Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (18)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-07-31 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A reliable bike that can handle a number of miles. Strong brakes to slow the bike in the Alps and good pickup to run the famous German Autobahn speeds. As an American living in Europe the bike is suited for traveling throughout the different countries. I have only added a luggage carrier and three cases otherwise the bike has stayed stock. I purchased the bike new in 2001 and now it has 81950Kms (50921 miles). A much smoother ride than the HDs I have owned and ridden over the years. Also has enough room to carry my golf clubs when I go looking for those unique golf courses. One draw back for the bike is the lights had to add extra driving lights to the front forks to provide a better light on the road for the night runs and long tunnels. Looking forward to moving back to the U.S. and a chance to ride there again.
- L. Keller, Sachsenheim

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-16 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 6000 miles in three months, I hope I love it. The bike is my third and they say that the third time's a charm they were so right. I love it, love it, love it!
- ZAK, St.Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-09 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just want to update my old post. I've had this bike for 4 years, 20,000+miles. The bike runs like new, lot's of torque, handles well, still enjoy it. As with other Suzuki's I've owned, these things are built to last. For sport (not track), sport touring/ commuting/ just riding, there is not a better value out there. I still have the stock exhaust, but these are capable of a lot more power with a few tweaks. 101hp is enough for me, thanks.
- Anonymous, Waverly Hall, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-05 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for just over a month now and can honestly say I love it. The power, the comfort, and the looks are hard to beat for the price you pay. My last bike was a Honda Shadow Spirit 750 cruiser. It looked good, felt comfortable, but wasn't as fast as I would like. I would have the throttle pegged all the way and just get up to an indicated 100 mph. The Bandit is cruising at 100 mph. My only complaints are 1)the fairing is buzzy at rpms between 3,000 to 4,000, and 2) after a stage 1 jet kit and a slip-on pipe I am only getting around 30 mpg. Despite these issues, I look forward to riding it every chance I get.
- Ken Brinson, Kennesaw, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-27 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I JUST BOUGHT MY 1200S A WEEK AGO ITS A 97 IN SHOWROOM CONDITION ONLY 9000 MILES AND A D&D EXZAUST SYSTEM. THIS IS AN OUTSTANDING PREFORMER,AND LIKE THE FEEL OF ALL THAT POWER IT REMINDES ME OF MY KZ BIKES OF THE 80'S BUT EVEN BETTER I HAVE PUT 600 MILES ON THIS THIG IN A WEEK AND LOVING EVRY MINUTE I AM VERY HAPPY GO SUZUKI
- Matthew DiBenedetto, Atlanta , Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-27 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All I can say is WOW!! This bike has the best combo of comfort, speed, power, handling and appearance I've ever ridden. It's nicer than naked bikes, just as powerful as 1000cc Sport Bikes, it's more comfortable than any sportbike. The front end comes up effortlessly in 1st and only takes a nudge to do so in 2nd. The only down fall is that it's a bit cold blooded and I need to do some carb work to help out with the lower rpm response. But, I like it better than my Katana, better than my Ninja. Unless I get a cruiser, I don't think I will ever buy anything but a Bandit. And if you want aftermarket accessories....this is the bike for you.
- Jeff C, Bloomfield, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-26 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
hi, iam 25 and as i am calling a 1200 a first bike i should define first in my case.I have ridden 125 cc in asia where i grew up for a yr then i did not ride for 2 yrs >now i got a bandit after my msf.well all i can say is i love its been a perfect first bike .. the things i do not like is being a 99 the older fairing and other than it is good on highway and inspires confidence in all levels..
- satish, larence, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-17 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As far as I can tell, the Bandit is one of the best bike values out today. My partner rides a Yamaha FZ1 and is about to upgrade to a FJR 1300, so he offered me his FZ1...I declined. The FZ1 is a terrific bike, and it's speed/torque numbers do slightly outrank the B12s, but I prefer the feel of the Bandit. The seat is very comfortable (better than the FZ1, hands down), better stability at speed (lower CG?), great mid range power, better fairing, not to mention that changing the spark plugs doesn't require an ER visit afterwards. Plus, I love the sonic silver color. The only thing I'd change is that first gear gets a little flaky at times (The FZ1 has beautiful gearing) and it seems to have an affinity for hanging in neutral on the downshift. If anyone knows a good fix for those annoyances, I'm all ears. On the plus side, drop costs (I should know!)are very reasonable ~ $100. It's fast, too. I don't do wheelies (yet;), but I can attest that at 130+, it's stable, responsive, and strong. For the 6K paid for it (bought it with 1K miles on it), it's the best sport-touring bargain on the road.
- Liss , Huntsville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-28 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Bandit 1200S is fast, comfortable, reliable, and smooth. I have had my 2001 Bandit since October 4, 2000 and it is the best motorcycle I have ever owned. Maintenance is easy to perform, especially valve adjustments because of Suzuki's jam-nut tappet design. The bike handles very well, especially at high speeds. I have had it to 145 a few times, 130 many times, and 80+ in the twisties and it is flawless. The engine is so strong that downshifts are rarely needed for quick acceleration and passing. I changed to a windscreen that is 4 inches taller, which greatly reduces wind blast at 130+ mph speeds. Only on approved, closed-circuit courses, naturally ;). The engine had noticeable vibration during the break-in period, mostly in the 4100-4900 rpm range, but now with 5,750 miles it is very smooth. The engine feels and accelerates more like a giant electric motor than an internal combustion engine. It has enough low-end torque to stay smooth down to 1,800 rpm, sort of like the old Kawasaki 900. And it is very strong all the way to redline. The brakes have very good linear feel, and are very powerful but predictable. The riding position is far more comfortable than most sportbikes, which makes extended rides more tolerable (especially with the taller windscreen). I cannot think of a better motorcycle bang-for-the-buck than this one. It is a hotrod, sport-tourer, store-and-back, weekend cruiser, and canyon carver all-in-one. Suzuki has made a great motorcycle with the new Bandit!
- Mike, Enterprise, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-14 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I also just put 100 miles on my new 2002 Bandit 1200S, and must say it has a lot of power and exceptional handling for a bike of its size. I ride with a few guys that own the 2002 SV650S and they struggle to keep up. No bike is perfect, but for the price this is a whole lot of bike. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
- Jason , Windsor, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-03 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You see, I was an old Intruder 1400 kind of guy for over eight years, but I wanted to get a little faster but I did not want to spend that big money for it. The Bandit was the bike of all bikes. Cheap, cool looking, fast, easy on the old back and did I say cheap. Granted, I still ride the thing like my old Intruder but at times I get a little wild and crazy and it fits the bill just right. I only had it for about seven months with about 6,400 miles on it, so I'll really test it out in the coming riding season. that's in a few weeks here in Alabama. Can't wait. The only problems I have with the bike is the seat. I know they have made some changes but my butt just can not cut it on longer trips. A gell seat might be the answer. Every thing else is A1. At my wild and crazy times I usually ride with my nephew who rides an R1 and at times I give him a little hell in the curves and straights, but of course it does not last to long. He's long gone but I had my fun anyway. The Bandit is worth the small change. I looked at all types of bikes but I just could not spend over 10 grand for a bike. I got all they had for under 7 grand. No hard bags, I could live with out, i'll get soft bags. Love this bike. Buy one right now before everyone finds out about the thing.
- Eric "Shep Dog" Shepherd, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-23 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
SUMMARY: Very good all around motorcycle, excellent value for the money. Does everything well. Improvements are available and affordable especially considering the low entry price. I Purchased mine in August for less than $7K, and now am approaching the 4000 mile mark. This is my first motorcycle ever. All my friends (who ride Harleys) told me to get a big cruiser, I was shopping for the Kawasaki Vulcan Classic. When I took the MSF course I realized I wanted a more maneuverable bike on which to learn. Being 6ft 5in tall, I fit on very few motorcycles, but the Bandit fit me well, leading me to tell folks that I did not pick the Bandit, it picked me. The magazines like the Kawasaki 1200 and Yamaha 1000 naked bikes better for hard riding, but I am very uncomfortable just sitting on them (knee bend too extreme). Being a non-racer and a novice, the Bandit is suits me much better, and is way more comfortable. I tried the Gen Mar handlebar risers (which move the bars up an inch and back an inch), and love the more upright seating position at all speeds below 80 mph. The engine buzz vibration on mine was quite noticeable at about 4100 to 4700 rpm. The barsnake helped, but the biggest difference was just waiting for the engine to break in. The vibration lessened all the way to the 3000 mile mark and is now barely noticeable. The front end does dive under heavy braking, and the front brakes are a little wooden, but very effective (pulling on the front brake handle is like snagging the three wire on the USS Enterprise with your tail hook). I have after market modifications planned to optimize the front end. Once warmed up, power delivery is smooth and progressive, with no flat spots. Like all new carbureted motorcycles, the jetting is quite lean to pass emission standards (noticeable mainly in cold weather or before warm up). I plan on a stage 1 jet kit to remedy this. I get an average of 38 mpg on 87 octane pump gas, and have never had the first problem out of the bike. Hats off to Suzuki for superior workmanship, fit and finish. I am really impressed with all the work they put into what some folks call an economy model. Handling is very good, counter steering to avoid road hazards is precise and controllable. The preload on the front forks allows for a nice adjustment between soft and firm. I love the engine power, and if you look at the statistics, it has more torque (70 ft lbs) and less weight (485 lbs) than most cruisers. It cruises effortlessly at both normal and illegal speeds. The size is just big enough to be comfortable on the highway and small enough to be sporty, maneuverable, quick and fun. The engine torque allows for good roll on acceleration and excellent hill climbing, and is driveable all the way down to 2000 rpm. Above 5000 rpm the engine becomes turbine smooth, allowing for smooth and fun high speed cruising. (On one trip, I got behind two campers traveling at 50 mph. On the next straight, I dropped to third gear and full throttle to pass ASAP. After passing I was doing over 110 mph with power to spare.) The front fairing looks a little much, but is effective in reducing the wind, and the windshield vent almost eliminates buffeting. The seat, like almost any stock seat on any bike, becomes hard after about 50 miles. I have found that there is more than enough room to move around on it to vary you position (especially with the highway pegs). I was planning on having Sergeants rebuild the seat with closed cell foam, but I purchased an Air Hawk inflatable cushion and have since rode comfortable 500 mile days. I now have the seat modifications on hold. I have not found a use (on pavement) that the Bandit wasn't suited for, so this one's a keeper. I have several sport touring trips to the Ozark and Ouachita mountains planned, and am glad I picked the bandit. With this bike in the garage, I do not see myself "growing intoa big cruiser anytime soon. Highly recommended. I also coveted the Suzuki GSX1400, which is not imported into North America, as well as Suzuki's big liter V twins. I recently went to the International Motorcycle Show in Dallas, TX and tried to talk the Suzuki reps into importing the 1400. They all said that there was no plans for the 1400, but I should try a Bandit (which I already own). Most of the factory reps I talked to own bandits, and have modified them to meet their performance needs, including even more torque. This says a lot for me. Modifications to date: Bar Snake, Air Hawk seat cushion, Gen Mar handle bar riser. Mobile 1 15 W 50 sync oil. And Kuryan Iso highway pegs mounted on Suzuki engine guards. Sargent's tank bag, Bike Master tail bag, Nelson Riggs Sphere saddle bags. Future Modifications: DunloPads, Goodridge Braded brake lines, Racetech springs and gold valves, Factory Pro jet kit and timing advancer, K & N filter. Taller windshield, driving lights. PIAA bulbs, Headlight modulator, safety tail lights. Like the fuel gauge, clock and two odometers, wish it had an oil temperature gauge and an air temp gauge. There are four excellent posts to tie down loads on the passenger seat. The center stand is greatly appreciated. The speedometer reads 8 percent higher than actual. The high beam is very bright and noticeable by cars in the daytime, but does not give wide enough side to side coverage on country roads at night. Not much under-seat storage, so the tank bag stays on all the time. The oil cooling works well even in the 100 deg F Arkansas summer heat. Both colors for the 2002 faired model, dark blue and silver, look great.
- Mark Mason, El Dorado, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-17 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Drove out the dealers showroom today with a brand new 2002 Bandit 1200s and just finished putting 100 miles on the bike today. Compact, nimble, powerful, and more speed than I can handle in a bike at this time. It's been fifteen or more years since my last bike and let me tell you, there is no comparison between the two. It's a pure exhilerating fun adrenaline rush that only compares to my 2,000 skydives that I've done over the past 15 years. I think I've found a bike I'll be happy with for quite a long time.
- Bob, Z-Hills, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-12 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Bandit since October, traded a '97 vfr for it. I find this bike to be more comfortable with less weight on my palms and elbows. I think I could shred corners a little faster with the vfr but that's probably frame geometry and whatnot. The stock Michelins seem to stick pretty well and so far with 8k+ miles they look good for a few more thousand miles with some cupping on the front, but I brake hard with the front brake so that might explain it. The brakes are really good with progressive, linear feel, most of my riding is freeway commuting @ about70-80 mph, and fun riding in the mountain passes (I live in sportbike heaven,) and this is really what this bike excels at. One thing I did though is I removed the small intake silencer snorkel at the back of the air box, also if you take off the exhaust can right inside is this perforated baffle, I drilled, punched and yanked that thing out of there and the difference is quite noticeable. A minor increase in sound but still neighborhood friendly, but much stronger from about 4k rpm on up without re-jetting so if your thinking of an aftermarket can this is a low cost (free) alternative. Any way nice bike, killer price.
- Steven Taylor, Buckley, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-02 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Local dealers were either unwilling or unable to sell me a Bandit for less than MSRP. Competition Accessories sold me one for 6995 out the door and delivered to my porch. My last bike was a 94 Concours with over 100K miles. So after 5 weeks, what do I think of my new Bandit? This bike rocks! I've put 2960 miles on it so far, it's been a combination of commuting, touring, and sport riding. The OEM Macadam 90X's stick great and should last at least 6K miles. I've leaned over to within an eighth of an inch of the edge of the back tire with no problems. With a Givi case, tankbag, and huge soft saddlebags, this bike tours great! Valve adjustment and oil changes are a piece of cake for the DIYer. Fit and finish are unbelievable for such a low price. The engine is a jewel. Forget those guys who lust for a "top end hit". This bike is about mid range. An overdrive gear would be nice, as it is, the 5 speed is without flaws. MPG ranges from 39 mpg (sport riding) to 44 mpg (interstate). My ONLY complaint is that the footpegs are about an inch too far forward for my taste. The seat is comfortable, the bars can be rotated fore/aft for comfort, the stock windsreen works well, the headlights not only look cool, they work well. The engine has a smooth finish, which doesn't attract road grime, and the exhaust sounds good. I've never been a suspension fiddler so I don't miss the "full range of adjustability" that the ZRX has. The shock and forks are well sorted and I've yet to upset them while leaned over. Brakes are phenomenal, progressive feel and strong initial bite. Future upgrades: Micron slip on and Dynojet stage one (to get rid of a slight off idle hesitation). Highly recommended. Buy now!
- Austin, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-13 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wrote a review of my B12 when I first got it. I couldn't say enough about it. Well, after a couple thousand miles I can say some more. This bike is even more impressive. Now that the break-in is long over and redline is there for the taking, this is one GREAT machine! It does everything well and I have no fear of anything on the road. It's not the fastest bike, but I've stayed with some sport bikes that cost ALOT more money. This bike is the best in class when you consider performance, price, and a bullet proof engine. If you want a naked sport, this IS it!!!
- Randy Marsh, Upstate New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-20 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great price good tires fast engine, comfortable ride position. Watch out for the hot exhaust pipe! No it's not the fastest, but it blows most bikes away -- esp. "harley" types. Tourers beware of the Bandit! outta here bye*
- Jeff Peterson, South Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-13 2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 1200s Bandit now for a short 5 weeks. I have put 1229 miles on it and I just love it. I ride regularly with the pastor of glory chapel on his 750 GSXR. I thought I would be lacking in the power area but not true. I can pull a wheel in 1st gear with a twist of the throttle, it handles very sharp curves great with those beefy tires and i cant comment on the top speed yet but wow it really screams so smoothly at around 140mph. I really like the dash setup with a 170 speedometer that includes a digital fuel gauge. My most used gauge is the tachometer that includes a clock as well as dual digital trip meters. In all this bike rides great, looks great (in maroon) and at $6999.00 with a 4 year unlimited mileage warranty, our local Suzuki shop it sure is hard to complain about.
- JOHN C PHELPS II, Milton, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: