Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (35)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-08-23 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a 2002 Volusia 800 almost from new. When I first got it, there seemed to be a problem with the bike starving for fuel so I took to my bike shop and talked to the mechanic. He said there was a problem with that model being lean of fuel. So he changed the needle valve in the carb which helped starting. I only need to use the choke for a couple of minutes and no more starving of fuel when just idling around town. It runs perfect and it still has the original battery which surprises me since the lights are on all the time now.
- doug reinecker, stratford, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-30 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Intruder used with only 10,000 kms. And let me tell you ladies and gentlemen, I would buy another one of these again before I'd buy a Harley. Not that Harley's are bad, just overpriced. You can't buy a more dependable motorcycle for your money anywhere... A real LOOKER. Way to go SUZUKI.
- Bob Meloche, Tilbury, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-31 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the 2002 Volusia and am very pleased wih it. It has plenty of power. More than enough to keep up with my friends riding thier tuned Harleys. Vibration is nill. Looks are awesome. Brakes are very strong - I usually only use 1 finger on the front brake lever. I switched the gear shifter to a heel-toe unit, which was a little pricey, but is worth it. The bike holds a very staright line, even when 18 wheelers are passing by in the opposite direction. Turning radius is big due to overall length of the bike. You sit low on the bike - which I like. Another thing I like is that this bike is physically large - larger than most Harley's I park beside. It draws a lot of looks. Exhaust sound is pleasant and not too loud. Regardless of money, it is a great bike. I am very impressed by it and by Suzuki's standards.
- rob, Burlington , Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-12 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Want a machine that is large enough to easily haul two adults... is easy to ride and reestablish your skills on, yet also can provide aggressive handling and braking... is supported by a wide range of accessories and an extremely informative Owners website... hauls plenty when you're in the need for speed... and provides an extremely satisfying torque curve that peaks at just 2,500 RPM? And, want it all on a budget? There is no better choice than the Volusia... bought mine used for $5,250 complete with Suzuki windshield, saddlebags, backrest and rack, handlebar pouch and tank cover/pouch. You can do anything on a Volusia... I've commuted in heavy traffic, ridden in heavy winds and rain and down dusty gravel roads, and my Skunk has hauled the wife and I and gear (about 450 lbs total) with ease in 80-90 MPH traffic. It simply does it all, looks great, receives nothing but positive comments and consistantly leaves me with a silly grin on my face. It is also very straightforward to work on for routine service, and this bike has needed very little warranty support from Suzuki after delivery... you likely will never need the 12-month unlimited mileage coverage. - Skunk
- Skunk, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-03 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently acquired a used 2001 Volusia, for around $5400 from the dealer with 1400 miles on it. Rides great, sounds great, and handles great. A really nice ride and a head turner for sure! Nits about the bike: 1. Engine runs rich and soots the rear tail light. Understand Suzuki (dealership) is aware of this "anomaly" but no fix identified. Wonder how long before it starts to miss out with fouled plugs???!!! 2. Ignition switch: Hard to see and hard to locate. Recommend relocating it in a visible spot on the upper surface of the bike. 3. Accessories: Floor boards in catalog and website are P/N: 99950-70278. These actually represent the passenger floorboards. They are short in length, about 8 inches long. Can't find anyone to confirm that this is suppose to be the driver floor boards. Ended up ordering aftermarket brand since Suzuki wouldn't check into it. 4. Bike back fires occassionally, probably from the rich running engine in hot weather. Noticeable during downshifts from high speed(s). 5. Limited accessories for the bike and very pricey! 6. Suggest using more actual metallic chrome vs. plastic "chrome". 7. Removed rear fendor bolt to attach back rest support and holes torqued out of line making installation of the 5mm bolt impossible. Had to lift the rear fendor to counter torque to get the hex bolt back in. Took 2 hours! All in all, even with the nits, I still like this bike. Would highly recommend Suzuki read user feedback and address these and all issues.
- CHris, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-13 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Volusia. It handles great! It looks great and I look great on it! The only thing stopping me from rating it a five is the fact that one of the valves failed one week after I brought it home. It then took two weeks for the dealer to get the part in. However, I don't know if this was Susuki's fault or the dealer's. Because of my bad experiences with Roswell Fun Machines, I'm more inclined to believe it was the dealer. I whole heartly recommend this bike for any female looking to ride a classy bike.
- VA, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-31 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
with 20+ yrs, the last 12 have been on a mildly worked '77 KZ-1000. The VL-800 is honest in that with all the controls & cables adjusted and fine-tuning out of the way (pilot-screw, ect). It pulls like a '53 chevy pick-up...Very good low-end (1st & 2nd) accelleration,.broad and smooth power-band. 6th tops out @ 97 (speed-limited ignition) and I don't miss the superior speed of the Kawi. It is a different kind of ride after all. The only thing out there with "all-of-it" ( liquid cooling, shaft dr, even an idle thumb-screw control. With 2.5k miles it's as smooth as silk. Ya gotta set it up though. btw, it's stock.
- Les, Long Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-29 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After purchasing the bike, I was estatic. I absolutly love the looks of the bike, but the performance is another issue. I constantly feel as if the bike needs another gear on the highway. The gear shifter is difficult meaning you have to remove your foot completely before shifting to the next gear. Overall, I am a little dissapointed with the bike. I hope Suzuki will look at the transmission and re-evaluate it.
- Jake S., Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-27 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Funny thing is when I went to the local Bike shop it wasn't for a bike but for a battery backup for my Computer power supply. Anyway .. one look around at all that chrome and I was in deep trouble .. the price on the Suzuki seemed very reasonable compared to the other makes .. that was what prompted me to buy it.. keep in mind my first cruiser was a Harley 56FLH (hardtail) I purchased way back in 1964. So I rode off on a Volusia 800, Red and Black AND the battery backup too! OK .. this bike is a great buy .. it has bags of power for most types of riding .. the only time I noticed it was running a little hard was on the highway .. after 65-70 mph , as far as acceleration goes ,it works hard with a passenger .. but it rocks for 800cc if you are alone. .. a far as cruising the streets with my fav lady .. this bike grabs a lot of looks and enquires.. and on a sunny day all that chrome prompted me to get a good pair of shades to prevent going blind from all that glare. It truly is a pretty bike with great simple lines and not much clutter .. I liked the 40's look .. very classy look, it's the closest bike with that "art deco" look I have seen off the showroom floor. It has a nice deep thraty sound out of the twin mufflers .. pretty good for 800cc. I did find it was a bit gusty at about 70 mph .. a lot of buffetting on a busy highway .. I am not sure if that is because of the crappy $40 windshield I got with it .. I may have to try different windshield styles ..we'll see. (comments welcome ) The finish on this bike was immaculate as was the paint job. I do miss not having a tach ometer though .. in my opinion... The passenger seat is very high and a lot of my passengers complained about wind .. so i i now have them use a full faced helmet and visor .. again this culd be a problem by using wrong windshield .. still that passenger seat is a wee tad high .. but nothing serious. I had a hell of a lot of trouble finding the gas tank drain plug for storing it over the winter .. pretty tigt under that seat. Oh yeah .. the Horn sounds like crap .. Hope this helps some of you .. Cheers
- Mike Taylor, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-14 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In response to the previous posting, Yes sure this bike does have a lower fuel mileage than the other bikes in it class - a low 27 - 42 mpg, when the average is 36-48, but still with its above average tanks size of 4.2 gallons it still has an above average range of approx 163 miles. An average 38 mpg is still great. What was that guy talking about the VOL not having a smooth ride? What is he crazy? Its by far the smoothest ride of its class!!
- Jonesy, Monterrey, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-07 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very upset and extremely disappointed in this bike. This bike is the least smooth bike I've ever ridden. The transmission is much too close ratio (too tall of gears). The overdrive is great at 50-55mph but not above that (ie 75-80mph), so really it's not much of an overdrive! Gas mileage is very poor, most sedans do as good or better. This is a large bike with a small motor. By it's size, it should have a 1200cc, minimum. Very over-priced. DONT BUY THIS BIKE! DONT GET RIPPED-OFF LIKE I DID!! I'm going to have to trade this bike in on something eles and take a huge loss! This really sucks!
- Big Dawg, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-01 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my 02' Vol for about 3 weeks now and I cant seem to wipe the smile off of my face! Have been off of bikes for about 10 years and figured this would be a decent bike to get back into it. It has decent power even for a big like me 270lbs, handles great, decent ground clearance( not great)and for the greenbacks what a value! Suzuki did this one right.
- Firstcruiser, San Diego, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-31 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE this bike!! Check out www.volusiaowners.com for over 400 satisfied Volusia owners! You won't be disappointed! Dave
- Volusiaguy, Aliso Viejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-28 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned over 30 motorcycles in my 40 years of riding,I turned 60 Dec.01.I bought my Volusia in August of 01 and I am very satisfied with the motorcycle.I have added a Suzuki windshield,Leatherlyke saddle bags and engine guard, now I just added the light bar,looks great. I have over 2500 miles on the odometer so far. I traded a Honda Shadow 750 ACE, for several reasons,1st I wanted a shaft drive, second I wanted a dealer I could depend on,I bought mine from Extreme Motorcycles in Hickory,N.C. about 25 minutes from my home,they have been great also.The first month I rode my son and several of his friends came up from Jacksonville,Fla and we rode the mountains of N.C. even had the chance to ride Deals Gap in Tenn.my Volusia handled great,it' no crotch rocket,but it gets me there in style.Gets great milage and has plenty of power,feels like more than 800 c.c.'s to me,I had a Suzuki Madura back in the 80's,its nowhere that powerful,but I learned to appreciate the Suzuki quality.Thanks for letting me put my 2 cents worth in.
- BILLY ABERNETHY, LINCOLNTON, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-18 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I submitted my original article(see Took The Plunge 07/06/01)and at the time was very happy with the Volusia-still am.I now have 4,000 miles on it,have added a windshield and lowers from Rifle, a chrome radiator cover from H.a.c., and plan on buying the new seat from Corbin(check it out-it's cool). A word of caution though,it's not really big enough for two up comfort. The wife is starting to gain more interest in riding, so a bigger bike is in the making.As I contemplate what to do next, I will continue to enjoy my Volusia and can highly recommend the same to anyone else.
- Don Austin, Swansboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-06 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my red/black Vol late June '01. Wrote a review here back then. Now after just over 6 months and 3,500 miles, I still love it. I spent the last four days with cabin fever, reviewing everything out there, reading the mags, stopping in dealers. I still feel this bike is an incredible value. The more I look at it, the more I like it. The more I ride it, the more I enjoy the smooth ride. Plenty of power in the engine (5'10", 190 lb). I think the stock pipes are fine and sound good. May put on some V&H for grins soon. Added lots of stuff - HAC floorboards, engine guards, Suzuki windshield and light bar, Ironbraid levers/fringe, saddlebags, sissy bar and rack, fender trim. Really nothing left I want to do except ride and ride - and the stock seat lets me take some nice long rides with no discomfort. FWIW, the best addons, by far, are the floorboards, windshield and lightbar, in that order. The boards make it a whole new ride and go on in 5 minutes.
- John Leon, Kingwood, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-05 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For the first time in 20 years I got on a motorcycle this afternoon and ended up parking it in my garage. I have been threatening to buy one for two years now and finally gave in to the urge, you know - like 'the One' was calling you to Mordor. After researching every make, model, and most importantly every write-up by riders on this and other boards, I had it narrowed down to 4 possibilities - one of which isn't going to be availabe until next June. Actually. I was looking at some real crotch rockets to begin with, (Honda VTX 1800 retro was the leading contender and if money were no object, it might have won) and went down to the local cycle shop. That Honda is definitely a bad-ass bike! Maybe in another couple of years - not quite ready to hand over all the insurance money to the wife yet! I'd no doubt kill myself inside of a week on that monster. Believe it! It -IS- the Harley Eater! But it wasn't "just right" if you know what I mean. But while I was there,I fell into the seat of an Intruder - a Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800, in fact - named for a neighboring county and the Daytona Bike Week they always have there. Nicely on sale, being the last of the 2001's in stock which suited me fine because I like the red/black and 2002 they changed to blue. It was soooo damn comfortable I just had to go cruisin'a little. Now I know why I moved to Florida :) Very nice, very comfortable,lots of low torque power, great features usually only found on bigger bikes. The best part was it was half the price of the VTX, so now it sits in my garage as I type (don't worry - it won't sit for long) and it's actually a sensibly sized bike for a fat old fart like me. Now I just have to re-take me drivers test along with all the teenagers, hehehe. Happy hunting - I'll be crusin' for a while!
- BudmanDOQ, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-13 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well ok, the Volusia is a budget cruiser that has some cheap parts and an ancient engine, however the bike is more than the sum of those parts. I bought mine in July and have put a couple of thousand fun filled,comfortable miles, with no problems.The engine feels best at 55mph and the chassis and brakes work well up to 80. What more could you want? Great styling,[looks better in black than red] reliable,comfortable, easy to maintain - hydraulic valves, liquid cooling, shaft drive etc - and very easy on the pocket. I also own an SV650, a 900ss Duc and a Kaw 1000J. and I ride 'Lucy' more than the others.
- matthew parry, NYC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-26 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sorry folks. I've ridden a lot of bikes, and thought this might be the perfect bike. It fit me like a glove. It has unparalleled looks. The price is unbelievable. Unfortunately in Florida it is difficult to get a test ride due to insurance reasons. I was about to buy one when I decided to go to Daytona for Biketoberfest where Suzuki and the other manufacturers let you test drive the bikes. The looks were still stunning. It handled great. It had plenty of power and the ride was ooh so smooth, from low to high speeds. Too bad the shifter was impossible. The throw of the shifter was so high that often I had to lift my foot off of the peg to get it to shift. When it did shift there was no solid clunk of a Harley, no obvious click of a Kawasaki, no crisp snap of a Yamaha. Just mush. The rear brake was ineffective and you had to push almost twice the distance of other brakes to get them to work, and then you were past the peg. The front brake grabbed. I spoke to others who tested the bike and they felt the same way. The bike went into neutral twice going from second to third, which creates a problem when you're in a pack trying to get up to speed on a main road. Suzuki let me test another one in the afternoon and I had the same problem with the shifter. Granted these were test bikes, but they only had between 1500-2000 miles on them. The factory reps said the shifting was soft, but I'd get used to it. Not. The after-market parts on display were disappointing also. I am disappointed. I thought this was my dream bike. The reps said that they would look at the bikes to make sure that there was not a problem. I went and tested a V-Star 1100. It was everything I thought the Volusia was going to be (but it's not water cooled unfortunately, and I just need a couple of thousand more dollars to get it). Well, maybe they'll take heed and make some of these improvements for next year.
- Mark, West Palm Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-22 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Intruder Volusia is the most comfortable cruiser around. Before I bought it, I researched for weeks, checked out dealerships, tested bikes, and came to conclusion that this was the bike for me. As I drove off the dealership lot I had a smile on my face. The grin stayed there for a while. I just could not believe how soft and smooth the ride was. I am 5'6" so a big heavy bike was not an option, but this one was just perfect. I felt like someone designed the bike to my specifications. Now, when I ride for hours, as I get off the bike I don't feel exhausted or tired in any way. Pure pleasure of riding, no discomfort, and plenty of heads turned-that's Volusia. Volusia is a great ride.
- Daniel, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-05 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been riding an 83 Nighthawk for many years and it was in high maintenance mode. My dealer had Volusia sitting on the floor and from first sit this bike was for me. I have since put 4500 kms on it and it is the most comfortable bike I have ever been on (riding 22 years). The seat is fantastic and the bike has a great range between fill ups which make you want to ride all day. My only nitpick is the location of the ignition key. Leaning across the tank is asking for scratches and it is hard to see at night. Otherwise, I get lots of looks and comments, all of a positive nature. A super bike for women because of low seat height and ease of maneuverability. Suzuki add ons are a tad expensive but National Cycle makes a great windshield. Love this bike.
- Trina, Barrington, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-04 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After finally getting into and passing the MSF course (newbies and oldies should all take it if they can) I have bought my first bike. After much debating I went with the cruiser for cost and insurance reasons. $535 per year vs $2000. This bike is very easy to ride and maneuver around town. Everywhere I go people mistake it for a larger bike. No one believes it is an 800cc. However that is where my one problem lies now. I have ordered Cobras slash cut exhaust and jet kit so hopefully it will bump up the power a bit, as well as let out a little growl. I would recommend this bike to anyone who wants a mild mannered cruiser. Word of warning, I am 6'2", 210lbs., the 800cc engine is as small as I'd go for anyone else of my size. I will update all on my foray into the after market pipe world in about two months. Cheers.
- Dan, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-18 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I last rode 20 years ago, but got the bug again. I wanted a cruiser look, but it had to be shaft drive and really didn't want the monster 1500 cc bikes on the road. I had decided that the Yamaha V-Star 1100 was the bike to get---UNTIL--- I found the Volusia. Great looks, a perfect fit for my frame (6'4", 250lbs.) lightweight and liquid cooled to boot! I bought the Volusia, saved a ton of money and it turns heads everywhere I go. I bought mine in August, so I'm not having the problems the guys did getting accessories earlier in the year. The Volusia is in my opinion, the best value in it's class, and maybe in any class.
- Jody Jones, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-16 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Volusia for over a month now. I am glad to say that I bought it.I can't wait to get it all dressed up with goodies. It is a real head turner.
- Rodney Ledbetter, Crandall, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-12 2001 Suzuki Intruder Volusia Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. It had the things I wanted, cruiser style, shaft drive, 750-800 CC. I have not been disappointed. It fits me well (6 feet, 250 lbs) .. the seat is large and comfortable, the controls are where they should be. The power is good and it handles well. I will agree with some others that the only thing lacking is after market acc, which will soon follow.....
- Jim Butler, Southeast Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: