Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (12)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-09-23 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike new in the spring of 2001 and have put all but about 50 of the 82.6K miles on it. I have left it basically stock except for functional modifications. Stock pipes and carb jets, handlebars, etc. - all I can say for this bike is it is reliable as in all these years I have had to perform very few repairs. I replaced the plugs at 39K (checked at 49 and 82 and they still looked as good as new so I left them in), Stator at 39K, kill switch at 40k, diaphragms in the carbs at 60k. There was one front fork seal leaking at 70K. All together it cost less that $650 in these 11 yrs. The ride is great. I added a driver's backrest and although usually at about 100-130 miles I get a ache in my shoulders. I have the same problem no matter what I ride, including a Yamaha Venture I used to have. Riding with my wife is no problem as it has enough power for 2 up as well. It handles good and is very stable. I've done 400 miles a day on it and that's about all I want but know guys who can do more comfortably. I tried a Mustang Classic seat but it didn't agree with me so I went back to a stock one. It will cruise backroads at 40-50 mph. all day and hit the interstate at 75-85 just as well. It does lack a little in torque but once you learn to downshift and use 5th gear basically over 60-65, it's fine. Barring any major problems I am looking at over 100K on this bike as to be honest I haven't ridden anything I like better yet in its class.
- Jeff Oliver, Dresden, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-06 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my choice for my first bike after 20 years without a bike. As soon as my butt hit that seat I knew that it was the one I wanted. It sat good and low and had perfect balance. It's a great bike with plenty of snap, my only desire for more would be one more gear on the highway. The RPM's are pretty high at 70 mph. Other than that I love the bike!
- Gary Jenness, Garland, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-05 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Please don't get upset ... but ... I've had smaller bikes that seemed a LOT more responsive. The bike is beautiful. Classic cruiser looks and feel. I own an old 81 Kawasaki 550 LTD with a Jardine 4 into 1 header and a GPZ cam stuck in it that will eat this bike alive though! that's half the cc's, lighter bike, and the same feel. The good sides of things however is that this is practically a maintenance free motorcycle. Shaft drive, hydraulic valves, heck .. change the plugs and the oil every so often and you are on you way! The torque is impressive! When my wife sits behind me, the bike feels like it is pulling exactly the same as with a solo rider. Guess it's time for me to slow down a little and "cruise", which is what this machine was intended for. This is my wife's bike, I now ride a VTX1300C. Same shortcomings, but I LOVE the way it handles.
- Wink, Bloomingdale, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-10 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike, first was a Yamaha V-Star 650. Love the chopper styling and good power, handles well too. Had to move the tail lights back to accomadate larger saddlebags also needed bigger bag bars (to keep the bags out of the rear wheel).Added a Memphis Shades windshield.It could use a better saddle(like most bikes), my girlfriend starts squirming after a few hours on the back of it and the passanger pegs are high. Honda accessories are limited for this model.It is a great transition bike till I get a Goldwing or a Nomad. All in all a fine machine.
- P Kulig, Hammond, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-06 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Shadow Spirit for going on 3 years noe and I truly love this bike. I've owned all types of bike and have been riding for 25 years and this bike is one of the best rides I've owned. Me and the better half put on around 4 to 5000 miles a year and both love the ride. I have put a larger passenger seat for her (her booty got numb) and along with a memphis shades windshield, mini fog lites, cycle sound radio, and a set of soft saddlebags on so we can take trips every summer. I've been to Branson,Mo., UP of Mich., out to Sturgis., Yellowstone and Jackson Hole, Wyoming, and we are planning a trip to Colorado this summer and I can't wait to get on and let the horses run! I think this scooter is an excelent choice for long trips cause we put on 500-600 miles a day and don't get tired of riding it. With some of my other bikes, I'd get depressed walking out of our motel room the next morning looking at what I had to ride that day cause I could still feel like I never got off of it from the day before. But with the Shadow, I can't wait to get back on the road. I is very comfortable for both of us. See ya on the road.
- D. Regnier, St. Cloud, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-15 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got the bike last summer near the end of July 2000. Since that time I have log about 12500 miles. Everything as been great on the bike except for one thing. The saddle left a lot to be desired on longer trips. Since placing a Mustang saddle on he bike, that problem as been corrected. Maintenance wise it as been no problem except with my old body I wish the oil filter was in a little better location. Mechanical wise there as not been any problems what ever. Good Ride!!
- Alan, Wichita, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-20 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I read much of what the Shadow Riders Forum had to say about this bike before purchasing, and they all drooled over it. I am 6'2" 200 lbs and 53 years old, came back to two wheels after 16 years . Went with a Kaw Concours first and my old body just would not adjust to the riding position, sold it in months and went with the Spirit it felt so good on the showroom floor (no test rides here). Since then I find this bike fairly underpowered and with no torque available, I hate the huge gap between 1st and 2nd, you lug or lurch out of a corner. I hate the into 1st and into 2nd CLUNK of the tranny. After 7000 miles I can report the seat dish is too short for taller riders, it will put welts on your butt after 300 miles on the road. The sissy bar is so far forward it takes up two valuable inches of the seat from the passenger, and there is NO adjustment. Good luck if you have a problem with either the bike or the dealer because Honda not only does not care, but also does not provide a toll-free number to contact Customer Relations (of course, they do for their car owners)and they have just enough personnel to make sure you wait at least 45 minutes on your dime to talk to a warm -if not helpful- body. I really wanted to love this bike, luckily we have a great Shadow VLX for my wife because she will not ride on this thing. If you have never sampled anything else you may adore this bike, and I am happy for you.
- D. Bryan, Lincoln, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-25 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have researched and done more reading about this bike than about any other topic in my life (I think). Just two days ago I bought a new, 2001 Shadow Spirit 1100 for $6,100.00. Weather hasn't been the best lately. But there have been days of sunshine here and there. So on my first day on it I rode it for about 90 miles or so. The experience was totally exhilarating with the bike fitting like a glove. I agree with most other raters in that the stock pipes are kind of quiet. But where I live they're just perfect. I don't wake up the neighbors with them. Maybe someday, if I move to a place with more room between my house and the one next door, I'll consider replacing them. However, I just like the length and shape of the stock pipes too much. haven't seen any after-market ones that look like them. The shape, looks dimensions and overall characteristics of this bike fit my definition of what a perfect cruiser should look like - with the sole exception of the bars. I think a drag bar like that on the 750 Shadow Spirit would look great on this bike. I might try that, with the matching 750 risers, for a bit more length and slant than the 1100's original ones. Has anybody out there done that swap of bars?
- Edthefed, Vancouver

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-04 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first cruiser bike and I could not be more pleased. I rode it to Daytona 2001, and down to Key West without a whimper. Place some soft bags, T-bag and tankbag, and a Memphis Shades windshield and go anywhere without fear of being stranded. At 5'7" and 42yrs riding exp. I am very happy. Rear tire wear was 12k and front 14K, which is where I am at today. I have so much confidence in retaining this mount that I purchased the ext. warranty for 3yrs more. You can't go wrong for the price. See you on the road..
- Joe Engel, Lewisville, TXexas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-05 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third bike, and I couldn't be happier. Moving up from my first cruiser, the Savage 650, I had some typical newbie misgivings but this bike has been a perfect match for me. I'm 5'10, 200#, and the size couldn't have been custom fit for me any better. The power is strong enough to get me away from any dangerous driver from any speed, but secure enough that I never feel like I might lose the bike. The braking is even and quick, although I'd prefer disks on the rear just by reputation. The owner's manual made me laugh, suggesting a shift pattern of 12, 19, 25, and 32 mph. Reality almost perfectly doubles those figures (did they mean to type it in kph?!?). I'm still in 2nd at 37mph, not 5th at 32mph! She threatens to start lugging if I try to shift up into 5th at just 55mph. I've read many "complaints" about this bike being "too" quiet. For me that was a selling point. As a budding "old fart" (32 year old teacher), I don't want the "Harley sound" (although a loud bike is a more noticeable bike for the less-observant automobile drivers). The bike is so quiet that I can actually converse with my girlfriend at 45 mph without much trouble. The seat is very wide and deep, enveloping your tailbone very comfortably. The rear backrest (standard for the Spirit, not the ACE pictured above... also doesn't have the large rear fender) is a very nice additional perk. I opted for after-market T-bags, and it carries about two grocery bags worth without any trouble. I also got the Memphis Fats windshield 17" gradated black color to match the bike (the best choice... the top defines the line for far-ahead viewing, and looking down to check the road surface at lower speeds). I also invested in the quick-release allen-bolt mounts, which are great. I'm 60 seconds away from either total wind, or bug-free teeth. For less than $8000, you can't beat this bike for a solid ride, reliable support, impressive power, and long-ride comfort.
- Alan W. Bauerle, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-26 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
600 mile review. Galveston Honda treated me like they would like to be treated, very good,before,and after the sale. HOW UNIQUE. Ilove the bike, installed Memphis Shades 19" smoke windshield 281.00. leather bags 119,00. Now am all set for anything, Short hops to water or 500 mile trips. Very comfortable, excellent power, and handling, and 51 MPG. Have ridden Harleys for many years, and this has them beat hands down. PLUS, saving lots of money, and I get to ride instead of working on it all the time. LOVE IT ,and I am 56 years old. Been riding since I was 12.
- Earl Riviere, Hitchcock, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-16 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After waiting for over 18 years, I'm back in the saddle again! Put much research and thought into making this purchase and I must say, "I made the right choice." This bike feels right. Smooth ride, comfortable seat and riding position, nice handling, great acceleration. Foot peg position eliminated the need for highway bar. Runs better on premium fuel, but what bike doesn't. Got it for $7200. Only complaints: Lack of Honda Accessories, there are some good aftermarket stuff out there. For those looking for that "Harley" sound, it isn't there. Aftermarket pipes will be in order for that. All in all would buy this bike again.
- David P. Olsen, Warren, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: