Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200 Motorcycle reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.4
Performance
4.4
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

7 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

NWilliams

NLV, Nevada

Reviewed on 2012-07-10

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Power: Oh yes....it's there! Engine: It's very flexible with good down-ow torque, very linear vs. pull-your-arms-out-of-the-sockets power. Not buzzy IMO, however VERY cold-blooded. Handling: Keep in mind this is not a sport-bike but a sporty standard; that said it's very predictable and stable. Go R-6 chasing as required. Ergonomics: Controls fall readily to hand and the seating position/foot-to-peg relationship is sane enough to make 1.5/2hr sorties reasonable. Comfort: See above. Down-sides: Mirrors provide a great view of the elbows; mirrors vibrate too much in the upper rpm. range; seat could be better (nitpicky). Would I buy another one? IN A HEARTBEAT!!!!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Yozzer Hughes

Liverpool, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2006-12-22

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Hi all, here is what I think of the Bandit 1200s. Well, what a bike for the money, a true all rounder, mine is fitted with full Givi luggage and wingrack and not only does it look the part with a full compliment, but it does not seem to bother the machine at all, even two up. It is in standard form and has more than enough power for me. If you can outride a Bandit 1200s, then buy something else like a Honda Blackbird Or Suzi Hyabusa. I have owned a good few bikes now and at the age of 49, I feel that this machine will suit me for a few more years before my reaction time slows up too much!!! Not the best build quality in the world but more than adequate for your outlay, plus it has a very good reliability record that some other manufacturers would possibly be a bit green eyed about!! If you like a smooth gear change, then you would be hard pressed to find better. Being a 5 speed rather than a 6 is not much of a hinderance either, if you know what you are about you could give a lot of sport bike owner/riders a shock with a Bandit 1200 and they will have paid almost double for their power!!! It is also a very comfortable bike to ride and has an excellent riding position that puts no pressure on you wrists on those long days in the saddle. Now I must mention the one bad problem I had with mine. It is as mentioned an 02 model and apparently some 01-02 models were plagued with an oil burning problem, mine was one of them. It stemmed from the build factory and was an issue which allowed the oil passed the oil control rings and into the combustion chambers where it was readilly burned with the fuel. I was horrified at the amount of blue smoke mine started to expell through the stock exhaust so I took it straight back to the dealer where I purchased it. After much hassle, they agreed to have it repaired at a Suzuki specialist and 2 weeks later I had it returned with new pistons, rings and sleeves. Please do not let this put you off as they are a fantastic bike, just don't buy it unless you can take it for a LONG, LONG run 1st and if you see any blue smoke walk away from it. Hope this helps anyone looking for this model and again I must stress, they are a stonking good bike/buy and a real pleasure to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cbandit1200

sugarland, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-04-04

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well I started my journey to find my perfect bike 5 years ago and I think now I have found it. I have owned an FZ1 and a Buell CityX. This is my bike. After spending years trying to figure out the bike for me and not to mention lots of cash I have found the Bandit, the cheapest of the 3 by far, to be my favorite. The riding position, handling and power put this bike in a class that is rare to match. don't get me wrong, I loved the FZ1 and the City X, but both of those bikes have too much torque for what I wanted. I would put them up on one wheel a lot more than I cared too. With the Bandit that really isn't a huge concern for me. I have no upgrades yet but I am planning on adding an exhaust and an air cooler to unlock that true power that I know is buried in her. This is a great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike G.

Antelope, California

Reviewed on 2003-04-23

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
April 15,2003 I got a new 2001 Bandit 1200 in black with less then 130 miles, hooked up with yoshi pipes, k&n air filter, and rejetted carbs...I love the bike with lots of power and speed. well over 100 plus hp and 75 fpt. for $6000 out the door. Handling is very nice even in sharp turns. I have put about 200 more miles on the bike and I am getting about 25 miles per gal. not good! can any one tell me what I should average with moderate 50%city and 50%hwy ride.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

D Cobb

Tucson, Arizona

Reviewed on 2002-07-16

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've put about 4,000 miles on my 2002 Bandit 1200S and love it. You simply cannot beat the value. It's a powerful, comfortable, nimble, nice looking piece of machinery that is as awesome to ride as it is to look at. The front wheel likes to go airborne if you're heavy on the throttle. All around great bike...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

j.p.

kennesaw, Georgia

Reviewed on 2002-04-23

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
i was looking for a replacement from my rf900. this bike is awesome, torque monster!!! you can leave it in 5th gear all day long. insurance is cheap as well. "no fairings, no problems" you don't stick out with the cops either.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bubba

Nashua, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2002-02-26

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
But-loada-fun! That pretty much summarizes. I was in the market for a smaller, 750-900cc bike. If Kawasaki hadn't ruined the ZR-7 w/ the 'S' fairing, I'd probably be writing about that bike instead. But then I test drove a used Bandit 12 (from back when the 'S' fairing was all you got) and was hooked at first twist of the throttle. I then stopped into the nearest dealer and picked out my brand new 'nekid' B12. After 1 season I can say that the bike is pretty spectactular. Incredible power, great finish and quality, and pretty good reliability (so far!). The only complaint I've got to date is that it's a bit uncomfortable at times. I'm 5'11' and the seating position feels perfect at first, but gets to you after 40 min or so. The seat is likely the culprit here. Also I notice some of the 'buzz' mentioned else where at cruising speed as my throttle hand likes to go numb. And lastly this is not a beginner's ride; she's big (tall seat), heavy (try to lift it yourself after it's fallen over off the sidestand), powerful (the front wheel works for Delta: it loves to fly and it shows!) and fast (illegal spedo readouts come up wicked fast). However, you can't beat the price/perf/feature combo. I loved the look on my buddy's face when he swapped me his CBR6 for a short stretch of some coastline last summer. Betcha he feels like a succa for paying that much more for a bike w/ so much less punch!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 7 of 7 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: