Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (22)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2004-03-07 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I started looking for a new bike (after 5 years of cage driving) I didn't know what I wanted. I'd had 5 bikes over the years and was finally in the position for a new one. didn't want a cruiser, didn't want a bullet bike... When I walked into Cycle World I saw it. As I looked over the Black ZRX I thought, "That looks like the one Eddie Lawson rode...Hmmm." Swung a leg over and instantly fell in love. Rode it home that day. 7500 miles later I still love it just as much as I did that day. I too put the Corbin gunfighter on it to save my aging ass, what a difference! Can you say 140 mph on a Barcalounger? Great power, great breaks, great handling (as long as you don't try to flick it), great looks and great, GREAT FUN!!
- Jim Kyle, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-14 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a ZRX1200R and was pleasantly surprised that the engine has enough power you really don't need a 6th gear. Its a great all-around bike and with a Corbin seat its comfortable enough to look for trouble all day long :) and if your name is Steve, you need one of these!
- Mang, Williston Park, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-19 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this brand new last April, put 8,000 miles on it by September. The only problem I had, was the fork seals went south. I don't plan to change a thing. I did 650 mile a day rides with no complaints. Gotta love that power band.
- Rickey Highland, Elko, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-03 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode the FZ1, the Bandit 1200 and the ZRX1200R... your basic naked bike comparison test. I didn't include the Speed Triple as we don't have a Triumph dealer close enough for comfort. I realy wanted to like the FZ1 but it turned out to be true that in first and second gear it wants to either accelerate or decelerate but not stay at a steady slower speed. Otherwise it was great. I've always wanted a Bandit. The Bandit was very nice. I didn't want nice. It was probably just my gut feeling since they all "test" so similar but it seemed to be breathing a little heavier than the others at higher speeds. The ZRX1200R was, to my tastes, perfect. Three thousand miles further in to it and it still seems perfect to me. The motor is the key. No flat spots, glitches, or weak spots. The power is linear... like a big electric motor. All the torque makes it very forgiving even if you're a cog short and hit it. I'm 250 lbs and usually ride two up with the wife. It handles it well. If I had to fault anything I could say the seat is a tad stiff but it is only noticeable after 100 miles or so. At that point even the seat of a Harley Road King will feel stiff. Some have written that the handling could be a bit sharper. I don't push a bike as hard as I used to but this bike handles better than any I've ever owned. I still go looking at bikes at the dealerships and still haven't found one that looks better or feels more comfortable to me. I believe the ZX1200R will hold my interest for quite a while. I LIKE it!
- Mister Ed, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-01 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for 20 years and have had many bikes but this one is the best! I picked up an '03 for my birthday and I love it. It has killer power through out the RPM range yet you can still ride slow. If I had the cash I would buy another to store for the day when the one I own is 15-20 years old then I have another to ride while it is being rebuilt. Love this bike although not a bike for a newbie as restraint is too hard for someone with out great self control. This bike is just flat out fast and handles perfect! I will never get rid of it!
- Don B., Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-26 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
this is my first bike and i don't think i could have made a better choice. after doing all the research on what to get everything pointed to the ZRX. tons of power that's there when you want it but easy for a beginner like me to manage. comfortable upright riding position with tons of seat to move around on. definitely a best buy.
- mitch, chandler, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-08 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The ZRX1200R is the ultimate expression of the Universal Japanese Motorcycle taken to its logical conclusion. With its excellent motor, fine suspension, great riding position and looks that are just about perfect, it is a bike to bridge the gap between the plastic covered wonder bikes of today with the late 80's marvellous Superbikes that ruled the racing world. Its looks and its power play on your senses and make riding a ZRX1200R an experience that is not easily forgotten. The best bike I have ever owned, bar none.
- Richard M. Poniarski, Westbury, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-15 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the do everything bike. Lots of torque and no need to stretch it out. Comfort, simply the best bike I have owned
- J Gorman, Ottawa, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-21 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My back side felt the same as yours. Put the Corbin seat on as I did. It will set to back $300, but I have not had a complaint from the bottom end yet!
- Barry, IA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-01 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Excellent motorcycle....one problem though: The seat is the shits. One hour and I'm ready to get of the bike. Why can't Kawasaki make a decent seat?
- Bike Lover, Quesnel, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-28 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a left over zrx12 for $$6900 which I thought was a great deal for a brand new bike and when you couple that to the zero interest deal which is available then it represents a fantastic deal!! Having previously owned another very nice standard, a Yamaha seca 750 way back when I just knew I was going to love this bike.I was like a kid in a candy store shop when I went to pick up the green beast(of course) and this to me is what biking is all about. Fun and Emotion in large doses! The bike looks stunning and the finish and fit is Honda quality. It gets a tremendous of attention and I even had a few chicks checking it out the other day on the highway. The bike runs smooth and like the other reviewers say it has tons`otorque.Front brakes are ridicoulously powerful and I nearly left my teeth in the tach the first time I slammed on the binders to avoid one of the many dopey drivers who inhabit Boston!.The bike felt nothing like 550 lbs wet and seemed the same easy ride as my beloved Seca. Critical comments on the bike I do not have but I would like a centerstand as I grew up with those things and they help a lot when you are storing the bikes over a long period.Cant wait to take this bike back to Ireland next year and cruising the beautiful windy roads back there.I will recommend this bike in a heartbeat. Daithi.
- Daithi, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-20 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned many bikes before this one, Honda's, Kawasaki, Harley, Triumph, BSA, BMW and some others that you guys in North America probably never heard of such as DKW, Victoria, Zundapp, and the list goes on. I own a Harley Low Rider, but my son bought a ZRX 1100 a couple of years ago and I decided this year to buy a new ZRX 1200R(blue). The bike is still sitting on the back of the pickup truck as the closest dealer is 400 miles away. Will report back here later with my thoughts. Now if a can convince my wife to forget about the Harley (still own this one and I am not going to sell for a while) things would be perfect.
- Gary Schotel, Quesnel, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-20 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello everyone, I purchased my ZRX in spring of 2001. I have owned many models over the years and even did a little middleweight supersport racing a few years ago. My two cents about the ZRX are mostly positive. Once broken in, this thing can RIP! It can get scarry fast for city riding,so manage the throttle. She will protest if you try and bend her into the corners like a 600. The front end will shutter and buck a little. Just pay attention to the feedback and understand her limits. She handles ok, just not up to the level of a 600, so don't expext her to. I find the bike comfortable, powerful, and reliable, and thats what I was looking for when I bought. I made a few improvements to make the bike better for me. I added stainless front brake lines for more initial bite, LP slip screen, LP purple footpegs, Dunlop Sportmax tires, and a Corbin seat. The Dunlops really help the cornering, and the Corbin is great compared to the OEM 20 minute torture seat. don't get cought up in all the motorcycle nit picking about what is best. Buy what is best for you!! For me, it was my ZRX.
- don, elgin, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-18 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a ZRX1200r last Sat and have not ridden it yet. Everything I have read tells me that my decision was the right one. Torque and more torque with a healthy portion of good old horse power spells exactly what I wanted. I'm moving up from an excellent 82 cb900f. Wait for the comparison, this should be an eye opener. By the way the CB is for sale. More to come.
- michael, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-09 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had to sell a new triumph daytona last year after suffering some back injury in a car accident. after taking some time to heal, i started to search for a more lower back friendly machine.After 4 months of internet sites, magazines,showrooms,etc... i bought the zrx1200 in green. I have only had it 3 days, and am really impressed.Great power low to middle, no back pain,great riding position and ohhhh so smooth! I think I am going to love this bike! I will keep you informed as the miles pile up!
- joe lacara, hammond, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-20 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have riden many motorcycles before and this is the fastest bike I have riden so far. At the same token, I don't need another faster one. It is too scary. I have to remind myself all the time to be gentle on the throttle. The bike has a strong engine and keeps wanting to go fast. It cruises easily over 90mph and 120++++, no problems. The bike handles very well like a 750. I will strongly recommend this one.
- Lam, San Ramon, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-12 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the bike nearly a year and 6000 miles. I've had no problems with the bike. The engine is very strong and smooth. The controls work as they should. The transmission shifts fine--5 speeds are plenty. You only need 2 or 3 with the torque this thing has. I recently added a Corbin seat to try to correct the only real desing flaw the bike has. The original seat makes long trips tough. Despite it, I have taken trips of up to 1000 miles in a weekend. Wind protection could be better, but if one is buying a "naked" bike, then one must expect a little wind in the face. The bike is heavy and I wouldn't recommend it for someone wanting sportbike reflexes. It will accelerate like a sportbike and stop nearly as well, but you have to be careful in really twisty conditions--you'll get in over your head if you not paying attention. However, for someone mature enough to avoid this situation, its a great bike.
- Alvin Davenport, Prestonsburg, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-11 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My black and blue ZRX is the fourth bike I have owned and is the best of the bunch. I read, looked and tested for a year before settling on this ride and it has been worth every minute of the journey. The power is smooth and free-flowing, the gears are great and the clutch is the best. The brakes would stop a truck and the quiet ride is great when you are out on those two-lane backroads letting it all air out. I have changed to a Corbin seat and Zero Gravity windscreen for better comfort but my only real gripe is not having a centerstand. Buy it, ride it and you will never want another Harley or such again (besides they can't keep up). This is a bike for people who like to ride uncramped and ready for anything.
- Reaper, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-21 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My new ZRX 1200 is the 6th bike I've owned in 41 years. It reminded me so much of my beloved Honda Nighthawk 700S, I fell in love w/it on first sight. My most recent bike, a '95 Kawi GPZ 1100, was also a great bike (w/basically the same engine) and ever so practical. My only gripe w/it was the extreme lean to the handlebars, and, even after adding risers, I was just never able to get the level of comfort I wanted. I had hoped the ZRX 1200R, w/its more upright position, would cure that. It's much more comfortable but, as anticipated, I lost a lot of wind protection w/out the GPZ's larger fairing. Above 70 MPH, it's tougher to hang onto the ZRX. Outside of that, this bike is a STEAL. I don't know where you can buy a bike of this quality/performance for anywhere near this price. Kawasaki builds a great product! I wangled a very good deal at the end of the year for under $7'gs (at a PowerSports dealer.) The engine is AWESOMELY powerful w/gobs of torque most cruisers would be envious of. It handles like a charm and the brakes are hell for strong. I know the engine is bulletproof because of my experience w/the GPZ. My only real complaint is the seat. To be polite, it looks neat but sucks on longer rides. Your buttocks will be mighty sore after 60-70 miles. That is unacceptable. I had the same problem w/my GPZ and ended up sending the seat to Sargent Cycle in Jacksonville, Fl. They did a great job w/it. You really can't go wrong on this do-it-all bike. Big bang for the buck and buckets o'fun!
- Lee, Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-15 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
torque from bottom to top This is my second ZRX 1200. A testimony to my feelings about this bike is the fact that I replaced my crashed ZRX with another one. It delivers over 70 ft-lbs of torque from 2500 to 7500 rpms, with a peak over 80 ft-lbs. The power comes on as smoothly as one could wish. If you don't feel like shifting - no problem. The torque will carry you through. Suspension is 3-way adjustable front and back. Add hard bags and it is a sport-tourer. This is a lot of bike for the money. Lots of aftermarket add-ons are available. I really enjoy this machine.
- Ron, Golden, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-29 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third review of this bike. My previous reviews reside in the ZRX1100 posts. I'll summ it up to save time: Engine-smooth and lots of power. Might add a slip on but needs nothing else. Brakes-Rear could use a little more grab, fronts are plenty. Handleing- a tadd more sport than standard. Rear shocks are adjustable but never plush. Ergo's-Decent. My advise is to add a Zero Gravity windsheild ($90) and a corbin seat ($300.00) Price-I got mine as a clear out for $6500.00, $7300 out the door. (Nothing out there will compare for that price.) With 5k miles on this bike I had no probelems and am very happy. Sheild and seat would make this bike a suitable sport touring ride.
- Scott, Browns Mills, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-18 2001 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Pros - comfortable riding position, great power (torque all over the rev range - the engine is reasonably smooth, too), excellent brakes, above average handling, smooth shifting tranny and the best clutch I've ever operated, gets a lot of admiring looks, easy to work on, great fuel economy (I consistently get 48 mpg), fully adjustable suspension, huge underseat storage Cons - minimal wind protection (not much past 70mph - an aftermarket windscreen can fix this, but I think they're ugly), seat could be better, ride is on the firm side no matter how you adjust the suspension, bungee attachment points stink (get a luggage rack - you'll be glad you did), no centerstand The pros way outweigh the cons - this thing is always a hoot to ride!!!
- Alan, Colonial Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: