Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (9)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-10-27 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I opted for the Road King because I wanted a bike that was capable of comfortably carrying my wife and I on long trips without committing to 'Long-Distance Touring Only' features like a fixed fairing, permanent backrest, fairing lowers, luggage racks, antannae, etc. Because the Road King has key touring features, including the rubber-mounted 88-inch motor, the adjustable air shock/touring suspension, saddlebags, throttle assist pseudo-cruise control, footboards rather than pegs, and removable windscreen, this bike is pretty much road ready for a trip to anywhere. Because I travel on my Road King and often ride 400-600 miles a day, I did add a few comfort items like highway pegs, softer grips and a removable passenger backrest, but it's important to note that none of these turn the Road King into a full-time dresser. For the wife's sake, we did invest in a second-hand touring seat from one of the full dressers to give her a wider 'back seat' and me some lumbar support. Because the Road King is on the same frame as the Ultra Classic no modifications were needed. We replaced the phillips screw that holds the seat in place with a slick looking thumbturn replacement screw. It's easy to swap out the seat when it's time for a long haul. In fact, my favorite thing about this bike is that I can pull the windscreen and backrest off in seconds and I have a great, classic-looking bike that lets me feel the wind in my face and doesn't look overdressed for a ride around town. The one drawback to the Road King is that while the saddle bags can also be removed in seconds it frankly looks terrible without them because of the saddlebag support frames and the big black air shocks. The convenience of having the saddlebags and the way they fit with the bike's big old school look pretty much nullify any concerns though. You just can't strip it down to look chopper-esque like you can with the Heritage Softail, for example. All of the touring bikes have a more upright riding position, but with the addition of some extended levers for the shifter and brake pedals and a set of highway pegs, it's easy to make this a more laid back ride. The bottom line is that this is a great motorcycle for those of us who want something we can be comfortable riding for a few miles around town or riding across country to Sturgis. I love my Road King Classic!
- Anonymous, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-20 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2002 Road King Classic in June of 2002. I now have 3,740 miles on it and I love the bike and I think it is the best value in the Harley line up. Different styles appeal to different folks but for the money, the Road King came out on top. When I first started looking, I was considering the Fat Boy. When I started adding up what it was going to cost to add a windshield, passenger backrest (for my wife) saddle bags and lights, I realized that the Heritage Softail Classic was the same bike as the Fat boy with everything on it. Lace wheels instead of solid and a heftier looking front fender. I liked the look of the fender on the Heritage and without chromed wheels on the Fat Boy, I was leaning toward the Heritage Softail Classic. Once I settled on the Heritage, I realized that I was moving more towards the heavier more classic look and so I started looking at the Road King Classic. Only two drawbacks for the Road King: One, the bags don't come off. (Well they do, but man I'm talking about one butt ugly bike without em.) Two, no passenger backrest. So why did I get the Road King Classic? Once you add the Backrest and realize that you really wouldn't ever want to take the bags off, I found some pretty important features that are not on the Softails. All of the Touring models have vibration isolated Twin Cam 88 engines. The Softails have the Twin Cam 88b, which means they are balanced and run very smooth but they still have a tiny bit of vibration at highway speeds. The Road King has Adjustable Air Shock Suspension and is just a better smoother ride with no sacrifice of power. The bonus was that the Road King came with Electronic Cruise Control and even though I did not think I would use it, it is one great feature! When I am on rides longer than an hour I use it all of the time. Trust me, it does not even compare to the throttle lock on other models. Now, what's wrong with the Road King Classic. The handlebars are too far forward and the seat is just not comfortable enough. After a couple of hours on the bike, the combination of leaning forward to reach the handlebars and the contour of the seat is really uncomfortable. So now I will have to replace the handlebars with Chubby Road King II's and I will have to replace the seat with the new HD Sundowner Classic. I feel like Harley Davidson knows this and just want get into your pocket some more. It is irritating but I guess that is the price you pay. Overall, the ride is smooth, and the Twin Cam 88 runs great. All I have done to the bike is add Samson Rolled Oval pipes, a stage I download and Air intake, a passenger backrest, plus a couple of other cosmetic additions. (Head lamp rings x's 5, chrome covers on the passenger floorboards and a matching fender skirt).Once I get different Bars and a better seat, I will like riding it on longer rides. I hope this is helpful for anyone that is considering a Road King.
- Jack Morehouse, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-25 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2002 ,pearl white RK/Classic. Needless to say I love it. Yeah, the handlebars are not designed for anyone over 6 feet tall, the seat is a pain in the a#* and the windshield distorts things. So what, every other big bike I have ever owned had the same problems, that's why we spend big bucks to personalize these things, to make them our own !!! I installed the stage 1 kit and some Vance and Hines slip on's. Plenty of power. sounds great. 0-60,,, not many machines can keep up. Over that??? hey it's physics. Two big pistons opposing each other? Not a pretty thing at high RPM. I didn't buy a crotch rocket. Slow down and enjoy the ride. I bought the best looking cruiser on the road. Looks great, sounds awesome, hauls butt and it's a Harley, not some wannabe oriental cruiser. Complaints,,, A fork lock that locks fine, dosen't unlock unless you smack it with the fat end of a screwdriver. Dealer could care less, won't change it so I keep smacking it. Blue pipes,,, oh well, it's a Harley. I love it I love riding it. I love being seen on it. I love just looking at the damn thing in my garage. I couldn't be happier.
- Don, Prescott, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-11 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I road tested the classic for a local magazine.It had the stage one kit which gave it good power through the entire rev range.However it did backfire quite a bit and the right side screaming eagle pipe was blued badly. The stock seat looked great but after a half hour your hurting.The stock handlebar is to far forward and the windshield is distorted.The ride is very good as is low speed handling.At 80mph and above the bike starts to feel very loose and hinged in the middle. IT is dead smooth at anything above idle however.
- motorman, hudson, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-23 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A good bike for hi-way scootin and the bike is easy to handle in city traffic. I'm 6' 2" tall and I hear everyone wanting to change the bars. The stock bars fit me fine. After a few upgrades the bike has plenty of power for me. It's not the fastest machine, but then I didn't buy this one to go ripping down a 2-lane. Too old for that or just got smarter.
- Rick, Greentown, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-19 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the Road King Classic, the more I ride it the better I like it. First off, I took the stock seat and put it in the dumpster and replaced it with a Corbin. Next, for all of you that don't like the handlebars, try the bars from a heritage classic. They worked fine for me, no more back pain. Great bike, no problems. Can't get enough of it.
- R. Mckibben, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-08 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding Harleys in 1985 with my first Sportster (piglet) 883. I have owned three more Sportsters, one 1984 blockhead Diskglide which I am sorry I traded & two FLH'S. The first was a 91 FLHS which I called my Stud Glide with leather bags & studs everywhere. My 2000 FHLR/I is my new Stud Glide. The bike is phase one calibrated with Sampson Fish Tails (best sounding mufflers) PN# DS-202160, K/N Filter kit,A Power Commander with the map off of the net. The bike puts out about 75HP and runs strong throughout the power range. If you want the Best all around skoot that will not make your buns sore, than the FLHR is for you. I also highly recommend the Harley Seat pn#51617-99B The seat is 200 cheaper than a Corbin (over rated & expensive) feels good after a day at da poker run or ride to Sturgis. The seat is narrow/low for us less than 6 footers & above.
- John Strunewitz, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-02 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just upgraded and turned my 2001 Sportster 883 Hugger in for a Road King Classic. It's amazing to me that a bike with an extra 300+ pounds could feel so agile and easy to handle! Compared to the Sportster the R.K. is a treat to ride...you can literally lay your wrists on the handlebars and cruise along effortlessly. The bike feels like it wants to drive itself. I loved the Sporty but it wasn't suitable for the long haul. If you're thinking about buying a Road King DON"T HESITATE! Any complaints?: Well, the windshield needs to be trimmed down about 2 - 4 inches (the top edge obscures your siteline) I was also surprised at the amount of vibration while stopped...no big deal, you get used to it! Prepare to switch out the stock pipes. (You'll think you're riding a Honda Goldwing). I switched my pipes for some great sounding Kerkers. Only thing left to do is to accessorize! Happy (safe) Riding...
- Paula, Lansing, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-17 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Road King Classic is a very dependable good looking bike. The Fuel Injection System operates flawlessly. The Road King Classic starts immediately and idles down very quickly. The engine is smooth and has more than enough power. The only thing that I would change is the handlebars and the seat. The handlebars should be a little narrower and about 3 inches higher. The stock seat is OK but after a couple of hours of seat time your butt gets a little numb. This is my 4th Harley and by far my favorite. The Road King Classic has a lot going for it. The accessories available for this bike are unlimited. I already chromed the front end, switches and a host of other add ons. Be prepared to spend some money if you want to personalize. I ordered the Luxury Rich Red Pearl paint and had to wait two months for delivery. The local dealer has been excellent, the staff is very interested in keeping you happy.
- Hawk, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: