Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (9)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-08-31 2001 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2001 H-D FXD in July, 2005 with 14,000 mi. Finally, after owning Suzuki and Yamaha, my first Harley! I knew for a long time I always wanted a Big Twin, but I didn't truly understand why until I finally owned one. The feel, sound and power are euphoric. It gets people's attention everywhere I ride. The bike is reliable and comfortable: commuting to work, cruising swiftly on the Interstate at high speed with ease or twisting through The Dragon. I've got over 26,000 miles on it now and it just wants to keep going! Thanks to H-D for making such a great ride.
- buckeyenick, Adrian, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-11 2001 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my FXD back in April 2001. It is the first streetbike that I've owned, and currently has over 7,000 miles. My riding started when I was 10 years old, and I have ridden minibikes, dirtbikes, quads, ...etc. I'm 33 years old and had always wanted a Harley. But, I did dissect the entire line of motorcycles from all manufacturers, before buying. I based my rating on looks, reliability, performance, and value. It got four stars because it's not perfect. The looks are undeniably original and everything I thought a cruiser should look like. The reliability has been up to par. Have only had routine service performed. As it should be with only 7,000 miles. The bike performs well by cruiser standards. The brakes are good but not great. It handles curves surprisingly well. I underanticipated a curve with a passenger aboard and had to really lean the bike hard in order to avoid oncoming traffic. The speed was 45mph and I was waiting to hear the pegs scratch. They never did and the bike made the turn with ease. It truly is a solid performer and will do whatever asked as long as its within reason. Acceleration is good and torque more than adequate. The value is where my concerns are, and let me explain. The price out the door was more than retail, add the price of the exhaust/intake/jet mod that all Harley's need, and the uncontrollable urge to accessorize (forward controls, risers, chrome, windshield, etc.). While the bike does hold it's value, you really do fork over a lot of money to get it just the way you want. Harley has mastered the technique of not making one machine truly fits any one person comfortably, and then providing the accessories to do so. If you have the cash to plunk down and keep plunking, by all means, do so. If you only have enough for the bike and not the required goodies to make it "FIT", than go elswhere.
- JMB, White Plains, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-20 2001 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked one of these up a few weeks ago......a Black '01 w/920 miles. Needless to say, after wanting a Harley Big Twin for more than 15 years-really-it is even better than I imagined. I've owned a Sporty ('76), a BSA 650 Lightening ('68), and several Japanese bikes, but this one is a real torque monster right out of the box. Acceleration, handling, balance, ride comfort-I couldn't be happier with my decision. And, I heartily recommend the Dyna Glide for anyone wanting to get into Big Twin performance.................Big Twin performance from the icon of American motorcycling-Harley Davidson. Do it.
- namooz, Norman, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-24 2001 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best cruiser I've ridden so far, and I've ridden many. Not a big cruiser guy, but this one with some screamin eagles pipes, fat tires and a big bore kit will really hold my attention. Handles much better than a Vulcan, and Magna. For looking cool and making noise, the Superglide is the bike, if you want the best performing bike, than buy a Ducati. I don't recommend Jap bikes.
- Alberto , New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-12 2001 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
don't mind giving my name on this (unlike the two anonymous guys who totally dissed this bike--probably the same guy). i have owned every kind of bike in the last 35 years that anyone could name, and over half of them have been japanese (loved them all, too). tried the dyna super glide at Americade in Lake George, NY in 2001 and was impressed. nope, not perfect but darned close for the money, folks. say what you will, it is worth the base price. guess what? just ordered a brand new 2002 super glide and yes, gotta wait a little while before it comes in, but that's cause it's in such demand!
- rob, albany, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-27 2001 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had an '01 FXD for about 6 months, and it is AWESOME!!! Yes, it's more expensive than comparable Jap bikes, but it keeps its resale value while the others just depreciate. Yes, you have to add upgrades for it to reach its potential, but it is something that no rice burner can ever be: THE REAL THING. There is something about owning an original that people who are happy with copies will never get. As the slogan says: If you have to ask, you wouldn't understand. Buying a Harley is the equivalent of joining a club. If you don't want to join, that's OK, there are plenty of members already. Performance is great, versatility is unbeatable, and reliability has been perfect. I'd buy this bike again in a heartbeat.
- Black FXD, Philadelphia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-27 2001 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Of the several Harley's I've owned, from the 1200 Sportster, through the other models, up to the Electra Glide Classic, this bike is, for me, the best of all Harley worlds. It cruises at 80mph all day on the comfortable stock seat behind the sport windshield, handle bar risers and forward highway pegs, has a low seat height with excellent power and handling around town, makes a great sound with the Vance and Hines two-into-one Classic exhaust system, gives you that unique Harley rumbling sound and feel with the rubber mount engine and looks great in Luxury Rich Red. Besides, my wife loves the passenger seat with the short sissy bar.What's to be said bad about it? O.K. maybe it's not as "macho" as some of the other models. But, if you want overall "best value" in a Harley, I think you would love least expensive big bore.
- Bill Ball, Plantation, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-26 2001 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only thing that was good about this bundle of bolts was its resale value. What can I say -- poor quality and craftsmanship equals a Harley. I got smart though and bought a Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 classic FI which is superb.
- BSP, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-15 2001 Harley-Davidson FXD Dyna Super Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Power and agility...and what's that, only $12,000? Sounds like a good combination. The big engine for the small price and the low seat height help a broke shorty like me who just needed a hog.
- Anonymous, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: