you're on the back roads you'll fall behind due to lack of power. Maybe I should have bought the 1100cc version...Overall it a good bike to show-off and cruise around town.
- Paul Chang, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-08 2000 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 1998 V-Star in 1999 as a first bike. I've since added saddle bags and a Cobra exhaust system. The exhaust cost me 2 mpg but added some needed horsepower to the bike. This bike is really good for short trips or low-speed commutes, which is how I use it. However, there is a bit of road vibration transmitted through the seat which does cause some discomfort. This is NOT a highway bike. Overall, the performance is good, looks are a real plus (again, people don't believe it's a 650), but I think most riders of any larger size or experience may want to upgrade after a while.
- Anonymous, Bel Air, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: