Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes Reviews (30)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-01-22 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2001 SV650S was my very first bike. I found it extremely easy to learn on because it was easy to handle and very forgiving. For a beginning rider, the power was just enough for me to be comfortable. One of the main reasons I purchased this bike was the low price. The price can not be beat. The only down sides to the bike for me were the fact that there was no lower fairing which is not a look I prefer. Lowers can be purchased but they are very hard to find and expensive. My wrists and hands began to hurt after riding for about 30 minutes and the seat is also not the most comfortable if your are riding more than short distances. Definitely not a long distance bike comfort wise. I outgrew this bike quickly, but would definitely recommend it to someone riding for the first time.
- Jeri , Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-06 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my SV for about 2 years now. I bought it from my brother for a steal with 6000 miles on it. I ride it year round, except when it is raining or snowing. I have had the spark short on the front cylinder before, but after some research, found that the drain hole usually is plugged, which allows the spark plug well to drain (it is on the right side of the front cylinder). After clearing it out, the problem hasn't returned. I commute about 60-70 miles a day on my SV to and from school and all of the little errands I run throughout the day. I put some Nelson-Rigg saddlebags on it about a year ago, and they really help with cargo carrying. The only (minor) complaints I have are a lack of power above 95MPH (only used when passing multiple vehicles) and how my wrists carry most of the weight (they get sore after about an hour of riding), however, some convertibars should fix this. Lastly, since it is a CA bike, it runs extremely lean, resulting in some bucking at inopportune times. This will be fixed soon with a rejet. Overall, one of the best bikes out there, especially when you factor in the price.
- Jack Bobaganoosh, Moore, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-19 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After moving 35 miles away from where I work, I thought about buying a motorcycle. The last bike I owned was a Suzuki RM370, a dirt bike which I sold 18 years ago, so it's been a long time. I was definitely nervous about riding on the street. I took the DMV safety course first and got my License. Good Idea. I did a lot of research on different bikes and ended undecided on two, Sv650s and the Yamaha fz6. I was ready to buy a new bike but found a 2001 SV650s for 3500 less. The bike is incredible! My commute is all highway, it just purrs at 70-80 mph only 6000rpm in 5th gear it is really easy to ride, I do find my hand gets buzzy after 35 minutes but the reliability and performance at this price is unmatched. I now commute with a smile on my face the whole way and don't want to stop. Bottom line is: if you're not sure which bike to get and the SV650s is one of your choices - just do it!
- Dave, La Selva Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-18 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased a used 2001 SV650S as my first streetbike. The only other bike I have owned was a Honda CR125 so this was a big jump. I haven't ridden any other streetbikes so I admittedly don't have much to compare it to. The weight factor was what clinched it for me in comparison to the Katana 600. The handling was much more nimble than I expected and rolling it around the driveway is much easier than trying to roll a 460 LB. Katana anywhere other than down a hill. I would like to get a slip-on because the stock pipe doesn't create the most impressive sound. 1st gear isn't as meaty as I thought it would be but I certainly like 2nd and 3rd. My wrists get a little achy when riding for more than 40 minutes or so but I'm still a little tense when riding so I anticipate some improvement in that department. The stock seat isn't the best but then again, if you want a road couch, get a Goldwing. Overall, I really like it and as someone who bought this as a first streetbike I like the handling, weight, LOVE the styling and there is certainly enough engine to get you in trouble. P.S. Let's pray that Suzuki won't continue the styling of the new SVS. I swear it looks like a wasp. Happy riding everyone.
- David Gibson, Granbury, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-21 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has been my first sport bike, and I love it. It is so light and very agile, and the V-twin engine provides an ample amount of torque even with the smaller displacement. The result is a very powerful and very lightweight bike.
- Anson Brune, San DIego , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-01 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my motorcycle license around the time I got my auto license and graduated highschool in 1973. I have ridden all types of bikes and have owned a Honda CL350, two Kawasaki two-stroke triples and a Suzuki Katana 600, as well as having worked at a Kawasaki dealership and ridden just about every kind of motorcycle imaginable. In 2001 I traded my Katana for a SV650S and have never looked back. Although I have ridden more powerful bikes and better handling bikes, none of them strikes the ideal compromises that the Suzuki SV650 does. It is perfectly balanced, plenty potent when rejetted with a good aftermarket exhaust, and just about the sexiest, best looking most affordable bike on the market. I even get good insurance rates!
- R. Pennington, Hohenwald, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-27 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been almost 2 years and 4,000 miles with my blue SV650s. I know that's not many miles, but I don't get to ride as often as I'd like. I purchased my bike after taking the MSF course in 2001 and I haven't regretted a thing. Although I haven't had the opportunity to ride a 4 cyl. sport bike, I'm plenty satisfied with my throaty twin. Plenty of pickup, great highway ride, and, most importantly, the chicks love it, too! I've done all the maintenance myself - oil changes are a cinch without pesky lower fairings - and I have had no problems with her at all. I've only done a few minor cosmetic mods (undertail cowl, seat cowl, converted front turn signals into dual filament running lights) but I'm looking to maybe switch to a performance exhaust. I suppose my only problem with the bike is the loss of power at high altitudes since the bike isn't fuel injected. (glad they switched in '03) I recently moved from Philadelphia to Colorado and I definitely noticed a slight loss of power. BOTTOM LINE: There's a reason that every dealer employee AND motorcycle magazine writer owns an SV. Find a great deal on a used 2000/2001/2002 SV650/SV650s?? DO IT!
- Jay D., Boulder, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-16 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first sportsbike I have owned. As I rode it off the lot, I knew it was a keeper. Has a lot of low-end torque that I like. I don't like the stock exhaust. Bad can, and could have been placed higher up under the seat. I love the Metzeler tires that came with it, but I replaced them with 207's... bad idea. The originals seems nice and sticky in the corners compared to the 207's, but that's a different review. The front suspension seems a bit soft, but the back is very nice. I don't like the long trips on it as much, perhaps it's my body build, but they get uncomfortable after a few hours of straight travel. Corners very well. From a passenger's point of view: It's not meant for passengers over 120lbs, for long distance. Quite uncomfortable. Seems a bit unstable in corners. The overall: engine is great, but the body was built a bit cheap. Suzuki went to the extreme to make this thing light, but I'd prefer it heavier, if it gave it more stability. I'd definately recommend this bike to newbies, but to more experienced riders, cross this off your list, unless you just want transportation to and from work. I am going for the Honda Interceptor, or Suz. Busa in a few years. I love performance, and the SV's get's old fast, as it is very easy to master. Safe Riding.
- Mathew Ryan, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-13 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put on just under 1000 miles now and loved every single one.Suzuki cheaped out on some parts but for the price it cant be beat. Loads of aftermarket goodies keep you on top of the everchanging world of motorcycling.The exhaust,rear fender and those goofy stickers all need to go though. I would recommend this bike to anyone of any skill level because unlike the supersports, this bike is built for the road. It has a more usable powerband on state roads and can also hold its own on the track.How much of an R1 can you realistically use on a road? I bet its way less than the usable abilities of the SVS!
- Phil, Butler, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-23 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've read the few negative reviews of this bike. The key word is FEW! I have just brought home a new 2001 Red SV650s. I am 6'0" 220 lbs. This is NOT a small cramped bike. If you're looking for a V-Max or a Hayabusa, this is a small bike. But a Ford Excursion is must larger than an Explorer. But they are both comfortable and capable. The same is true with the SVS. I have a riding buddy who rode the bike home for me the day I bought it. (no M endorsement on my license the day I bought it). He's 6'3" and has owned a Yamaha V-Max and now a Honda VFR-750. His first impression after riding the SVS was, "You could ride this thing to Florida in a day!" We live in NC. Florida would be about a 500-600 mile trip. That told me everything I needed to know. Here is a guy who rides a 460 pound Honda. This guy rode a 600 pound Yamaha V-Max for years and he's telling me this 400 pound SVS could take him 500 miles a day comfortably. What more could you ask for in a $6000 gorgeous bike that becomes an extension of your body when you cruise or hit the twisties. No problem with the suspension being to soft either. The bike performs and gives you comfort at the same time, and for me personally, I can't feel the trade-offs. Suzuki has a winner here. My personal riding opinion of the bike, "How could it get any better?". I am 44 and haven't ridden in 22 years. I rode a Honda 250 dirt bike and a Mid seventies Kawasaki 500 until I was around 20. This is the first and only bike I have ridden since then, and I have no reason to look anymore. I know this is a keeper, and it is going to be my long term ride! No sore wrists, no cramps in my back or legs. No small bike feeling. Nothing but pure V-twin FUN in a great package!! This is one opinion of a SVS rider and it's mine, but that's why you're reading. It is a fun, comfortable and much more than capable bike! Squeeze the tank with your knees, lay down a little and go for it (only if you're experienced though!!) and you can just think where you want to go and the SVS will take you there, or assume your basic upright standard position and cruise in comfort, style and real joy!! You won't go wrong if you decide on a SVS!! Hope I see ya on your SVS!! If you see a red one, it may be me. Wave :-) Mark
- MCFlopper, Creedmoor, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-18 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With the popularity of sports bikes in the UK, this bike seems to have a bit of a reputation for being a bit of a girls bike. Partly because of the lower seat height. I'm a male rider and I did notice a lot of 'birds' riding this bike! Anyway, the bike handles real good. Its very light and flickable. Able to dart in and out of traffic easily. I mounted a carbon can onto mine - the sound justified the means. Only thing is it developed a couple of flat spots with it so probably required so jet attention as well. I also noticed that this bike runs like below power in the cold and wet. Something it didn't do when it was new. Not sure why, and I've had one incident where it just came to a halt in cold, wet windy conditions, only to start up again after a few seconds. Carb Icing? In performance terms, it has to be revved to stay up with the 'super sports' i.e. CBRs Ninjas R6s. But forget trying to keep up with these on the straights. 125mph was the best I got out of it. The lack of lower fairing means riding through winter here has considerably corroded the brightwork. And the bolt on lower - doesn't quite look right. Now, its goodbye SV and V-Twins as I've just bought a Ninja ZX-6R.
- PM, LONDON, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-14 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is in response to the rider who wrote about 1 cylinder cutting out when riding in the rain. As you can see from my city (I actually live 45 min north of Seattle), we get a LOT of rain here. I haven't experienced the problems the reviewer described. Perhaps he got a lemon, but my 01 SV650S (blue) has had ZERO problems of any type. GREAT BIKE, highly recommend it! SF
- SF, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-13 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Your brain is on overload from the andrenaline rush and your heart is pounding from the amount of blood being pumped. I invite all American sport bike riders to come to Vancouver and ride the Sea-to-Sky highway to Whistler. Oh and get ready to get blown away by a 2001 SV650S in 40km twisties. I don't need to say anymore about this bike. Cheers!
- Denis, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-12 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all I don't mind riding in the rain but don't think as an enthusiast you will never get caught in the rain. The SV has problems there. I have found the bike to be running on one cylinder due to the water being thrown onto the spark plug and shorting it out. Who ever designed this one needs to hit the chalk board again. Kaw EX500 smokes this bike any day and many more. Very cheap built bike. To mushy, lots of dead spots in acceleration and braking is weak.
- Tanner, Macon, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-10 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for about three weeks now and I already have a little over five hundred mile on it. I looked at a lot of bikes before making my big purchase, I found this bike to be the best bang for the buck. It does everything well; city streets, canyon roads, and freeways. If you're looking for an all around bike that looks awesome I suggest you take a good look at the SVS. Keep on ridin!!
- Aldo Esquivel, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-16 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've now had an SVS for several months, and am about to go in for the 4000-mi service. Previously, I'd never owned a bike, and only ridden maybe 200 miles on a Bandit 400 (ouch!). But this bike has done everything I've ever asked of it, and never complained. It's light, it handles like a dream, and unlike the 4 cylinder superbikes, you don't need to be revving at 8000+ to make power. This bike is surprisingly easy to ride, but isn't big enough for me to grow out of for several years. If you're up for some canyon carving (the Santa Cruz mountains are phenomenal), this bike is for you. But, unfortunately I have to give the bike four stars. They made some sacrifices to keep the costs low, and for serious cornering, you're probably going to need some mods. Power is fine on this bike, but the suspension needs a little tuning. Recommended- New springs and heavier fork oil up front (sure, it's not adjustable, but it'll stiffen it up, can be done for $300 incl labor), and I've heard the rear shock could use an upgrade. But if you're not going to be a racer, you can probably find a stock GSX-R750 rear shock on e-bay pretty cheap, and it'll give you all the adjustments you want. The suspension is great on this bike, and it corners extremely well, but to really have the confidence when pushing hard, it needs a little work. Last, I can't say it's the most comfortable bike for me. But that's me, at 6'5" and 240 lbs... Everyone else I've met doesn't have that much of a problem. And if you're in the Northern California area, check out www.norcalsvriders.com.
- Brad, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-05 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The name is Patrick Ash. I just turned 16 on May 7. I have always been in love with motorcycles. I learned how to ride off my dad's Yamaha V Star 1100. Yes what a comfortable bike but it wasn't for me. When the SVS came to America, I was determined to purchase one. I am now a very proud owner of my new Suzuki SV 650s (blue). I have had it for 5 months and have put over 7k miles on it!!! I compare this to the new Katana, and the sound of the SV just puts chills through my bike. Even though it still has the custom pipe on it, the low rumbling twin is absolutely awesome! The only problem? INSURANCE with the naked sportbike, it runs me about $1350 a year. Other than that, I absolutely love the bike. I hope to upgrade to its big brother the TL1000. Until then, I will hope to upgrade the SV. After purchasing the Rear Tire (Dunlop 207) I hope to purchase a TBR slip on for the SV to really make its attitude stand out. I love talking about bikes, so if you have aol, please chat with me Suzuki rydr650s. Also if you are around Kentucky, let's ride! THANK YOU SUZUKI!!!
- Patrick Ash, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-10 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love this bike! I just took it in for the 15,000 valve adjustment. Not a single valve tight or loose. This bike is flawless as far as I am concerned now! I still miss the clutchless wheelies of my TLS, but not enough to give this bike up. Not a thing as gone wrong; tires, and oil&filter.
- Matt, Vermilion ,Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-23 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
the break the mold svs (why its not the tLs?) is the answer we need for the cookie cutter 600s. its powerful enough to wheelie 1st or 2nd gear (up to 85mph) stoppie all day and canyon carve. i dont know about giving my wife a 3.3sec to 60-o a 11.90- down the quarter machine but its not a top class 600-thats what makes this bike great-its cheap cause of the front suspension-no preload or rebound dampening or inverted forks but blows the ducati away!!!!!
- Geist, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-18 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many bikes over the years.(76 VFR, 78 BMW K75S, 91 VFR, 96 VFR, 98 VTR1000) This has got to be the screaming deal of the year! This bike is more comfortable than all of the bikes listed above, even for a passenger! It handles as well, and rides better than all the above as well. The acceleration is all you can use in New England, and the soft suspension handles our potholes well. The build quality is great, for the price, and good over all. The passenger grab handle, gas tank prop rod, and inexpensive fairings (don't ask...) are great extras that don't come on hardly anything sporty anymore. Wish list: make it a 750, with a slight suspension upgrade, and keep the price below $6500. It would be the bargain of the decade then-then again, it already is!
- Mark Trimmer, Warwick, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-03 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The disaster review is a mystery. I've been riding since 1948 and have sampled many cycles over most of the country east of the rockies. A sample of bikes ridden include Gold Star, Black Shadow, Square 4, Gold Wing, Harley, VFR, Norton, BMW, ETC. Past responsibilities have includes being an MSF instructor and accident investigator. Recently I acquired a SV650S, and sold my VFR (a technical tour de force and usually cited as arguably the best all rounder the world over for the past few years). To my knowledge, the SV650S is the most desirable all rounder. It`s fast, very comfortable, its handling for street use is the yardstick for other manufacturers to emulate. I`m 5ft 9in and 200lb stripped, and in good shape for 68 years young. My observations agree with magazine reviews.
- John P Zook, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-30 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took a SV650S on a 30-minute demo ride when I was attending the Honda Hoot in Knoxville, TN. I also demoed 3 other bikes the same day: Ducati Monster 600, Kawasaki ZX7, and a Triumph TT600. I was confident that the SV650S was going to be my next bike (my current bike is a Suzuki GS500, so I was loyal to Suzuki.) And I loved the new half-fairing. But after the demo ride, I no longer am considering this bike. There were more negative issues I had with this bike than positives. The ergonomics for me were horrible. I'm 5'3", so I thought this bike would be OK, but not so. The tank is too wide and slippery. My wrists started to ache half way through the ride, and I began to wonder when the ride was going to end. I could not support myself with my knees and legs, in order to take weight off of my hands, because the tank was too slippery. I had an issue with the shift lever. Many times I did not get good feedback and couldn't tell if the lever did shift up OR down. And where was the V-twin grunt that the Monster 600 had? The stock exhaust sounded wimpy to me. Power and acceleration didn't impress me as being better than the Monster 600.Brakes were OK, and handling seemed to be good. Although unfortunately I couldn't experience this very much because of the lack of twisties over the route. After this ride and talking to another fellow rider at the Triumph tent, he was surprised that I didn't like the SV. He thought it would be a GS rider's dream. Too bad it was more like a nightmare for me!
- Pam, Bethel, Ohio. USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-21 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I will have to say that Suzuki did an excellent job on the 2001 SVS. I have had mine for about two months and have put over 3000 miles on it. I have no complaints at all about this bike. The torque from the 90-degree V-Twin is great. The note from the stock exhaust sounds great. I think I will have this bike for awhile, because this bike has everything I need. Its sitting position is not too high and not too low, it's just right. A very sporty bike and comfortable too. I would highly recommend it.
- Shane, Clarksville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-20 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the SVS about 3 days ago. I was extremely impressed with the torque and the powerband that this bike has to offer. I have already put over 450 miles on it. It could use a little more top end for those California highways, but I am not complaining. This is a great all around bike. It handles very well, and has plenty of power.
- Eric, W.C.H. Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-11 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an all-around great bike. I actually bought this bike for my wife but I find I spend a great deal of time on it myself. This was her first bike but I have been riding for over 10 years. It satisfies both of us! Her, because it is forgiving for a beginning rider but has power when you want it. Him, it handles great and has very good power above 7k rpm's, very flickable and responsive. If you are looking for a bike with huge balls this is not the bike, but if you are looking for a bike that is comfortable, fun and has the personality, this is it.
- Guido, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: