Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes Reviews (17)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-04-13 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2001 Katana 600 for about 2 years now and I still love it. I've put on roughly 6000 miles and never had any problems with it. The only real thing that I can complain about is the weight. I wish it was a little lighter as it's a hoss when full of gas (close to 500lbs). Other than that, it gets great gas mileage, is very comfortable, and has a rock-solid engine. Great first bike!
- Shawn Dennis, Bangor, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-03 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In my opinion the Katana is a great bike. I have a 2001. Most people say that it sucks but I think that reputation comes from the older models compared to the newer bikes on the market. I will say one thing, most of riding is the rider not the equipment. Most of the guys that run 750's or liter bikes out-run me on the straights but when the road gets twisty I pick them off like grapes on a vine. It's easy, they have so much power and tight suspension that the bike really scares itself out of the corners. The Katana has less power and therfore doesn't upset the balance when you roll the throttle. Other than that, it has a lot of body work to be dolled up like the Busa and it is a lot more comfortable to ride as well. You have to pick and search the after market like an already harvested field, but you can pick up quite a bit if you know where to look and who to ask. I thought I was going to buy this bike and trade it in because I got such a great deal on it, but it grew on me very quickly. It's been fun fixing it up and looking pretty while I'm carving out superbikes on the back roads.
- jimmy adams , pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-14 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello to all of my Katana friends worldwide. The Katana is no gixxer by any means, but by investing a few dollars, you too can have a bike that you will be proud of. So far since my purchase in February of 2004, I have installed a D&D slip on, graphics kits, shaved the clutch and front brake levers, replaced the front and back sprockets, new racing chain, blackend out the windscreen, added decals, replaced stock tire with Battlax 190/50 r17. Top end speed is really great now compared to what it was. I later planning on replacing the carbs with 40mm versus jetting and k&n filters. If you want super sound from a Katana, go with the D&D slip. All the gixxer boys will say "It sounds great" without hesitation.
- J Wood, Raleigh, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-26 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's sad that grown men pass over this bike because of peer pressure from their fellow squids. This bike has ample power. I've gotten it to 120mph with plenty of throttle room left. It really should be classified as a sport tourer. The riding position is amazingly comfortable for 2 up riding. The ride can be a little buzzy, but overall, it's a great ride. It also has a fuel gauge, and you've got to like that! The only thing I don't like about this bike is the weight. It's a pig at 458lbs. It's also too quiet for me, but a Muzzy will fix that! The only people who dislike this bike are self-conscience squids and those who've never ridden it. If you're looking for a comfortable durable bike with adequate power, then this is the bike for you. If you're looking to impress your fellow man, then look elsewhere. Sadly, I've gotten MANY compliments from GSX-R & R6 riders when their "friends" weren't looking.
- Simon, Doraville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-11 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2001 600cc Katana for 3 years now and I love it! I installed a full exhaust,air filter,jet kit, and ignition advancer and this bike will hang with cbr's and r6's. And it also A LOT more comfortable than the others when riding for longer than 10 mins. I give it 5 stars! Oh,and it is yellow also...they are faster..lol
- KAT OWNER, port huron, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-16 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike because of the reviews stating that it was a good bike for beginners and, in spite of the reviews that it was not fast. I can confirm that, this being my first bike, it's extremely easy to ride. I bought it with 400 miles on it; I've put 2,000 miles on it in the two months that I've had it. But it's plenty fast. I ride with other bikers, gsxr's, ninjas, and f4's and I've never been left behind. I've even popped a nice wheely, totally by accident but it lasted 3 car lengths. It went up and came down so smoothly, I hardly noticed it was ever up.
- Roland Dorsey, Bear, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-18 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Its a great looking bike and will turn heads for sure. This is my first sport bike and I love it. Although it may not scoot off the line like some of the super bikes, but its close. Great for first sport bike, not too big and not overpowered for a novice rider. Good sized, it holds its own on the freeway, very steady bike. Like any bike you ride, its a thrill. Remember-watch the morons with the cell phones when riding and be safe.
- Brad Hansen, Maple Grove, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-29 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought 2001 Katana 600. Comfortable and reliable. Have over 5200 miles in 3 months of riding. Just can not stay off this bike. Doesn't compare to the true sport bikes but will still have your heart pumping. Comfortable and stable at 100 mph. Great on gas and easy to park. Great for city driving. Have not taken it on any long trips but looks like it would be managable. Will find out this summer.
- Eddie Gelman, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-30 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my first bike this summer, a blue kat. Well I was amazed at the power at first, but soon after I got the feel of the bike I realized that there really wasn't much there. It is a beautiful bike, and is fun to ride, but it is just getting a little bit boring. For anyone who wants a first bike, this must be one of the best you can get.
- Leif, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-30 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I am a senior citizen - 65, I have been riding for 50 years and this is my slow down, resist competitive squiding bike. I have a Kaw. Concourse for touring (great bike if you like 2-wheeled motor homes ) but my Katana 600 is a great back roader. The only problem is the need for one more tooth in the countershaft. It is a bit too busy in 5th and 6th...and 1st through 3rd are a bit too low. Face it, as a 600 its not a rocket it's only competition is the Kaw base 600, which is think is a bit livelier. The yellow color and the ergonomics are just right for some of my aging bones. Last week end I went to a WERA race and began to get delusions of returning to amateur road racing - with this 600 I could have a great time and perhaps best a few more potent bikes... If you want a nice reliable ride this is the bike / what a great value.
- David McCready, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-17 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been a few months of ownership now and the love affair continues. While this may not be the top of the line for sport-touring bikes, this makes for fine commuting with a tank bag. If more power is desired, just switch up to other fine motorcycles from this company.
- A.C.Williams,Jr., USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-16 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and a very friendly one too. Since I am just breaking it in, I have only gotten up to 60mph but I believe it will do every bit of the 150mph listed on the speedometer. I bought the blue one (hence the name blue bird) and people love the color. This bike has superb handling and braking and its comfortable to ride around town and the express way. I can barely keep myself off of it because I prefer to ride than to drive now. I did some limited riding on my bike after I bought it, but I took a rider safety course shortly after I purchased my bike. I highly recommend that everyone take one of these classes, especially if you are going to ride a sport bike. Awareness can be life-saving !!! I would recommend this bike to anyone. My Katana and I have become one !! We are like an "Army of One".
- Damion, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-11 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last year I owned a ZX6r. I mowed over 300 lawns in order to save up enough money to buy it. Later, while spying on my sister and her friends, I lost the keys. Since I had no keys to start the bike, I would push it everywhere I went. After 3 months of doing this, I started to feel silly (I also got pretty hot in the leathers). So I traded it in on a Katana 600 and chucked in a few extra bucks for extra keys.
- Buster Hiyaman, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-06 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned several bikes, this one being my third "sport bike". In September of 2000, I bought a 2001 Honda Shadow Spirit 1100. After riding my nephew's Katana, I traded my Honda in (even-up) for my new 2001 Katana 600. I lost $1500 on the Honda, but am much happier with this bike's responsiveness and handling. I immediately added a Yoshimura RC-3 slip-on muffler, a K&N air filter, and a DynaJet jet kit. This bike runs and handles excellent, in my opinion. I see a lot of reviews that say this is a good "starter" bike, which may be true, but I have been riding for roughly 26 years, and enjoy the power and handling of this small, but pretty quick 600!
- Bob Lunner, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-20 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had my share of junk bikes so when I decided to buy a brand new bike I wanted to go with something small but powerful and easy to handle. I've ridden a few Katanas before and was very pleased with the handeling and comfort thats why I went with the 2001 Katana. I've had it for two weeks now and I love it. It's fast when you get on it but not so fast that you're scared to pull back on the throttle. One complaint though, it came from the factory with the the front brake rubber deal in upside down in the cylinder so I had brake fluid leak all over the body the first day I got it which in turn as ruined that paint on the front fairing. They are still talking to susuki to see if it will be covered under warranty, which seems nuts to me since it's their fault. Other than that the bike runs great and I'm just killing miles untill it's broken in so I can get it out on the highway and let'er rip. The pictures of the blue do not do it justice, it glows when sitting in the sun. People like to stare at this one!
- John, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-07 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently purchased my first Motorcycle. I couldn't have made a better choice. I am breaking the bike in to match my driving style, and am very impressed with the harnesed power of this bike. It has great handeling, and is comfortable to ride. You must try it to believe it, and when you do, you won't regret it. I am a 6'6" and this bike fits my frame. My arms are long enought to sit upright, but can comfortably lay on my stomach to zip through country roads. The throtle gives you power to play with, and after breaking in the lower gears, I will be able to play with the highest 2. Being able to get over 80 mph in the first 4, I don't see myself using the higher ones much.
- Steve Kirtley, Bowling Green Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-02 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The first thing that caught my eye was the bright yellow color...then I sat on it. Very comfortable seat and doesn't lean too far forward. Has enough power to get you in trouble but very easy to control and very stable. Great way to build confidence. Only one complaint, the side fairing is all one piece and would be pretty expensive to replace. Would highly recommend this bike for a beginner.
- Mike, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: