Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (13)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-09-19 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own an 883 and a 1200 and I love the both of them. I have put a lot of chrome on them, they look good and run great. I agree in saying it is an awesome bike. Lots of power and the 1200 can go and keep up with thge rest of them. Great bike, awesome weight to power ratio.
- Pat Quinn, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-04 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have A 2003 Road king, a 2009 Ultra Classic, and also a 2001 1200 Sportster C. The Sportster may not be as smooth as a ride as the Classic, but I think it's a very good bike. Good ride, handles well, quick, and smooth. I added more chrome but still an awesome ride. For a 5 speed Sportster or even a 1200cc bike, it's at the top of the line. I give 5 stars. If you're looking to get a Ultra Glide ride from a Sportster, you're way off, but if you're looking for a good ride, and not so much money, and to stay with the Harley family, Sportster is the way to go. 5 Stars.
- Shane Milmore, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-23 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'M A 48 YEAR OLD MALE AND A CERTIFIED PROFESSIONAL ENGINEER WHO BELIEVES IN THE VALUE OF RESEARCHING SOMETHING BEFORE I BUY IT. I TALKED TO SPORTSTER 1200 OWNERS AND NEVER FOUND ONE NEGATIVE ASPECT. I WAS A HONDA GOLDWING MAN FOR OVER 20 YEARS. THE 1200 CLASSIC IS A WHOLE NEW SCOOTER EXPERIENCE FOR ME. YOU CAN'T COMPARE IT TO THE SMOOTHE AND QUIET GOLDWING, BUT IT HAS IT'S OWN PERSONALITY AND THE OLD AMERICAN "FEEL GOOD" RIDE. IT'S A REAL MOTORCYCLE WITH AN ABUNDANT OVERFLOW OF POWER. I BOUGHT THE 2001 1200 CLASSIC SPORTSTER. I TRULY AM NOT DISAPPOINTED, AND I OWN A PIECE OF THE HARLEY DAVIDSON AMERICAN HERITAGE THAT WILL LAST ME AS LONG AS I WANT IT TO. ************ 12 STARS FROM THIS HARLEY OWNER!!
- Mike Isbell, Brownwood, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-21 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Initially, the 1200C Sporty sounded like a sewing machine and performed like a pig during light to light hard acceleration. As soon as I put 1,000 miles on it I had the stock CV carb rejetted, Screamin' Eagle (SE) K&N air filter kit installed, and SE II slip-ons put on. Those modifications made a noticable improvement in sound and performance. After that I was hungry for more power and noise (Harley's are like heroin). I had SE bolt-in cams, SE ignition wires & coil, SE ignition module (rev. limit @ 7,000 rpm), and SE spark plugs installed. These modifications proved to take the 1200C to the next level of performance! At this point, I had to need a Corbin back rest to the Corbin solo seat in order to stay on the bike when the throttle was hit hard. After several months of riding with this setup I decided to take out the SE slip-on baffles. What a difference in sound!! But of course vibration increased and low end power suffered significantly. To remedy this, I installed a Mikuni HSR-42 carb with a 160 main jet. This proved to be a great setup. I got back most of the low end power I lost after taking out the baffles. I'll be sticking with this setup for some time! he noise that comes out of those essentially straight pipes is tremendous. It turns alot of heads!!! I can't give the 1200C a five star rating because of all the modifications that were necessary to make it a five star. So I give it a four star. Some problems I had: left stock mirror snapped off twice (covered by warranty, went with the short stem tear drop mirrors), both head gaskets leaked badly at about 2,000 miles (covered under warranty), at 400 miles the 1200C died due to a short in the electrical system (covered under warranty), two burnt out front signal bulbs (not covered). Overall, I love the riding position. The forward controls and drag bar are a great combo!
- Jack, Hollister, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-18 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
this bike is by far the best i ever owned. I've owned many import bikes and was proud to ride them all but i would rather ride the sportster over all of the others including a honda goldwing. i plan on upgrading to a big twin FLHT standard for 2004 so i will be riding my sporty a while longer and will love every minute of it. i would recommend this bike to anyone that likes to ride in style. so when you're out there looking at new bikes trying to decide which one to buy,be sure to go down to your local harley dealer and check this bike out,it will be well worth it.
- paul, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-05 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had the bike since May. Put on 3000kms and I blew a seal and a gasket. Dealer covered everything on warranty. I thoroughly enjoy this bike, it's light, plenty of torque and handles very well. The perfect bike for burning around town. I plan on adding some pipes. Any suggestions?
- Allain Dandenault, Kapuskasing, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-11 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my bike January 2000. Added pipes, re-jetted carb, HD grips & pegs, custom mirrors, a little more chrome and mid-glide triple trees w/4 degree rake. Needless to say, it's a nice looking bike (sinister blue with pin stripes). Plenty of power and the perfect weekend ride. Would I sell it for an upgrade? No, it's a keeper.
- Mark J. Sablan, Guam

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-23 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I always wanted a Harley so I thought a Sportster was a good choice with out digging to deep in my pocket. Boy was I wrong, I was so disappointed. The engine sounds good out the exhaust but that's it, the engine it self sounds like a bucket of loose bolts. The ride is worst then a mini-bike. It's back to a rice burnner for me. I rate this bike as the worst ever.
- Greg, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-05 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Absolutely! And why not! Although I have only the 883cc engine with screaming eagle re-carb and breather, I must say this. What an incredible bike. It's loud, it's noisy and smells like a typical H-D steed...and it's as sexy and entrancing as a machine cold be. Riding it is like savoring a fine wine touching every human sense defying to be ignored. What a wake up. I've read all the negative comments and I'm really not surprised. But I do strongly disagree with most points. In an age where ergonomics slick styling and efficiency is statue quo, it's refreshing to have something so unique where this bike seeks to look backwards on history and rider basics. If you want a ride that's as boring as you are, go ahead be status quo. You were born that way. If you feel that 'something deferent' stirring from deep within when you see, hear, smell and finally feel the thunder of a classic American steed...this baby is for you. It will be a friendship forever...and you know what? You will find other that feel exactly the same way you do! And people wonder...what's with those Harley bikers? They may never get it...
- C. L. Higham, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-13 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I tried to order a Fatboy at my dealer, but he could not get one in until the 2002's arrive (I had to ride during summer) well he convinced me to buy a Black '01 XL1200 Custom... I picked her up about 2 weeks ago and she is the best ride I have ever had. I had a Kawi Criuser prior to my Custom and it can not compare. The chrome, paint, finish all where outstanding and the engine has plenty of power... I get plenty of looks from people... I just finished the 500 break in phase and some of the vibrations have disappeared... I would recommend this bike to anyone... no matter what size (I am 6' tall and about 250 lbs.) you are... got to your HD dealer and pick one up right away.
- Paul, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-21 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 35 and have been a rider and owner since 17. I have always owned Suzuki,s or Kawasaki's. I would blow by Harley guy's and talk down these bikes without ever knowing anything about them. I bought my first Harley this year. The 1200 has great power, a soul and gets more attention than a hooker at a high school prom. The best thing about owning the bike is that it is like joining a fraternity. All the Harley people that I meet are great. Everyone has a story to tell and laugh to share. I have ridden 17 years of my life and not known the joy of riding until I opened the throttle of my new 1200 sporster. It is not the fastest or the smoothest around but it is one of the coolest.
- Phil, Pasadena, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-17 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my new Harley XL1200C yesterday and I wanted to write this while the thoughts were still fresh. I've read these reviews over and over. I looked at the Hondas, the Yamahas, the Kawasakis and the Harleys. I have friends that own them all. I test drove, pondered and hesitated. They are all great bikes. I don't think there's one of them that I would not be thrilled to own. But, there's something about a Harley that can't be put into words. On my ride home, about thirty miles, my feet were vibrating so much on the foot pegs that at times I didn't think they'd stay on. The images in my mirrors were so distorted by vibration that I wasn't sure if there was anything behind me. And, you know what? I didn't care. I know that some of that will go away after the break-in period. I might even be a little disappointed when it does. The power was more then adequate. I had trouble keeping it under the proper rpm's. And just to dispel a myth about the price of a new Harley. I paid MSRP. No extra charges, no inflated prices and, no gouging. But, where I live, there happens to be about six dealerships within a fifty mile radius. So, if what your looking for is a smooth highway commuter, a rice rocket for blasting through the canyons, or a knobby tired rock jumber. Harley Davidson just might not be the right bike for you. But if what you're looking for is a motorcycle with character, over a hundred years of history and massive public appeal? Then I suggest you rush down to your local Harley Davidson dealer. And even if you don't buy Harley, I'll still wave to you as we pass, grinning ear to ear.
- John Doe, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-09 2001 Harley-Davidson XL 1200C Sportster 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my 2001 1200C Sportster December 21st, 2000. The dealer in Gainesville was outstanding. Great Bike! On the ride back, I smiled all the way home. For a first street bike it has been a pleasure to ride. Would recommend it to anyone. The power and ride of a Sportster adds new meaning to the word, RUSH! Words can't describe what it is like to be part of the HARLEY FAMILY.
- Craig Johnson, Orange Park, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: