Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (27)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-09-22 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike just does what you tell it. Go, Go, Go!!! It will run with the big boys with no problem. This bike gets more stable the faster you go. Just hit the throttle and hold on for dear life. This is a great bike to have. Everybody is intimidated by its looks. They all want to race.
- Marvin Singletary, Monroe, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-11 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a 2000 R6. It is the most phenomenal bike I have ever rode! Super quick speed and response. It has excellent handling and maneuverability. The bike revs to the moon. The R6 is in a class of it's own. It will easily runs with the 1000cc bikes some of my friends have. It smokes almost every bike on the rode except the R1, GSXR 1000 and the Hayabusa! It's nice real nice.
- ACTION JACKSON, g-ville, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-30 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my R6 since new and it is terriffic in most every way. Very powerful, corners like mad and is reasonably comfortable. My wrists get tired after a while but that is to be expected on such a narrowly focused bike. My only complaints are the buzzing between 6 and 7k rpms and the seat gets very warm after a few miles, particularly in the crotch area :(. Do yourself a favor and switch to a 70 series front tire. It will make it much more stable and corner in a more linear fashion. My Metzler M1 fit with abosolutely no mods.
- Scott E., Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-10 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I swore as my first motorcyle that I'd keep it under 60mph, and conservative on the turns, but that's impossible with the Yamaha R6. It gets more stable the faster you go, and leans into the turns like wouldn't believe. I don't even know why anyone would need a bigger bike, this thing is fast off the line, and goes from 65 to MUCH faster before you can say whoa!
- Adam Kalita, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-17 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Light,smooth, and very easy to learn on. I bought mine with 18,000 miles on it and I added another 3200 miles in 2 months. It's an addiction. This bike does everything and more. I can hang in there with the Suzuki TL 1000 and a Kawasaki 750 Ninja on the twisties. Ultra flickable and mega wheelie monster. Just pure fun for anyone.
- Erik K. Andersen, Norwalk, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-15 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a 2001 R6. It's almost a month that I have the bike now and it has almost 900 miles on it. I really wasn't looking for a new bike at first (I had a 91 Ninja ZX-6 which was a great bike). Then, my brother's friend bought one. He let me take it for a ride and I was not even on the bike 5 minutes when I came back the first words out of my mouth were "I'm getting an R6". The bike was definitely convincing. So about a week later I got one. The blue and white. He had the red and black. The bike is absolutely AMAZING!! The power band is incredible. Nothing in life compares to riding on a bike it is just so awesome. Well, I thank Yamaha for building fantastic bike and now I'm thanking myself for buying it!
- Jim, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-27 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 00 for 14 months now, 9k on the o.d., front and back tire later, it is still running like a champ. I did drop one tooth when still new and it rocks even harder in second. 1st is good, but 2nd is where it's at. You do have too keep the R's up there to really have fun, but once it's up to 10K it's all good. I played a lot with the suspension settings and found the best setup on Racetech.com I dialed in my weight and style of desired and it gave me the rest.
- Rider, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-15 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. I put over 13k in the last year and I have had no problems whatsoever.
- Sportbikerx, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-25 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my 2001 R6 about 10 days ago and I am still breaking it in - I have another couple hundred miles before I can really open it up but I can tell already that this bike is sweet!! I used to race a CBR 600 and it never felt this stable in turns or this fast! The Team Yamaha blue/white paint scheme is definately trick looking. Everything I read about this bike is true. It seems to me that the R6 is a racebike with turn signals.What more could you ask for?
- Jeff, Murrieta, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-18 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded my 99 900rr for a 2001 r6. I wasn't sure if I could deal with not having the power, but after the first weekend of riding theres no worry. The R6 has plenty of power. If anyone is thinking of getting one JUST DO IT...you wont be disappointed...the R6 kicks ass!
- sh, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-15 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my new 01' R6 the other day. All I can say is this is the baddest bike I have ever ridden. The styling is second to none. I love the new sunken clear tail lights on the 01' model. I looked at and rode a few different bikes including some liter bikes. It's funny because the R6 was the last bike on my list, but once I looked at and rode it I was sold. The R6 felt the most comfortable to me and it handes like it is on rails. A definite winner. Way to go Yamaha.
- Anonymous, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-13 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm new to sportbikes, I've ridden an f2, zx6r, cbr900rr, and several harleys. I must say that my new 1999 R6 is ridiculously fast. It's almost hard to stay on the bike once it approaches the redline in 3rd gear. I'm still new, so my confidence with the twisties is limited... BUT IT SEEMS READY FOR ANY TURN I throw at it. My only vice with the bike is the poor riding postition. It is VERY uncomfortable for longer rides. After an hour, you have to take a break. I guess thats all sport bikes though... I need a Harley AND the R6... lol
- Mason, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-15 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded in my Ninja 600R for a 2001 YZF-R6. A friend of mine owns one a 1999 model and I was tired of getting my butt kicked. The R6 is small light and the 2001 model looks awesome. Ilooked at the new GSXR 600 but after sitting on the bike I decided against it. The Suzuki 600 feels more like an 1100 size wise. And the looks barf city. The R6 rocks. I can hardly wait for all the snow to melt around here so I can go rip up the pavement.
- Peter, Toronto

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-10 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got my new 2001 limited edition series R6 and the tail section is da' bomb. It's nice to have a little different decal pattern than the standard and the bike feels incredibly light compared to the 94' ZX-7 I traded in on it. I had not ridden for a while and the ZX was a good break in bike, now the fun begins! The technology is crazy in this class and I don't think I'll need to step up to the large cc bikes for long time.
- harry, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the bike to have if you are a crotch rocket kind of person. The controls are smooth, the bike is light and fast, and most of all it is reliable. The R6 is the most comfortable bike to ride for long trips,as well as, racing.
- Ricky, Van Buren, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-08 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is the middleweight mauler. A race bike on the street. 15,500 redline 16,500 revlimiter, broad foregiving powerband lets you ride where other bikes are shifting.
- Weve, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-28 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had several sport bikes from an RZ350, FZR 400, CBRF2, Tl1000s, and now a 2001 YZFR6. I don't know if Yamaha claims a power increase this year or not but 600's didn't used to be this fast. I contemplated the purcase of a 2001 GSXR 600 but the R6 still felt more comfortable (relatively) and lighter. Also the Suzuki's styling was somewhat bland compared w/the Yamha. I am extremely pleased w/this machine. After riding the Suzuki Tl for two years I'm having to readjust my mind to the handling and braking. This thing flat rocks. Buy it and enjoy, on the street or track one really doesn't need any more performance.
- RWotring, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-03 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my 2000 B/W R6 from a friend who needed to sell. I really liked my old 600 Hurricane until I rode the R6. First and second gears roll on wheelies? Speed shift to third and up it comes again? Leave her pegged, (If you can) and nail 4th and once again she raises her head about four inches. Who put the little bike engine in this machine? Stock brakes are exceptional and it corners like it's on rails. Kudos to Yamaha for giving the people what they really want. Everything I've read about this bike is true. "The only limiting factor is you". If your looking for an outstanding machine for both street and track, you have to at least test ride this machine.
- Paul, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-05 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my red R6 a month ago and I have already put on over 1100 miles. When I finally decided that this was the bike to get I searched a while to find it; everybody wants one! I now see why. The bike is a monster in the turns, it accelerates like a rocket and it responds like it's psychic. Its limits far exceed mine and I have every intention in increasing mine to match. If you're looking for a 600, don't settle for second best. This is the bike to have!
- Rob, Royal Oak, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-02 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike just does not do anything wrong. I also think that while I have a friend with a r1, he can't touch me on a curvy road. The blue and white paint scheme is a chick magnet.
- jeff kincaid, Sandusky, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-16 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my R6 and in less than a week I have put on over 750 miles. This is my first motorcycle and I had never ridden before. I took the MSF beginner's course on the weekend and rode the bike home from the dealership on Monday. It feels very light and responsive. I haven't test driven any other bikes, but I wouldn't trade my R6 for anything except maybe a Ducati 996/916 foggy replica. :)
- Paul, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-15 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden a CBR 600 for most of my years. I just picked up the new R6 today and let me tell ya. I've never been more happy with a bike. If you're looking for a bike that screams, this is definitely the one. One Love!!!
- D'Shan, Ocean Springs, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-11 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought in March a "Y2K compliant", 128 miles on the clock, voluptuous R6. So far, the Arizona Motor-Vehicle Dept has awarded me with an 8hrs "Defensive-Driving-Course", three written warnings, and a speed ticket (by a very charming police-chick). But hey! No way man! No regrets! If I could go back in time, I would have made the very same "sensible" choice, again and again and again! We have a need. A NEED FOR SPEED! In plain every-day-english (pros & cons), the R6 is not as torquey as my old CBR1000F, or even the Suzuki Bandit 1200. It needs a bit rev-help before you shoot. However, the acceleration with a 2nd, 3rd and 4th gear is better than sex. Orgasmic! After that happening, one may think that the rest of the gears are for cosmetic reasons only. Not even my CBR600F3 was so immensely fast and abrupt as my new R6. You also feel everything, from the smallest stone to the finest of grains. But that feedback is something subjective. Some riders like it, some riders prefer more neutral attributes on their bikes. Getting into wide fast turns is still the most thrilling experience. It leans, it leans and still there is room for more lean. Or at least, the bike's capabilities are by far greater than my own abilities. Cons: that annoying buzz at 60mph, which really wears-out your legs and arms after 100 miles. I found that the only way that can be eliminated, is at speeds beyond 75mph. Subsequently, one has to check the speed limits with the local authorities as a proper law-obedient person should do (?). Nevertheless lads, if you buy this bike to ride around your local pub, or take it for a nice relaxed cruise with your miss's, or even explore the beauty of our nature, ...Oh! Forget it! Buy the Harley instead or a new PLAYSTATION. This is stress-relief mechanism. It scares the **** out of you and makes you feel humble again, human and above all, it makes you understand in a rather impolite way that you're not indestructible anymore!
- Nass Bardis, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-05-08 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I originally owned a 98 Honda CBR 600 F3, and it was stolen after putting 23,000 miles on it in a year and two months. As you can tell, I love to ride. I looked at the F4's, but they didn't give me the excited "school-boy" feeling I got when I saw the R6 and its stunning good looks. I was originally worried about the reliability of the R6 matching up to Honda's reputation, but after hearing about the same optional 4 year warranty, as well as the valve adjustments required only every 24,000 miles, my fears subsided. As far as performance goes, the extra power in the high RPMs is thrilling, and so is getting it up on its rear wheel! The gas tank does get in the way of my hands a little bit when making turns in a parking lot, but once you get it out on the open road where you do most of your riding anyhow, it's simply awesome. The bike just begs you to lean down as far as you want through the curves, and fly through them. If it's reliability, performance, and pleasure you're looking for, the R6 is what you want to shop for.
- Adam Cain, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-23 2000 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my 2000 R6 about a month ago, and I still grin from ear to ear every time I look at it. Great looks (get the blue, women love it), super-light weight, incredible performance (that "hellacious powerband" bit is true; it PULLS like a freight train up top), and is actually pretty comfortable. Obviously not a cruiser, but you'll have so much fun on it that you won't even care. Trust me. = )
- Dayo, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: