Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-06-04 2001 Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. I got it with 3000 miles and have almost 10000 after one season. Just started season two with high hopes for another great season.
- Mack, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-31 2001 Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently sold a 91 VX800 Suzuki to purchase a Triumph Thunderbird. Loved the T-Bird triple motor but thought the bike was top heavy. Thought about getting a Sportster, but didn't like the weight or vibration. I spotted a 2001 Suzuki Marauder at a used bike shop and decided to test ride it. I was surprised at what a well balanced package this bike is. Loved the flat raised bars, the inverted front forks and the fat front tire. This is a simple, no frills, rock solid bike that happens to be water cooled. I landed up trading the T-Bird for the VZ800 and have been very satisfied. The bike has a cobra exhaust that sounds perfect. The forward pegs fit my 5 foot 9 inch frame just right. The low center of gravity and relatively light weight makes this bike a simple pleasure to ride.
- Rick, King of Prussia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-19 2001 Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hadn't owned a motorcycle for 10 years (wife, kids, work). After spending 6 months at sea, I decided it was time. I started looking the day after I got home. I had looked at new Marauders on the internet and pretty well knew that's what I wanted. If I had read about any of the road tests and comparisons on the internet, I think I would have stayed away. But, the very first bike I saw was a 2001 Marauder, 2 years old with 700 miles! I managed to get it for $4900. After 10,000 miles, I'm still happy. Other than routine maintenance, I haven't had to spend a penny - it seems to be bullet proof. I wish the ride was a little more comfortable - the low handlebars get to my back after a couple hundred miles. I hated the seat at first- either I broke it in or I got used to it. I wish the foot pegs were a little farther out. I've always gotten compliments. With all the chrome and the mag wheels, it's a nice looking bike. I didn't like the stock exhaust. The bike looks mean, but it sounded like a sewing machine. After a stage 1 kit and aftermarket pipes, it had a whole new personality. I also changed the front sprocket from the stock 15 tooth to a 16 tooth. It made the engine much less busy on the interstate, and still has plenty of power. It handles great and is always dependable. I'm sure the replacement (Boulevard M50) is even better with the shaft drive and fuel injection, although in my opinion it doesn't look as cool as the Marauder. I'm stationed overseas right now, and I plan to get a bigger bike after I get home, but I couldn't have made a better choice.
- Andy Dennis, Williamsburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-28 2001 Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like another reviewer, I dissed this bike having glanced at the unflattering photo in the Suzuki brochure. Checked out all the brands and flavors of mid-size cruisers, from Minnesota to Oregon, but not the Marauder. Until the last stop, at the nearest bike shop to my town, a Suzuki dealer. I had given up as the Honda Spirit was not comfortable (6'1" 175 lbs. and tall wife) and the Honda guys wouldn't deal: the Kawa 750 Vulcan was "okay," but too 1980ish for my taste: the Yammy V Star was too small. But when I saw my first Marauder, I couldn't believe my eyes. It was drop-dead gorgeous. Sat on it, along with the wife on back, and it was REAL comfortable. A month later I still am in love. The seat is perfectly comfortable, I have adjusted just fine to the heavy front end, love the smooth clutch, great power and sound, 50 mpg. average, and I still love to have a beer and just stare at it. One thing I don't understand are the very negative reviews I have read on the net from biking mags. They need to try out the new ones as it seems the quibbles have been fixed by Suzuki. I believe it is just a great machine, and my buddy with a brand new Mean Streak agrees.
- pgreif, brookings, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-16 2001 Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
To put my review in context, first about me. Back into biking after 20+ years absent, I got a Virago 535 which was a great small bike but too small. I just moved up to the 2001 Marauder. Here are my initial impressions. Appearance is terrific from any angle. Lots of chrome, heavy duty looking front end, fat tire on the front. Fit and finish is flawless (on mine). Nothing loose, nothing out of line (10,000 miles on the clock). I'd rate comfort an 8 on a scale of 10. The pegs are a bit forward (a few miles and I'm used to it) as the bar - but I like riding arms extended. I'm only 5'6" and am flat footed at stops. The seat? Well, it's a stock seat and it works. For real comfort get an aftermarket. The ride scores an 8 as well. 1st and 2nd gears are there to get you to 3rd and 4th - and man when you flick the wrist in 3rd or 4th, you'd better be strapped in! If you ride 65 mph or under the engine hummms along nicely. At 70+, yes Suzuki could have given it a 6th gear.I'll give handling a subjective 10 for me, probably a 9 overall for everyone else. This bike will go stop and go all day but it's happiest up to speed. The nose is just a bit heavy for lots of low speed (creeping traffic) maneuvering. Once up through the gears, long sweeping turns are a joy: the front tire insipires confidence and unless you want to scrape pegs all day, this thing will respond to exactly what you want to do. I did lots of research on all comparable bikes so trust me: don't rule out the Marauder until you've thrown a leg over one. Ride Safe!
- Mike, Palm Bay, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-27 2001 Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my marauder about two months ago for recreational riding and commuter travel. It's been about twenty years since I had a "street bike" as they were called and getting back on a cruiser now I couldn't have made a better choice. This bike is light weight as cruisers go and very nimble. Low cost and maintenance friendly is a plus I need because of daily use. The only thing I would change at this point is a larger gas tank to extend time on the road and away from the gas pumps.
- James Bowman, Williamstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-09 2001 Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the looks of the bike. The price was great also. I just wish it had more power for the freeway. Overall the bike is a great joy to ride. I added full exhaust, jetted it, and installed the Marauder saddle bags and a national wind screen and the bike still rocks. People always ask me what kind of bike I have.
- Keith Recore, Taylor, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-14 2001 Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Major problem with this Suzuki cruiser is the v-twin engine is hard bolted to the frame and it drove my 70 year old backbone crazy on long rides...I have owned all of them...design is attractive and with shield, bags, and seat add-ons the Marauder is a nice bike for 15 minute rides. But my back said enough is enough..so got myself a Triumph Thunderbird instead...sorry.
- LewTag, Springfield, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-01 2001 Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an 01 last september. Replace the seat!! Other tan that it is great fun, and a wonderfull first bike. I added a windshield from National and a Mustang seat and now I can ride all day. If anyone knows a good place to buy aftermarket parts please email me.
- Rondog, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-16 2001 Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Replace the seat. Rides good. Handles good. Price good. Other than the seat no real complaints. I live in Alabama and there are plenty of back roads and the bike seems to do best at 50-60 mph. If you get on the interstate it'll run 70-80 mph all day long. It is a cruiser and with no windshield it can become weary. I have had no luck with windshields. Put a National on took it off. Too much to handle in a crosswind. Satisfied owner.
- td, Hartselle, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-10 2001 Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have heard that 2002 brings a wider more comfortable stock seat. Other than that the bike is a kick. It has enough HP and torque to keep up with bikes that have twice the displacement. Only the Suzuki 800 Intruder or Kawasaki VN800A can compare to it.
- Don Neideffer, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-30 2001 Suzuki Marauder Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a Navy sailor stationed in Sicily, Italy and had my bike shipped with me. I get nothing but stares and compliments for my bike. I have taken off the back seat and removed my front fork covers which adds a beefier look to the front in my opinion
- conrad montville, Sicily, Italy

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: