Honda Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (26)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-02-15 2001 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Other than routine maintainance, this ace has performed flawlessly. I have traveled across the southeast and made several trips to Washington, D.C. without a hitch. Some riders think that they have to blister the road 90 mph. and above. I don't know of anywhere in the USA where that is the speed limit. The bike is a cruiser not a race car. Sure, there are bigger and better, but for what you pay, it is a great affordable ride.
- Emory Rush, Holly Hill, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-28 2001 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike a year ago with just under 12,000 miles. Had to rebuild the carb to get it running, which wasn't bad at all. Had it 14 months now, and put over 3,000 miles on it. I rode it from Yuma to San Diego once, and otherwise all around Yuma and now all around Phoenix. My ride to work is 100 miles round trip and I do it on the bike 2-3 days a week. Overall it's been a great bike to me without many issues other then those that come with age and basic maintenance. There's a good aftermarket for it. I ride the free way every day and it'll stay at 70mph+ easily. Only complaint I have is the turn signals sometimes take 20-30 seconds to start blinking on cold mornings, but I haven't taken the control apart yet to regrease as I was told you might have to do. Overall, I'd definitely recommend this bike as a great starter bike. It's got a nice low seat height, wide/comfy seat, and will hang on the freeway all day long.
- Matthew Unger, Peoria, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-21 2001 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a used 01 ace. Was my first bike in over 20 years. Very reliable never let me on the side of the road. Comfort is awesome, lot of upgrades avalible. Mine looked like a smaller H.D. The only thing that bothered me was the lack of power that a 750 puts out. My wife likes to ride with me and my bike struggles a bit, we are both heavy. I have test drove many larger cruisers and found that my ace is hard to beat in comfort and control, but I did finally buy a 05 c90t. 1500cc another awesome bike.
- matt v, Warner Robins, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-28 2001 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a long range touring bike. I first test rode a BMW R1100R and then tried the ST1100. The ST1100 seemed to be smoother and I like the brakes better. I have been on several rides including 1500 miles in 33 hours. It's perfect except for two things. First, it has a high seat and is a little top heavy. Second, it takes a conscious effort to keep it below 80 mph. It's comfort zone seems to be between 80 and 85. It's a great touring bike. I've put over 6,000 miles on it in nine months.
- Mike Moreland, Abilene, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-13 2001 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my ACE new in April of 2001 and have put about 7,500 miles on it. I had to take a couple of Summer's off from riding due to ankle injuries otherwise I would have many more miles on the bike. I have ridden the bike on a couple of week long rides and found it to be comfortable. Great Bike!
- Chris, Aurora, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-25 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm new to riding, only rode dirt bikes as a kid. I started off with a Honda Rebel 250 about two months ago and it was a nice starter bike but was missing the power I wanted. The Honda Shadow is a great solid bike. I love it. My wife and I love cruising on it and I commute to work on it also. I love all the chrome, the sound when you take off, and the seat height is very comfortable, it makes me feel like I'm sitting on a fatboy. This is a great bike all around.
- Lewis Jackson, Racine, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-15 2001 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike runs great and I like the style of the wheels. I run Perelli tires on it and they stick to the road great. The handling is the best of any tire I have ever tried. The power is pretty good. Just got it jetted and put on hard krome 2 and a half DD's, straight pipes no baffels. And a high flow K-N air filter. It's really loud and fast. Had a bit of a time getting things to run right but now it screams.
- Ken Jahna, Newbern, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-11 2001 Honda Shadow Sabre Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2001 Sabre was bought basically for my wife at first. I grew up riding anything on two wheels I could get my hands on. I have a '72 Shovelhead I was needing parts for, and I had my bike from high school,(1986 V65 Magna). I loved that bike. I sold it for the cash, but having the Shovel, I still kinda wanted to have a spare scooter around. My old lady wanted to start riding, so we finally decided on a new 2001 Shadow Sabre. I fell in love with how easy it was to ride right away. It does lack a little in the power department, but keeps up with my friend's Vulcan just fine. I am 6 ft and on a long ride, the mid/foward position of the pegs gets a little cramped, so if you are taller and want to go iron butt some where, might not be to comfortable, but otherwise, she is a fine little scoot for anyone who wants reliable transportation. Gotta love Honda dependability also. I give it 4 stars, only taking off on power and leg room for larger riders.
- bigbear, katy, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-22 2001 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great performing bike for a veritable beginner. I just purchased it in Oct 2003. Gets 49 to 55 mpg depending on how I drive it. Surprisingly, I get the best mileage at slower speeds around town. Have driven it at up to 80 mph with a passenger, trying to keep up with a bunch of Goldwingers. Fairly light for freeway driving, so I am now looking for a heavier, more powerful touring bike.
- Rafael, Sierra Vista, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-16 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my VLX Deluxe new in 2000. It was my first bike, and at 600cc's it was a little intimidating. Being only 5'3" tall, seat height was a major deciding factor for me. This bike allowed me to flatfoot it at stoplights, and though the front end seemed a little heavy and the long wheelbase took a little getting used to, it was a great bike to start out on. I found the bike comfortable for some medium-range touring, after buying a windshield, saddlebags, and a backrest. The gas tank capacity is small, but since it's not really a tourer I didn't getting off every 120 miles or so to fill up and stretch my legs. As far as reliability, never any problems. Took a little coaxing for cold mornings, but never failed to start and keep running to my destination. Performance wise, it didn't have tons of power or speed, but as an intro into the world of motorcycling it was plenty to cut my teeth on. I'd highly recommend the bike for inexperienced, shorter riders, especially those that want their first bike to be big enough for the highway. Lots of chrome! Enjoy!
- JD, Green Bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-26 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife rides a VLX 600. She has the same problem. Most of the time it has to run about 3 minutes before it is ready to go. I have talked to other riders of the 600 and they all have the same problem. I guess they are just cold natured. Other than that it is a great bike.
- joe, Easley, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-27 2001 Honda ST1100 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I do long haul rides from Singapore to Thailand couple of times a year for a few years now, and my bike has never let me down. Have a habit of carrying spares, tools and SOS equipment on board but these were used to help out other bikers in trouble rather than my own.
- IceAngel, Singapore, Singapore

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-19 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike ever. I'm so glad that I chose it. It's a 2000 model and I've put over 16000 miles on it. It is a great starter bike for men and women. If by any chance I have to have another bike it will be the vlx.
- Shannon, North Little Rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-15 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After reading 75/100 of these reviews(all makes & models), I can't help but wonder if motorcycle salesmen type these "nothing-but-positive" reviews up on slow days! The VLX was timed in the quarter mile at +17 seconds;this is painfully slow for a motorcycle! After finishing the break-in period on my 2001 model, I was convinced that my 1972 325cc Honda CB350 could run rings around the 600cc VLX! Most riders need more power than is produced by the VLX to feel safe in traffic;you sometimes use power to get you out of a hazardous situation. If you are a beginning rider, I urge you to consider at least at 750cc bike; whether that's the Honda Spirit 750, the Magna, or the 750 Nightawk is up to your tastes and requirements. All of these 750's are much more adequate as a motorcycle for all of the reasons listed in my summary above. Remember,you get what you pay for!
- John Hoffert, New Orleans, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-06 2001 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
While some might buy the first thing they see that attracts them, I did not. After many hours on line and in the show rooms, the ACE came through like....well...an ACE. I have had mine for 150 miles now and am very pelased with everything about the bike. Many have complained about the power of the bike. If you want a screamer buy a screamer. But if you want a cruiser then buy a cruiser. But don't buy a cruiser and expect it to perform like a super bike because it won't. One of the great things about the ACE is the amount of aftermarket goodies that are out there. There are emough chrome parts to chrome plate half of California, and if you want more gallop than Honda gave this mid- sized stallion, there are many parts to boost the giddy-up factor. Dollar to fun factor the ACE is a winner. Jeeze maybe thats why all them women are buying them....after all they know a bargain when they see one.
- Preachp, Willimantic, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-22 2001 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 33 and this is my first cruiser, I've owned a Honda XL 650 and and a suzuki rm250 mx and traded them in for the ACE. Looks awesome, sounds awesome but lacks alot in the horsepower department. that's the problem with most of today's cruisers, there de-tuned... the buying customer as to spend thousands of dollars on modifications to get a decent amount of hp. Also... in a touchier subject lol More and more women are starting to ride and I've found that they mostly choose the ACE because it looks so good. Hence "women's bike" I should of gotten the sabre or magna instead. Although they are pricier I would have been satisfied more.
- Dan, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-30 2001 Honda Shadow Ace 750 Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this bike in Oct of 2000 and have over 6200 miles on her now. Great first bike. Added tint windshield (Memphis Shade) and some saddlebags. Getting between 55 to 58 miles per gallon. This bike will cruise all day @ 55 to 60 mph. Reccomend this bike too anyone wanting a reliable cruise for many miles!
- Rider (Over age 55), Godfrey, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-20 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased 2001 vlx in March of 2001 and I love it .Ihave put over 3000 miles 0n it and no problems at all.Ido most of my riding 2up and it loves to cruise along at 55-65 mph on the highway.To sum this up the vlx is a great medium size cruiser.
- jim, wellsville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-03 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcyles since 1976 sport bikes,dual sport,standard and so on.....the VLX is the one I love the most,I purchase the bike brand new in January 2001,and so far put almost 20,000 miles on it,I commute every day to NY city and do some traveling in the weekends,usually 2 up !!!! the only change I did was the backrest. the bike is just unbelievable !!!!! I dont understand why all the other reviews complain about the 4 spped tranny,i have no problem with that 300-400 miles day are a blast ...... GREAT BIKE
- Ray, Long island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-12 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 16,000 miles the bike has had no mechanical difficulties and runs better than when new (by actual test). It has adequate power for cruising two up for short trips. Comfort level in back is not great though. It has been easy to work on myself and has not been back to the dealer for service. A windshield helps very much for bugs and for cold weather riding. If you like Interstate travel this bike badly needs a fifth gear. Corporate Honda has NO INTEREST in listening to e-mail comments about this minor flaw. It will cruise all day at 70 mph plus but the rpms are high! Britain apparently had a five speed model of this bike last year? Winter road salts eat the chromed wheel rims so be careful and oil the rims well and often.
- Gary Frey, Cape Giraudeau, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-09 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I gave a used 99 VLX a test ride today. I really liked the lower seat (25.6" compared to the 88-98's 27" saddle) and the wider handlebar. I fell in love with the original styling of the original VLX's, so this new restyled fender/side cover has me a bit perplexed... I guess I preferred the original one-piece flowing rear end where everything blends together. I do like the chrome side rails on the fenders, makes for easier accessory mounting. I also like the ducktail styled fender, I just wish Honda had stuck with the flowing design rather than separate the fender from the seat cowling. I was expecting a slightly lesser powerband after riding the older twin carb versions for 4 years. It was noticeable, but not bad. The good news is that Thunder Manufacturing offers various air kits for the 99+ models, some even bypass the airbox and open up the frame above the front cylinder giving the bike even more of a chopper-esque appeal. If I could get over the new styling of the rear end I would give the newest rendition 5 stars. Perhaps if Honda were to equip the VLX with the springer front ends that the Steeds have (The southeast Asian VLX is called a Steed instead of a Shadow), I'd be the first in line to buy one! That alone would warrant the fifth star. Until then I gotta stick with the 95-98 dual carb VLX deluxe as my middleweight bike of choice.
- Richard Rose, Southern Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-09 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a female who is 5'2" and 112lbs. After taking the MSF class, I bought this bike as my first. For me, it is way to heavy at 445lbs. The seat height is 25.6". It takes more leg inches to straddle the wide seat, therefore, I do not stand flat footed. Twice in 3 weeks, on an uneven road, I have dropped it. At 445lbs it is impossible for me to pick it up. I absolutely do not recommend it for newbie little people. I give it a 5 star because it is a super comfortable, beautiful, and a solid bike, for the right stature.
- Diane, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-29 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this little bike for riding to work; Handles like a dream, I've been riding for 35 yr's and I have a Harley Ultra Classic '99 for my road bike, I have owned 3 other Honda's and all were great bike's, 1983 v-65, 1986 250 Rebel, 1986 Honda Gold Wing Interstate, I hope the Harley holds up as good as the Hondas have!!
- Barry L., Cheyenne, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-01 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding 15 years. Riding 1200 cc and up bikes for 5 of those 15. My buddy purchased one of these brand new. And as all good riding buds do, he tossed me the keys and asked me to test it out. Having ridden one back in 88 i already knew what to expect. And glad to see nothing has changed. This little bugger is one sweet ride. didn't hardly miss the 5th gear till highway speeds. Never felt the need to go fast because of the laid back attitude the bike gives you. Went and got the misses and we headed off 2 up and I wasn't the least bit unsatisfied. Cruised up a very steep and curvy hill at a nice clip. For what this bike was intended for it fits the bill nicely. For the ticket price don't think there is better.(and i have owned 20+ bikes sometimes 4 at a time). better get em fast they sell out over its bigger siblings. Tried to pick one up at 3 different dealers and all said you would have to wait till fall or till we can locate one for dealer trade. Get it... ride it... enjoy it. Everything has its place and the Shadow by far fits its niche very well.
- Rider, Madison, IN

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-16 2001 Honda Shadow VLX Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for 26 years and that's the best bike I ever owned. It's a 2001 deluxe black. The bike handle great, look beautiful, sounds cool, and is dead reliable. If you're looking for a "small" crusier, the VLX is it. It will cruise all day two up, and you can easily carry enough luggage for one night trips .as long as you pack wisely the bike will do great on those short trips. I did a few 300 miles day, or 600-700 miles 2 days trip and cant see nothing wrong with the VLX. It's a great commuting bike as well, light and nimble for those city traffic days. Performs well in all weather conditions. It is what it is-- a small cruiser, but the best of them. Ride safe !!!!!
- Ben, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: