Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (46)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2019-08-31 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We're very happy with this motorcycle/trike. However, l would advise anyone considering buying a trike to absolutely. Test drive it 1st, & if they won't allow it. Then you should just walk away & continue w/ your search.
- Trace Wetzel, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-01 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '01 Pearl Blue GL1800 used with 190,000 miles on it. It now has 211,000 miles and still runs like new. It is very comfortable even on long trips and runs like a dream. I just finished a 4200 mile road trip with no problems. I was pulling a trailer with it through the Rocky Mountains and it never lacked power. This is an awesome machine and I would recommend it to anyone who wants a powerful, comfortable riding machine.
- Mark, Lexington, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-02 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Needed a bike to bring my wife along on a cross country ride. She is not a person who rides very much. So I bought a goldwing 1800. Packed up and rode from Lancaster, Pa to Kansas City (1,283 miles) on the first day. My wife never complained. We rode 7,400 miles in 14 days to see the Moto GP race at Leguna Seca. Visited a bunch of stuff. Rode up to the top of Pikes Peak 2 up. Cruised at 85mph for days at a time. We ripped and tore and the bike never whimpered. All the while we were pulling a trailer with camping gear. No other bike can do what the Wing does - it is in a class by itself. Honda has outdone itself.
- Tom Shuman, Holtwood, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-22 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought it used with just over 8000 miles on it Xmas of 2003. I now have 23000 miles on it (10 months). I also had cupping problems with the front tire and had to replace it at about 7000 miles but the new tire seems to be holding up well after 8000 miles. I still have the rear tire that was on it when I bought it. Other than the pretty common front tire problem it's a great bike. Stock seat is very comfortable. One problem though is you don't realize just how fast you're going if you don't watch the speedometer.
- John, Jefferson City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-05 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is hard to fathom that Honda can keep improving this motorcycle. I know that I am not the highest miler around, but I think that 72,000 miles in four short "winter country" seasons is proof that this is an enduring motorcycle. I just replaced the alternator, (71,968 Miles)and have put on five sets of tires, (Avg 14,000 Miles)and changed the oil and filter 24 times,(Every 3000 Miles). All of the recalls have been faithfully accomplished. The ride is mostly two-up and ranges from local to long trips, pulling a trailer. Performance, dependability and comfort can't be topped. Do I look forward to the next generation? You bet. Happy Riding!!
- Larry Klink, Ramsey, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-18 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 20,000 trouble free miles on my 2002, no overheat, no frame problems, no problems of any kind. In short, I would not trade it and will probably trike it for the wife in a few years and get another new one. It has great feel and handling and all the power you will ever need. I tow an escapade trailer and never know it is even there. I kept my 1993 SE but have only put 500 miles on since I purchased the 1800. There is no comparison. Buy the GL1800.
- JIM LINN, VINCENNES, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-03 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
great power, takes a little longer to break in than i thought.but with 7300 miles on it, the better it runs.42mpg now and getting better.hwy miles it just eats them up.i have `03.just wanted to say , bike handles alot better than 816 lb bike should.by a wing,no complaints here on this bike at all.was going to trade for a HD.i think I`lljust have to keep this one.
- kane 1800, Lugoff, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-05 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2001 Gold Wing (my first Wing) since Feb 2001, and now have 22,400 miles on it (this is not my only bike). The speedometer and trunk latch mechanism had to be replaced under warranty, but those were the only problems I've had. I've heard some complaints about over-heating, but mine never has, even while carrying two people and towing a trailer in 100+ heat (the infamous summer of 2002!). Kept at 41 psi, the original tires lasted 13,800 miles. I replaced them with the same tires, and they still look good, but I'll try Dunlops next time. I think I can best sum up my feelings about this bike by saying that if I lost it today, I'd buy a new one just like it tomorrow. To me it's the finest bike I've every owned, and I'm normally a high-performance enthusiast! This is the first bike on which I've been really comfortable for rides over 12 hours a day. I love it! Good brakes (mine has ABS), good handling, and a great, great engine.
- Gordon Banks, Huntsville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-18 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned the bike for almost 10 months now and still like it very much, however, certain things have come to light as the miles rack up. One, the seat is way to soft for long range comfort. Two, at 6'4" tall, my legs get a bit cramped. Three, the speedo doesn't like to work when it's hot out. Four, my front tire is cupping badly after only 6K miles. I have been religious about keeping the air pressure correct, but it's still chewing up the front time. My dealer (and former employer) called Honda about this, and thier response was "we don't buy tires, talk to the tire manufacturer" (Dunlop). I pretty much find this answer unacceptable, and I will be addressing this to Honda Customer Service. If this thing it going to wear our a front tire every 6K, I'll be getting rid of it in a hurry. If Honda won't stand behind thier product, I won't buy another one. Especially since I have purchased two new Honda cars, two new Honda motorcycles, and a Honda lawn mower since 2000.
- Barry Gunning, Dover, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-09 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Gold Wing is Outstanding Bike, I presently own a HD Ultra Classic and thought I was a Harley only guy untile I happened to ride the 1800. I now own a Harley and a Honda and love them both.the onley complaint i have with the 1800 is that awfull upright seating position and the footpegs. I don't understand why Honda went to all that trouble engineering a bench mark bike just to put those cheap uncomfortable foot pegs and foot controles on this otherwise perfect bike. I am desperatly looking for heal & toe, extended brake arm and pad and boards. If any one can help please drop me an "E"
- Mark Vickers, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-21 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my shinny black Wing in mid March of 2001 and by November the clock had turned over 15000 miles. This thing has all the comforts of home with a BIG PLUS! Power, handling, absolutely incredible for a bike this size designed as a luxury tourer! You have to ride it to believe it. The two 1500's I had were great. The Valkryie Interstate was a looker and fun to ride. The 1800 Wing will blow the entire works off the road! Harley guys, take your Ultra to the landfill. Venture, BMW, Kaw, nice bikes, but the 1800 Gold Wing is the one to buy!
- B Ramaeker, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-20 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride a silver 02 model and I own an independent bike shop and I have had many wings. The first impression of the new 1800 is that it does feel like a sport bike, not like a cadillac with handlebars.The power is fantastic,great cornering clearance and way better fuel mileage then the 1500's.Ok the cons, less bag room then the 1500,no lighted switches like my old 1500 SE,and a few other gadgets BUT this bike is light years ahead in all that counts and that's having fun while you ride!I wouldnt have anything else.
- Eric Howell, Van, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-10 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We purchased a new 2001 Pearl Blue GL1800 in March of 2001. We have since put on 7,000 miles. We do alot of two up riding and have to say this is the most comfortable bike I have ever ridden. We also do lots of moutain riding through the moutains of North Carolina and have been a owner of a few speed bikes had missed the handling and power. Boy have I found thenm in the GL1800. Have had a few problems with the bike same as all the other folks seem to be experiencing. The worst seems to be the cupping on the front tire. Also had the rea tire replaced under warranty due to problems with the bead leaking air. The dealer has been outstanding in taking care of all warranty problems and would recomend them too anyone. Have let two friends ride the wing and they are now wing owners themself. Give one a test ride you will be sold !!!!!
- Frank Trepoy, Goldsboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-07 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding thirty-eight years - started with 2 Cushmans, then to a Honda 90, CB450, CL180, 305 Super Hawk, CB360, CB500,Kawasaki Z-1, Yamaha Venture, Yamaha Road Star, etc. They all pale in comparison to the 2002 Gold Wing. I LOVED the Road Star but needed more room for the wife. This bike handles and runs better than anything I've ridden through the years. One heck of a motorcycle.
- S. Harris, Waco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-29 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had a 1500 wing that I was very impressed with for 125,000 miles. So was a little skeptical about all the reviews I had read about the new 1800 untill I took the test ride! I feel the test ride is one of the best selling tools for the 1800. Before even getting out of the parking lot I was impressed with how much easier the 1800 handled, it feels much lighter even though it is not. Have only had mine up to a little over 130 but can tell it will effortlessly run up to the revlimiter which I suspect would show close to 140 on the speedometer. The MPG dropped significantly on the 1500 at speeds over 65 but I have not noticed this on the 1800,and I have Records of every fill. The brakes while very good on the 1500 are much better on the 1800. There is no wallowing in the curves, seems like the bike knows how to handle curves by itself the driver just enjoys. The headlights and tail lights have been much improved. At first I thought the electricaly adjustable headlight was overkill but have come to appreciate it. When traveling late at night on 2 lane highways I just reach over and turn the headlight up as long as there is no oncoming traffic and if there is oncoming traffic its just a matter of reaching over to turn it down again. The headlights seem to light up to the sides much better than before too. The tail lights are very visable and have a very different look than other motorcycles. The mirrors are very much like the 1500 FANTASTIC best motorcycle mirrors I have seen. Same goes for the luggage. One key fits both the ignition or the trunk. If the trunk is unlocked you can open either saddlebag or the trunk without a key just like on the 1500 except with the 1800 you also get a remote control lock, a very user friendly system. There is a warning system that displays on the dash to remind you if the trunk or saddlebags were not properly closed which may not seem nessesary, but I can tell you I once forgot to close the right saddlebag on my 1500 and lost a pair of riding pants. Was concerned about the luggage seeming smaller but have found that I have been able to carry everything I carried in the 1500. The fairing pocket doors have been improved to make them more user friendly so I use them more frequently than before. My bikes cruise control was a little out of adjustment from the factory but had that adjusted under warranty and a couple of other minor adjustments. The tires cost about $100 more per set than the 1500 tires and don't last as long but I suspect the price will come down as more manufactures start making 1800 tires and the tire life should go up too. Took off the first set at 8000 miles and second set now have 16000 miles and should have already been replaced. The onesided swingarm is much appreciated by those of us who do our own tire changes, makes the job a LOT easier. The bike has been trouble free for 24,000 miles. Have heard reports of 1800 having overheating, sticking speedometer, oxogen sensors and poor MPG problems. I have not had these problems, in fact the MPG has been very good as low as 37 and as high as 50! The CB radio is not as good as my previous 1500 but have been assured Honda will be coming out with a fix for that. The brakes sometimes seem to squeal when riding around town and I have heard that Honda has supplied replacement parts to remmedy that problem too but have not personaly heard anything from Honda. Would I recommend the 1800? YES,in my opinion it is by far the best touring bike available and the handling is fantastic!!!
- cycledude, rib lake , Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-19 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Need to tell a long story. Hope you have time to read. Rode bikes as a kid. Made a 200 mile trip as a 14 year old. No one remembers why my mom let me do it. Had not ridden for about 40 years. Wife kept saying no, no, no. Then she said yes, yes. Finally said yes one time too many. Bought a Yamaha 650 for "my" bike. Thought she would ride around block one time and that would be it. Well, guess what. She fell in love with bike. Wanted to ride every day. Took first short trip, 40 miles one way to see daughter. On way back she said, "we have to stop for a rest". She has had back problems. Knew I was in trouble. Stopped at Harley dealer who had offered ride on Ultra-Classic. She loved it. Next day went to Honda dealer (same as Yamaha ) and she rode on 2001 goldwing. That was it. She was sold. Quietness, ride etc. Bought bike in the next day. Have almost 2000 miles so far. Work out of town about 1/2 time and can't ride. Bike is fantastic. All of other reviews about power, ride etc are correct. Two minor shortcomings. If you have suggestions, please e-mail. I am short with VERY short inseam. Can barely flat foot the Wing due to seat height. Yamaha is perfect and about 2 inches lower in seat. No heel/toe shifter. This is very sad. If you wear good boots, it seems difficult to get toe under shifter. Any suggestions??? No floorboards available. Yamaha has boards and they really make riding more comfortable. Still, bike is fantascic. My wife whom I was convinced would only ride once is ready for a trip to Florida in the spring. Son bought Harley Ultra-Classic a couple of weeks after I got Wing. (He had sportster). Nice bike, has floorboards and heel toe shifter, but I would not even consider. I love the Wing. Thanks.
- Wiley Montana, Lake Jackson, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-18 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We rented a 2001 Wing from Cruise America in Phoenix (highly recommended). The lady (mechanic) who gave us the walk-around of the bike was very knowledable about current issues. We opted for one with slightly higher miles (about 10k) but new tires since we were told the fronts were only lasting about 4 to 6K. By the way we own a Valkyrie Interstate and have owned ST1100s another other Wings and my wife also rides. The bike we rented had some serious body work splits (didn't appear to be rider induced). The kill switch was under recall and dealer had not replaced due to parts shortage. Bags were a constant hassle (switches didn't indicate they were closed) - tried one dealer on the road and he didn't have a clue how to cure the problem. The speedometer stuck on a regular basis depending on temperature. And the side panel (behind the engine) blew off while riding down the road (held on by non-effective grommets). We decided that we were very happy that we didn't own this puppy. The bike performed well but the constant issues detracted from it. I was amazed that Honda would put out a bike witht he obvious quality problems ours exhibited (besides eating tires, and I thought the Valk was bad.....). Hope they fix the problems for '02. I'd try another rental before ever buying one.
- Merrett Monks, Midland, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-17 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned dozens of bikes and in my oppinion this wing is the finest bike I have ever ridden. I have always appreciated the concept of sport touring but after owning an ST1100 I found myself missing the amenities of a touring bike. note: the only reason someone would choose a Concours over the ST is because of real budget issues or their just CHEAP. The new wing finally provides a bike that has great handling, acceleration, looks and touring amenities. No the bike does not come with chrome covers everywhere, nor does it come with a CB. If you want that stuff buy it. What it does come with is a great chassis, engine, look, and the necessities of a radio and cruise control. If you are considering the purchase of the new wing, go ahead, you won't be sorry.
- bb, libertyville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-10 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After just purchasing the "Silver Bullet" 2002 Silver Gl1800 Gold Wing, I have recently just entered my 2000 miles with it. The bike is surprisingly agile, with never ending power. Rear passenger air deflection can be improved, and all buttons and switches should be backlit. Additionally, variable shock height adjustments should be able to be customize while riding. Both rear and front speaker could use both bass reflex and power. Fog lights should be available at a higher output and colors. Everything else, exceeded my expectations. Again agility and power are second to none. You feel like your ridding a sport bike. Acceleration can only leave a grin on any human being with a pulse. Breaking is outstanding, and predictable. Just go buy one!!!
- Frank, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-06 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After reading several other reviews, I thought I would add my thoughts about my new wing. I have been riding bikes for over 20 years. I've owned almost every style of bike. Dirt bikes, sport bikes, and cruisers of several different brands, so I do speak with some authority and point of reference. I started this year by trading my 1999 Kawasaki Concours in for a 2001 Valkyrie Interstate, I picked it up in February and when I traded it in August (after a trip to Sturgis) I had over 10,000 miles on it. I really enjoyed the attitude of the Valk, however I did not enjoy the cost of keeping tires (3 sets) on it. I ride a little more aggressively than the average rider, and the Valk did almost everything I asked it to do. Why the trade? While in Sturgis, I was solo on my Interstate, and a fellow rider was 2-up on his 1999 Goldwing SE, we were traveling about 70 MPH and in top gear, while going up a slight incline (20-degrees or so) we both cranked the throttles open and to my surprise, he darn near walked away from me! Needless to say I could not live that down (especially when the fellow rider was dear old Dad!). I did not want to admit that I was "old enough" for a Wing, so I was in a dilemma, at least until I saw the new 02 1800's. I traded the Valk off for the 02 1800 in August and now have 5,000 trouble free miles on it. My Illusion Blue Wing gets many compliments, I even had one guy ask me if it was a totally custom bike! The other bike riders I hang out with (mostly 30-somethings) are all impressed with the performance and handling of this machine. I too am impressed, it truly is the worlds biggest sport bike! Sure, the accessories are a little pricey, however, the double takes are worth it to me! I'm sure we can count on Honda to improve on this somehow, I'm not sure where that would be!
- F. Bagby, Jefferson City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-14 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have dated a lot of tough guys but I didn't know what a real man was until I started dating a Goldwing rider. My man's bike is the beautiful pearl blue not to be confused with the new Illusion Purple. I love when he invites me to hippity hop and climb on board. He always gives a comfortable, thrilling, and satisfying ride. His brother rides the new powerful VTX, but I think I will stick with my Goldwing man because he is everything I want.
- Tracy , Annandale, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-13 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
1564 miles in 7 days. Out the dealer's showroom and into the rain without so much as a test ride. My girlfriend and I left on our new Goldwing. I'm 42 and have been riding for 30 some odd years. I have owned around 20 bikes, and most of them were good for a specific purpose. None of them come close to my new Goldwing. This is a big bike and needs to be balanced very carefully while tippy-toeing to a stop or in tight parking lots, but that is about all of the bad news. Now, for the good stuff. This thing will haul, 60 mph is just a twist of the throttle away, and there is 3 gears left to play with. Wheelies are a mere yank of the wrist, especially with two people aboard. Brakes, make sure you opt for the ABS, and one finger stops are a snap. Smooth surefooted 80 mph sweeping turns around 18-wheelers, Harleys, and all of that slow stuff, on the road are easy. Gas stops can be few and far between, but if you run it hard, you will stop sooner. If you are a Newbie, or a smaller rider, be mindful of what you are doing below 5 mph. After that..."Pop the clutch and let 'er rip!!!"
- Andy, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-24 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my beautiful 2001 GL1800 Illusion red Gold Wing the last of May. I have really enjoyed the ride and the appearance of this bike. The main problem that I have had with this otherwise great bike is cupping of the front tire. I took it to my local dealer and they called Honda Of America which told them that the tires were not covered because of to many miles. So I called Honda and they said for a SPORT bike that was average. After explaining to them that I bought a TOURING Bike and they should stand behind their products I got put back on hold again.
- Rider, Richard Kapp

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-17 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was a little skeptical about moving up from my 1998 Triumph Trophy 1200 and PC800 to the Goldwing - major change in riding position and image. The move had largely been prompted by several moderately long trips (500+ miles) in which the Trophy just throttled both me and my wife. My misgivings about performance and handling have been answered - the new Wing is fantastic! Absolutely the most comfortable bike I have ever owned. Pulling back on the throttle is like engaging the hyperdrive on the Millennium Falcon - smooth, seamless, just about perfect. As for problems, I have NOT experienced the speedo sticking, and I've ridden it in temps in excess of 95. The rear cases stick a bit, but nothing major. Finally found what I was really looking for all along....
- Chris Barrett, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-10 2001 Honda Gold Wing (GL1800) Touring Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I also had a 97 SE 1500 that I traded on a red 2001 GL. I didn't have one single problem with the 97 so I can't imagine what you're talking about. After the first 50 yards from the dealership I knew I had made the right decision in getting the 2001 GL. don't knock Honda because you don't like riding a bike that no one has criticized for its performance. Also, I don't relish the thought of riding any bike 300 plus miles without a stop. The plus 200 on the 01 GL is good enough for the majority of riders out there. Anyway, enjoy YOUR RIDE. Just make sure you ride. Keep the rubber side down. Elliot from Jersey.
- E. Boyce, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: