Kawasaki Concours Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (35)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Concours Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Concours Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-09-02 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had two street bikes so far a 1983 Honda 650 Nighthawk and a 2001 Kawasaki Concourse. I put 172k on the Honda when I bought the Kawasaki. It now has 86,335 miles on it and have loved every mile. I put bar risers on it and F1 exhaust pipes. I have even run it down the drag strip/eight miles only. It ran 7.80's and beat a few 600's. I have taken it cross country 600 plus miles a day. Other than a few oil leaks and the clutch slave leaking and the cams wearing out all under warranty, it's a great bike.
- r roth, Fontana , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-06 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this thing last year and I am impressed with it. There's a reason why this bike has been around so long. Loads of power and a comfortable ride.
- Hoss, Ft St John , British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-05 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike for trips, going to work and is reliable as the day is long. Great seat but I needed to add some genmar risers for the handle bars. Limited choice on tires. I really only use this bike for trips as I have a few others for around town. I have had nothing go wrong with this bike.
- rider, denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-21 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode my 2001 out of the dealership in November of 2000. I've posted three reviews over my first two years of ownership, one of which was luke warm. But, every time I began to think about trading my Concours in, I talk myself out of it. At this point, I honestly can't imagine being without my Concours. While there are "better" bikes in the class, there isn't one that comes close to the value. This bike does everything I expect a motorcycle to do, is easy to maintain (because there's so little that has to be done to it), and is as reliable as they come. For me, it really isn't a matter of how much bike I can afford, it's a matter of why I want a motorcycle in the first place. If a bike meets all of my needs, why spend twice the money (or more) for something else? I'd kind of like to see a little "fashion upgrade" because I like the look of the newer style lights, but even if not, my next bike (if/when this one dies) will most certainly be another Connie.
- Scott Fields, Sigonella, Italy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-13 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Concours is a 2001 model. With the exception of Genmar bar risers and peg extensions, electronic cruise control, and an electrical outlet to power the GPS, stereo and cell phone, the bike is factory stock. I will add heated grips later this month to help make cool weather riding more pleasant (we don't have 'winter' in Eastern Lower Alabama so year-round riding is generally a joy here). The Concours is simply a fabulous machine...fun to ride, inexpensive to own, comfortable all the way from the top to the bottom of huge gas tank -- and easy to ride on all the miles it takes to reach the bottom of the tank. The factory brake set on my bike was defective -- both the front & rear rotors warped into an unusable condition within the first 1,000 miles but my dealer in Fayetteville, GA was great and arranged to have Kawasaki replace them at no cost...then the second rotor set warped at 3,000 miles and Kawasaki replaced those, too. In the 22,000 miles since the initial problem -- which I lay at the feet of Kawasaki's quality control inspectors -- I've had zero brake problems...nor have I had need to replace either the rotors or pads the warranty repair provided. These brakes provide smooth, predicatable stopping in any weather. Great 'feel' in the hand & foot controls. The GenMar risers & peg extensions took the 'scrunched & pulled' sensation out of riding this Concours. I've ridden hard-twisting back roads for up to five hours without a break and felt envigorated, not tired or sore even after all those hours in the saddle...and highway riding is almost effortless. The cruise control and gelfoam wraps took care of the Connie Buzz for me, as well as relieved the cramps that can come from holding the throttle's substantial return spring open...my hands & forearms are comfortable, even after a 250 mile shot on the interstate. The small diameter sport bike grips are annoying, but the foam wraps increased the size just enough for my hands... and the heated grips I plan to add should add a bit more girth and make holding the bars even more effortless. The factory seat does tend to compress after about 200 miles of consistent use, but it seems to rebound after even a short break. My only real annoyance with this machine is the bend in the wind screen which creates a terrible optical distortion...I've learned to look over or around this warped view of the world, but nobody should have to make this kind of learning. A Shotgun or similar aftermarket wind screen will cure the problem -- but Kawasaki can and should fix it. I understand why Kawasaki doesn't promote this machine -- because it's the same order of reliable, moderately-priced vehicle as the old Volkswagen 411 Variant: virtually breakdown free and not a big after-purchase revenue producer... if maintained at all, this bike just runs and runs and runs...and runs well. Does it have eyeball-flattening acceleration? No. Is it silky smooth and vibration free? No. But for the money it is far-and-away the very best motorcycle on the road. I heartily recommend this bike to any experienced rider who's looking for a great ride at reasonable cost. You can easily spend more for a sport tourer, but why would you when this bike is available at such a reasonable cost?
- Jim Coles, Elba, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-29 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden bikes for 30 years. Mostly Standards and Cruisers. This is my first Sport Tourer. The Concours works best for a rider with a 30" inseam and longer. The seat specs at 31. The high points of this bike are power and handling. The fairing is great for cool weather riding. You will need a mesh riding vest for hot weather. Go ahead and buy the backrest and Gen Mar handlebar risers, they will complete the package. Motor is bulletproof. Tranny and shaft are smooth. Slight buzz at highway speeds, if you have been riding a v-twin, you will hardly notice. Great all around bike for the money. Join the Concours owner's club and ride.
- henry prater, marion, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-04 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is built for speed and comfort a rarity in todays market. I have 21,000 miles on mine, that's in a state that's snow covered for months of the year. I have had no problems except for tire wear but I attribute that to agressive riding. If your dealer properly adjusted the bike before they sold it to you then there is no buzz. Several 600 mile days on 3000 mile runs can attest to that. Unlike a true sport bike, it's ideal for passenger comfort too. No you can't throw it around like a sport bike but as an added bonus you can buy most 600 sport bikes with the money you'll have saved buying the Concours instead of one of the other sport tourers on market.
- Smeg The Prez, Owls Head, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-07 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for over 20 years, and the Concours has been the best all-around bike I have ever owned. If I want to ride aggressively, I can lean into the turns and ride my Connie like a sport bike. If I just want to take it easy, I can sit back and enjoy the comfort. I even installed a Sony Mini Disc Player into my Givi Trunk so that I can enjoy music while touring. All in all, I give my Connie an A+!
- Rich Klock, Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-14 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2000 Concours with over 20k on it. It's a great bike and handles great (takes getting used to at parking lot speeds) at speed. It does handle better at 80+ without the bags. The bags mess up the aerodynamics at speed. I've had it up to 130mph and am able to keep up with 600 sport bikes (in straight exceleration). 750s & 900s have left me far behind. CAUTION THE SUSPENSION IS SOFT, AT HIGH SPEEDS THE BIKE WILL DIVE IF YOU TOUCH THE FRONT BRAKES EVEN SLIGHTLY. The soft suspension is for comfort on long rides if you want to go fast buy a sport bike that's what it's made for. The concours is heavy and can not do everything a sportbike can. Even though it handles well it is just not designed to do everything a sportbike can. It does everything that I bought it for. It's nice for my commute to work and on rides that last a few hours it is reasonably comfortable. After about a year the seat became uncomfortable on long (3+ hours) rides I may go for a corbin. If you want a nice inexpensive sport tourer then the concours is great. There is a buzz on my bike between 3500-4500 RPM and sometimes it can get annoying, if you're mechanically inclined the concours owners group (www.cog.org) has a fix for it. And yes if you get stuck in traffic in the summer the bike just blows heat on your legs and you cook. A couple times I have pulled the bike over just to let it cool it gets hot in bad traffic. These are my only two problems with the bike. It gets too hot and the buzz. Other than that it's fast handles well and is fun to ride. One thing that Kawasaki has found in common with Concours owners is price. Price is why the bike has not changed in 20 years they would have to raise the price to $12k and they said that their customers would rather keep it the way it is than to have the price go up.
- gxdragon, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-30 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought one new in 2001. Hve over 600 miles on her. It spent about 4 months in shop - rider error - crash! Hve had NO mechanical issues. Just don't try to keep up with your sportbike buddies on 400 lb. sportbikes, as that is not a healty choice. Ride comfort is good. 300-plus mile rides are not a problem. Brakes are good. Gas mileage is excellent for this size bike. Insureance costs are reasonable (at least until you do something foolish like crash it). For the money spent, it is an excellent buy. There are other sport tourers that are better, but they sell for significantly more money. Would I buy another? If I were in the market to replace the Cruise Missle, oh yeah! If you are after a "sport bike", get something a little on the lighter side, as she has a tendency to run wide if pushed too hard (can you say crash)
- Whistle, Grayson, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-27 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had previously owned smaller bikes that didn't have the power or comfort for two-up riding. I figured that if I wanted to have my wife join me, I would have to get something with solid power and be comfortable at the same time. Well the Concours fits the bill. It has lots of power, extremely comfortable seating for two-up riding, large storage in the hard shell saddlebags, great handling, and the list goes on. The real bonus is the price. So affordable and dependable. This was the right choice for me.
- Alan Antoniazzi, Sudbury , Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-11 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the bike; it is big and runs right up and down I-95 taking me to work daily in Washington DC. BUT the thing is absolute furnace to sit on! What was Kawasaki thinking when they designed the engine vents (maybe they did not design them - that might be the problem). In any event, if you don't like the "standing in front of the blast furnace" effect, consider some other bike to do your summer driving on. Oh yeas - the gas gauge is useless; go by the trip odometer; fortunately there are two of them.
- Ed Herbert, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-06 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding the bike through the summer, I am still pleased with it. I added a 19" rifle windscreen, a fender extender and a headlight gaurd and went touring. My brother and I took a 3,200 mile trip, with some 500+ days. I need a new seat, after several hours in the saddle, you start to sink in. The front suspension needs some stiffening too, but that isn't too bad either. I notice some buzzing, but I haven't synched the carbs, adjusted the balancer shaft or added foam grips like they suggest. The engine is great, with plenty of power on tap and it is very easy to modulate and ride smoothly around town. I even adjusted my own valves, the COG is an excellent help here, always someone there to hold my hand. I would do it all again. It is a very low buy in, that could use some aftermarket equiptment, but the base is there. The luggage is huge and with a tankbag, and a trunk my wife and I went two up for our 9 day trip, and a 4 day ride around lake michigan. Very calm behind the fairing. I put on over seven thousand this year, and I can't wait for the snow to melt to put on another seven thousand next year. No excuses, and no complaints. A solid well designed and built bike.
- Honolulu Jim, Wausau, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-24 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked it up new in July and have about 8000 miles on it to date. I traded my PC800 so it is a lot faster and more comfortable but it requires a lot more maintenance and it is a little buzzy. The stock tires did not last very long.
- Mark Mozzachio, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-29 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I swapped my junky S3T off for a 2001 Concours last March (love that blue paint) and haven't regretted it yet. Sure the suspension and windshield needed work, I added progressive springs and took the windshield to a glass shop to get the flip-up section cut off. Also replaced the "K" series Dunlops with a set of D205s. It's 15,000 miles later and everytime I ride it I like it a little more. I read where others complain about vibration but I just don't see it. It really howls at nine grand too, though it's not often you rev it past six. The valve adjustments come up more often than I like but they only cost $150.00 each unlike the poor schmuck who's paying $500.00 per whose review I read on this, but I purchased the shop manual and will attempt the next one myself. In a nutshell I'd say buy one and have fun.
- Kirk, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-26 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Connie is great bike for money. I have put 1500 miles on mine. I am 51 yrs old and weigh 260 lbs. At 6 ft tall, I find the bike has plenty of leg room. I have to lean forward just a little to get to the bars, but I am used to it now. New owners should ride for a while before installing risers. I get a little wind buffeting at helmet level, but I like it that way because I get some ventilation on hot summer days. So I don't plan on changing the windshield either. I have had two smaller cruisers before this bike and was used to engines that had red line of 4500 RPM. This engine is just getting its second wind at 6500 RPM. Only gripe is that I cannot put my full face helmet into the case. I will buy another if I live long enough to wear this one out.
- Joe, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-13 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had wanted an R1100RT or an ST1100, but couldn't afford new and couldn't find used. Then I saw a Connie parked down the street -- and started planning to buy one. Mine is a '99 and now has 41,500 miles on it. I commute on it and I've done a Saddle Sore 1000 on it. I've had two vacations of over 4,000 miles (going to Concours Owners Group rallies) and my wife and I went on a 1200 mile honeymoon on it. We're going to Yellowstone at the end of the month. Most complaints are about wind, "buzz," seats, and riding position. I dealt with the wind protection by buying a Rifle. The buzz has never been an issue for me. The seat could be improved with a Russell Daylong for $400 or you could do what I did and buy a Hartco sheepskin for $150. I haven't minded the seat since doing that 2 years ago. As for riding position, the biggest thing I did was to add a Vista Cruise throttle lock for about $20. It lets me move around and I haven't been uncomfortable since (on days of less than about 500 miles -- after that *everything* is moderately uncomfortable!). The other difference from stock on my bike is using Dunlop K491 Elite tires. I get 25K from fronts and about 15K from rears, more than double the stock rubber. So far, I've been able to stay up with anyone I want to stay up with. I do all my own work and have found the bike reliable and rewarding to ride. I'll buy another if I ever wear this one out!
- Phil Tarman, Fort Morgan, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-06 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In June 2001, I traded my trusty 1986 Concours for the sonic blue 2001. I also owned a 1998 Connie during the ownership of the 1986. I LOVE THESE BIKES. With the rifle windshield, gen-mar risers and depending upon your taste, a new seat. this bike is super!! All the changes are easy and not too expensive, kinda like the Connie, a bargain!! Also check out COG Web site for great support.
- Bill Bosworth, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-30 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 5 months of ownership and almost 10,000 miles, I can finally comment on Connie with authority. So far I've added a Rifle +5" fairing, GenMar risers, Givi Maxia trunk (with backrest), & throttle lock. A Rick Mayer Saddle and Baker-Built Wind Wings are on order. Connie is looking more and more like my girl for life. Sure she buzzes some. And her seat sucks; all stock seats suck. But she's affordable, repairable, and easy to customize. And she rocks. I traded a '97 Goldwing (that ran like crap) for her and have no regrets. She's carried my wife and I on back-2-back 750-mile days on a 2 week vacation. She's a literal pain in the ass on the highway but more than redeems herself on the Blue Ridge Parkway. At this price, I'll ride her into the ground and then buy another.
- Bill Pearlman, Davie, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-02 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Connie is a typical Kawasaki, kick-ass engine with an ok frame. The engine is strong enough to push this heavy weight at 120mph for as long as you like. (Try it without the saddlebags, much more stable) It also gives you 40mpg no matter how hard you flog it. The bike is very stable and the Dunlops that come stock will let you lean it over almost to knee dragging angles. However if you get it leaned over that far you better make sure of your line through the turn because your locked into it, you won't be able to swerve to avoid anything. I hear a lot of people complain about the vibrations but I don't think it is that bad. If you want a bike that doesn't vibrate then trade up to four wheels, get a Buick and quite your bitching. Would I buy another, yes. But as well as my current '94 (40k miles) is holding up I may not have to for a long time.
- Paul DeLassus, St. Louis, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-12 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my new Concours today. Only put about 40 miles on it this afternoon, but can say it's a great bike for the money, 7499.00 + tax. The three year warranty is great, just wish it covered that first service. Looking forward to a great summer of riding this bike to any destination.
- Anonymous, Kenosha, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-10 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now that I finally have turned the 1000-mile mark I am able to see what this bike is really made of. I had been told by some long-time owners that the Connie is actually two bikes in one -- a touring bike under 6000rpms and a sport bike over 6000rpms. Found out last night just how true that is! Once you break the 6000rpm point the bike takes on another personality. The exhaust note turns into an evil howl, the power kicks you in the pants and you'd better be prepared to hold on! I hit just about 100mph in 5th gear before I knew it, everything in my mirrors had suddenly disappeared, and I was still accelerating rapidly. Too bad it was still commute hours or I would have really let her rip! I'm looking forward to taking her out and really getting "in the spirit" now that I'm no longer restricted by the break-in period. So far, all I can say is good stuff about this machine. Is it the best on the market? Maybe not. Does it have some flaws? Sure, but none that take from the shear exhilaration of riding it. It would be damn hard to find something better, IMHO.
- Joe Fazio, San Rafael, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-06 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok.... I couldn't resist. Yes, this page of reviews influenced me. Just bought a 2000 RED "Connie". Mint. Driven a total of 2 miles. So far no problems! Of course I like the bike. I researched it up and down. Do I have the cash for the BMW or ST100abs? (Not unless I decide to skip paying for my kid's senior year in college) Now why is it that all the reviews on this page (and elsewhere) are all written in a similar style? No typo's, no grammatical errors, no rhetorical moxie, with correct syntax. Sorry folks, I'm finding it hard to believe that all of these "Connie" owners write the same way. For that matter, you see similar rhetorical style on other 'Review" pages here. Which leads one to ponder? Surely the PR agents of these manufacturers would not go onto these pages and post glowing reviews under fictitious names? Would they? Anyway...whoever is writing these reviews has done well. There appears to be a diverse array of positive scenario's and reports. And while they do 'appear' legitimate...... Anyway...we're here to have fun. And that's what I'm going to do, starting with mile 3 in about 10 min. for a ride into your Nation's Capital. See ya "Connie" people.
- mewcomm, U.S.A.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-30 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2001 Concours on March 4,2001 and I have 290 miles so far. No problems and seems to have plenty of power, although to date I have not yet tached over 500 rpm because of the break-in period. I did add air to the rear shock to 25 LBS. and changed the damping force to 3 and adjusted the front shock to be a little stiffer than when delievered. My wife loves it and it handles very good both one up or two. I did get the sissy bar for her and tank bra for the bike. The sissy bar does make a world of difference for her. I would like to raise the handle bars about a inch or two. No buzzing and no problem getting it up on the center stand. I was discouraged about the first check up to be done. Kawasaki book states 800 miles but the dealer suggested just over 1000 before I have it done. Roughly $300.00 for complete service. And should last for years to come!
- Joel, NH

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-25 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased my 2001 Concours on March 6th of this year. First new motorcycle I have ever owned. I was a little upset when I realized that three days after I bought it I had to pay for a valve adjustment and carb sync. I did the rest myself. Dealer said they had to adjust every valve because they were all loose. Too bad warranty does not cover the first valve adjustment. Other than that and the leaky fairing pockets, I love this bike. I have got 1700 miles on it now -- most of which was in rain and sleet in 34 to 45 degree weather. Better handling, weather protection, and more power than anything I have owned previously. I did purchase a set of Gen-Mar handle bar risers and next valve adjustment will adjust the balance shaft although it is not real buzzy. It goes right up on the center stand easier than my last bike. At the rate I am going, if the weather improves I will easily have 10,000 miles on this by the end of summer.
- Mike, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: