Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (14)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2003-06-20 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At 6'5" and 285 lbs, this bike cramps me. Not enough legroom and the handlebars almost hit my knees. The rear seat is impended upon by the Tour Pak, which doesn't go back far enough to provide adequate comfort for the passenger. (And my wife is 5'4", 145 lbs. I have a Heritage Softail Classic now, which has far more room for both the rider and passenger. The Ultra has a great sounding stereo, and plenty of luggage capacity, but makes due with a skinny 130 series rear tire (for handling). The Ultra is too bulky for comfortable around town riding, you'll wished you had a lighter bike, like a Softail Standard. The Ultra is what it is, a good highway bike that is in need of forward controls in a bad way, and more room, not for gear, but for people. As for power, the power it has is adequate, much better than the pathetic Evo that preceded it. Still, if you buy one, at least put the Stage 1 Kit in it, with SE pipes for better sound. Skip the extended warranty, these bikes are usually very reliable. One more thing, my size 13's kept hitting the sides of the fairing lowers; this bike obviously is designed for someone smaller than myself.
- James L, Panama City, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-25 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have owned the bike for approximately 1 month now. I've owned 9 bikes since I got hooked at age 10. Last bike was a 1500 Vulcan preceeded by 1100 and 1200 Goldwings so I feel qualified to give a honest assessment of the machine. Power is adequate but could use more riding two up. Handling is better than expected, much quicker than the wings. Shorter wheel base and steeper rake. Not as much room for rider and passenger as expected. Currently have a backrest installed to support lower back. Have not taken a long trip yet so I cannot assertain the long run comfort. Will probably need to add a gel pad to the seat. Overall very happy with purchase. I'll give her 4 stars because nothing is perfect.
- Mr. Turby, Maiden, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-24 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike......The only problem I have seen is that at times my radio goes Hay Wire. ie: rear volume goes to max., stations changes by themsleves. Must be a problem in wireing. Have checked all switches and they are good.. Please respnd if you have seen this problem also in the 02 Ultra.
- M Everett, Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-08-19 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I swore I would never pay $20,000 for a motorcycle. I drove a 2001 Suzuki Intruder 1500 for a little over a year. It went to hell in a handbasket. The tires wore quickly, the forks started falling apart. In general, it was nowhere near the quality of my bagger. I looked at Goldwings, but ther wer more expensive and I didn't like the look. I don't want to have to take the body off to play with the engine. Believe me, you will never buy another bike after this one. Spend the money and enjoy the ride.
- Steve Doherty, Peoria, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-01 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Thank you to all the Harley Engineers. After many years of riding Japanese, British, German and Italian bikes, I had my dream of owning a Harley come true. The feeling of the Harley is great. Handling close to the best of the German and Japanese bikes. Plenty of power and momentum. Harley is not the best in every aspect of riding and still I give it 4 stars for a great cruiser with plenty of space. Now we just have to teach the Engineers how to eliminate mechanical noise from breaks and heat from the engine. Please learn from the Japanese: Quality must at any given point outperform the customers expectations. The feeling IS however 100% GREAT
- Michael, Singapore, Singapore

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-20 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am so glad to trade this motorcycle in for a HONDA GOLDWING. I purchase the Harley in June of 2001. I had a 1995 Ultra. This new Haeley was total disappointment. The Harley is very very hot on the right rear and left rear. The heatis so great that my wifeI could not take it anymore, and decided to get rid of it.If I had known about the heat factor I would have notpurchase it. I have purchase 3 new Harleys since 1993, and will never buy another one, Harley have lost a good customer. You do not know how bad a Harley ride and perform until you ride a HONDA GOLDWING. Do not be fooled by all of that Harley talk, all it is ,is just talk.
- Clifton K Vick, Jersey City, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-15 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my flhtci in november I now have 5000 miles on it and I wish I had been able to have the time to have put 50,000 on it. Bought it new from Cowboy in Beaumont. It was a pleasure doing business with them. It rolled out of the shop equiped Sampson Oval's and sounds great, runs great. Only problem is now my wife is thinking of learning to ride and getting herself a Heritage Classic.
- James Fanette, Beaumont, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-27 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2001 ElectraGlide Classic. This is the first Harley I have owned and I love it. My wife (who is very comfort oriented) also loves it. This bike was not ment to go from 0 to 60 in 2 seconds. This is a layed back, take your time motorcycle. I average about 40 MPH and with the gas prices in California, thats great. The only thing so far I have found that could be changed is the rear brake peddle. It should be a little more forward and not so high up.
- Tom, Arroyo Grande ,California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-21 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before you buy an Ultra, take my advice, go rent one for a day. Then go out and ride a new GL 1800 Gold Wing. It will be the best move you could make before you buy. I own both bikes and I have to tell you that it isn't worth the expense or discomfort to own a Harley just for the "cult image." If you ride the Hog on a warm day, the heat from the rear cylinder will cook your gonads. To keep your Hog in warranty, you have to go to the dealer for everything, $45.00 oil changes, inspections at 500 miles($195) 2500,50,7500, 10,00 miles, all costing you $200 or more. Then there is the 20,000 mile inspection at $450 +. If you have a warranty problem, you pay a deductable of $50.00. You only have a 1 year warranty. None of this with the Wing. Wing owners can change your own oil. No dealer service recommended 'till 36,000 miles. 3 year, no deductable warranty. I got everything on my Wing Honda offers, and then some and by shopping the online dealer network put it all together for 20K, about the MSRP of a Ultra. Those bikers touting Harley Davidson have blinders on. I was one of those cult followers too, untill I tried the Wing. The handeling is incredible. Absolutely, positively, no comparison to the Harley. And the smoothness, power, simplicity of controls.....it's something you can only experience if you ride one. DARE TO COMPARE and you will see that I am right.
- edju, St. Petersburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-14 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It took me 25 years before I could get my first new Harley-Davidson motorcycle. In September of 2000 my brand new Electra-Glide classic was in. I have enjoyed this bike from day one,but the front brakes are driving me insane. It sounds like a Sherman tank squeeling to a stop. It would'nt be so bad if it only did it once-in-awhile,but this is a habitual kind of thing. The dealership blames it on the new brakes and the company refuses to do anything to rectify the problem. So I am telling you to BEWARE!! of Harley-Davidson's 2001 Touring Bikes and their front brakes.All eyes will be on you when you pull up to a stop light not because the bike is so sharp,but because the front brakes squeel so loud. If you are having a similar problem I would like to hear from you. revride@yahoo.com
- Bruce Theakston, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-19 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2001 Suede Green/Black Ultra is my second Ultra (had a '97). The ride, handling, engine, and brakes on the '01 are so much better it is amazing. The things that my wife and I like about the motorcycle are the luggage capacity, the ride, and wonderful stereo/intercom (with easy to use controls). We preferred this motorcycle over things like the Honda Gold Wing and BMW K1200LT largely because of the feel. The Harley is not as smooth, nor does it control the wind, as well as either of these other motorcycles. There is, however, a feeling from riding this motorcycle you don't get from the others (I also like the controls for the CB/Radio/Cruise control better). Not all share this view; I like the feeling and noise of the big V-twin. My complaints. I ride in all weather and would like to see heated handgrips and possibly a heated seat. I also would prefer a little more power, though the only time I feel like I need more power is going up hills pulling a trailer. Otherwise, the power is plenty to get me into trouble. I could get away from stop lights a little faster and maybe pass trucks on the interstate without the occasional downshift, but I don't know that I would really use more power most of the time. Another note for the previous reviewer. Some screaming eagle upgrades do not void the warranty if done by a dealer.
- Eric Cox, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Ultra is a fine example of what American craftsmen can do when they put their minds to it. The bike is a beautiful jade green and has all the usual buttons. One problem so far: No power. This bike has can hardly get out of its own way in a pinch. The Motor Company should put the 1500 cc kit, cams, and pipes with the walk out price of $22,000. I hope the other reviewer knows that when he put the performance kit on the bike he gave up the factory warranty.
- Bart Baker, Colonial Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One of the other changes that I made to the ultra was the tires. I wore out the Dunlops on the fat boy and changed to Metzler 880's. The difference was smoother turn ins and easier transitions from side to side. I rode the ultra with the Dunlops for about 500 miles and then we changed to the 880's and the same results were experienced, smoother, turns and easier transitions. incidentally the Dunlops on the fat boy were gone at 5k but when we traded him in the 880's had 5k on them and looked like they would go another 5k.i know this forum is for bike reviews, but I thought I would pass along the tire story and will let you know how long the Metzlers last. so much for Harley having Dunlop put their name on their tires, the Metzlers are far better tires in my opinion.
- Jack Hanson, Sedona, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-20 2001 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
To start I have had three Gold Wings, 1982, 1986, and a 1994. I also put 22,000 Miles on a 1999 Yamaha Venture last year. I now have 2000 miles OPN my 2001 Ultra and I feel it is the best of the best when it comes to touring. The bike handles great and it will hold all the items my wife and I need for a three to four week vacation (w/o a trailer). There are only two things I feel Harley needs to work on. One is the heat. When stopped in traffic the engine puts out far to much heat on the right side. Second, the intercom should work with the radio off. We ride two up much of the time and with out the radio on. Harley is set up so the radio must be on to have the intercom working. I feel this needs to be addressed.
- Stacy Ciemnicki, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: