Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles Reviews (23)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-04-19 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have owned My 2004 T100 for about a year and have really enjoyed the experience so far. It makes for a great commuter bike, very light and easy to zip through the city traffic. Once on the open road it can feel a little sluggish especially carrying a pillion. The suspension is its worst feature; even on its max setting 2 up is like riding a pogo stick unless you're on very smooth roads. No mods as yet. (Except Triumph King/Queen Seat, very good) Plan on fitting off road mufflers (not sure which ones) and re-jetting, new shocks (a bit annoying on a new bike), stiffer fork springs. Or might just swap for a BMW Rockster :o).
- Andy C, Sydney, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-05 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Noted many reviewers changing their '01's with louder exhaust, different seats, etc., but I love my Bonnie just as it is. I'm one of those few over-40 types who actually hate the blaring exhaust on HD's and their clones. Sadly enough, my Bonnie is starting to get a little louder with age and I'm looking to pick up a new set of those stock pipes many others are getting rid of. I know when most of these reviews were written the Bonneville America wasn't available, and I hope the HD-type bike lovers will have reason to rejoice. I love a great, somewhat quieter, "straight" motorcycle (like the old CB750's, etc) and this Bonnie...stock...is wonderful.
- Scott Wally, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-29 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. Had wanted one for years but due to a ton of reasons never got one. Very glad I opted for the Bonnie over the sportster as it just seems to be something out of the ordinary around here (much like myself). No major problems that weren't handled quickly by the shop at the Triumph dealership. Great handling, fun to ride and strikes up a conversation everywhere I go. Never even made it home after first buying it before getting into a conversation on Triumph's history with a long time rider. Since this is my first bike I am still learning alot but commuting about 40 miles each way to work and home. Great stability, excellent handling, and plenty of power (well for me anyway). In this time of high gas prices I am loving the 46-48 mpg I am getting on the highway. 7800 miles and running strong!!
- CD Workman, Gibson, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-23 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Major buying market seems to be the 40-60s males, who had or REALLY wanted one in the past. This Bonnie doesn't leak, always starts and has a visual panache/X-factor that few bikes currently have. You better not mind talking to enthusiastic strangers if you buy this bike. A 'modern' 360deg. air/oil cooled, vertical twin, 790 cc, 4-vlv/cyl, dual o/h cams gives good speed and the handling is Triumph light and very sure footed. An ample, growing after-market accessories supply is emerging to cater to those of us who can't leave 'em alone. Like a number of other owners, I've picked up another 10HP at the rear wheel, through simple re-jetting and relieving the intake/exhaust flow characteristics. A secondary benefit to this tuning benefit to me is the sound. It now sounds like a Triumph, rather than the simpering, EPA wallflowers that most manufacturers are forced to produce. Most of the older Harley crowd at any bike gathering knows exactly what's coming to visit, before they even see her. Even though she's technically a 450# street bike, I cruise her a lot. I wouldn't have any other bikefor me, perfect.
- Bill Hart, Newport News, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-09-10 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had the Bonnie from new, one year old now. Agree with all the comments about the hard seat and the carb problems with loud pipes. Dealer has fixed the latter. Certainly does get lots of attention and fools quite a few people into thinking it's an old one.
- klbiker, Kings Langley, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-14 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently had the privilege of taking a 2001 bonneville for a test ride. The bike handles well when riding on old country roads with many twist and turns. Acceleration is quick and smooth, but I was disappointed in the noise(whirring-whine) that was being emmitted by the engine-transmission at all speeds. Also noticed when in first gear at low speeds there is a chattering type noise. I would love to buy this bike but concerned about the noises.
- tech7, west chester, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-04 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
well lets start by saying ...now i am pleased with my bike ...but this was after 2 months of fuedin with my dealer ..first lets say i am not new too bikin or motor buildin ..i currently have my baby .my dad's 67 Trophy i restored to original + my hand built HD ..but my local mechanic told me it was normal for my pipes to blue down past the second turn ..?? ..after 25 miles ??...well it turns out ..that the factory had too long of intake bolts ...causing an air leak ..well after a lot of back an forth ...they finally corrected the prob ...also did the recall on the clutch ..an NOW ! finally the bike is what i expected when i bought it ...Snappy and quick with the Triumph after market exhaust and new jets ..so to anyone havin a prob or mixed feelins ..bike was a new design an they are fixin all the probs ...soo HAPPY RIDIN !!!!!!!
- T. Boom, Grampian , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-05 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have 3,500 miles on mine with no oil leaks or problems.I'm excepted by most Harley riders at local bike events since they hover over it every gathering I go to.I think it needs about 100 cc's more displacement and 20 more ponies'highway pegs,corbin seat,better shocks,sport shield,farther back handlebars ,then you will have the best middle weight that will take you for a tour or a quick ride around town in comfort.
- Tommy Pro, Mercer, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-22 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchassed a 2002 Bonnie and had it modified with performance silencers,tachometer kit and rear grab bar. Although I'm still breaking it in here are my initial observations from a rider who had been away from motorcycling for many years,but, had raced in sportsman and pro class back in the 70's. This bike is all about simple pleasures. It is not blazing fast nor stop on a dime nimble. Neither is it particularly well suited for long rides on the interstate at speed. However, if your requirements,like mine, are for some back road gallops and around town commuting then this bike will take you there and back while keeping your face in a constant grin. I have had none of the clutch problems that affected earlier 2001 models and so far no leaks,rattles or peeling chrome. I have instead a simple unpretentious bike that is tons of fun to ride and good looking as well. I've owned dozens of bikes over the years including a few old British singles and twins. The new Bonnie is a nice refinement of those old classics.
- rider, Jackson, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-18 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Bonnie June 01, and I've appreciated it's overall riding characteristics. I rode a Yamaha 650 for years, and wanted a modern (large) vertical twin. I love the spirited handling (I ride with Rocket Boys mostly), the power, and my constant thank you's to all those people with their thumbs up. I have 9,500 miles on it, and I have no aversion to taking it on dry logging roads or wet pavement. I ride when many dare not. Pretty neat. I have had warranty repairs (e.g. clutch chatter in 1st gear, and a leaking oil banjo), but the dealer repaired and replaced as necessary. The RAT Pack I belong to is active, and a spirited bunch of serious riders - male and female.
- Mike Berg, Olympia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-19 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 40 years of having a bike license this is the first brand new bike I have purchased, thanks to my Wife, Terri, who insisted on me buying it, even though she rides a Honda 400 Super Four (1996). No regrets, but I too had the problem with the chrome on the 'timing cover' but sorted out under warranty. I also had a leak from the front brake fluid reservoir, due to a faulty diaphram, again sorted under warranty. I bought this in March 01 from Clay Cross Powersports in Derbyshire, England. (don't know if there is any connection with this company?) Although I have only done 2500 miles on it so far, I absolutely love the bike, which is perfect for the countryside near here as we live near to the English Peak District, lovely scenery, great biking roads, except for the upkeep of the surfaces, which is generally fairly crap here in England. Hope to get over to California someday to visit relatives in Tustin. Ken
- Ken Bell, Uttoxeter, Staffordshire, Great Britain (UK)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-02-12 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 01 Bonnie just rolled 14,000 miles and I'm still extremely excited about the bike. I've been riding for over 30 years and have owned many bikes that were faster, better handling, more comfortable, etc... but none more fun than the Bonnie. It looks beautiful, attracts compliments and attention everywhere, handles very well, stops adequately, and is reasonably quick & nimble. Factory warranty issues with the first run of bikes were a clutch chatter problem, some bubbled chrome, a batch of bad throttle cables and a cold starting problem. I believe the 02 models have none of these problems. I strongly recommend opting for the off-road muffler & jet kit (good for ~10 hp), removing the air injection, adding Works shocks in the rear, Race-tech gold valves & springs in the forks, EBC brake pads, a 140 section rear tire and re-jetting the carb with 120 mains and 48 pilots with 2.5 turns out on the air screws. Enjoy...
- CC Rider, Moorpark, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-03 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the Bonnie so that my sons could learn how to ride in the street without the bullet bike mentality or learning on a bike that needs to be replaced (250cc and such). I'm glad a made this decision because the Bonnie has enough brand value and old fashion good looks to keep me interested in riding it every so often. It's also light enough that it doesn't threaten a new rider. The classic looks and British brand doesn't come without some classic problems. I've had to have the clutch replaced, and a jet keeps coming lose on one of the carbs. But...it's a fun ride, and great looking.
- Steve, Tustin, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-06 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the bike since mid-March and have now covered 5000 kms. The bike is a joy to own: great looks, reliable, comfortable riding position, sufficient power and speed. The Bonneville has always been a little special and the attention this bike gets confirms this. Ride on!
- Michael Baker, Rendsburg

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-25 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok lads.. I just booked an appointment with my shop and will be bringin' in the bike for servicing. Should have it in about a couple of days. So far after talking to the gents at the shop they told me they've replaced 6 cosmetic blemishes from the flaking chrome plate. "don't worry we'll order it right now", was there reply. The clutch lumpiness in heavy traffic, they will take a look at it and see what they find. I also placed the order in for the 10hps and rumble sound it should have. I'm psyched and can't wait to hear how it sounds. I took it up to Bear Mountain this weekend and got much applauds on looks and stylin'. So am I happy, damn right! I love this bike and waited a long time for it to come out. By the way, has anyone seen the new 2002 T100, real nice. That American Bonneville, not my cup of tea. I don't think Bonnies were made to be like a cruiser, my thoughts. One more question for u folks, Is there any Triumph riders in the NYC area how own Bonnies or overall trumpets. If so give a brother a hollar over email to go ridin. Peace..
- Alskee750, NYC, New York USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-26 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have over 600 miles on my Bonnie and with the exception of one or two oil related leaks which were resolved quickly this bike is great and a joy to own. People stop me all the time to say how clean the bike looks in sheer simplicity. The bike needs no make-over of heavy chrome or custom paint jobs to compete with the Harley crowed, it has it's own mystic. It's smooth, fast and reliable I have never wanted for more power. This bike is great on the back roads as well as the highways.
- DB, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-18 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I could give this bike 5 stars . I love the bike . I've owned 2 Triumphs before A 68' and a 70' both 650cc single carb. The reason I'm holding back 2 stars is the clutch. It has not worked right since day one out of the box. Triumph identified it as a manufacturing problem, but has been unable to supply the replacement parts. The problem happens at low speed, the clutch drags causing noise and jerking. The problem is very noticeable if you get caught in stop and go bumper to bumper LIE traffic. I've had the bike 3 months and I'm still waiting for Triumph to get their act in gear and deliver my parts.
- Bill Coultas, Long Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-27 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a wonderful bike! It brings back memories of when bikes were less complicated, more beautiful, and simpler to own and ride. Compared to my 1100RT this is as nimble as a bicycle. Seemed tiny at first, but now feels just right. I added the off roads pipes/jet - an absolute must. Sounds magnificent, and adds significant oomph, and the pipes don't blue a 1/4 as much. I also added tank pads and the grab rail, which really add to the authentic look. 700 miles now, and only issue was chrome plating started to flake off part of crab rail flange - replaced no questions. Otherwise perfect mechanically. Things I'd like to see - after market shocks that look this retro, but with better dampening & adjustment, ditto fork springs. Handling is very good, but it does fall into corners slightly. Be prepared to spend a lot of time talking to other riders about this machine - it is a real head turner. This bike is a hoot to ride and own, and gorgeous enough to park in your living room.
- Fly4hire, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-13 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have 1300 miles on it. Upgraded the seat, to the king/queen version, changed the pipes and carb jets. Seems to run real good no problems except one. The right side chrome cover which has the Triumph triangle logo looks like the chrome plating is bubbling off. Took it the dealer and he said he would order another one. They said they changed factories and maybe the plating on the lot was bad. Anyway, extremely fun to ride and people sure like to bend your ear about the bike.
- Anthony Miller, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-13 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike that I ever got on for a first ride and felt as if I had ridden it forever. Everything fits and is right where it should be. I immediately bought it and left for a 400-mile round trip to Ocean City, MD. without a glitch. What I great ride (yes the seat does get a little hard after a 100 miles or so, but I've had worse. I've had six Sporsters if you know what I mean? still have one though.) And yes EVERYBODY wants to talk to you about the bike. Harley riders, non-riders, sport bike riders etc. I truly love this bike. I would sell my beloved 00' Sporster sport before I would sell my Bonnie.
- Steve Neal, Bainbridge, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-24 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
miles: 1600 (2600 kms) age: nearly 3 months modifications: offroad mufflers, tank pads average fuel consumption: 63 mpg imperial or 52.5 mpg U.S best fuel consumption: 74(63U.S mpg)at 65mph of 105 km/h easy cruise warranty problems: none yet, although some clutch/gear chatter at very slow speeds in slow traffic at first. Whether due to running in or to a clutch adjustment at the motor end (I don't know which) it seems to have gone. Performance: (fully run in and with the offroad mufflers) 400 metres in about 12.7 sec With standard pipes it's about 13.5 seconds Top speed is 115 mph (185 kph) at rev cut out. Delightful and competent handler, loads of mid range power, economical with fuel. (For me) a comfortable seat. I have done nearly 300 miles in a day and made my journey more comfortable by using the back pegs when it was safe to do so. This moves my backside 6 inches back allowing the body angle to lean forward onto the bars. At 65-70 mph the opposing wind takes the force off the arms so that it's not tiring. The offroad mufflers are a must ..... the bike is significantly quicker(adds 10 bhp) and the sound is a delight. If a standard Bonnie is 1 on the aural scale and Screamin' Eagle modified Harley a 10, then the offroad pipes make the Bonnie a 5-6. Especially nice at 4,000 revs (65mph or 100 km/h) when passing slower traffic. Be prepared to chat .... it seems nearly every 40 yrs.+ bloke has had a Bonnie,or knows someone who has, or wants one. This makes for pleasant coffee stops on trips. I hope it remains reliable but you'll hear me scream about it if not. Owners, be persistent with dealers if you have any problems because they don't know anything yet. They need to build a database if they are to fix problems quickly.
- steve crocker, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-23 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Bonneville since early January. Being from Washington we wait for a few good days before March. I have just had my 500 mile check up and oil change. The bike has plenty of torque. I have had the after market exhaust pipes put on. I like how I can just turn the throttle and the engine keeps on reving. It is very smooth. There is little to no vibration anywhere. I did not like the stock seat. I thought it was to thin. It is fun to ride and a real attention getter. I have had no problems and don't expect any.
- Mike, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-23 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Dropped the bike off Friday and picked up Saturday morning. Dealt with the owner when I got there (he was off for the past week and I think that was part of the problem, really a nice and knowledgable guy). Anyway he assured me he would make everything right, he got the chatter cleared up. Said he had to replace the clutch cable, said it had a kink in it and it was binding a bit (although it felt ok) causing the clutch not to engage/disengage properly after the cable stretched a little (at 380 miles) although it appeared within spec. Works better than ever now, rode about 120 miles this afternoon, glad it wasn't anything major. The oil leak and sticky petcock are going to be addressed next week. He has a Triumph rep stopping by and I'm going to stop down so they can take a look at it and come up with an action plan, said not to worry they will take care of it. Also told him he needs to train some of his people in the art of Customer Service and said he would talk to them and if I ever had another problem to deal with him directly. Hopefully I can add 2 more stars when these problems get cleared up to make it a "5". Ride safe.
- tbonnie2001, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: