Suzuki Sport Bikes Reviews on Cycle Insider (127)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Sport Bikes Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2016-05-03 2001 Suzuki GSF1200 Bandit 1200S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is May, 2016. I just picked up a used Bandit 1200S. 7K miles for $2,900 at a Yamaha dealer. Completely gone through and stock but for a slip-on. I'm loving it. Real presence. Big, light and powerful. I'm just getting back to metrics from Harleys. Why spend more?
- Jamo, Twin Lakes, WI

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-24 2001 Suzuki DR-Z400 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding since I was a kid and have owned too many bikes over the years and I have to say that Suzuki is a quality product. I recently purchased this bike and instantly fell in love with it. I was looking for a dual sport that would favor dirt riding more than street but be able to get to the trails without a problem. The DR-Z400E fits the bill. The previous owner outfitted this machine with everything that I could ever want which makes it an amazing desert bike but at a low cost. I will keep this one for a long time.
- Ken, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-18 2001 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a first time rider and bought this bike back in April. I can't explain the way this bike acts and feels. It's light weight, has good looks and power. Granted, it's not a wheelie machine but it will hold its own with style. The bike is also very forgiving as long as the mistake isn't monumental. I would recommend this bike to anyone who is looking for a starter bike or a good ride.
- Mike R. Tata, New Boston , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-07 2001 Suzuki Katana 750 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used on Friday the 13th of July '07. It's my first bike and I couldn't ask for better. Great handling, awesome comfort, and it's awesome for carrying passengers. It's plenty if you're trying to show off, and it gets plenty of looks from the women. I've laid this bike over due to gravel on a curve. When I stood it up, it cranked up like nothing ever happened. I couldn't be happier, and I plan on fixing her up as soon as I save up. If you're a first timer, this bike has outstanding power, so take it easy until you get used to it. Ride hard and ride safe folks.
- Jahn Colson, Cat Spring, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-17 2001 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I BOUGHT THE BIKE OUT OF CRATE NEW IN 2002 AS A LEFT OVER. IT WAS CHEAP, FAST, AND FUN. THE SPEEDING TICKETS HOWEVER WEREN'T. I GOT HIT DOING 95 IN A 45, 72 IN A 45, AND 68 IN A 20 ON THIS DAMN THING!!! THEY ARE JUST SO FUN, THAT YOU FORGET TO PAY ATTENTION TO SPEED SIGNS. NEEDLESS TO SAY, I WAS INVOLVED IN A SITUATION WHERE I HAD TO LAY THE BIKE DOWN OR HIT A PICK UP TRUCK AT 56 MPH WITH NO HELMET. SO I DID AND TO MY SURPRISE, THE DAMAGE WAS MINIMAL!!! ONLY A BROKEN TACH, AND TURN SIGNAL, ALONG WITH A DENT AND SCRATCHED. THE BIKE WAS PICKED UP AND RODE HOME WITH NO REAL DAMAGE TO SPEAK OF. THANKS TO THE FINE ENGINEERS AT SUZUKI, THEY BUILT A BIKE THAT IS SIMILAR TO A TIMEX WATCH. TAKES A LICKIN AND KEEPS ON TICKIN!
- josh adamson, marion, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-22 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2001 SV650S was my very first bike. I found it extremely easy to learn on because it was easy to handle and very forgiving. For a beginning rider, the power was just enough for me to be comfortable. One of the main reasons I purchased this bike was the low price. The price can not be beat. The only down sides to the bike for me were the fact that there was no lower fairing which is not a look I prefer. Lowers can be purchased but they are very hard to find and expensive. My wrists and hands began to hurt after riding for about 30 minutes and the seat is also not the most comfortable if your are riding more than short distances. Definitely not a long distance bike comfort wise. I outgrew this bike quickly, but would definitely recommend it to someone riding for the first time.
- Jeri , Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-11 2001 Suzuki TL1000S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned the TL for 1 riding season and I can't see myself getting rid of it anytime soon. I previously owned an 89' CBR and this bike is in a different galaxy. Endless speed, clutchless wheelies, fun and CHARACTER!!! These bike are not a dime a dozen like your typical sportbikes that are around and the TL has that sound! Only negative is the handling on the bike can sometime be a little nervous but all in all it does what you want it too. The bike is bullet proof reliable too. If you can get your hands on a late model TL DO NOT pass it up and forget the negative reviews.
- Pete, frederick, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-06 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my SV for about 2 years now. I bought it from my brother for a steal with 6000 miles on it. I ride it year round, except when it is raining or snowing. I have had the spark short on the front cylinder before, but after some research, found that the drain hole usually is plugged, which allows the spark plug well to drain (it is on the right side of the front cylinder). After clearing it out, the problem hasn't returned. I commute about 60-70 miles a day on my SV to and from school and all of the little errands I run throughout the day. I put some Nelson-Rigg saddlebags on it about a year ago, and they really help with cargo carrying. The only (minor) complaints I have are a lack of power above 95MPH (only used when passing multiple vehicles) and how my wrists carry most of the weight (they get sore after about an hour of riding), however, some convertibars should fix this. Lastly, since it is a CA bike, it runs extremely lean, resulting in some bucking at inopportune times. This will be fixed soon with a rejet. Overall, one of the best bikes out there, especially when you factor in the price.
- Jack Bobaganoosh, Moore, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-19 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After moving 35 miles away from where I work, I thought about buying a motorcycle. The last bike I owned was a Suzuki RM370, a dirt bike which I sold 18 years ago, so it's been a long time. I was definitely nervous about riding on the street. I took the DMV safety course first and got my License. Good Idea. I did a lot of research on different bikes and ended undecided on two, Sv650s and the Yamaha fz6. I was ready to buy a new bike but found a 2001 SV650s for 3500 less. The bike is incredible! My commute is all highway, it just purrs at 70-80 mph only 6000rpm in 5th gear it is really easy to ride, I do find my hand gets buzzy after 35 minutes but the reliability and performance at this price is unmatched. I now commute with a smile on my face the whole way and don't want to stop. Bottom line is: if you're not sure which bike to get and the SV650s is one of your choices - just do it!
- Dave, La Selva Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-10 2001 Suzuki Bandit 600S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought My 2001 600s with 600 miles on it.Despite the handlebar buzz, I really like this bike. Between 8000-12000 rpm it really hits warp speed. I was originally looking for a Suzuki SV650s, but after riding both bikes, I feel they have about the same performance despite the Bandit's weight disadvantage. I live in the smokey mtns and I've had it going 120mph up a 5% grade still gaining speed. My guess is about 135mph tops on level roads. Very quick too.
- Elvis Parks, Franklin, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-25 2001 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
this is the first street bike I've ever owned. I've been riding dirtbikes in the woods of Colorado my whole life. Even though I have nothing to compare with, I ride with many friends and I have yet to ride a bike that I've felt as comfortable, awed, and even safe on. The brakes, handling and amazing response is still unbeleivable to me after two and a half years. It truely is a dream bike.
- jb, denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-13 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2001 Katana 600 for about 2 years now and I still love it. I've put on roughly 6000 miles and never had any problems with it. The only real thing that I can complain about is the weight. I wish it was a little lighter as it's a hoss when full of gas (close to 500lbs). Other than that, it gets great gas mileage, is very comfortable, and has a rock-solid engine. Great first bike!
- Shawn Dennis, Bangor, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-09 2001 Suzuki DR-Z400S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own an '01 DRZ400S and I love it. On road and off it is awesome. I mostly like it because it is light enough to go off road with it and have no problems (you might need a pair of dirt tires, handles much better). I have mine all upgraded and off road I have to hold on tight. For anyone who needs a dual sport this is the one.
- Matt Glenn, Sarasota, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-06 2001 Suzuki Katana 750 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike because of its unique style and comfort. Although it is not a high performance sport bike, it gets the job done. It will keep up with the pack if it needs to, and you will be more comfortable while doing so. It handles great, but is a little less likely to get you around a corner as fast as the others. The weight is an issue and it has a lot to do with the fact that it still has a steel frame. Because it is so heavy, stopping at a light can be a little hairy, but you quickly get used to it. The biggest problem that I have with it is its sensitivity to the heat. High traffic areas are hard on the bike when the weather is warm. As far as sport bikes are concerned, this is the best for carrying a passenger. The seat is comfortable for rider and passenger. Aftermarket customizing parts are limited, but there a lot of Katana forum sites where you can see the mods that others have done even purchase some rather un-findable parts. If this is your first motorcycle purchase, I definitely recommend a Katana 750.
- Joe Wood, Sparr, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-03 2001 Suzuki Bandit 600S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Bandit since May of '03 and just love it. I've been to Deals Gap and ate up the curves, Tennessee Mountains, and just around Northwest Georgia. I have a little over 19,000 miles on it and I'm still enjoying it any chance I get.
- Nathan Sumner, Villa Rica, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-20 2001 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a fairly new rider who just traded in my starter bike. I stepped up to a red 2001 SV650. It is a crackin' bike! I was amazed at how much easier it handles in comparison to my old cruiser. The SV650 is light, fast and agile. It accelerates much more quickly than I could ever imagine and cruises easily at 60 mph in 2nd gear. This bike has a one finger braking system and will stop on a dime. I thought about buying a Ducati 620 Monster, but the SV650 is a better value by far. It's less costly to service and definitely can challenge the Ducati in performance. The new SV650's are a little taller than the orignals, but at a 30' inseam, the 2000-2003 SV650's are a great fit. Regardless of whether you buy new or used, or whether you are a novice or experienced rider, you will love this bike!
- N. Reeves, Monmouth, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-14 2001 Suzuki DR-Z400S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike new in 2001 and though I haven't put that many miles on it, I've enjoyed it a lot. It's really a great all around choice for riders. With the Drz-400S I can ride anywhere, anytime of the year. It's fun on roads but too light for the freeway. It's fun in the dirt but is too heavy for serious dirt racing. If you plan on riding mostly street the stock Bridgestones are okay tires, BUT if you plan on riding much dirt GET RID OF THEM! They'll mess you and your bike all up. I went to DOT Kenda trakmaster II's after going down twice, much better now. don't expect to be able to throw this bike around like a KDX 200 either, it's heavy, as a dirt bike at over 300lbs with a tank of gas it's NOT the bike to take to the supercross track but it performs well as a trail bike. This bike has lots of power and torque. I can climb some really steep hills from a standing stop at the bottom. The DRZ-400S is a great ALL-AROUND bike but it's not a great dirt bike or a great street bike. It does what it does pretty well and is probably the best four-stoke street legal Enduro. What can I say about the magic button (electric start)? It saved me several times from some bad situations. Would i recommend buying a "S"? Simply, yes.
- BobK, Murrieta, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-03 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In my opinion the Katana is a great bike. I have a 2001. Most people say that it sucks but I think that reputation comes from the older models compared to the newer bikes on the market. I will say one thing, most of riding is the rider not the equipment. Most of the guys that run 750's or liter bikes out-run me on the straights but when the road gets twisty I pick them off like grapes on a vine. It's easy, they have so much power and tight suspension that the bike really scares itself out of the corners. The Katana has less power and therfore doesn't upset the balance when you roll the throttle. Other than that, it has a lot of body work to be dolled up like the Busa and it is a lot more comfortable to ride as well. You have to pick and search the after market like an already harvested field, but you can pick up quite a bit if you know where to look and who to ask. I thought I was going to buy this bike and trade it in because I got such a great deal on it, but it grew on me very quickly. It's been fun fixing it up and looking pretty while I'm carving out superbikes on the back roads.
- jimmy adams , pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-05 2001 Suzuki Katana 750 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The more you ride this bike the more you will love it. Performance.. at 140 mph it is smooth as silk, still got more. Honestly if you need more speed, you get on a track you have no reason to be on the road. Comfort.. ride it for hours and have no problem. I have read it is heavy and underpowered. It can be a tad on the heavy side. Power is there even at 5700 ft above sea level. Bottom line is this bike does everything I could ask for, even more. You might be able to buy a better bike, but for the price you won't. Everything you could ask for: reliability, performance, comfort and killer good looks.
- Randy, Rifle, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-14 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello to all of my Katana friends worldwide. The Katana is no gixxer by any means, but by investing a few dollars, you too can have a bike that you will be proud of. So far since my purchase in February of 2004, I have installed a D&D slip on, graphics kits, shaved the clutch and front brake levers, replaced the front and back sprockets, new racing chain, blackend out the windscreen, added decals, replaced stock tire with Battlax 190/50 r17. Top end speed is really great now compared to what it was. I later planning on replacing the carbs with 40mm versus jetting and k&n filters. If you want super sound from a Katana, go with the D&D slip. All the gixxer boys will say "It sounds great" without hesitation.
- J Wood, Raleigh, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-13 2001 Suzuki Bandit 600S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a 2001 gsf 600 Bandit with 4k miles in mint condition. I have not rode for about 20 years (I'm 46)and felt that this was a deal that I couldn't pass up. Well 2000mi later I feel that I made the right choice (I was also considering a Honda Nighthawk 750). After the first 100mi riding this bike I began to appreciate what a well kept secret that this bike is. It is comfortable, handles great, and has enough power to get you out of trouble if needed. I commute to work quite often on this bike, and have no problems cruising at 75 mph.The engine is tried and true and should remain reliable for many more miles to come. I would highly recommend buying this model if what you are looking for is reliability, low insurance, great handling, comfort, and what I feel is more than adequate power (unless you like doing 160 on a regular basis)
- Old Fart, Gaithersburg, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-26 2001 Suzuki Katana 600 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's sad that grown men pass over this bike because of peer pressure from their fellow squids. This bike has ample power. I've gotten it to 120mph with plenty of throttle room left. It really should be classified as a sport tourer. The riding position is amazingly comfortable for 2 up riding. The ride can be a little buzzy, but overall, it's a great ride. It also has a fuel gauge, and you've got to like that! The only thing I don't like about this bike is the weight. It's a pig at 458lbs. It's also too quiet for me, but a Muzzy will fix that! The only people who dislike this bike are self-conscience squids and those who've never ridden it. If you're looking for a comfortable durable bike with adequate power, then this is the bike for you. If you're looking to impress your fellow man, then look elsewhere. Sadly, I've gotten MANY compliments from GSX-R & R6 riders when their "friends" weren't looking.
- Simon, Doraville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-18 2001 Suzuki SV650S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased a used 2001 SV650S as my first streetbike. The only other bike I have owned was a Honda CR125 so this was a big jump. I haven't ridden any other streetbikes so I admittedly don't have much to compare it to. The weight factor was what clinched it for me in comparison to the Katana 600. The handling was much more nimble than I expected and rolling it around the driveway is much easier than trying to roll a 460 LB. Katana anywhere other than down a hill. I would like to get a slip-on because the stock pipe doesn't create the most impressive sound. 1st gear isn't as meaty as I thought it would be but I certainly like 2nd and 3rd. My wrists get a little achy when riding for more than 40 minutes or so but I'm still a little tense when riding so I anticipate some improvement in that department. The stock seat isn't the best but then again, if you want a road couch, get a Goldwing. Overall, I really like it and as someone who bought this as a first streetbike I like the handling, weight, LOVE the styling and there is certainly enough engine to get you in trouble. P.S. Let's pray that Suzuki won't continue the styling of the new SVS. I swear it looks like a wasp. Happy riding everyone.
- David Gibson, Granbury, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-12 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wanted a big cruiser to do some road traveling. Looked forever, it's really strange because every review I see says the same thing "when I sat on it I knew". It's true. It handles, for a 1500cc bike, like a dream. The under the seat gas tank may be a bit small but the weight dispersion really helps the control. Have gotten the typical feedback from the Harley guys but after talking with them about, looks, price and comfort, power and dependability. They don't have much else to say. I also like to tell them that their front end came from Japan and don't a lot of the Harley guys wore German helmets? Just having a little fun because to me it really is all about the ride. To finish up as one reviewer said, "the Intruder seems to be a truly well kept secret".
- Jim , Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-11 2001 Suzuki Intruder LCVL 1500 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is number 38 for me, the 1500 intruder is not as smooth as the bike it replaces the 1500 Drifter the LC has more vibrations at highway speeds also the transmission is a little clunky; however I have had no problems with it. The LC fits me better than the Drifter probably because I am 6'-3" the LC also handles a lot better than the Drifter. Overall I would buy this bike again.
- Larry Skipton, Garden City, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: