Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (26)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-04-23 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Other than changing oil periodically, I did not do a thing for the bike. For the three years I have owned the bike, I only had to gas it up and go. No problems what so ever. My only complaint is the D&D exhaust I put on the bike. Three months after I put it on, it started to rust. I went to the dealer, and the manufacturer, but no one wanted to help. This also happened to some of my friends. I definitely do not recommend D&D for any one.
- Elyes Nefissi, jefferson TWP , New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-08 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got 22,000+ in my bumble bee and this amazing machine is still thirsty for speed. Every day my commute to and from work becomes an amazing journey as the rumble from the engine and the smoothness of the curves takes you into a MotoGP like environment. Only to realize the rest of the bikes are playing catch up behind you. Just Great.
- Mario Delgado, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-19 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rips. Mid range is nice and smooth. Power is pretty constant throughout the powerband. Smoked a 2002 CBR F4i with a power commander, K&N Filter and bolt on Yoshimura, in a 6th gear roll on. The only complaint is the rear end tends to slip out if you get on it too hard in a corner. Upgrade from D207's to 208's helped a little. This is a very underrated bike.
- Jeff P, Dover, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-30 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Really disappointing. Good thing I purchased the extended warranty
- K. Paul Cook, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-31 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love it. No problems. Rock solid. Mechanic says bike in good shape.
- K. Paul Cook, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-12 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A friend test drove a Buell Firebolt and I came along with my Ninja today. don't believe the hype that the Bolt beats everthing around. It is way slower than my Ninja and less stable in the turns. My friend kept saying it trys to tip upright when you lean it the corners. The fit and finish on the Ninja is superior. Transmission on ZX-6R is world class and definitely better than the Bolt.
- K. Paul Cook, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-10 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. Power, handling, brakes, and still comfortable to tour. It may be slightly outdated compared to the latest and greatest but it is by far the best all around street 600. don't forget, all the 600 class bikes are so close in performance that it has everything to do with the rider and much less to do with the bike. So take it to your "latest and greatest" buddy's and still have enough left after your smoke session to ride home in comfort. Ha Ha, I laugh at the GSX-R's through my helmet on the freeway. This is a awesome bike that makes me think I'm a challenger in a AMA supersport race.
- J.B., L.A., California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-12 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Kawasaki continues to build the best real world 600 sportbikes yet. Consider the overall package and the plusses and over the competition add up quickly. Things like dual headlights which operate at the same time, seamless carburation, 4-way hazard lights, positive neutral finder, flat tank top for gear bag, usable trunk storage- and we haven't even begun to talk about it's winning handling and ram air performance both on and off the track! the bike is very stable on the move not ultra twitchy like other race replicas some of which really require a steering stabilizer as standard. not so the Ninja. the ergos suit it's dual purpose street & race nature well. I love the new styling as well. these bikes are the best buy for the bucks. beautiful job Kawasaki - keep it up. For slightly less cash the ZX6, another perenial fav, is still available too. if you haven't seen it already, here's a fun review: http://sbo.co.za/kawasaki/2000zx6r1.html
- P. Tong, SF, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-19 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my green '01 for $6200 the first part of September. Has about 1100 miles on it so the break in is behind me. I've not even "put it up" yet because any time it's above 30 degrees I'm on it (get a waterproof First Gear coat with liner (awesome)). Great power, comfortable to ride, looks awesome. Neutral's tough to find on the fly and crisp shifts are necessary to avoid having it pop out of gear. All in all I'm tickled s*#%less to have it.
- E-man, Fort Wayne, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-24 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I Just Picked up my first street bike the kawa zx6r 2001. I coudnt be more content its fast, easy to ride, and I only paid $6800 for it brand new. I have noticed though that it gets a little hot at the stand still. Oh Yea! and Yellow the color to get.
- Carmen Centennial, Fort Polk, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-20 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my Green 2002 6R in November. Broke bike in already. Acheived 155 mph. for 2 mile stretch and the bike remained solid as a rock. This bike has both my friends that ride a R6 and a Gixer wondering why they are looking at my tail lights all the time. The perfect add-on for this bike is the V2- Speedscreen by Lockheart-Phillips great wind protection and looks great! I bought the clear one so that I can see threw it while I am passing my friends. Others have mentioned problems with carbs. I have not had any, powerband in smooth all the way to redline!!! I also installed the Digital-Gear-Indicator by Datatool. Works perfect, no more wondering what gear I am in. Installation was easy, it took about 1 hour, connects to instrument cluster harness. Installed hugger and seat crowl from Targa in addition to carbon-fiber looking magnetic tank bra from Mag-Knights. This bike looks mean and fast. My next add-on will be a complete Muzzy system but for right now I don't need it, bike is plenty fast.
- Ron Gleaton, Riverdale, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-25 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden a few other bikes but none come close in providing as much wind protection as the Kawi does. Excellent exhaust note, very comfortable on longer outings. I have also noticed the engine running a little bit hot when sitting in traffic. The dealer tells me that it is normal. Maybe rejetting it might fix the so called "problem". The only real problem that I have with the bike is the rear end. Seems to get a little off center when braking into a corner.
- Isti Koha, Santa Rosa, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-03 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have now logged 15,453 miles on my 2000 ninja and have not had one problem with it. I've got a Yoshi full exhaust, K&N filter, Renthal gears and chain, fender Eliminator kit and steel brake lines. I've had a 90 Honda Nighthawk, 91 Kawi Zephyr ZR550, 95 Yamaha FZR 600, 99 Kawi ZRX1100 and a 99 SV650. Nothing comes close to giving all the comfort of touring, performance sport riding, great looks, gnarly sound, forgiving handling and reliability in one package as the Ninja.
- Dane Campbell, Reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-27 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 01 ZX-6R and put only about 300 miles on it. The bike is everything I wanted in a street bike. The engine is silky smooth, powerful, the transmission shifting is superb and the bike has very good handling. The thing that impressed me the most is that at low speed maneuvers (under 15 mph), the handlebars will sort of turn themselves with only a slight push from the rider. Once speed is over 15, the handlebars are tight ready to do some cornering. Very cool feeling. The bike is light and is very comfortable to ride. I have ridden for many hours at a time and my wrists, back or legs are never in pain. Also the wind protection is the best in the 600 class. Overall the bike does everything very very well.
- Bill, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-12 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike, runs smooth, tranny shift great. the only problem i have is the bike get very hot in slow moving traffic or at a standstill. does anyone else have this problem and do they know why it happens.
- Fred G, Long Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-09 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Ninja about a month ago for 6999.00 cheaper than any other 600. I am very happy with it. Its powerful torquey motor was kinda overwhelming at first but i got used to it very quick. The team green bike is the one to have.
- Felix, Hatboro, Pennsylavania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-30 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Figured I'd post an update. Something other than the usual "fast bike", or "awesome ride" posts that seem to proliferate. Have 5700 miles now on it since buying new in late Dec 2000. Racking up the miles so as to take it in for the 7500 mile check up later this summer. Carbs feel like they need to be synched. Getting some vibration now. Tires are holding up well. I should be able to go around 8000 or so, maybe more. Front size is a 120/65-17 which is uncommon so I'm sort of dreading that. Comfort is still a minor issue but it's getting better; or maybe I'm getting used to riding it. It's still a bit cramped in the leg area for me but I'm 6 foot 195lb. Performance is astounding. Acceleration is amazing. Second gear roll on while entering the highway takes you from 30 to 80mph in a couple of seconds, literally. Passing on two lane roads is easy. Just downshift to fourth gear and let it run. There is a delightful snarl from the ram air system. I'm averaging about 50mpg so far. No complaints there. Cornering is quite good. I feel most comfortable at the 60 to 70 range where applicable. Any faster and the lean angle gets a bit extreme for me. Track school will help with that. I added some sportbike saddlebags. Now I can carry some junk with me easily. Looking to get a tank bag and/or tail bag soon too. Oh, and I finally adjusted the suspension a bit. It's set up for a 150lb rider so I firmed up the settings a bit for my taste. Adjustment was easy except for rear preload. That is a pain since it looks like a special tool is needed. Manual says to take to dealer. Changed the oil myself. Pretty easy. Only drawback is cheesy fasteners. I stripped an allen head bolt on the lower right fairing. Luckily, I don't need to take the right side off for oil changes. I'll see if I can get the shop to fix that at the 7500 mile check up. Well, that's it for now. Further updates after shop visit and into the autumn riding season. Peace.
- Mike, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-11 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought the 2001 model as a replacement/upgrade from the 600 Katana Sport/Touring and couldn't be more pleased with it. Rubber side down
- Joe Soria, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-09 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i brought my bike march of last year. i like it very much. i put on a d&d slip on it sounds great but it made me loss power. so this year i put on a full muzzy pipe and what a good thing it gave me more top end power i have no problems staying close to me friends with 750-900 this bike is that good. plan to keep it for a long time.
- Paul, Harlem, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-11 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my yellow/purple ZX6R in March and love it. Coming from a standard, or naked sport, the Ninja more than satisfied my desire for something more. This is a great all rounder. I ride it as a daily commuter and on day trips across TX. The engine is strong and responsive. This is my first entry into the 600 SS market and I have to say I'm hooked. More power than I'll ever need without the price tag of the big boys. I highly recommend this bike. Ride safe.
- Noah Jackson, Frisco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-10 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my ZX6-R a few days ago so I am still getting used to the bike. So far I love it. I bought the yellow/purple and I can't believe how many heads turn when I ride by. In my opinion it is the best looking 600 on the market. Looks somewhat "grown up" compared to the "boy racer" looks of the both R6 and GSXR. The exhaust note is simply awesome (this may be the reason heads turn when I ride by). I am obviously still working it in, but in my short experience with the bike so far, I am impressed with the overall comfort of the bike. You can cruise for hours without a problem, or tuck down behind the generous fairing and get aggressive with the throttle. Overall, definitely top marks.
- Paolo, Toronto

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-11 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an excellent street bike I rode it for 12 hours straight and survived. It was great ergonomics and power, and I love the sound of the intake. One thing I think it needs is the fuel injection. Last year Kurtis Roberts and Eric Bostrom went to the finish, but this year Aaron Yates and the gixxer600 seem to be jetting of those turns. The Kawi seems a little hesitant, just by a split second. But other than that this bike is excellent. Serves its purpose and is fun as hell as well!
- Me, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-21 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow, I just picked up my 01 zx-6r yesterday, and wow is all I can say. I got the green one, and in my opinion this has to be one of the best looking bikes on the market. The bike has plenty of power, and handles like a dream. If you are in the market for a six, don't overlook the Kawasaki. It may be a few tenths of a second slower than the r-6, or gxxer, but this bike has more power than any of use will ever use. So all in all im totally happy, this is my first bike and it really is a dream come true for me. Feel free to email me if you have any questions. Ride Smart, Mike
- Mike Ullah, Garland, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-24 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike of August of 2000 I picked the team green one, and I could not be happier. I once owned a 1993 600 zx-6, actually it's the same model they still sell today for a 1000 less. Make no mistake it's totally different from the 6R and worth every penny extra I payed for it. The bike is comfortable, light, balanced, and responsive; and the perfect rocket to get around on. If I had to it all over again I would buy it again in a heartbeat.
- Michael Kahres, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 2000 bike in May last year. After thebreak-in period, the throttle response has steadily deteriorated to the point where the engine no longer has the seamless thrust of power, and now sounds thrashy. Otherwise, it's still a very fast and comfortable motorcycle, capable of both touring and track days (where it is especially good at undressing CBR600F4s.) Overall, I still love the looks, and am considering buying a slip-on car and jet kit to fix the carburetion.
- John Rocketlauncher, Deluth, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: