Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (73)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-04-24 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this for about a year and know two others that have had the same bike. Thay have not had any problems with theres and either have I. First off this is a bike you wouldn't want to take on long tours. It's rather small and could use a little more power for the highway. At 75 mph, it's sceaming but I replaced the rear sprocket to a smaller one and that has helped a lot. The bike is great for weekend trips (one up) and commutes and just riding around. Runs like a swiss watch. It's very responsive and quick handling for a crusier which makes it a blast around town. I own another much much larger crusier and this bike is a fun change of pace after spending time on the larger one. I could go on and on about this bike, but the bike is a basic, perfectly running, fun machine. It really is a blast to wring the heck out of it. If you need just a basic motorcycle thats still a blast to own and once you have it costs very very very little to own (gas, insurance) you can't do much better then this.
- mgw, tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-05 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2001 Shadow Spirit 750 in Aug of 2001. I have put over 6000 miles on it, the dealer added a windshield, I "had" to change the seat, not much went into that seat padding or technology, I replaced it with a Mustang. It's better then stock, but I can only get 100 miles in before I have to take a butt break. Other than that this thing is amazing. A deffinate great performer!!
- Dennis, Southeast Mi, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-24 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my bike in August 2002, before I had taken the MSF class and earned my license. I used to ride on the back of my husband's sport bikes and most recently his Harley Road King. I first saw the Spirit at bike night at Quaker Steak & Lube in Cranberry and fell in love with it. I've logged over 7,000 miles on my Shadow and love it. I do most of my riding with the Harley riders in our H.O.G. chapter. Except for the good nature ribbing I get for not riding a Harley, I'm one with the group -- and so is my bike. She keeps right up with the big boys and now that I have new pipes (Vance and Hines) she sounds like one of the big boys. I didn't like the stock pipes for two reasons. They were too quiet and they sat too high. I couldn't keep my saddle bag from resting on my pipes, and eventually a hold burned in the bottom of my right bag. The new pipes are long shots and they sit lower, which eliminates my bag problem. I also have a windshield (a necessity for highway riding), sissy bar, luggage rack and highway pegs. .. oh and I had her name painted on the rear fender -- "Cooter SkooterI love the way the bike handles. Living in the Western Pennsylvania area, I ride in a very hilly terrain which means on any given ride I am faced with tight upgrade turns and I am able to maneuver these types of situations with no problem. I average 120 miles per tank (I've never run out or had to switch to reserve at 120). I'll be honest, eventually I'd like to ride a Harley Fat Boy, but until (and if) that day comes; I'll be perfectly content to ride my Shadow Spirit. See you in Sturgis!!
- Lisa, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-10 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love this bike. If it weren't for the "Honda" stamps on the bike, many have thought it was a new Harley model. I have friends that have Harley Sportsters and after riding my Shadow Spirit 750, they want to kick themselves in the head. Not only does it handle better, it looks better...not to mention it costs way less. All in all it's a great sport cruising bike for the money.
- Robert, The Woodlands, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-09 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have enjoyed reading the comments from other Spirit 750 riders. I have owned my bike since Sept 2003 and I love it, the low profile, deep black paint and clear coat surrounded by chrome does turn heads. I have had some backfiring on cold starts but I am not really concerned. I plan on changing the mirriors to something with lower profile the ones that came stock look like mickey mouse ears. I will consider changing the rear sprocket as I start to ride longer rides but for now it is the best bike I have owned in 20 years.
- Paul McCarty Jr., Vancouver, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-02 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is one of the best and affordable bikes to customize. I have rejetted and put vans and hines cruiser pipes and lowered it 2 1/2". But a 180 rear tire did away with the brake line assembly above the bike tire and replaced it with a side mount led brake light. I also changed the rear turn signals to a mini hyper charger style led lights and put low profile mirrors and but a chrome radiator cover on it the bike looks and sound sweet. I get complements where ever i go.
- josh, greensobor, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-22 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a 2001 spirit. Great bike, but after riding a 750 Nighthawk, it did take some getting used to. I like the cobra exchaust, but my hubby likes it even more! What an attention getter! Me I am not out to impress anyone, just like to ride! If you are looking for an all around pleasure to ride, and gettin' your money's worth, check er out!
- Schreienwolf, MF, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-07 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THIS IS A GREAT BIKE!!! I LOOKED FOR ONE FOR A WHOLE MONTH, NONE TO BE FOUND, THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN I FOUND A DEAlER ( LINWOOD CYCLE SALES)WHO HAD THE FIRST 2002 SPIRIT, BOUGHT IT IN AUGUST AND PUT 2500 MILES ON IT BY FALL...I HAVE BEEN RIDING SCOTTERS FOR 40 YEARS..THIS IS BY FAR THE NICEST LOOKING BIKE, BEST PERFORMANCED BIKE I HAVE EVER HAD...I TOO WANT TO PUT COBRA PIPES ON IT!! WOW YOU GOT TO GET ONE...I RATE IT 10 OUT OF 10
- Dan Winchester, caro mi, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-14 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've only put 500 km on my Spirit but I'm loving it. Looks great, runs great, and fits me to a T. There are faster bikes out there, but you pay for that extra speed. The Spirit is fast enough for me, (14.89 in the 1/4) and it's built very solidly for a budget motorbike. It has a couple of minor problems when stock that are easily solved: 1. It's too low geared but a 38T sprocket is the easy and cheap solution. 2. The gear shift is angled low, the brake is angled high. Just turn a few screws and both are adjusted perfectly. 3. The seat is hard for long distance cruising, but Mustang Seats makes a nice replacement. For further advice about modifications, including the sprocket, go to: http://www.sa750.com/sa750.htm It specializes in the ACE 750, but the Spirit has the same engine and drivetrain, so everything applies. Great resource. The bike is a great middleweight cruiser. For the money, it's the best deal around.
- Spooky750, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-13 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great first starter bike , not meant for two persons only on a very short trips. Had the bike for approximately 10 months. Love it . the only reason I could not give it a five strar rating is the bike is under powered, even for a cruiser 10 more hp. would make it the perfect middleweight cruiser on the market today.
- martin, halifax, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-13 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Has anyone changed the rear sprocket and give me input on the results. When riding double, has it affected the power ratio? At high speed, is there any difference in the RPM's. Any input would be appreciated.
- Paul, Park Ridge, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-04 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well to start I have to say that I am only hours away from purchasing my new 2001 Honda 750 Spirit. It was a very difficult decesion but thanks to reading alot of what you all had to say it became a little easier. I was first debating between this bike and a Suzuki 800 Marauder. With a little reading and just taking a closer look at both bikes the Suzuki was not to be ( even just sitting on the Suzuki I did not feel comfortable). Next I was faced with the task of now deciding between the Spirit and Ace. Again it was not an easy decesion. Basically it came down to personal preference. I felt that the Spirit was the right size bike for me and the chrome really set off its styling. Not to take anything away from the Ace, but the Spirit really blew me away the more I looked at it. I was luck that my dealer still had one of each so that I could compare them side by side. I read from one review that there was a noticable size diff between the two. From pictures you can't tell, but when you put them side by side there ain't no debate, the Ace it huge compared to the Spirit. My only regret is that I am going to have to wait for a few months to get to try it out. Winter has finally set in and I have accepted the fact that I am going to have to wait. Luck for me my dealer has agreeded to store it at the dealership warehouse for the winter so that I do not have to suffer over the winter seeing it in my garage and not being able to use it. Just as a side note I have already arranged to have a smaller sprocket put on the bike ( 37 T ). Does anyone know how much this will reduce the RPM's by? I don't want to be looking for another gear at highway speeds. I also mentioned the backfire issue to my dealer and he told me that its primary cause has to do with the bike being built and tuned at a certain degree above/below sea level. When it is purchased it is most likely at a different level which causes the bike to become a little more prone to the occasional back-fire. For those of us who live in the land of snow lets all pray for an earily spring. P.S. Would like to know if there are any Canadian Spirit Clubs out there?
- D.C., Fredericton, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-28 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Installed Cobra pipes and Thunder Air Kit. It picked up horsepower and torque. I'm going from a 42 tooth sprocket in the rear to a 39-have to get some of that V-twin shake out of the bike at 60MPH. I could've have stayed with a Harley sportster if I wanted to shake. It's been recommended a 39 tooth rear sprocket will give you to 70 without the shake. Besides that, I have had the bike for a year without any problems. It gets tiring when everyone thinks it's a Harley until they read the gas tank. I have a Mustang seat on order and my bottom end is looking forwards to it! Everybody enjoy and be safe! Any input about a lower sprocket would be appreciated.
- Paul, Bridgewater, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-27 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
IVE RIDDEN MINE A LITTLE OVER 3000 MILES IN 7 MONTHS, AND CONSIDERING I AM ONLY ABLE TO RIDE EVERY OTHER WEEKEND, I THINK THATS QUITE A BIT...IF YA LIKE THE SOUND OF HARLEYS, TRY OUT THE COBRA STRAIGHT PIPES (DRAGS) THEY SOUND SWEET AND GET LOTS OF COMPLEMENTS AND ATTENTION!!!! I RIDE MINE EVERYWHERE AND IT SEEMS AT 60-65 MPH AN OVERDRIVE GEAR WOULD BE GREAT. I AM SEEKING HIGH PERFORMANCE ENGINE PARTS TO STEP MY PERFORMANCE UP---ANYONE GOT ANY IDEAS---EMAIL ME @ CHIEFSONE@HOTMAIL.COM
- IOWAMAN, DENISON, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-21 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike I'm 17 and it rides great. Good price to I've been able to afford it with a part time job and its been my daily commuter to and from school/work. The sound is kinda disappointing I've got to get new pipes or do a little drilling to them. Oh and by the way the girls love it hehe. I've had it for 4 weeks now and takin' many 50+ mile trips on it with no complaints. Now all I need is a helmet with some big horns on it. Any tips?
- Felix, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-07 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Honda Shadow Spirit 750 owners, check out...: http://forums.delphi.com/spirit750 for good info on parts, performance mods, and shop talk among fellow VT750DC owners. I have a 2002 Honda VT750DC. It's a solid bike for the intended mission and the money. I've just gotten back to riding after 10 years and decided to go with this bike. It's geared a little bit low and now I am wanting a bigger bike/engine, but the Spirit 750 still has enough pep. I commute to work daily on it and go for long cruises every now and then. No regrets here for $5999. I've pegged the speedo at the max of 100mph easily. It cruises fairly well at 75-80mph, although revving pretty high but many owners change the 42T rear sprocket for a 38T sprocket for better highway cruising. Honda fit, quality, and finish throughout; well built. Hardly any maintenance required on the engine (just oil changes), and lubing of the drive chain. The resonators in the exhaust pipes are fairly easy to remove using a 2-1/8" or 2-1/4" hole saw; this gives the bike louder/better sounding exhaust than stock. Next on my shopping list are: Vance & Hines pipes, carburetor jet kit, Thunder Mfg air box, and probably the 38T sprocket.
- Rider/Owner, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-20 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
why 3 star's? whine in the motor (i think it is the charging system), cant seem to shut up one valve (front cylinder ,exhaust) no self adjusting valve's, no shaft drive or belt, (chain drive seems noisier than my other chain drive bike's) poor passenger peg position, poor passenger seat, choke and key in an awkward position, and it look's too much like a harley im told(does, doesent it?) all in all i rather like it ,i just need you're help with some important refinements. i want to put on the MUSTANG seat that is now out for it. also either JARDINE or COBRA backrest and hard ware. but, what i really want to work with this setup is the LEATHERLYKE CROSS COUNTRY BAG that is out for it . (www.hoese.com) large and very nice! i guess i really dont need the backrest , but it would look good. so does anyone know if the MUSTANG seat and the LEATHERLIKE BAG'S will work?? Sometimes one brand wont work with the other. but i would like to know what you have tried and if it worked. if it did let me know what it it is and where you found it please be specific. if i cant get this bike the way i need it then a trade to something shaft drive and not a Harley look-alike, might be in order (750 VULCAN,800 INTRUDER). ps HONDA LINE ACCESORIES are rather pricey.
- Bocey1, Massena, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-11 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought the bike and had cobra pipes put on it. Check out the cobra site for mp3 files of the sound. It's awesome, and my bike sounds just like the mp3 clip...gone is the too-quiet Honda sound, replaced by a throaty rumble that would appease any hard-core Harley rider. http://www.cobrausa.com/exhausts/html/exhaust_frameset.html
- Recent buyer, Vancouver

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-27 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. That being said, I love it. Even at 5'5 155 lbs, it is the perfect size for me. Straddling the bike, I can lay it almost to the ground and pick it up with ease. A bit quiet, but a little drill surgery will take care of that. And looks? This bike looks hotter than Britney Spears in a bikini. The SS 750 is unbelievably easy and smooth to ride! I chose a mid-size cruiser because the industry gurus recommend 800cc cruiser or below for beginners. The dealers told me I should get the biggest bike I can afford, but I thought it was just salesman sweet talk. Well, they were right! If you are 25 years old and possess decent strength and reflexes, don't be afraid to get an 1100. This is not a complaint about the Spirit's performance; at $5999 I definitely got more than I paid for in terms of looks, performance, and ease of use. I just don't want other newbies like me to pass up the bike of their dreams out of fear.
- Adam, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-17 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I could mirror all the great things said about the 2001's and they'd all be true. The 2002 is just as good. With just over 1,000 miles since I purchased it in early June, this bike has been a dream. No bike is perfect and you can't please everyone, but the Shadow Spirit 750 comes about a close as possible. Any recent news regarding the exhaust mods (haven't done mine yet) and rejets, please feel free to share.
- Rob, Arlington, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-10 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Spirit two months ago for my "go slow" rides. My other bike is a 2000 RC51 and I wanted something more comfortable ridin' in the city. Being a sportbike rider, I was pleasantly surprised with the performance of the Spirit. It accelerates well up to 80 MPH and it can handle the twisties at a moderate pace. I've taken it on 300 mile rides on roads ranging from PCH to Angeles Crest Highway. It gets 50-55 MPG. I've installed a Cobra slashcut exhaust system on it and it now sounds great! I've also installed the OEM headlight cowl and I'm goin' to installed a front braided SS brake line. I would've rated it 5 stars if the brakes were better and if the front wheel didn't fall-in at low speeds while making a tight turn. In conclusion, a terrific little cruiser for the price!
- Marvin Lam, Palos Verdes Estates, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-08 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had mine (white) since May 1 and have had nothing but enjoyment from it. My only complaint was it being way too quiet. Well, I performed the 2" holesaw surgery on the mufflers and now it sounds as good as it looks. Excellent sound without being too noisy. Added some saddlebags and now I ride it everyday it doesn't pour! Overall a great bike at a fantastic price. I am amazed at how similar the new VTX looks to the Spirit 750. Hmm.... 1800 maybe that will be the next one!
- Aaron Strouhal, Moore, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-19 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my new 2002 Spirit this weekend. The bike is beautiful! Honda really put this together right. I have not ridden in over 20 years, and getting on my new Spirit and riding was very easy. I have 250 miles so far on it and it drives great. Over 50mpg on gas and the black looks great. Best bike in its class for sure.
- Stan, New Orleans, Louisianna

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-14 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my Sprit 750 in March. Its my first bike and its great. I researched some Harley Sportsters, but found that they can be a little uncomfortable at higher speeds and longer rides. The spirit for me is very comfortable. I ride about 50 miles to work every day and have had no problems with comfort. The bike is a little quite for me but I will eventually get new pipes for it. I'm thinking of getting some Vance and Hines or Cobra pipes. The Cobra pipes I think have a nicer sound. If anyone has any suggestions on pipes, I would appreciate the info. Like I said great bike, comfortable, has some balls to it, and all for a great price.
- Greg U., New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-12 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got the bike last month. Enjoy riding it every chance I get. Had several bikes In my younger days and this bike beets them all hands down. The bike handles smooth, good response, sounds good but will probably put cobras on it within the year. I get lots of comments on it and everyone is about $ 5000 dollars higher on the guess of the price.
- Dennis Wilson, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: