Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (24)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-10-25 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had big Suzuki's, a Harley SuperGlide and a Honda Shadow. I didn't ride for 22 years and then I found this 2001 Classic Used with only 4300 miles when I bought it in September of 2010. It is now mid-October and I am in love with it. There's plenty of torque, it's easy starting and beautiful to look at. The only thing is having to use the high dollar gasoline. I love this bike.
- Scott Bishop, New Castle, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-20 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 1500 Fi for four years and bought it with 17000 kms on the clock. I have taken it on some long 2400 km trips. It's super reliable and I only have changed the fluids and a rear tire. I have been looking around for something newer, but nothing out there that is worth the move from this Vulcan. It's cheap to run. I have a Corbin Dual tour seat on it and lots of chrome. It is a great bike. I looked at the Harley's, but would be asking for trouble compared with this ride.
- Steve, toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-08 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the Vulcan with 6000 miles on it; with little more than normal maintenance, the machine has carried me through everything from Force 10 gales in Florida to sub-freezing temperatures in the upper southeast with absolutely no problems. It cruises well, handles acceptably, and is easy on the eyes to look at. After 40 years of riding, I couldn't be more satisfied with a motorcycle. As an afternote, not one piece of the bike has even so much as loosened up after all those miles. Smmooth!
- Lone Eagle, Rincon, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-29 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My '01 1500 Classic FI (Black Pearl) reminds me of my old 1975 FLH1200 'Fatbob' albeit as an updated retro-styled cruiser with liquid-cooling. It feels evocative, visceral, and sounds grrreat with the aftermarket exhaust system. Very smooth motor, and I highly recommend the Dunlop Elite 3 tires. Purchased as a brand new non-current bike from the dealer at a discounted price. A couple of months later, relocated to Boise, ID. As far as how it might compare with a Harley-Davidson, about all I can say is that it's roomier as far as the ergonomics go. Not the least bit concerned about depreciation as this bike is a keeper. Think of it as the cruiser version of Kawasaki's famous 1973 903 Z1. Have not had any issues with it at all since 4/02 *except* for a minor o-ring coolant leak which was covered under the extended warranty. Those usually have to be r/r every 48 months. Most of my riding is out on the 2-lane backroads, not the interstates. Adding a 'shield made a huge difference on those longer rides. The oem seat is very good although it's usually a good idea to take a butt break after an hour or so. This isn't a quick accelerating motorcycle, but it does have gobs of torque so it's not as if one has to constantly keeping shifting the gearbox. Passing power is excellent in 4th gear. 5th is more of an overdrive. Gas mileage has varied from 38-52mpg with mid-40s being average. This a big, friendly old skool motorcycle that's easy to live with, and is definitely a best buy. Not too big nor too small, but just right.
- Grumbler, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-14 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Took another roundtrip from Virginia to Minnesota, this time with a friend on a '02 Harley Wide Glide. We ran at a steady 80mph and gassed up at the same time. I always used 1/2 gallon less fuel. From a toll booth at the Wisconsin state line we decided to open them up and I pulled at least a six bike-length lead on the Harley. One problem surfaced on my Classic - I started to feel a drivetrain oscillation in fourth gear. When I got home I lubed the drive shaft and axles and the oscillation went away. My bike now has 24000 miles, still looks new, and is running stronger than ever.
- Dennis Carlson, Stephens City, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-14 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased 2002 Vulcan 1500 Classic FI is it is hands down the best bike I have ever owned over the last 30+ years of riding. 5 stars is not even close to what this bike should be rated and as far as I concerned it should be a 10! This bike has it all-adjustablity from the rear shocks to the clutch and brake levers,the best handling for a bike this big and all the torque and power that you need in any situation. It is a little shy on the top end but for all other purposes this bike flat out rules the road. Jump on board everybody Kawasaki has raised the the level of motorcycling back to where it's supposed to be!
- cycleman, Buffalo,NY, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-07 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had other cruisers in my life, but now, that I'm just 37, I can say that my Kawy is THE BIKE: she's big, low and fat, and sooooo beautiful. I ride her in Italy, streets are smaller than in the States and we got no culture about HD cruisers, we don't hate Jap bikes. I ride a 1999 white/light-blue model, and everytime I take a ride with her I think I'm a lucky guy! Absolutely 5 stars!
- claudio, verona, Italy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-17 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got my 2001 Vulcan FI this past month. I haven't got that many miles on it but there will be by the end of Summer. It handles really good in the corners and has all the torque one needs for those special occasions. It was money well spent. I've owned HD's in the past but this time I bought "Quality", not just the a "Name". Thank you Kawasaki for bringing back the fun and enjoyment riding. The easy maintance will keep me on the road and not in the garage, like in the past. This Big V-Twin is the Cruiser of your dreams. See you on the highways.
- Don Denson, Richland, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-05 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got to test drive a new 2001 FI last week from a Nebraska City Nebraska dealer. This is the only dealer I found who had one that was set up. I tried out the brakes first and was more than happy at a 25 mph panic stop. I then hit the highway. I was just shifting into 2nd when I looked at the speedo and was at 50 mph. No end to the smooth power. I am purchasing one this spring of 2002. I would like to try the Mean Streak, but the FI classic is everything power and smooth should be. Attention Kawasaki: GET ME ONE SET UP!!!.
- lance303, Glenwood, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-10 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I have really wanted this bike for a few years now and I was finally able to get it. I have only put 100 miles on it so far, but I know that I love it. How it rides, how it looks and how it feels are all great. I haven't had much time on it yet, but I don't see my opinion changing. I know there is a couple cruisers out there now that have more power, but this one has plenty for me. I didn't buy it to go fast. As far as I am concerned (my personal opinion) there is no other bike out there in this category that looks any better either. Happy customer here 5 stars!!!
- Quinn, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-01 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got one of these 2 weeks ago. I don't want to get off this thing. Love it. It rides great, sounds good, lots of torque! Really feels solid on the highway except factory windshield does have some buffeting; not too disturbing, but it gets your attention. Only wish it had a bit more standard chrome!
- Bill, Oshkosh, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-17 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started to ride again last year on my son's 1986 Suzuki GS450L. I had to learn all over because of a 36 year break in riding. I had looked at other bikes and was not sure if a big bike was for me but I went all out and bought my Vulcan 1500FI. I had second thoughts at first but after a few weeks I now have no doubts about my choice. It is a big bike, handles well and I will ride it as long as I can keep the rubber side down. The looks are just great and I would recommend this bike to anyone who wants the feel of a big bike without the extras.
- Troy, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-03 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded in my 2001 Honda A.C.E Classic 750 that I purchased in April, to the same dealer I purchased it from, to buy the Vulcan 1500 FI. The Honda was not worth keeping, as it vibrated at 55 miles an hour, and felt wound up. I took the Vulcan for a ride, and WOW!!! I was not allowed to test drive the Honda at the Hitching Post in Hopkins Minnesota, they told me they never allowed test rides. I research the Honda here, and took a chance. That was a mistake. Ironically I went to another Hitching Post in Minneapolis, and met the owner of all the Hitching posts, and he said they did allow test rides at that location. This did not make sense since he owns them all!!!. I am very happy with the Vulcan, even though I took a bath on the Shadow. The Vulcan is actually easier to ride then the 750. I am very disappointed with the Hitching Post, and even though I got the Vulcan there, I would not buy from them again. I really had to cut my losses. I love this Bike!!!!!
- Tree, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-22 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this Vulcan 1500 Classic new in 1999. I also had this bike loaded with accessories with full windshield, leather saddle bags, police lights back rest chrome all over at the tune of #3,000.00. This is the first season I really have cranked up the miles and I like the bike more & more. It has the same 2nd gear clunk when shifting as everyone experiences but you adjust to it. Any comments? lamaral82@aol.com
- Len Amaral, Rehoboth, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-30 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike I ever owned, I got the urge, checked out bikes on the net for 4 months, took a safety course and bought this big boy. People ask me how I handle a powerful bike, I tell them I have nothing to compare it to so its a gem....nice looks...nice sound...and I'm 58...go figure??I have the light bar and visors and engine guard, windsheils and W&M bags..looks good.....downside is the wind traveling up my legs and buffetting my helmet at speeds over 100km. I wear a shorty helmet maybe that's the problem??? Any suggestions???
- Allan, Quispamsis N.B. Canada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-16 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had always joked with my wife (doesn't ride) that when I turned fifty I would be ready for a Gold Wing. Three years ago she gave me the green light to trade in my '87 Concours and suggested that I choose a Voyager. What I really wanted was a Valkyrie or Nomad but caved in and bought a '98 Voyager XII. The novelty of a radio and cruise control wore off in one season and I traded it straight across for a '99 Concours. I told myself that performance was more important than comfort or style. Two seasons on the Concours and I was convinced that I needed to give up riding after 34 years and buy a Miata. My sanity returned and I traded the Concours for a new Classic Fi three weeks ago. Almost instantly riding was fun again. I have already put over 1200 miles on it and am very impressed with the combination of style, comfort, and performance. This one is a keeper.
- Dennis Carlson, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-10 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Vulcan Classic FI is the finest motorcycle I've owned. Fit and finish are perfect, the power is more than I could ever use (even two up), and the compliments from strangers and friends are endless. I bought both passenger and driver's backrest, Kawa windshield (don't waste your money), and luggage rack. Have installed the rifle adjustable windshield and V/H Pro pipe since I bought it and am satisfied with both. The Pro Pipe is a little louder than I wanted but I have to admit the sound is awesome. Join the crowd and spend 20K on a Harley or spend about $11,200 (with accessories) or one of the finest motorcycles ever made by anyone. Take Care!
- Buster Martin, Crystal Beach, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-17 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
To anyone considering this bike...(to quote Nike)... JUST DO IT! Talk about bang for your buck. I had a 99 Vulcan 800 and traded up to the 1500 FI and am I glad I did. I would have bought the 2000, but only one color??? (and a loud one at that). Like the others, I too have experienced the "clunk" going into 2nd gear (but not every time). I also have to agree that dual discs up front would have been nice...but the ride, power, look, and seat comfort all make up for any minor "flaws". I've got 2K miles on it so far and I can tell that this bike is going to be around for a very long time. As far as the 2 up goes...my wife says "oh yeah.... MUCH better than the 800". Of course she's got the sissy bar and floorboards and the most comfortable seat available on a cruiser, so what else could she say? In a word.... the world would be a better place if everyone would buy a 1500FI...good bye road rage. Enjoy the ride Guys and Gals!
- Rider, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-04 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Approximately two months ago I bought a 2001 Vulcan 1500 Classic. I spent six months reading reviews, talking to riders and taking test rides on just about every big Cruiser on the market. Just like everyone else, Harley was my ego's first choice. I owned a Harley years ago. It was a terrible experience but their product has improved a lot in recent years. Fortunately, I'm older now and it takes more than a Name to impress me. The Harley was quickly eliminated from contention. After a very long process, the Vulcan was the winner. Everything that I read about this bike was positive-almost too good to be true. Well, they're right. The Bike is about as perfect as you can get. Thanks to all of you out there who are brave enough to give your honest opinions. See ya on the highway.
- Mike T., Bowling Green, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-25 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got my new Vulcan and was skeptical about everything I read and heard about it. Everything was almost too positive, but now I know why. I love this bike. I have only 150 miles on it but will have many more very soon. I was also concerned that a bike this large would have a difficult time maneuvering through rush-hour traffic, but it's well balanced, whether at slow speeds or dodging potholes and really holds it own. Acceleration is smooth, and as I put more miles on it, it gets stronger. I have noticed that when shifting into 2nd, like the previous review, it clunks. It doesn't bother me, since I heel shift, at least I know it's there. I think it may have something to do with the smart neutral. My Corbin seat, saddlebags, backrest and rear floorboards are on the way so I am looking forward to dressing it out. I don't have a windscreen and even at highway speeds the ride is still very comfortable. Thanks Kawasaki for producing a quality product.
- John Blackman, Minnepolis, MN

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-21 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this motorcycle in November 2000 and have put on about 700 miles so far. The bike is big, but handles well for a bike of this weight. The low seat height definitely will assist shorter riders, and it's comfortable for tall riders as well. I'm 6'2" tall and my seating position is upright and relaxed. I can easily handle several hours in the stock saddle. It's great for 2 up riding, especially with the Vulcan backrest. The engine is smooth on power delivery, and is definitely getting stronger as it breaks in with more mileage. It has a nice strong pulsing feel at low to mid rpms. Stock exhaust system has a great sound for a factory unit. I purchased the Pearl Black and Titanium model (as pictured above)... love the colors. The only complaints are as follows: The transmission is not very smooth; "clunks" into 2nd gear every time. It may be that my clutch needs adjusting? It's only got 700 miles. The other item deals with the braking. A bike of this size should have been equipped with dual front discs. Braking is adequate, but can be weak in panic stops. Overall, this bike won Cruiser of the year in 2000, and there is a good reason why. It's a great alternative to the status quo, and offers a ton of standard features. Email me if you have any further questions.
- Lou Ferzacca, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-26 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had a big twin from Milwaukee; expensive, nice. Now I have the FI. Straight outta the box: stronger, smoother, better handling, better service & friendlier folks. I'll spend the coin I saved on aftermarket goodies and a cruise for 2. It's nice to be old enough not to have to worry about what the label says, just get what's best. If you're looking for a big twin for cruising or touring, your search has ended. See ya on the road.
- Ben, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-17 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been reading these reviews since last summer and they helped sell me on the 2001 FI in Vintage Red/Cremona Olive. (what's a Cremona). I bought mine on the first day of Feb. and has put nearly 600 miles on in the first two weeks. Its everything the other reviewers have said and more. It's very smooth and comfortable and the power is awesome. I have the fire and steel windshield, engine guard, backrest and I've purchased a lightbar which hasn't arrived yet. I'm looking forward to some trips on this big bike. I haven't ridden this big a bike in the past but it really is a great bike to own and ride. I'll be seeing you on the Road!
- Steve Abbey, Clayton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-17 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, got it for 10,023 out the door...what a great ride, easy to handle and smooth, now just have to wait for the warm-up. Come spring, the truck will be in the garage. It took me about eight months of research and test riding the Yamaha Road Star, Harley Fat Boy, and the Suzuki Intruder and the Vulcan 1500. All of them are great rides and I test rode all of them more than once. But the Vulcan kept calling me. It just seemed to fit my body right. I had a fuse blow on me at about 50 miles, but I think it was just a freak thing...the dealer came to pick it up at my house and I had it back the next day. First accessories will be drag pipes, hard bags, lightbar, and maybe a windshield. To all of you in the market for the first bike, test ride them all, and don't worry about the size...this one handles and accelerates like a smaller bike.
- mike, Wilmington, Deleware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: