Ducati Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (20)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Ducati Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-08-24 2001 Ducati Monster 600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A great piece of art that I don't even have to ride to enjoy-but I do. Great around town. Low seat height and comfortable riding position combined with real wide gearing make it easy to ride and zip around. Absolutely not a long distance bike for me!!! Vibration in the bars numbs my hand and power struggles after 85 mph. The Supertrapp makes it sound like a drag bike, but in a good way. Very little steering rotation so you lean a lot, but sometimes I drag my toes. My size overwhelms the suspension. A lot of rear tire slide at stoppping. Has been very reliable and easy to maintain. Valve adjustments on a 600 are very inexpensive.
- Jon, Plainfield, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-04 2001 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In an area the recieves harsh spring and fall weather and humid summer days northeast wisconsin could be claimed the 'proving grounds' for sport bikes. With twisty-turny town roads around the kettles and open country highways the 748 is happily at home. I ride with a group of 12 bikes. consisting of r6's, rc51, gsx1000's, 600rr, 998sps's, and one hell of a hayabusa......the 748 still takes the checkered flag. The 748 has the agility and a vast amount of power that the 998's have and still has the high reving ability that the japs have. However, the key is that the 748 is very very user friendly (considering that you have a good back and don't care about draging your knees around hair pin curves). The only problem with owning one of the greatest superbikes in Wisconsin is that it has to stored for six months. However, I keep mine in the living room next to the television....so, when the ladyfriend watches chick flicks I can stair and daze off at my bike!!! good luck guys with trying to find one!
- mike burg, green bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-27 2001 Ducati Monster 600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought it new last year had the base gasket done two times and now its in the shop for electrical (won't start)should not have sold my 79 yamaha less problems
- scott, harrison twp., Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-24 2001 Ducati Monster 900 S4 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my T509 Triumph Speed Triple to get a mod S4. I loved the Trimuph, but the Duc is a challenge and I like it. I am starting to beleive it's the better of the two, though it is so much more expnsive I'm not sure. One just has to decide. I think once I have some time with the Ducati, it's going to be the better bike. Gobs of torque, but not easy to ride. Oh, if you're a poser, either will do, unless you get a pink Trimuph.
- Last901, Sammamish, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-09 2001 Ducati Monster 900 S4 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
just rode 2 days in arkansas mountains/twisties on a new S4. it is noticeably more refined and advanced than my '99 M750. the S4 has tons of torque, throughout a wide band, enabling big-gear cornering; brakes enough for single finger action; and it is pretty comfi. the chassis feels superb, and confidence inspiring ("same as ST4s"). the only neg'- the kickstand leans the bike over rather far, causing me to park carefully, to not poke a hole in the pavement and see the bike topple over.
- fwseipp, dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-10 2001 Ducati Monster 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 3rd ducati (900SS, 748) my last bike a CBR929 I had for 1.5 years and put 26000 miles on. The monster is one of the bikes that I have always wanted, it is fantastic, it sounds great w/ high mount Termi exhaust, has a good performance, has been very reliable, and on a nice curvy road makes you feel like a rockstar. If you have ever wanted a monster, buy one. You will not regret it. I have toured with it (Its only real weak point), ridden the mountain, went two-up. The bike performs well and begs for more.
- Matthew Ross, Annandale, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-11 2001 Ducati Monster 900 S4 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
An incredible bike with much power. The perfect chassis allows extreme hang-offs. a lot of fun is guaranteed...
- desmo, Germany

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-27 2001 Ducati 750 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ducati has a reputation of building first-class motorcycles however upon purchasing my 750 SS only two months ago I'm disappointed. Not only have there been extensive warranty problems the dealership has been anything but helpful. That is why I'm buying a Gixxer 1000.
- Joel, Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-30 2001 Ducati 750 Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for three months now. This is my first sports bike and I've gone through a lot of different phases with this bike. First I was nervous about having a sports bike. Then I got used to it and was now addicted to the speed and the handeling. I want more power and more speed though, so I was kind of kicking myself for not getting the 950 sport. In the next few days I'm buying exhaust, chip , K and N Air filter, and I'm also changing the back sprocket to a 42T. Hopefully this will wake up the sleeping monster. I love the way this bike handels, I'ts just amazing. One thing that I don't like is the 750 sport only has a single front disk brake. The brakes are nothing to brag about. I'll probably end up buying another disk brake for the front at about $800. Screw it, It's worth it!
- Tom, pomona, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-24 2001 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased a 2001 748 Bip with 2600 miles on it. I have always ridden Japanese 4s and my last bike was a ZX7. I am sorry but I did not have a clue what I was missing out on. Handling is superb, and the sound of the exhaust note with the carbon slip-ons alone is worth the price of admission. This bike is just oozing with character. Definitely a keeper.
- Onealpha, West Palm Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-13 2001 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked it up as a left over 2001 and got it cheap. Can't believe the way this thing corners. I also own a 2000 monster 900. This bike makes similar power to the monster. It's not broken in yet with only 225 miles on the odo. Still, until you ride one of these, words fail to express the feel in corners. Not made for long rides.150 miles and you're whipped. that's what the "other" bike is for.
- Lou S., Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-11 2001 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I also found one well below MSRP but of course we are well into 2002. After being used to a CBR, this bike is just simply in another class. It's not the high revving, high pitched japanese bike but the all powerful and smooth V-Twin. I have not been able to open it up past 7000 RPM and only have 100 miles on it but once the weather warms up a little, I am going to really enjoy it. What I have experienced is a magic carpet ride with a 748cc engine attached to it. Handles beautifully.
- Chris Comstock, Olney, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-03 2001 Ducati Monster 600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Writing the review for my wife's bike. Great riding position and good handling. Ride average with decent engine torque. Be sure and have the flywheel fix and the recalled slave cylinder replacement. Flywheel fix made huge improvement in torque and cold start driveability. Upgraded with Sargent seat and FBF carbon high rise pipes. Neat bike with light weight and fun for smaller person.
- Monk, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-09 2001 Ducati 748 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
YOU CAN! I got mine for way less then MSRP. I saw the price and jumped on it. I went to the shop for a tank bag and came home with a Ducati. This bike is sweet. In the Canyon or the HWY. But its in its best when its in a corner. Its Sad you cannot have a 748s with two seats. Because if you are normal like me and don't spend too much time on the track. You will need the second seat 'cus You are going to pick up some girl with this bike. ( have to find a way to carry a extra helmet...) Cannot wait to finish breaking-in and open that Desmo 4v pass 7000 rpm BTW I think that my dealer still has one on sale...
- Nick, LA, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-02 2001 Ducati SS750 Full Fairing Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 1st real "sport" bike. I've been doing the BMW K bike thing for the last 6 years, and various Viragos and Honda CBs before that. The Ducati 750SS rocks. Not so much power that I feel intimidated, but no problem running up the rpm when needed either. And I'm taking it easy as it is only 80 miles old. Handles better than I'll ever use. Capable of controlled stoppies. Back brake feels useless (for now). Grip angle takes getting used to. I adjusted the dangle angle, but I'll be looking for some risers also. I won't see myself riding by. It's gorgeous, it's yellow, it's an Italian statement of what a sport bike should be. Whoo hoo! I'm very happy to have decided on this bike.
- John Weber, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-04 2001 Ducati Monster 600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had the opportunity to demo this bike during the Honda Hoot in Knoxville, TN in June 2001. This was the first bike of the day that I demoed, so I was not sure what to expect. My current bike is a Suzuki GS500, and I had never ridden a larger displacement bike than my GS. Things did not start off on a good note. I was annoyed by the fact that the kickstand had to be up in order for the bike to start. Then, after starting, the bike stalled after about 30 seconds to 1 minute, and I and the reps had trouble getting it to re-fire. I told them, "Guys, this does not look good at all for your product!" It finally started and we were underway. I had to learn quickly that this bike liked to be revved a lot, which I was not used to doing. The gearshift & transmission felt "clunky" and sounded loud, but after riding other bikes that day, I realized that the Monster's transmission was OK; at least you knew and heard it shift, unlike some of the other bikes. It stalled once at the first stop sign, but after that was fine. I thought the power was good (better in fact than the SV650), brakes were excellent, and handling seemed good, although the route needed more twisties to experiment. Love the "growl", even from the stock exhaust. I would consider buying this bike, especially since it's a bargain compared to the other Ducatis.
- Pam Guest, Bethel, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-08 2001 Ducati Monster 600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Ducati and my second bike. For a new rider like me, it has enough grunt not to kill me. It goes quite fast, although not too fast and my lightweight also helps. The brakes are excellent. The sound of the motor is hard to describe. I think the best word to describe it is probably soulful. My exhaust is still stock so the motor's roar is much louder than the exhaust boom which I really don't mine. The gearing is quite tall which gives it quite a good mileage. I ride it a lot. This past month, I've already put on about 1400 miles on it and I've only had it for a month. The best mileage so far has been about 57 mpg which is great considering that the tank holds about 4.2 gallons, hmmmm, could this be a highway flyer too? Oh no, to do that you would need a windshield, then you would be all set. With the tall gearing, it's giving me about 200 miles before the fuel warning light comes on, and I don't ride it soft nor too hard but I blow the doors off cars at the stoplight all the time. Seems to make good power between 2,000 to 5,500 rpm, after that it's only noise, but what good noise it is. The sound is different below about 4,500 to 5,000 rpm and changes above that. Likes: Style, Weight, Quality components, power (for me), handling (nothing like engine braking and making that tail swerve), maintenance (so far). Dislikes -- Seat can be a little uncomfortable. A long warm-up cycle (especially in the cold), sidestand needs to be up to start.
- Fahmy Sabudin, Syracuse, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-18 2001 Ducati Monster 600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great street bike period. Whether you are a novice or an experienced rider. Comfortable and torquey enough to out-speed my sports car on my daily commute of 25 miles each way. I expected to encounter more issues - since it's a Ducati, and that it was the first time offered in the States. But I have 1400 miles on it now, and I haven't had any problems (only work done was regular maintenance, jet kit, air filter, and Leo Vinci slip-ons). The Italian pipes brought out the throaty exhaust note that it was designed to make. The only complaint I have is the stock mirrors (I think they ruin the lines of the Monster). But the looks I get on this baby certainly make up for it...
- Bones, Kirkland, WA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-22 2001 Ducati Monster 600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This motorcycle is probably one of the best all around motorcycles. It has excellent braking and handling characteristics, light weight, a delicious exhaust note and passion only a Ducati could bring. For the cut rate price of only 6 large, it's a Italian bargain. Sure the suzuki SV650 is more powerful, and arguably more reliable in the long run, but the emotional charge elicited by the bike cannot be emulated. My personal experience is a 4 star not a 5 however because of some quality issues at delivery. These included a clutch slave cylinder failure at 125 miles, locking the clutch... and a carburator calibration problem causing a constant stall condition. Both were remedied under warranty. Like a torrid love affair, all of her flaws are forgiven when we are together. Truly a love-hate relationship. (more love) With 1000 miles on the clock now, things have been wonderful on the honeymoon.
- Wayne, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-12 2001 Ducati Monster 600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. I don't have much to compare to, other than the bikes I rode at the VA motorcycle training course. I love this bike! It is an awesome bike. The bike has a nice kick and coners the road beautifully. I now know why this has been a best seller in Europe! I would recommend this bike to anyone who is looking into buying a "first time" and saving a little money.
- Fred, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: