Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (27)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-11-30 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding my 2000 YZF600R for the last 12 months, having purchased it used last year. After 8000 miles of city riding in all possible weather conditions (yes, that includes snow, idiot that I am), I'm still totally pleased with it. It's quick, comfortable, and reliable. Ridden reasonably, I get 55-60 MPG, which translates to a commuting/touring range of 240 miles to reserve. Even if the design is nearly a decade old, it's still a fine looking ride, particularly in black. You can't go wrong with this one.
- Rev. David Williams, Annandale, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-08 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since I'm new to the moto family, I have few comparisons to make. I will say that for a guy 240+ lbs. this bike does more than carry me from point A to B. It's comfortable and handles easily. Great bike for the beginner.
- Angelo, Greensboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-25 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I use this bike *every* day, it's my main vehicle for going to work and university as well as for group riding during the weekends! What I like the most is that it's *very* confortable and still have good power for getting you fast out of any trouble on the street as well as keeping up the peace with bigger and faster sporbikes (mine is the smallest one in the group riding days, but I'm not the last one). If you plan on getting a sportbike that is good for an everyday use get the YZF600R Thundercat (or the Honda CBR600 F4, my previous bike, they are very similar). If you want a bike for Sunday morning canyon carving, get something more powerful, like an R6 or GSX-R. Just my two cents Alejandro
- Alejandro Dominguez, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-03 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wish I had found this Web site earlier! Just some validation on my purchase. I have been very cautious about what bike was going to be my next, many test rides and a lot of soul searching. I finally bought a 2002 YZF 600RP, 400 miles later and I am smiling each time I ride. Last bike was the VFR 750FV (97). Great bike, but I really like this one better, great engine above 4000 rpm, great handling and comfortable. The price was what sold me 6999.00 and you can work on the price, really. Sometimes things are just right. 5 stars. Grabby clutch, no clock or fuel gauge, that's it on complaints. About the clutch, very small engagement zone. Otherwise it works well!
- Matthew, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-18 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike in May 2000. Many of the reviews from owners on this site helped me with my purchase because I wanted something quick, fairly comfortable, with out a lot of maintenance. I've found that most of the folks who write these reviews have owned their bikes for a few months and are generally pleased. I thought I might come back and fill in the rest of the story. After a year and a half of ownership, I am still pleased with my purchase, enough so that if I had to do it over again, knowing what I know now, I'd make the same decision. The bike is comfortable. My wife and I have gone on 4-hour trips together. The pillion seat isn't quite as comfy as the rider seat, but even so it's far more comfy than other pillions on other sport motorcycles! I've ridden 7-hour stints before, something I'd not be able to do on a GSXR or CBR or others nearly as comfortably. It's also fast, I've seen 135 mph, and the speedo was quickly climbing. I decided to "shut down" before I got a ticket, hit a deer, etc. It was still very exciting. It also handles well. I enjoy getting out to the twisty roads when I can. Maintenance has also been ever so easy. I lube the chain once a week, which doesn't take long, and allows me time to go over other parts of the bike to ensure everything's in top shape. So far, so good! The things that I would improve would be short. One would involve the quality of the plastic fairing. My right rear fairing has a 1-inch crack in it, just by the rear brake fluid. The crack developed 2 months after I purchased the bike. My dealer said that wouldn't be covered under warranty. In all fairness, I haven't met anyone else with a Yamaha who has had a problem with their plastic. Secondly, I'd change the location of the rear brake reservoir. It's in a location which is a pain to get to conveniently. Finally, I'd change the number of screws holding the fairing to the body of the bike. There are too many. that's it. The YZF600R just works great. After a year and a half, I have over 12,000 miles on the clock. I use it for commuting to work and for fun trips to twisties. I still heartily recommend this motorcycle! It's incredible. It's the perfect real world sportbike!
- Micah, Northwest Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-28 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the opportunity to ride several of the new 600 screamers like the R6 Champion's edition, the ZX6r and the GSXR600. All my friends have them. The Yamaha YZF can more than hold it's own with them all the way to 120 mph. Only then does it fall a little short. But when it takes 60-70 miles just to get to some good roads where I live, they are pulling over for a back/butt break and I am ready to hit the curves. The fit and finish of this bike in my opinion is higher than Honda, and the ergos are more like an R6 with helibars. This bike will not disapoint in any area. It revs strong, treats you well, and is over $1000 less than the top shelf weekend track bikes in the 600cc class. This thing flat kicks ass...nuff' said.
- Eric Tuley, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-26 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been fortunate to have tried a huge variety of motorcyles over the years. I've tried VFR's, Fazers, TL1000R's, Gixer's and Ninja's the list goes on. This bike is actually the 1st 600cc I have ever owned. A years ago this review would never have been written. I brought the machine with me to Vancouver Island for 2 months and put some serious mountain twisties on the odometer. Ergos are great and so is the fitfinish. This is a feel good, grown up 600!!
- Troy Stevens, Mississauga, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-22 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is just too good to be true. I cannot get enough of it. Speed, performance, comfort, looks, price.......this bike has it all. You stand out on this one, your not just another R6 on the street. Go get one,, you will be patting yourself on the back for the favor you did yourself. Have fun,!!
- Jerry Ford, Forte dei Marmi, Italy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-09 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my YZF600R in Jan 2001 and have put abt 800 miles on it - The bike's awesome - a very comfortable riding posture and comfy for a pillion. The acceleration, braking and handling is great. The bike looks great and is just about right for anyone who loves speed and values riding comfort. Its a much longer way to the chiropractitioner compared to the other aggressive sport bikes. I LOVE IT.
- Deepak Sankaran, Hayward, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-12-19 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a black '00 600R in August and since then I have put 4000 miles on it. The bike looks great and rides superbly on the freeway and in the mountains. For $1000 less than an R6, you get a maximum amount of comfort. On the street it can run with any 600. The black really stands out since most bikes these days are dressed in flashier paint schemes... I get a lot of compliments whenever I take it out. I let a buddy ride mine and he bought a blue one a week later. I've also been informed by various sources that with a little tweaking (exhaust, jet kit, etc..) this thing can really scream, not that 120mph plus isn't fast enough already. Buy it and you will not be disappointed!
- Walker, San Luis Obispo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-06 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in July and have ridden it from Wichita to Kansas City twice rides nice on highway and tons of speed, also just to much horse power to open it up in the city. I didn't want a bike I couldn't use a lot of its power, like an R-1 this bike is a perfect combo bike I have had it up to 120 and it wanted to go high but I didn't. No problems with fit or finish and ran great out of box. Fully adjustable suspension makes it easy to set up the way you want it, I have put four thousand miles on it in three months and it is still purring no problems.
- DOUG, Wichita, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-27 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2000 YZR600R new in August after a lot of research. What clinched the purchase for me was its outstanding rating as a used bike in a mainstream British motorcycle magazine. They're hard to find in Toronto since most dealers stock only the R6. I wanted something lighter and better handling than a cruiser, but less radical that a pure 600 supersport. The YZR600R has fit the bill for me on all counts. It's supremely comfortable for a sportbike and the brakes are just outstanding. The transmission can be a bit clunky at times, but a firm boot will always get the job done.
- gtolusso, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-29 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got a 2001 yzf 600r I am very satisfied with the bike. I ordered slip on pipes from blue flame in England and man what a difference is sound and performance. Awesome.
- mhargun, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-22 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine new, and in the 8000 miles I've accumulated, I've felt a slight tinge of regret, and only when passing an R6. This dissipates when I note the awkward riding position of the R6 pilot, and the grimace through his face-shield. While the styling of the YZF600R leaves a (very) little to be desired, (the interesting rake on the fairing lower, for one) this bike is incredibly comfortable and handles superbly in spite of its mass and weight. Confidence inspiring and ergonomically sound, this bike will hang with the best of the 600s in the twisties, and can be ridden longer before the need to get off and stretch becomes overwhelming. A fair amount of effort is required to touch the foot-pegs down, but at this point the bike still makes you aware of its awesome stability. Brakes are excellent as well, adding to your level of confidence. Trim 30 pounds from this bike, and it would be absolutely perfect.
- Peer, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-12 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my black '00 YZF600R on May 25 (paid $6400--no dealer prep), and to date, I have over 4,400 miles. It has excellent road manners both on the superslab and the twisty blacktop. My butt enjoys the comfy seat with plenty of room to move around on (I'm 5'10"). It's very fast for the street. R6 can't match the ergos of the 600R, and given equal riders on the STREET, the 600R will hang with the R6. If you want a drop dead gorgeous bike with excellent ergonomics, great range, at an incredible deal, swing by your local Yamaha dealer. YZF600R is designed for the street; however, if you need a track knife, R6 is it. (You'll want the 600R for the ride home though!)
- Micah, Northwest Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-21 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Finally someone made the perfect bike: a drop-dead gorgeous rocket that you can ride for longer than 45 minutes without a call to your chiropractor. And it will hang with any CBR600 or ZX-6R and even the evil twin R6 - unless your world exists in milliseconds.
- Chaz, Little Rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-07-20 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a red 1999 YZF600R out the door for $6200.00. I was looking to spend $10K for a new VFR but this bike is more comfortable, better looking and is cheaper both in maintenance and insurance cost. I've put 300 miles on it in the first week. I LOVE IT. If not for my woman and my work I doubt I'd get off of it. Very comfortable and way faster than I need to go. Very forgiving ride too. I've tried to get this bike squirrelly and it takes my poor input with grace. I'm keeping this one.
- Jason, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-15 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up a 99 3 weeks ago - black on black. This bike is a great all around package. Set up suspension soft for commuting and it is a pillow. Dial in some pre-load and damp - Great in the twisties. Great wind protection. Get the Black 99 model and take all the white stickers (yzf) off. It leaves you with a black beauty with silver Yamaha on the tank. I am getting 53 mpg on the road and 46 around town.
- Anonymous, Orange County, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-12 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike instead of the R6 for one reason Comfort. This bike is only 2 months old (I bought it in 4/2000) and I already put 4500 miles on it. The only drawback is the rear suspension it needs a little modification and for me at least the California emissions package needs to go. With a Yoshi exhaust + jet kit on the way as well as a rear suspension upgrade in the works this bike will chew up the competition when put to the test for a reasonable price too. When all is said and done this bike is hands down the best sport/touring for its weight and price as well as the fastest.
- Dan Green, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-05 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride a 98 YZF600R and love it. With a stage 1 jet kit and a slip-on, the power and response are much better suited for commuting, touring, or cutting up the twisties (STRONG midrange). This bike handles with ease. The Ace in the hole for this bike is its MSRP of just $6,999. Only quibble with the bike, too many darn screws holding on the fairing. Even with that it's still much easier to work on than most 600's I've seen. One last benefit, not everyone has one so you can tell which bike is yours.
- Dan, Middletown, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-27 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has got to be one of the best investments in my "big-toys for big-boys" collection. I couldn't ask for better performance and comfort in the price range. I really like the throttle-position sensor for quick response and excellent torque in the mid to upper range. And how 'bout dem brakes! You can practically stop on a dime. I currently own a Black/Silver '97, and to date it's a keeper.
- Anonymous, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-06 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have over 29K on my 1997 and it still looks new. Nobody can ride faster on the ROAD (I am not talking about the track) than this bike will allow you. I use it to commute, carve twisties, tour across the Southwest, two-up and solo. I am keeping this bike forever. I thought of upgrading but then I asked myself why. It is a bit like a VFR800, just as fast and comfortable but slightly sportier (not to mention 100 times better-looking).
- St�phane, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-02 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased one in 1/2000. Have over 1000K. Great Bike. Very comfortable on short or long trips. I usually travel with a passenger. She thinks it's great. hasn't complained on comfort. Seems to enjoy it more than I do. This is a wonderful bike for those who need comfort and desire sport.
- John Coleman, Lynchburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-29 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2000 YZF 600R since 1/2000, and find it truly a joy to ride. Comfortable enough for daily cummuting and longer tours, yet still carves up the twisties with the best of them, all for under $7K! It looks awefully trick as well.
- John Spencer, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-03-27 2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my YZF600 since August 99. It's great for riding to work and back or for those 300+ days. Plenty of power, great looks and very low maitainence. A D&D slip-on sounds great on it too.
- Wayne, Hanceville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: