Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (23)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-08-13 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was a previous sportbike rider, so the change to a cruiser was a big one to say the least.. lower center of gravity, but an immensely enjoyable and comfortable ride... does get some buffeting , but nothing like a naked sport bike... needing super gas is unfortunate, but gas mileage hangs in the 38-40 range.. time to accessorize and add to an already fun few weeks (bought used, only 1000 miles are mine so far)... bike speaks for itself in more ways than 1 (vance and hines pipes w/ power commander)
- Bob Massey, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-08 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 15000 miles on my '01 Nomad FI. Very comfortable for long rides. I ride with Gold Wing riders and they require a butt stop before I do. The fuel mileage is a bit lower than I would like, avg 37mpg. My wife and I ride two up on annual road trips and she loves it. Lots of power, low speed handling is a bit on the heavy side, but then so is the bike. In the rain, on the highway, in the wind this bike is very stable. The goat belly will have to go, looks bad and absorbs too much of the v-twin rumble. This cruiser is very easy to modify with lots of after market and F&S parts available.
- clyde torvik, blaine, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-26 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2001 Silver & Gray Nomad FI purchased new in 2001. Currently 10,000 miles on this unit without any problems. Does not use or leak any oil, averages 48 MPG at 70 MPH. Handles very well given its size and two up riding has no effect on power, even over the Sierra Mountains. Rear air shocks require a little more air then the factory provides for a smooth two up ride. Factory goodies and extras are a bit steep in price. All in all, very nice ride for the investment.
- Ken Barnes, Silver Springs, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-29 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am debating (with myself) about following the lead of a few friends and buy a new Heritage Softail. The problem is that I like the Nomad so much I can't bring myself to sell it. It seems to be better at everything than the Harley and at half the price. I've read a few complaints about how heavy the Nomad is and can only say it's never been an issue for me. Let's face it, all your big V-Twin cruisers are a bit heavy. I wonder if it's more about rider experience and skill than it is about weight. Some new (slightly rude) throaty pipes, a bunch of chrome goodies, a set of highway pegs, a K&N filter and you're set. It suffers from only one thing, it isn't a Harley. Get over it.
- Bob Thomson, Surrey, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-26 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Pushing 32,000 now with no major breaks. I did break a head light which let me put in a way better 80/100 and a tail light. Total repair cost so far is $9.00. M880s took care of the less than stellar tire performance. It is still all stock. The better half still loves long distance and I can't think of a better ride for sunset to sunset days.
- Clint Matthews, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-12 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My previous bike was a 99 carb'd Nomad, so this new injected model was never a stranger to me. The ease of starting with the injection is gratifying, and the smoothness of the power during roll-on is just what I expected. Purchased new in February, 2002, and will average 3,500 miles per month. Will report back in a year.
- John Poynter, Stockton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-10 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Today, I am tasting a little heaven. About 3 months ago, I bought my first bike since I was 14, now 52. Owned a Ducati 50 which featured shift on the left handlebar. Settled for a Honda Spirit 1100 which I really liked once I got used to the wieeght of the bike. The only thing I did not care for was the handling on the highway...once hit around 65 the bike got blown around and didn't feel very stable. Not having owned a bike in years I thought maybe that was just the way things were but started riding a few other bikes on a demo basis. Looking for a bike that handled well on the winding roads locally where I did most of my riding but would give me a comfortable ride on the highway and not get blown around nor feel unstable. Honda Valcyrie Interstate and other dressers too top heavy for me...didn't like the way road in the turns plus really don't like the look of the fairings. Harley T Sport great in the corners but the small windshield and fairing gave no wind protection for the open road. Road King was just a little heavier than I cared for. Much preferred the Heritage Classic but once hit about 65 not so smooth. I kept reading other comments about the Nomad on this site but figured that it would handle like the Road King due to the weight. When I saw the demo was even more convinced it would be too heavy. I was totally knocked out when I road it...very nimble due to low center of gravity, more power than the Harley RK and HC in the turns. I bought the bike yesterday and drove the 60 miles home in a strong crosswind. In my opinion, road like a dream. Cruised at 80 with amazingly low RPM and felt like I was in a heavy car or truck. Still figured when I got home that would not be as good on the winding rural roads but handled much better than my much smaller Honda at a much higher speed with more stablity. Yes, as others have said, the seat could have a little more cushion and will replace it in near future. And, yes, I did drag the floorboards but was amazed how low I could take the bike in the turns. Sorry for the length of this but I appreciated your comments before I bought and maybe this will help someone else make their decision. So, if you are looking for a bike that can give you fun in the turns and a great ride on the interstate, you have my recommendation.
- John Wiedman, Memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-05 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2001 Vulcan 1500 FI new and now have 5500 miles on it. Runs great! I installed a power commander and a set of Vance & Hines pipes and have noticed an over all increase in power. I bought it from Garvin at Action Sports in College Station, Texas. Wonderful treatment before as well as after the sale. I recommend this bike and this dealership to everyone.
- Bill Chisenhall, Lindale, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-14 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had my nomad for ten months now with over 10,000, miles on it,not a whimper from it,changed to vance & hines dual baggers and removed the coffee can muffler what a improvment in power,best bike I have ever had and plan to keep it.
- charlie gwaldo, cedar park, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-04 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden many motorcycles both work and pleasure for over 20 years. I must say that this is the most comfortable machine that I have ridden. It's not the fastest thing out there but it will get out of it's way. It is one of the heavier cruisers (793#'s) out there and well worth the money. There are only two colors to chose from every year and they are two tone which in my opinion is the only negative about this motorcycle. I would recommend this bike to anyone who's searching for a cruiser and doesn't want to spend the money on a harley. Buy the Nomad and invest the difference and you'll be well ahead of the game.
- Al, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-17 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all let me say I have been riding Motorcycles for over 25 years , and I have allways made my own repairs , so I do know just a bit about Motorcycles ... however The Nomad was the first bike I have own with a muffer box . ... After I removed the stock exhaust it was easy to see why the bike was so sick .... after replaceing the stock with a Cobra Exhaust system the Nomad came alive .. .... After this mod I will say this is the best Bike I have own to this Date , I'm leaveing all of my friends with "HDs" somewhere behind in the dust ..
- Rider, Wayne McBride

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-29 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my 2001 Nomad in Jacksonville Fl then rode 175 miles in 15 to 18 mph wind (no rain) back to Tallahassee some of that time at night with semi trucks on interstate 10. The bike handled great despite the strong wind and new rider who's biggest bike before this was a VLX 600.....Kawasaki Nomad has my vote!
- Ray Williams, Tallahassee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-16 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just traded my 2002 Shadow Spirit, for a 2001 Nomad (like the one in pic above )& I love it. the thing is sooo smooth, and quiet (wife likes that, I don't).It handles like a bike of 500 # instead of 745#. Breaks are excellent, Power is fair, will be better when broken in, have 200 miles on it now (2 days old). Fit and finish is very good, handling is excellent, as is ride. Have owned H-Ds and Goldwings, ECT for 45 years, and have many to compare it to. It's the best all around bike of this size you can get, IMHO. Will repost as soon as i get 1000 miles on it, and give more info on my opinion. Ride On, TYNKER
- Earl Riviere (TYNKER), Hitchcock, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-16 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before deciding on what to buy I test rode lots of great bikes, They all were good, but the Nomad had everything I wanted in a cruiser. It was better to ride than the Harleys, Suzukis, Hondas, Moto Guzzis, BMWs and Yamahas of similar character. Tracks straight and true, well balanced and is just fantastic in long sweeping corners-a really well engineered machine. No bike is absolutely perfect, but the Vulcan Nomad for me is the closest I've ever owned to it. It's a joy to ride, I love it.
- Lucien Lowe, Tin Can Bay, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-07 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After owning eight BMW, two Moto-Guzzi, one Harley and a large assortment of Japanese machines, The Nomad Fi (2001) is the best of the lot. Well finished, smooth and good handling. Power is getting better everyday as the mileage accumulates. This two wheeled Lincoln is always receiving positive comments from bikers and non-bikers alike. The after market can help with any perceived power deficits. No problems to report after one month of ownership. don't let a negative report from one owner dissuade you from considering this beautiful machine. Do buy from a reputable dealer however.
- Gary, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-31 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most unreliable machine I have owned. Since the second week I have had it its been in the shop. Weeks now and nobody, including Kawasaki, has been able to determine why it will not run correctly. It has been a nightmare, I warn others to stay away as Kawasaki customer service is the pits.
- Jack, Wexford, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-22 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ve ridden the 2001 Nomad for three months and I think its great except for the ignition location. why did they change it?
- Bill Fitzpatrick, Milwaukee, Wisonsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-14 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far, my '01 Nomad is living up to my expectations. It is very comfortable, extremely smooth, quiet, handles well for a big machine, and seems to have adequate power (although we all agree we could always use more). It's amazing to look in the mirrors at highway speeds and really be able to see what is behind you. The wind protection is very good for a windshield. I have not been baptized by Mother Nature as yet, so I will have to reserve judgement on that subject. My main complaint is that the machine does NOT come with a tachometer. And, according to my local parts man, one is NOT available for the Nomad. A tach is available for the Classic, but has a rather hefty price tag of $290 from Kawasaki. It appears it could probably be adapted to the Nomad. If anyone out there has a solution to this problem, I would appreciate your imput. As some of the other new owners have commented, the key needs to be relocated to the top of the tank like the Harley. I don't like having to unlock the saddlebag to open it, but I imagine Kawasaki was trying to insure the bag doesn't pop open at the wrong time. All in all, the Nomad is fine machine, and I am very pleased with it.
- Gary, Waterloo, Indianna

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-29 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2001 Nomad FI for about 3 weeks now. It is a very comfortable short distance machine and a capable boulevard cruiser. I will have to replace the seat so my wife can go more than 40 miles w/o numb ass syndrome, but maybe with use it will be ok. I am very satisfied with the power and smoothness is great. No vibration. Getting 42 MPG at 500 miles, should get better with break-in. I like the exhaust systems sound but wonder what power would be unleashed without the catalytic converter. I have put a K&N air filter in but did not notice much improvement or change in rideability. Hopefully when the seat comfort improves or my wife's butt get used to it more we'll find out if this is a real long distance bike. The power and size are already there. Stability is rock solid, even when being passed by semi-trucks.
- Dale, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-21 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The motorcycle has been a real pleasure. I have had it about 2 months there is 1 bug that needs to be worked out by Kawasaki. The fiberglass bags need to have a way to leave the lock in a neutral position so u do not have to take the key out every time u need to get something out of them. Otherwise I am very happy with it.
- Mark, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-31 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my 2001 Nomad in Nov. 2000 and wrote a review then about the best bike I've ever owned. It just came alive with the addition of a power commander III and a set of cobra pipes. I could hardly believe the difference. It has a lot more power And where I used to shift down I just twist the throttle and keep going. It breathes a lot better now. who says you can't make a good thing better. I LOVE IT.
- Jerry C.Ward, Middleburg, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-25 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I've got 1200 kms on the bike and just got it back from the dealer after first maintenance check. You would not believe it's the same bike. There is much more throttle response and the bike is so smooth. At 100kms an hour I can just barely here the bike and there is zero vibration. The gas mileage is greatly improved, as the needle didn't even move after my usual cruise that in the past has used an eighth to quarter tank. During break-in they must have everything set really loose, cause the bike feels like an anchor has been lifted or something, it really feels alive. I had the dealer check the tires as like others I found them tracking cracks in the road. They told me to keep them at the max recommended and it does make a difference, there is less tendency to track every crack or repair in the road. I am very pleased with the bike and am planning a 2500km trip in the next 3 weeks. This bike wants to see the world ... and so do I.
- Paul Heatlie, Victoria BC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-30 2001 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Nomad Fi Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Kawasaki Nomad is indeed one great package. Looks fantastic, handles real good, and is virtually maintenance free. To complete the package add a passengers back rest, and of course what stock bike does not need a new set of pipes? Needed improvements: Very poor placement for the Choke and key. Needs a dipstick to check the oil. To: Kawasaki Come on guys; 1500 CCs WHERE IS THE BEEF?? Surely you can get more horsepower then this out of 1500 CCs. The horsepower is no worse then any other V Twin, but unfortunately it is no better either. If I was to buy another bike tomorrow, it would still be a Kawasaki Nomad, but there is still too much room for improvement.
- Brendan Allin, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: