Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (65)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-10-26 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What first attracted me to my R1 is its beauty. After taking many years off of riding I decided I wanted to get back into it. As I looked around my local dealer's showroom floor I had many bikes to compare. My eyes focused on an R1 from across the room. It was love at first sight. It was the best looking bike I'd ever seen. Next I sat on it and noticed it's a very light bike. Not as heavy as some of the others. It was very comfortable too. I had to have it. After purchasing it I have no regrets at all. The performance is absolutely mind blowing. We're taking about a bike that is capable of raising its front wheel off the ground in 3rd gear going about 80mph or so. If you think you've gone fast, try finding the top speed of an R1. You'd be somewhere in the neighborhood of 180mph. I also ride with many others and it seems that the R1 gets the most attention whenever we're out. I hear it all the time, "Oh! An R1... nice bike man!" It seems that many people have heard about the legendary R1.
- Kazuya Saoeub Mishima, Burnsville, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-03 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's important to first include that I'm not a big guy very strong but not big. This has been an important factor in many aspects of riding the R1. It is a tall motorcycle with a 32" rider seat. I find that my height has been both an advantage and disadvantage. I'm comfortable while riding, even with the aggressive seating position. I'm not cramped like perhaps a six-footer would be. However, recently I've been considering lowering my R1, even at the risk of compromising its aesthetic appeal. I'm tired of constantly being on my toes. This should be an important consideration for any rider around my height, especially the inexperienced rider. To be brief: parking can be an issue; fully extending kickstand while sitting and parking on a hill or uneven plane can be dangerous. Not to say that it is impossible; I've been doing it on most of my motorcycles, but putting safety first allows for an enjoyable time on this bike. You can enjoy its high level of performance if you respect the bike. And I will tell you as it was told to me; "this bike will make you respect it." Know that this bike will: wheelie at 7000rpms in 1st, 2nd and maybe even 3rd gear whether you want it to or not. The good news is that the power comes on very gradual way; I'm referring to the 2000 carb. Model only and if you don't take a handful of throttle all at once, the bike is pleasurably manageable. I would not recommend taking a handful in any gear, or at any speed. So, your probably saying, "what's there to enjoy then." well, this bike moves even when gradually rolling on the throttle. Passing on the highway is easy. I can't remember ever downshifting to pass--even on uphill. These are the important factors I thought should be reviewed. Although I'm sure there are so much more. The digital odometer, lights, etc. In all, this is a quality motorcycle. Ride safely.
- Ecliff, Staten Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-21 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one truly unbelievable rollercoaster ride. As a Police Officer I should'nt be saying this but at 150mph this machine is AWESOME. I am truly glad that someone stole my ZX-9R if not I may have never been able to have the fun that my buddies (5 of us) and I have as we tear up the road taking our R1's to the limit andto all those Honda 900RR fanatics tell me how good do my tail lights look .
- topcop, chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-06 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't actually own one of these, but I've ridden my buddy's. The R1 engine is an awesome powerplant. It was voted the best engine of all time by a major European motorcyle magazine. It is compact, powerful, and predictable. There are no real weaknesses regarding performance of this bike. They go fast, handle well, and have excellent braking. If you want a bike to have fun on during the weekend, and make short jaunts, this is a great choice. I wouldn't want to spend any extended time on it however, because it is stiff riding and the ergonomics are very uncomfortable.
- Juan, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-06 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second R1, I have to say I love it. These bike are FAST, not the most comfy in the world though. But if you need more comfort then there's always a CBR-XX or ZX-12 or Hyabusa. Personally I added a corbin seat and a little taller wind shield (now I need some Heli bars or LSL clipons) But I really don't see a problem with longer rides. Great bike, if you like this type of bike, you really CAN'T go wrong with an R1. Handles wonderfully with Michilin Pilot sports(180 rear) turns in nice and is plenty stable. Highly recommended.
- Dave, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-30 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got my 2000 R-1 and I traded up from a Ducati 748 and let me tell you, what a difference in handleing, stability, power, and performance. The R-1 is truley an awesome piece of equipment. I am sooooooo happy that I traded and got an R-1. I have wanted one for 2 years and finally got my hands on one. It is the best bike that I have ever ridden. I love my R-1 and my R-1 loves me. Jim out
- jim kratz, temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-18 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was reading the reviews and i had to respond to the gentleman from my fair state who owns the TLR, yes you have a nice bike,albeit a little overweight, a little bit too hard to adjust the suspension-you do know how to do that don't you?. One of my friends rides a TLR as well-nice bike. Now, as far as the rest of the squids you see in maybe Royal Oak on R-1's, you are probably right. The R-1 is a handful, but remember it is your skill, not your bike makes you the determining factor on who gets dusted. In defense of the other R-1 riders in the Great lakes, the true test of a rider and his steed is not through the city streets, and not at the drag strip, Its at Grattan and Gingerman raceway. You have heard of them right?, R-1 owners have always known that the corny line from the fast & the furious "I live my life a 1/4 mile at a time" is BS meaning "busa stuff", The reason you ride an "R" bike is for the racetrack. Nuf said Also other R-1 guys out there, get yourself a set of Metzeler Rennsports, it'll take at least 2 seconds a lap off your times, another suggestion is raise the forks through your triple trees 5mm if you run the Dunlop D-207's and 8mm if you have the rennsports-You'll steer like an R-6. Trust me I know I do track days at both Grattan and Gingerman raceway peace
- Trackhead, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-16 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm really tired of seeing reviews where peeps compare bikes and give false stories about what they have done to a "certain" bike and how bad the R1 is to other bikes. The bottom line is that the R1 is one hell of a bike and hold it's own on the streets as well on the track. The performance is outstanding, and for a racing style design... it's very comfortable. The things that should be important in judging what bike you should get comes down to , performance, dependability, durability, comfort, and what you can handle in the wallet. You get 150hp's, a lightweight machine, and excellent handling. Overall the R1 cover all areas and I have yet been blown by anyone, unless I allowed them too. :-) In my eyes the R1 is still one of the best bikes out there and you will get your money worth every time you crack that throttle. This is a bike for experts only!!!! The bike will come from up under you in a blink of an eye. The throttle is very lively and is made to be run and run hard. With the speed/weight of this bike it could cause a novice fits. (maybe your life)Ride hard and be safe...I'm out. PS- don't take my word on it. After I got my R1...all of my peeps went out and got one. 2002 models (6 peeps all together):-0
- BigB, Wash DC/ Md.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-10 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike used to be the king of the hill, but not anymore. The gsx-r1000 came and slapped it off the topped. Sorry. Now Suzuki has two bikes better the the R1: the 750 and 1000. If your ever in AZ I'll see you on the US60, on a stand-up wheelie of couse. Can't wait to see how Honda's new 954 stacks up. 154 horse's and 370 pounds sounds nice
- M&M, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-04 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It doesn't get any better than this. I feel sorry for all the folk who live anywhere with speed limits cause here in Malaysia they practically don't exist. The roads are awesome and we cruise around on the highways at 200 + km/h. The R1 is so comfortable at these speeds she sits on 8,000rpm and yearns for more. She really comes into her own at a racetrack though where the power more than compensated for her modest chassis set-up. Few bikes compare to this beast.
- Rider, Malaysia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-09 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Will I traded my GSXR1000 in and got a blue R1. This is my second R1 I traded my first for the GSXR1000 (the GSXR is VARY unstable not a fun ride at all!) The R1 has great power (VARY STABLE) Fun to ride and vary reliable. Get what you like but I learned the hard way the R1 is the best bike!
- Tom D Swann, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-20 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride a champion edition R1. Man, I must say, that racing color scheme sure does look good, so if you are thinking of getting one, get the champion edition [that is if you could still find one.] My buddy used to have a 2000 gixxer750, and we make it a habit to trade bikes, just to see what each other's bike feels like. Well his gixxer could keep up pretty darn good with my R1, considering the sizes, 750 vs 1000. Not a fair competition, but he recently traded in his 750 for the gixxer1000 -- now that's competition. So me and my buddy went for our routine ride -- did what we always do, trade every couple of miles. [I think I was more excited than my buddy.] Man, I tell you, roll on after roll on the gixxer1000 would jump 1 bike length. Gear after gear it would leave my R1 behind. I can't even believe the power difference between both bikes. Now don't forget that we kept trading bikes just to make sure it's not the driver. But one thing though, my back and wrists started hurting for only a couple of miles on the gixxer. So for comfort riding I would definitely pick the R1.
- Bull, Callifornia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-17 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For all of you that are now on Yamaha's bandwagon, because of the R1, I have some news for you. The Rl isn't as big and bad as it used to be. Everyone is knocking the GSXR1000 because it will literally dominate an R1. The R1 isn't the beast that it was back in '98 and '99. In 2000 the GSXR750 blew it away (yes a 750 beat the "stellar" R1), and now the GSXR1000 will absolutely dominate the R1 w/ out even breaking a sweat. Everyone with an R1 won't admit it because they are scared to admit that their bike isn't still the baddest on the block. The GSXR is lighter, faster, handles better and has more power!!! This is all coming from a guy who owns a 2001 Champions Edition R1 and is putting it up for sale to get the GSXR1000! IT'S THE TRUTH!
- The TRUTH, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-14 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a 2001 r1, I am pleased with the power, weight, and overall handling. My only concern is my aching wrist. They are feeling better now but don't try to ride 100 miles without a stop!!!!! watch out gsxr1000r........
- Danny, Durham, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-08 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok lets clear the air and I don't mean all Suzuki's turn your engines off. The GSXR-1000 is here but not very impressive all this bike has is top speed and that makes it better than the Yamaha R1 you must be joking me. And I've sat on one of those GSXR-1000 and I don't care what you say that bike is no way near as light as a Yamaha R1 -- not even close. And how can you say that GSXR-1000 handles better than the R1 which needs a steering damper to help it. Looks, style smoothness, transmission, stability, bottom-end speed, midrange torque, handling, yes and comfort. And that front-end on the R1 I'll take it over a table dance. Rick (878) to be. For now (TRU).
- Soon to be (878), Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-03 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Where do I start?? There are too many of these on the road, they dont look very good at all, and they are way too expensive for what you really get out of it. Yes, the R1 is very fast, I'm not saying that it is not. But unless you live somewhere that has no speed limits than its a big waste of money. I own a 00' TL1000R V-Twin superbike, and I spank R1's on a regular basis. The only time an R1 even gets a chance to get beside me is on the express way, which doesnt mean anything. When I'm in the city on a 45mph road going light to light I kill every bike out there. And that is when everybody see's you, like the ladies!! And the TLR is the best looking bike on the road. A couple of my friends have R1's, and everytime we park the bikes and the attention starts to draw, it draws right towards my bike. Well I dont think I have to say anymore. If you want to buy an R1, go ahead, but dont come near me in the city because I will truly embarass you!
- Mike, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-01 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got my R1 a week ago. I haven't had the chance to even try it out. Well thats not true, i did drive it from one end of my garage to the other. I have 3 feet of snow outside and its freakin April 1st! Guess what is in the forcast for this next week. Snow! All week. Well I got my R1 for a great price. And I hid the puchase from wify too. She's was cool about it anyhow. She works nights. And I left a note on the door for when she got home. It read, " I bought you something to vibrate you in between your legs, see if you can find it, it's blue." I got up when she came home. She looked at me and smiled. And said, " Did you you get me a new sex toy? " I then fliped the light on the garage and she saw the new bike. She looked at me and said, " Im getting my hair done tomorrow no matter what you say, and you're paying for it." So my new R1 cost $22 plus tip. What a deal. 5 stars for the wife and bike. 1 Star for this f'n snow.
- Derek, Claremont, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-18 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got my 2001, chick magnet Blue R1(yeah right!) It's an awesome bike! If you're vertically challenged, this is the superbike replica for you. I'm 5'5 and thought about an R6 but the dealer offered a deal I couldn't refuse. Immediately, everyone said a steering damper is the thing to get. Any suggestion (Ohlin, Scott, or Lochart)? I looked hard at GSXR6 & 750, R6, TLR, TLS, and even SVS, but I'm glad I got the R1. Everything is right: fit, handling, and of course, power. I don't want to knock the other bikes, except the combination arrived perfectly at the R1.
- Arc, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-17 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
These guys at Yamaha are awesome. To be able to legally make and sell this level of pure adrenaline pumping excitement on two wheels should be illegal. As most of you owners already know, most of what we end up doing on this machine is probably illegal anyway. I mean, pulling the front end up at 60mph in second and riding that wheelie is pure bliss. Those lucky enough to get to 3rd gear and still have those twin headlights pointing skyward are in heaven for sure. I love this thing and have absoulutely nothing but fun full-filling all of those childhood daydreams as I blast through the gears and feel the wind pushing me back wanting to rip me off. INCREDIBLE. Jose
- Jose, West Palm, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-08 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike gets you going like a bat outa Hell. But 1 problem is your ass will hurt cuz you'll end up riding it for days! I don't wanna sleep when I got this baby in my garage. The R1 wont let u down, I'm not going into detail cuz u have probably heard it all in the other reviews. All u need to know is this is one excellent bike!!
- MaxCaber, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-01 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the best thing on the road right now. I ride with at least twenty other guys with bikes ranging from 250's to RC51's and they just cant hang with this bike. It has more midrange than anything on the street and will do wheelies at almost any speed you can handle. Forget about the CBR 929's and the ZX-9's, bring on the 2001 GSX-R 1000!!!
- Anonymous, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-29 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Okay, I told my dealer that he better be right about me liking this bike a hell of a lot more than the TL1000R I traded in for it. I owed him a big apology after riding off on my R1! The R1 is an awesome bike and demands the rider's respect at all times. This is one of the few bikes that controls you, rather than you controlling it! Screw all you wussies who say it's uncomfortable! This bike's not meant for long distance rides, unless you're doing tons of laps on a track! If Yamaha tried to make this bike more comfortable, it would be making the same mistake Honda did with the 900RR - attempting to make it more fit for the "overall general" population, and thus paving the way for its demise. The R1 is a purpose-built sportbike, its only purposes being spanking other bikes' booties and putting a big, stupid grin on your face everytime after riding it. So stop complaining about how much your butt hurts and get out there and ride the R1!!!
- rider, Madison, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-25 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are looking for an awesome bike with great power to weight ratio, I would recommend taking a hard look at the GSX-R750. I read that one rider stated the R1 feels like a 750 with 1000cc power and it does. The new gixxer feels like a 600 with 1000cc power. The GSX-R just feels better, is more confidence inspiring, more flickable in the twisties and will keep up with an R1 in the straights. I know I know, the R1 has a lot of hype, but do you want hype or a fricken awesome bike? Do your homework, read the reviews, and if you can ride both bikes. If you are an educated person and weigh the pro's and con's of both bikes the real choice is the GSX-R750! Long live the descendant of the legendary slingshot!
- Gary, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My new top speed is now 181mph, but I'll keep you updated. So far I am trying to learn how to maximize my leans in the corners. I love speed and the adrenaline my second gear gives me. It is the only gear that I can maximize my throttle with keeping the front on the ground. This bike feels like a 750 but its 1000cc powerplant reminds you that it is not a 750. I believe I have hit the fast speed within the city limits of Modesto, which is 173mph. That is serious tunnel vision in the city! I have ditched two cops already. I will be pulled over. don't be surprised if you see me in the high-speed chase videos. Please, if you are a nut like me, email me and share some of your nutty (370lbs. to 140rear wheel horsepower) stories!
- Bani from the streets of Modesto, Modesto, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-10 2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yea, I rode one...yup, loved it. This thing makes the heart go boom. If you know someone with clogged arteries, give him the key to the R1 and save him on the hospital bill. The accelaration this beast puts out is fregin sick! I ride a Ducati 900ss and love my bike, a friend gave me the key to his R1 one day and I realized my Duc was a Dog! If there weren't so many on the road I'd have one too, There's just...too many around..
- Dela, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: