Kawasaki Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (276)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2021-04-27 2001 Kawasaki Super Sherpa Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok I am in Tasmania Australia not Alabama so thank the auto select. I first bought a KL250 Super Sherpa purely for my wife to learn on (having pillion with me around the globe on a GSA she decided to learn). It was the perfect set up, cheap to buy, low seat, low weight, thin, nice bars to pegs ratio, no radiators or alike to bust, disc brakes and electric leg. What I didn’t expect is that I would enjoy it too. We now own four. Two purely set up for the dirt with renthals, carb kits, bark busters 14/47 etc and two set up for the back of our camper on road bias hoops. I paid $1500 Aussie for each with under 10,000kms in each - one has now done 28,000 kms without a hitch (Stockman version in Australia has racks
- Ash, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-10-22 2001 Kawasaki Voyager XII Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles for 35 years and have had many different bikes, but it took me until this summer to work my way up to this incredible four-cylinder beast of a machine. For its weight and heft, it's incredibly nimble and smooth, with plenty of power to spare. It rides like a dream, has lots of comfort and luggage space. Every time I ride this great bike, I keep thinking two things: Why did it take me so long to get to riding this bike? and What a machine!
- Robert Klatt, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2018-06-02 2001 Kawasaki Concurs 10 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Smooth fast great handling. Shaft drive is a cloud. Rides like a home sick angel.
- Jim, Tulsa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-06-02 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The original bike was my first larger bike and I have purchased quite a few "add ons". The factory seat was a spine buster and after about every 40 miles had to get off for a realignment. The new seat took care of that issue, for front, back and backrest. The bike still sounds great and runs good and I can still get a compliment or two on it. I'm starting to get an itch for a new Vulcan 1700 Nomad now so we'll see what the bank roll will allow.
- Weinstein, Wilder, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-06-01 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Want to commute on a comfortable motorcycle that is nimble in the city and cruises great on the highway? Want to get good gas mileage (50-60 mpg.)? Want to look good on a classic? Want to lean into corners more than the average cruiser? Want to be able to rev you rpm. and feel sporty? Want to perform better and faster than the 1300-1600 cruisers? Want to have lower insurance rates and low ownership costs? If the above criteria is what you are looking for in a motorcycle, look no further. Even in 2014, this cruiser still beats what else is available. I'll be riding this for a long time. Knock on wood, but no problems or maintenance issues. I get to enjoy riding this more than having to fix something. Feel confident to take this on a long trip.
- parpar, bethesda, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-21 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-7R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My ZX7R is a power and smooth ride. There are faster bikes, but the feel of this front end is unmatched. This bike is easy to control due to its tame power below 6000 rpm., but after this make sure your Nava computer is functioning properly, because this bike isn't "like dustin crops at home. You will fly through a star or too close to a super nova which would end your day real quick. The stars will stretch like the Millennium Falcon in hyper drive. It is what a sportbike should look like. It is big and beautiful. On the highway it is smooth and stable. The strongest wind will not bother you and its seating position, for a sportbike, is very comfortable. GSXR's and R1 feel hard. The ZX7R feels like a Gold Wing compared to these bikes. It sounds like a diesel at idle but it's like a hive of angry bees when at full throttle. It is sweet! Buy one and you will not be sorry.
- Bill, Berkley, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-09-02 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had two street bikes so far a 1983 Honda 650 Nighthawk and a 2001 Kawasaki Concourse. I put 172k on the Honda when I bought the Kawasaki. It now has 86,335 miles on it and have loved every mile. I put bar risers on it and F1 exhaust pipes. I have even run it down the drag strip/eight miles only. It ran 7.80's and beat a few 600's. I have taken it cross country 600 plus miles a day. Other than a few oil leaks and the clutch slave leaking and the cams wearing out all under warranty, it's a great bike.
- r roth, Fontana , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-14 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-9R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the ZX-9R a year ago. It had 13k miles on it and I put 11k on it. The power is awesome. The seat from stock was replaced with a Corbin which made a big differance on my butt. The brakes are weaker than say a CBR but once you get used to squishing or pushing the levers and peddle, it's OK. I been getting around 45-51 mpg.'s depending on how much throttle I use. It's a comfy ride. There's a big tank so you can go a little farther. There is no fuel gauge so have to use the trip meter.
- Bugs, Winchester, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-14 2001 Kawasaki KX 125 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm sorry to lower the reliability rating because mine takes a lot of kicking to get started on a trail ride. Other than that, this is a very great bike. It has a lot of power and good handling at high speeds. I wouldn't recommend it for long rough trails, but it's great for Motocross. This bike flies across the track and is easy to move around in the air. If you need to save money by buying an older bike, buy this one, because mine works pretty well for a 10-year-old dirt bike. Mine is a big bore 144 with a racing muffler and a reed force valve. I bought it for $1,050, so I wouldn't recommend spending too much on an old bike. Wait a while and you may be surprised with what you might find. MY BIKE: The rear number plate and front number plate were painted turquoise, and the radiator shrouds are black. I honestly don't like how it looks very much, so remember not to get one with a custom paint job you don't like. Replacing plastic isn't cheap.
- Mystery, Ripon, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-02-19 2001 Kawasaki KX 100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is very fast. It beat a 2004 KTM 125SX. The KTM was all the way topped out and I was in 5th gear 3/4 throttle tieing it, then shifted into 6th gear and blew it away! That just proves Kawasaki is the best
- triston, enumclaw wa, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-25 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had big Suzuki's, a Harley SuperGlide and a Honda Shadow. I didn't ride for 22 years and then I found this 2001 Classic Used with only 4300 miles when I bought it in September of 2010. It is now mid-October and I am in love with it. There's plenty of torque, it's easy starting and beautiful to look at. The only thing is having to use the high dollar gasoline. I love this bike.
- Scott Bishop, New Castle, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-20 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 1500 Fi for four years and bought it with 17000 kms on the clock. I have taken it on some long 2400 km trips. It's super reliable and I only have changed the fluids and a rear tire. I have been looking around for something newer, but nothing out there that is worth the move from this Vulcan. It's cheap to run. I have a Corbin Dual tour seat on it and lots of chrome. It is a great bike. I looked at the Harley's, but would be asking for trouble compared with this ride.
- Steve, toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-01 2001 Kawasaki KX 250 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike has power where ever you need it. The power band seems never ending and will throw you on your back. The only thing I could complain about would be the suspension. Sometimes the mono shock is a little stiff and let's you know when you hit a breaking bump. Other than that, there's nothing after market can't fix to make it a great running bike.
- christian peterson, ocala, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-15 2001 Kawasaki Super Sherpa Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 23 years on a 650cc BMW, I decided I wanted something different. My Sherpa, bought 2nd hand with 5000km, is a delight to ride in traffic and around town. Far from being the compromise I expected, it handles tarmac very well. I expected the knobby tyres to be positively dangerous on wet roads; they are better than I am. Off road the bike is ideal for a novice trail rider. With a low seat height and low gearing, I can go everywhere without having to go hard and hope I don't need to put my feet down. I trailered it up to the Flinder Ranges and Arkaroola in Central Australia soon after I got it, and had a great time exploring places I would not have taken a 4wd in such remote country. A competent city commuter and off road explorer in one bike, well built, easy to live with.
- Graham, Melbourne, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-06 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this thing last year and I am impressed with it. There's a reason why this bike has been around so long. Loads of power and a comfortable ride.
- Hoss, Ft St John , British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-26 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this Classic used in 2003 with 9000 miles on it, and during the test ride I could not keep myself from smiling. I have traveled from central IL to middle Kansas so many times I can't count, and 55000 miles later I still smile each time I ride. Smooth, powerful, dependable performance is all I ever got from this cycle. 4 sets of tires, 3 sets of brake pads, fresh spark plugs each spring, oil change every 4000 miles and that is it. No problems whatsoever.
- bob riverton, peoria, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-08 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the Vulcan with 6000 miles on it; with little more than normal maintenance, the machine has carried me through everything from Force 10 gales in Florida to sub-freezing temperatures in the upper southeast with absolutely no problems. It cruises well, handles acceptably, and is easy on the eyes to look at. After 40 years of riding, I couldn't be more satisfied with a motorcycle. As an afternote, not one piece of the bike has even so much as loosened up after all those miles. Smmooth!
- Lone Eagle, Rincon, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-29 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My '01 1500 Classic FI (Black Pearl) reminds me of my old 1975 FLH1200 'Fatbob' albeit as an updated retro-styled cruiser with liquid-cooling. It feels evocative, visceral, and sounds grrreat with the aftermarket exhaust system. Very smooth motor, and I highly recommend the Dunlop Elite 3 tires. Purchased as a brand new non-current bike from the dealer at a discounted price. A couple of months later, relocated to Boise, ID. As far as how it might compare with a Harley-Davidson, about all I can say is that it's roomier as far as the ergonomics go. Not the least bit concerned about depreciation as this bike is a keeper. Think of it as the cruiser version of Kawasaki's famous 1973 903 Z1. Have not had any issues with it at all since 4/02 *except* for a minor o-ring coolant leak which was covered under the extended warranty. Those usually have to be r/r every 48 months. Most of my riding is out on the 2-lane backroads, not the interstates. Adding a 'shield made a huge difference on those longer rides. The oem seat is very good although it's usually a good idea to take a butt break after an hour or so. This isn't a quick accelerating motorcycle, but it does have gobs of torque so it's not as if one has to constantly keeping shifting the gearbox. Passing power is excellent in 4th gear. 5th is more of an overdrive. Gas mileage has varied from 38-52mpg with mid-40s being average. This a big, friendly old skool motorcycle that's easy to live with, and is definitely a best buy. Not too big nor too small, but just right.
- Grumbler, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-05 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike for trips, going to work and is reliable as the day is long. Great seat but I needed to add some genmar risers for the handle bars. Limited choice on tires. I really only use this bike for trips as I have a few others for around town. I have had nothing go wrong with this bike.
- rider, denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-21 2001 Kawasaki Concours Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode my 2001 out of the dealership in November of 2000. I've posted three reviews over my first two years of ownership, one of which was luke warm. But, every time I began to think about trading my Concours in, I talk myself out of it. At this point, I honestly can't imagine being without my Concours. While there are "better" bikes in the class, there isn't one that comes close to the value. This bike does everything I expect a motorcycle to do, is easy to maintain (because there's so little that has to be done to it), and is as reliable as they come. For me, it really isn't a matter of how much bike I can afford, it's a matter of why I want a motorcycle in the first place. If a bike meets all of my needs, why spend twice the money (or more) for something else? I'd kind of like to see a little "fashion upgrade" because I like the look of the newer style lights, but even if not, my next bike (if/when this one dies) will most certainly be another Connie.
- Scott Fields, Sigonella, Italy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-17 2001 Kawasaki KX 500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing. As soon as you turn the throttle you know you are sitting on a beast. It can take everything you can dish out, and ask for more. Very reliable, never has even fouled out a plug. Performance is top notch. Comfort, well it's a motocross bike, what do you expect. Great bike I love it.
- Rider, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-11 2001 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the bike new in 2001, and after five years it has been a great bike. It has been super-reliable, only requiring the usual routine maintenance items such as oil and filters. Just this year, I'm having to replace tires, brake pads and battery - not bad for 11,000 miles. Good gas mileage too - around 45 MPG. This is my first bike and I found it very easy to learn on -- very predictable and no 'surprises'. It has more than sufficient power to satisfy my needs. Only complaint is that the seat is somewhat uncomfortable for rides longer than an hour or so.
- Brian, Bellingham, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-08 2001 Kawasaki KX 250 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great. It is very, very fast. This bike is not only great for motocross, but has great low end torque making it outstanding for trails. The only thing that I dislike after about 50 Hours on it would be fouling the spark plugs. The best way to avoid this is to clean it out within the first min. of running it. To do this just start out and put it in 2nd or 3rd gear and give it a lot of gas until the exhaust goes high pitched.
- anoy., anoy., Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-08 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-12R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up this bike used with only 2700 Miles on it. I have been riding the hell out of it and I'm totally hooked. In 2 months I have already put 2000 miles on it and counting. It is a very smooth while riding and is actually very comfortable on long trips. The Exhaust is kinda big, but its going bye bye in a couple months. I had this thing up to 150 in 5th with half throttle and it still wanted to scream not to mention there was still another gear left. This bike is limited at 186 (along with the Busa starting which started in 2001 as well) but is easily eliminated with a purchase of $80 "box" which bypasses it allowing you to reach warp speed.
- NDC_Bullet, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-13 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was a previous sportbike rider, so the change to a cruiser was a big one to say the least.. lower center of gravity, but an immensely enjoyable and comfortable ride... does get some buffeting , but nothing like a naked sport bike... needing super gas is unfortunate, but gas mileage hangs in the 38-40 range.. time to accessorize and add to an already fun few weeks (bought used, only 1000 miles are mine so far)... bike speaks for itself in more ways than 1 (vance and hines pipes w/ power commander)
- Bob Massey, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: