Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycle reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.5
Performance
4.4
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

23 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Andy C

Sydney, Australia

Reviewed on 2005-04-19

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Have owned My 2004 T100 for about a year and have really enjoyed the experience so far. It makes for a great commuter bike, very light and easy to zip through the city traffic. Once on the open road it can feel a little sluggish especially carrying a pillion. The suspension is its worst feature; even on its max setting 2 up is like riding a pogo stick unless you're on very smooth roads. No mods as yet. (Except Triumph King/Queen Seat, very good) Plan on fitting off road mufflers (not sure which ones) and re-jetting, new shocks (a bit annoying on a new bike), stiffer fork springs. Or might just swap for a BMW Rockster :o).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott Wally

Denver, Colorado

Reviewed on 2004-08-05

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Noted many reviewers changing their '01's with louder exhaust, different seats, etc., but I love my Bonnie just as it is. I'm one of those few over-40 types who actually hate the blaring exhaust on HD's and their clones. Sadly enough, my Bonnie is starting to get a little louder with age and I'm looking to pick up a new set of those stock pipes many others are getting rid of. I know when most of these reviews were written the Bonneville America wasn't available, and I hope the HD-type bike lovers will have reason to rejoice. I love a great, somewhat quieter, "straight" motorcycle (like the old CB750's, etc) and this Bonnie...stock...is wonderful.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

CD Workman

Gibson, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2003-03-29

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike. Had wanted one for years but due to a ton of reasons never got one. Very glad I opted for the Bonnie over the sportster as it just seems to be something out of the ordinary around here (much like myself). No major problems that weren't handled quickly by the shop at the Triumph dealership. Great handling, fun to ride and strikes up a conversation everywhere I go. Never even made it home after first buying it before getting into a conversation on Triumph's history with a long time rider. Since this is my first bike I am still learning alot but commuting about 40 miles each way to work and home. Great stability, excellent handling, and plenty of power (well for me anyway). In this time of high gas prices I am loving the 46-48 mpg I am getting on the highway. 7800 miles and running strong!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Hart

Newport News, Virginia

Reviewed on 2003-03-23

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Major buying market seems to be the 40-60s males, who had or REALLY wanted one in the past. This Bonnie doesn't leak, always starts and has a visual panache/X-factor that few bikes currently have. You better not mind talking to enthusiastic strangers if you buy this bike. A 'modern' 360deg. air/oil cooled, vertical twin, 790 cc, 4-vlv/cyl, dual o/h cams gives good speed and the handling is Triumph light and very sure footed. An ample, growing after-market accessories supply is emerging to cater to those of us who can't leave 'em alone. Like a number of other owners, I've picked up another 10HP at the rear wheel, through simple re-jetting and relieving the intake/exhaust flow characteristics. A secondary benefit to this tuning benefit to me is the sound. It now sounds like a Triumph, rather than the simpering, EPA wallflowers that most manufacturers are forced to produce. Most of the older Harley crowd at any bike gathering knows exactly what's coming to visit, before they even see her. Even though she's technically a 450# street bike, I cruise her a lot. I wouldn't have any other bikefor me, perfect.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

klbiker

Kings Langley, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2002-09-10

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Had the Bonnie from new, one year old now. Agree with all the comments about the hard seat and the carb problems with loud pipes. Dealer has fixed the latter. Certainly does get lots of attention and fools quite a few people into thinking it's an old one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

tech7

west chester, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2002-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I recently had the privilege of taking a 2001 bonneville for a test ride. The bike handles well when riding on old country roads with many twist and turns. Acceleration is quick and smooth, but I was disappointed in the noise(whirring-whine) that was being emmitted by the engine-transmission at all speeds. Also noticed when in first gear at low speeds there is a chattering type noise. I would love to buy this bike but concerned about the noises.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

T. Boom

Grampian , Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2002-07-04

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
well lets start by saying ...now i am pleased with my bike ...but this was after 2 months of fuedin with my dealer ..first lets say i am not new too bikin or motor buildin ..i currently have my baby .my dad's 67 Trophy i restored to original + my hand built HD ..but my local mechanic told me it was normal for my pipes to blue down past the second turn ..?? ..after 25 miles ??...well it turns out ..that the factory had too long of intake bolts ...causing an air leak ..well after a lot of back an forth ...they finally corrected the prob ...also did the recall on the clutch ..an NOW ! finally the bike is what i expected when i bought it ...Snappy and quick with the Triumph after market exhaust and new jets ..so to anyone havin a prob or mixed feelins ..bike was a new design an they are fixin all the probs ...soo HAPPY RIDIN !!!!!!!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tommy Pro

Mercer, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2002-06-05

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I now have 3,500 miles on mine with no oil leaks or problems.I'm excepted by most Harley riders at local bike events since they hover over it every gathering I go to.I think it needs about 100 cc's more displacement and 20 more ponies'highway pegs,corbin seat,better shocks,sport shield,farther back handlebars ,then you will have the best middle weight that will take you for a tour or a quick ride around town in comfort.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

rider

Jackson, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2002-05-22

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently purchassed a 2002 Bonnie and had it modified with performance silencers,tachometer kit and rear grab bar. Although I'm still breaking it in here are my initial observations from a rider who had been away from motorcycling for many years,but, had raced in sportsman and pro class back in the 70's. This bike is all about simple pleasures. It is not blazing fast nor stop on a dime nimble. Neither is it particularly well suited for long rides on the interstate at speed. However, if your requirements,like mine, are for some back road gallops and around town commuting then this bike will take you there and back while keeping your face in a constant grin. I have had none of the clutch problems that affected earlier 2001 models and so far no leaks,rattles or peeling chrome. I have instead a simple unpretentious bike that is tons of fun to ride and good looking as well. I've owned dozens of bikes over the years including a few old British singles and twins. The new Bonnie is a nice refinement of those old classics.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Berg

Olympia, Washington

Reviewed on 2002-05-18

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Bonneville

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my Bonnie June 01, and I've appreciated it's overall riding characteristics. I rode a Yamaha 650 for years, and wanted a modern (large) vertical twin. I love the spirited handling (I ride with Rocket Boys mostly), the power, and my constant thank you's to all those people with their thumbs up. I have 9,500 miles on it, and I have no aversion to taking it on dry logging roads or wet pavement. I ride when many dare not. Pretty neat. I have had warranty repairs (e.g. clutch chatter in 1st gear, and a leaking oil banjo), but the dealer repaired and replaced as necessary. The RAT Pack I belong to is active, and a spirited bunch of serious riders - male and female.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 23 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: