Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2000 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

66 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Scottof Eli minutia

Prince Edward Island

Reviewed on 2021-09-14

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

2.5
Never rode it. But I really do admire Valentino and the patronas team. I think the only motorcycle other than the Honda cbr 1000 repsol hurricane 09 an 2015. I don’t have any money I wish u could afford it. I have my o9 right now my 2015 Has been at DNA lounge for a month and a half because I lost my keys in the fire and I can’t afford to get everything re-keyed sucks I also lost a Ducati panagale v4s corse. It was stolen and I put $15,000 into it and my mom got a fat insurance check because it was in her name and I didn’t get anything back I lost a lot in the fire on my helmets that I collected hot wheels I was going to donate to the kids at the hospital anf of the thing most of my clothes. Mechanic at DNA kept my motorcycle longer than he had too. I was walking around San Leandro for a month and one of those days I got stabbed and I had to get stitches at the hospital so to the owner of the motorcycle shop I told him I could give him my 2015 just to let me have my o9 back Just so I have something to ride or transportation I feel like the mechanic not the owner kind of took advantage of my situation and she got paid by my ex-wife and he never dropped off the motorcycle when he said he was so I’ve been going through a lot and one day when I get back on my feet and start working again I’ll probably try to get that GYTR even if I have to fly to Europe because I know they don’t sell that version out here
Reliability
4.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kazuya Saoeub Mishima

Burnsville, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2004-10-26

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What first attracted me to my R1 is its beauty. After taking many years off of riding I decided I wanted to get back into it. As I looked around my local dealer's showroom floor I had many bikes to compare. My eyes focused on an R1 from across the room. It was love at first sight. It was the best looking bike I'd ever seen. Next I sat on it and noticed it's a very light bike. Not as heavy as some of the others. It was very comfortable too. I had to have it. After purchasing it I have no regrets at all. The performance is absolutely mind blowing. We're taking about a bike that is capable of raising its front wheel off the ground in 3rd gear going about 80mph or so. If you think you've gone fast, try finding the top speed of an R1. You'd be somewhere in the neighborhood of 180mph. I also ride with many others and it seems that the R1 gets the most attention whenever we're out. I hear it all the time, "Oh! An R1... nice bike man!" It seems that many people have heard about the legendary R1.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ecliff

Staten Island, New York

Reviewed on 2004-03-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
It's important to first include that I'm not a big guy very strong but not big. This has been an important factor in many aspects of riding the R1. It is a tall motorcycle with a 32" rider seat. I find that my height has been both an advantage and disadvantage. I'm comfortable while riding, even with the aggressive seating position. I'm not cramped like perhaps a six-footer would be. However, recently I've been considering lowering my R1, even at the risk of compromising its aesthetic appeal. I'm tired of constantly being on my toes. This should be an important consideration for any rider around my height, especially the inexperienced rider. To be brief: parking can be an issue; fully extending kickstand while sitting and parking on a hill or uneven plane can be dangerous. Not to say that it is impossible; I've been doing it on most of my motorcycles, but putting safety first allows for an enjoyable time on this bike. You can enjoy its high level of performance if you respect the bike. And I will tell you as it was told to me; "this bike will make you respect it." Know that this bike will: wheelie at 7000rpms in 1st, 2nd and maybe even 3rd gear whether you want it to or not. The good news is that the power comes on very gradual way; I'm referring to the 2000 carb. Model only and if you don't take a handful of throttle all at once, the bike is pleasurably manageable. I would not recommend taking a handful in any gear, or at any speed. So, your probably saying, "what's there to enjoy then." well, this bike moves even when gradually rolling on the throttle. Passing on the highway is easy. I can't remember ever downshifting to pass--even on uphill. These are the important factors I thought should be reviewed. Although I'm sure there are so much more. The digital odometer, lights, etc. In all, this is a quality motorcycle. Ride safely.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

topcop

chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2003-04-21

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is one truly unbelievable rollercoaster ride. As a Police Officer I should'nt be saying this but at 150mph this machine is AWESOME. I am truly glad that someone stole my ZX-9R if not I may have never been able to have the fun that my buddies (5 of us) and I have as we tear up the road taking our R1's to the limit andto all those Honda 900RR fanatics tell me how good do my tail lights look .
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Juan

Boise, Idaho

Reviewed on 2003-02-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I don't actually own one of these, but I've ridden my buddy's. The R1 engine is an awesome powerplant. It was voted the best engine of all time by a major European motorcyle magazine. It is compact, powerful, and predictable. There are no real weaknesses regarding performance of this bike. They go fast, handle well, and have excellent braking. If you want a bike to have fun on during the weekend, and make short jaunts, this is a great choice. I wouldn't want to spend any extended time on it however, because it is stiff riding and the ergonomics are very uncomfortable.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

Salt Lake City, Utah

Reviewed on 2003-01-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second R1, I have to say I love it. These bike are FAST, not the most comfy in the world though. But if you need more comfort then there's always a CBR-XX or ZX-12 or Hyabusa. Personally I added a corbin seat and a little taller wind shield (now I need some Heli bars or LSL clipons) But I really don't see a problem with longer rides. Great bike, if you like this type of bike, you really CAN'T go wrong with an R1. Handles wonderfully with Michilin Pilot sports(180 rear) turns in nice and is plenty stable. Highly recommended.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jim kratz

temecula, California

Reviewed on 2002-06-30

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got my 2000 R-1 and I traded up from a Ducati 748 and let me tell you, what a difference in handleing, stability, power, and performance. The R-1 is truley an awesome piece of equipment. I am sooooooo happy that I traded and got an R-1. I have wanted one for 2 years and finally got my hands on one. It is the best bike that I have ever ridden. I love my R-1 and my R-1 loves me. Jim out
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Trackhead

Michigan

Reviewed on 2002-01-18

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was reading the reviews and i had to respond to the gentleman from my fair state who owns the TLR, yes you have a nice bike,albeit a little overweight, a little bit too hard to adjust the suspension-you do know how to do that don't you?. One of my friends rides a TLR as well-nice bike. Now, as far as the rest of the squids you see in maybe Royal Oak on R-1's, you are probably right. The R-1 is a handful, but remember it is your skill, not your bike makes you the determining factor on who gets dusted. In defense of the other R-1 riders in the Great lakes, the true test of a rider and his steed is not through the city streets, and not at the drag strip, Its at Grattan and Gingerman raceway. You have heard of them right?, R-1 owners have always known that the corny line from the fast & the furious "I live my life a 1/4 mile at a time" is BS meaning "busa stuff", The reason you ride an "R" bike is for the racetrack. Nuf said Also other R-1 guys out there, get yourself a set of Metzeler Rennsports, it'll take at least 2 seconds a lap off your times, another suggestion is raise the forks through your triple trees 5mm if you run the Dunlop D-207's and 8mm if you have the rennsports-You'll steer like an R-6. Trust me I know I do track days at both Grattan and Gingerman raceway peace
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BigB

Wash DC/ Md.

Reviewed on 2001-11-16

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm really tired of seeing reviews where peeps compare bikes and give false stories about what they have done to a "certain" bike and how bad the R1 is to other bikes. The bottom line is that the R1 is one hell of a bike and hold it's own on the streets as well on the track. The performance is outstanding, and for a racing style design... it's very comfortable. The things that should be important in judging what bike you should get comes down to , performance, dependability, durability, comfort, and what you can handle in the wallet. You get 150hp's, a lightweight machine, and excellent handling. Overall the R1 cover all areas and I have yet been blown by anyone, unless I allowed them too. :-) In my eyes the R1 is still one of the best bikes out there and you will get your money worth every time you crack that throttle. This is a bike for experts only!!!! The bike will come from up under you in a blink of an eye. The throttle is very lively and is made to be run and run hard. With the speed/weight of this bike it could cause a novice fits. (maybe your life)Ride hard and be safe...I'm out. PS- don't take my word on it. After I got my R1...all of my peeps went out and got one. 2002 models (6 peeps all together):-0
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

M&M

Phoenix, Arizona

Reviewed on 2001-10-10

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
This bike used to be the king of the hill, but not anymore. The gsx-r1000 came and slapped it off the topped. Sorry. Now Suzuki has two bikes better the the R1: the 750 and 1000. If your ever in AZ I'll see you on the US60, on a stand-up wheelie of couse. Can't wait to see how Honda's new 954 stacks up. 154 horse's and 370 pounds sounds nice
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 66 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: