Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycle reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

L. Keller

Sachsenheim

Reviewed on 2006-07-31

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
A reliable bike that can handle a number of miles. Strong brakes to slow the bike in the Alps and good pickup to run the famous German Autobahn speeds. As an American living in Europe the bike is suited for traveling throughout the different countries. I have only added a luggage carrier and three cases otherwise the bike has stayed stock. I purchased the bike new in 2001 and now it has 81950Kms (50921 miles). A much smoother ride than the HDs I have owned and ridden over the years. Also has enough room to carry my golf clubs when I go looking for those unique golf courses. One draw back for the bike is the lights had to add extra driving lights to the front forks to provide a better light on the road for the night runs and long tunnels. Looking forward to moving back to the U.S. and a chance to ride there again.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ZAK

St.Paul, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2005-09-16

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 6000 miles in three months, I hope I love it. The bike is my third and they say that the third time's a charm they were so right. I love it, love it, love it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Waverly Hall, Georgia

Reviewed on 2005-05-09

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just want to update my old post. I've had this bike for 4 years, 20,000+miles. The bike runs like new, lot's of torque, handles well, still enjoy it. As with other Suzuki's I've owned, these things are built to last. For sport (not track), sport touring/ commuting/ just riding, there is not a better value out there. I still have the stock exhaust, but these are capable of a lot more power with a few tweaks. 101hp is enough for me, thanks.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Brinson

Kennesaw, Georgia

Reviewed on 2003-05-05

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have had this bike for just over a month now and can honestly say I love it. The power, the comfort, and the looks are hard to beat for the price you pay. My last bike was a Honda Shadow Spirit 750 cruiser. It looked good, felt comfortable, but wasn't as fast as I would like. I would have the throttle pegged all the way and just get up to an indicated 100 mph. The Bandit is cruising at 100 mph. My only complaints are 1)the fairing is buzzy at rpms between 3,000 to 4,000, and 2) after a stage 1 jet kit and a slip-on pipe I am only getting around 30 mpg. Despite these issues, I look forward to riding it every chance I get.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matthew DiBenedetto

Atlanta , Georgia

Reviewed on 2002-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I JUST BOUGHT MY 1200S A WEEK AGO ITS A 97 IN SHOWROOM CONDITION ONLY 9000 MILES AND A D&D EXZAUST SYSTEM. THIS IS AN OUTSTANDING PREFORMER,AND LIKE THE FEEL OF ALL THAT POWER IT REMINDES ME OF MY KZ BIKES OF THE 80'S BUT EVEN BETTER I HAVE PUT 600 MILES ON THIS THIG IN A WEEK AND LOVING EVRY MINUTE I AM VERY HAPPY GO SUZUKI
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff C

Bloomfield, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2002-06-27

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
All I can say is WOW!! This bike has the best combo of comfort, speed, power, handling and appearance I've ever ridden. It's nicer than naked bikes, just as powerful as 1000cc Sport Bikes, it's more comfortable than any sportbike. The front end comes up effortlessly in 1st and only takes a nudge to do so in 2nd. The only down fall is that it's a bit cold blooded and I need to do some carb work to help out with the lower rpm response. But, I like it better than my Katana, better than my Ninja. Unless I get a cruiser, I don't think I will ever buy anything but a Bandit. And if you want aftermarket accessories....this is the bike for you.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

satish

larence, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2002-06-26

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
hi, iam 25 and as i am calling a 1200 a first bike i should define first in my case.I have ridden 125 cc in asia where i grew up for a yr then i did not ride for 2 yrs >now i got a bandit after my msf.well all i can say is i love its been a perfect first bike .. the things i do not like is being a 99 the older fairing and other than it is good on highway and inspires confidence in all levels..
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Liss

Huntsville, Alabama

Reviewed on 2002-05-17

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As far as I can tell, the Bandit is one of the best bike values out today. My partner rides a Yamaha FZ1 and is about to upgrade to a FJR 1300, so he offered me his FZ1...I declined. The FZ1 is a terrific bike, and it's speed/torque numbers do slightly outrank the B12s, but I prefer the feel of the Bandit. The seat is very comfortable (better than the FZ1, hands down), better stability at speed (lower CG?), great mid range power, better fairing, not to mention that changing the spark plugs doesn't require an ER visit afterwards. Plus, I love the sonic silver color. The only thing I'd change is that first gear gets a little flaky at times (The FZ1 has beautiful gearing) and it seems to have an affinity for hanging in neutral on the downshift. If anyone knows a good fix for those annoyances, I'm all ears. On the plus side, drop costs (I should know!)are very reasonable ~ $100. It's fast, too. I don't do wheelies (yet;), but I can attest that at 130+, it's stable, responsive, and strong. For the 6K paid for it (bought it with 1K miles on it), it's the best sport-touring bargain on the road.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Enterprise, Alabama

Reviewed on 2002-02-28

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Bandit 1200S is fast, comfortable, reliable, and smooth. I have had my 2001 Bandit since October 4, 2000 and it is the best motorcycle I have ever owned. Maintenance is easy to perform, especially valve adjustments because of Suzuki's jam-nut tappet design. The bike handles very well, especially at high speeds. I have had it to 145 a few times, 130 many times, and 80+ in the twisties and it is flawless. The engine is so strong that downshifts are rarely needed for quick acceleration and passing. I changed to a windscreen that is 4 inches taller, which greatly reduces wind blast at 130+ mph speeds. Only on approved, closed-circuit courses, naturally ;). The engine had noticeable vibration during the break-in period, mostly in the 4100-4900 rpm range, but now with 5,750 miles it is very smooth. The engine feels and accelerates more like a giant electric motor than an internal combustion engine. It has enough low-end torque to stay smooth down to 1,800 rpm, sort of like the old Kawasaki 900. And it is very strong all the way to redline. The brakes have very good linear feel, and are very powerful but predictable. The riding position is far more comfortable than most sportbikes, which makes extended rides more tolerable (especially with the taller windscreen). I cannot think of a better motorcycle bang-for-the-buck than this one. It is a hotrod, sport-tourer, store-and-back, weekend cruiser, and canyon carver all-in-one. Suzuki has made a great motorcycle with the new Bandit!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason

Windsor, California

Reviewed on 2002-02-14

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I also just put 100 miles on my new 2002 Bandit 1200S, and must say it has a lot of power and exceptional handling for a bike of its size. I ride with a few guys that own the 2002 SV650S and they struggle to keep up. No bike is perfect, but for the price this is a whole lot of bike. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: