‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2000 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bike reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

Stars Refinement

27 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Rev. David Williams

Annandale, Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-11-30

Motorcycle reviewed 2000 Yamaha YZF600R view listing

5.0
I've been riding my 2000 YZF600R for the last 12 months, having purchased it used last year. After 8000 miles of city riding in all possible weather conditions (yes, that includes snow, idiot that I am), I'm still totally pleased with it. It's quick, comfortable, and reliable. Ridden reasonably, I get 55-60 MPG, which translates to a commuting/touring range of 240 miles to reserve. Even if the design is nearly a decade old, it's still a fine looking ride, particularly in black. You can't go wrong with this one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Angelo

Greensboro, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2003-04-08

Motorcycle reviewed 2000 Yamaha YZF600R view listing

5.0
Since I'm new to the moto family, I have few comparisons to make. I will say that for a guy 240+ lbs. this bike does more than carry me from point A to B. It's comfortable and handles easily. Great bike for the beginner.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alejandro Dominguez

Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

Reviewed on 2002-07-25

Motorcycle reviewed 2000 Yamaha YZF600R view listing

4.0
I use this bike *every* day, it's my main vehicle for going to work and university as well as for group riding during the weekends! What I like the most is that it's *very* confortable and still have good power for getting you fast out of any trouble on the street as well as keeping up the peace with bigger and faster sporbikes (mine is the smallest one in the group riding days, but I'm not the last one). If you plan on getting a sportbike that is good for an everyday use get the YZF600R Thundercat (or the Honda CBR600 F4, my previous bike, they are very similar). If you want a bike for Sunday morning canyon carving, get something more powerful, like an R6 or GSX-R. Just my two cents Alejandro
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matthew

USA

Reviewed on 2001-11-03

Motorcycle reviewed 2000 Yamaha YZF600R view listing

5.0
I wish I had found this Web site earlier! Just some validation on my purchase. I have been very cautious about what bike was going to be my next, many test rides and a lot of soul searching. I finally bought a 2002 YZF 600RP, 400 miles later and I am smiling each time I ride. Last bike was the VFR 750FV (97). Great bike, but I really like this one better, great engine above 4000 rpm, great handling and comfortable. The price was what sold me 6999.00 and you can work on the price, really. Sometimes things are just right. 5 stars. Grabby clutch, no clock or fuel gauge, that's it on complaints. About the clutch, very small engagement zone. Otherwise it works well!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Micah

Northwest Arkansas

Reviewed on 2001-09-18

Motorcycle reviewed 2000 Yamaha YZF600R view listing

5.0
I bought my bike in May 2000. Many of the reviews from owners on this site helped me with my purchase because I wanted something quick, fairly comfortable, with out a lot of maintenance. I've found that most of the folks who write these reviews have owned their bikes for a few months and are generally pleased. I thought I might come back and fill in the rest of the story. After a year and a half of ownership, I am still pleased with my purchase, enough so that if I had to do it over again, knowing what I know now, I'd make the same decision. The bike is comfortable. My wife and I have gone on 4-hour trips together. The pillion seat isn't quite as comfy as the rider seat, but even so it's far more comfy than other pillions on other sport motorcycles! I've ridden 7-hour stints before, something I'd not be able to do on a GSXR or CBR or others nearly as comfortably. It's also fast, I've seen 135 mph, and the speedo was quickly climbing. I decided to "shut down" before I got a ticket, hit a deer, etc. It was still very exciting. It also handles well. I enjoy getting out to the twisty roads when I can. Maintenance has also been ever so easy. I lube the chain once a week, which doesn't take long, and allows me time to go over other parts of the bike to ensure everything's in top shape. So far, so good! The things that I would improve would be short. One would involve the quality of the plastic fairing. My right rear fairing has a 1-inch crack in it, just by the rear brake fluid. The crack developed 2 months after I purchased the bike. My dealer said that wouldn't be covered under warranty. In all fairness, I haven't met anyone else with a Yamaha who has had a problem with their plastic. Secondly, I'd change the location of the rear brake reservoir. It's in a location which is a pain to get to conveniently. Finally, I'd change the number of screws holding the fairing to the body of the bike. There are too many. that's it. The YZF600R just works great. After a year and a half, I have over 12,000 miles on the clock. I use it for commuting to work and for fun trips to twisties. I still heartily recommend this motorcycle! It's incredible. It's the perfect real world sportbike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric Tuley

Tampa, Florida

Reviewed on 2001-02-28

Motorcycle reviewed 2000 Yamaha YZF600R view listing

5.0
I have had the opportunity to ride several of the new 600 screamers like the R6 Champion's edition, the ZX6r and the GSXR600. All my friends have them. The Yamaha YZF can more than hold it's own with them all the way to 120 mph. Only then does it fall a little short. But when it takes 60-70 miles just to get to some good roads where I live, they are pulling over for a back/butt break and I am ready to hit the curves. The fit and finish of this bike in my opinion is higher than Honda, and the ergos are more like an R6 with helibars. This bike will not disapoint in any area. It revs strong, treats you well, and is over $1000 less than the top shelf weekend track bikes in the 600cc class. This thing flat kicks ass...nuff' said.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Troy Stevens

Mississauga, Ontario

Reviewed on 2001-02-26

Motorcycle reviewed 2000 Yamaha YZF600R view listing

5.0
I have been fortunate to have tried a huge variety of motorcyles over the years. I've tried VFR's, Fazers, TL1000R's, Gixer's and Ninja's the list goes on. This bike is actually the 1st 600cc I have ever owned. A years ago this review would never have been written. I brought the machine with me to Vancouver Island for 2 months and put some serious mountain twisties on the odometer. Ergos are great and so is the fitfinish. This is a feel good, grown up 600!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jerry Ford

Forte dei Marmi, Italy

Reviewed on 2001-02-22

Motorcycle reviewed 2000 Yamaha YZF600R view listing

5.0
This bike is just too good to be true. I cannot get enough of it. Speed, performance, comfort, looks, price.......this bike has it all. You stand out on this one, your not just another R6 on the street. Go get one,, you will be patting yourself on the back for the favor you did yourself. Have fun,!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Deepak Sankaran

Hayward, California

Reviewed on 2001-02-09

Motorcycle reviewed 2000 Yamaha YZF600R view listing

5.0
I bought my YZF600R in Jan 2001 and have put abt 800 miles on it - The bike's awesome - a very comfortable riding posture and comfy for a pillion. The acceleration, braking and handling is great. The bike looks great and is just about right for anyone who loves speed and values riding comfort. Its a much longer way to the chiropractitioner compared to the other aggressive sport bikes. I LOVE IT.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Walker

San Luis Obispo, California

Reviewed on 2000-12-19

Motorcycle reviewed 2000 Yamaha YZF600R view listing

5.0
I bought a black '00 600R in August and since then I have put 4000 miles on it. The bike looks great and rides superbly on the freeway and in the mountains. For $1000 less than an R6, you get a maximum amount of comfort. On the street it can run with any 600. The black really stands out since most bikes these days are dressed in flashier paint schemes... I get a lot of compliments whenever I take it out. I let a buddy ride mine and he bought a blue one a week later. I've also been informed by various sources that with a little tweaking (exhaust, jet kit, etc..) this thing can really scream, not that 120mph plus isn't fast enough already. Buy it and you will not be disappointed!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 27 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: