Triumph Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (84)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Triumph Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2018-08-20 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a good, with a comfortable ride. Its suspension is a bit soft, but it only makes a difference with big bumps, or riding 2 up. It could also use a gas gauge and a clock.
- Johnobody, Central Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-08-16 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This machine is an example of good "engineering". It's 10 years old, and she is still "Going Strong"!! Thank You Thunderbird For the "Craftmanship"!!!
- Thommy, Landskrona, Sweden

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-20 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in '01 and have since put 57,000 miles on it. I've gone through 5 chains, lots of tires and a few sets of brake pads. The only problems I have had were all covered under warranty except the speedometer which stopped working after 2 1/2 years and 34,000 miles. The bike has always been reliable, fun to ride and a stronger performer. I would buy one again.
- ML, Walnut Creek, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-28 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Sprint ST is a wonderful choice. I have a 2001 model and its handling and agility are impressive; second to none in my opinion. I have been riding for twenty years and this is my favorite bike so far. The Sprint ST is a great looking bike and it sports plenty of power and speed as well. It's a bit tall for someone of my stature (5'6") but this obstacle is easily overcome with a pair of riding boots which have a generous heel. I have been very pleased with this bike; it's great for commuting to the city and has been a very dependable bike. I would highly recommend it.
- Julie, Becker, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-18 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike new. I traded a Sprint ST for it. My wife wanted a more comfortable riding position. It was a big step down in power, but much to my surprise I found I was taking turns faster. My first long ride was from LA to Tucson. When I arrived I was disappointed that the ride was over. I had done the same ride on the Sprint and didn't feel that way. I have taken the wife as far as Utah on one trip and Colorado on another. The Thunderbird is a very comfortable and capable bike. Four weeks ago I made a solo trip to Colorado. On day two of the ride back I crossed 8 passes, two of which were dirt roads and one a jeep trail. The following day I put in 920 miles. The more I ride this bike the more I love it. The only problem the bike has had was a broken speedo cable about 3 years ago. The Thunderbird is very capable in all riding conditions from Interstate to forest service roads, canyon carving or riding two up. Perhaps it is my size but I find this the most comfortable and rider friendly bike I have ever had. It is my 5th bike and probably will be my last, but that was what I thought of my BMW before it blew a tranny in Tucson, a drive shaft on I-15, and the alternator in San Diego. Last but not least it is a real show stopper. I have had more praise about the bikes looks than all the other bikes combined.
- Gary Lyons, La Quinta, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-22 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Sprint St used (2nd owner) and have owned it for over a year now. The first owner got scared, after falling over with the bike at a light when a car honked and startled him and the bike fell over. He bent the front brake handle and scratched the right fairing. I got a great deal, only $3500.00. He just wanted to get rid of it. I was not in the market for a Triumph, I was looking for a Ducati Super Sport but, I ran across this guy and just could not pass it up. Now I realize it was only fate that brought us together. I am sold on Triumph. I mainly use the bike to commute to and from work, now I can't wait to go to work just for the hour ride I have. The only draw back is that my throttle hand goes numb after an hour of riding. Small price to pay in my book to keep the smile on my face!!!
- Cooper, Gilbert, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-19 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have owned My 2004 T100 for about a year and have really enjoyed the experience so far. It makes for a great commuter bike, very light and easy to zip through the city traffic. Once on the open road it can feel a little sluggish especially carrying a pillion. The suspension is its worst feature; even on its max setting 2 up is like riding a pogo stick unless you're on very smooth roads. No mods as yet. (Except Triumph King/Queen Seat, very good) Plan on fitting off road mufflers (not sure which ones) and re-jetting, new shocks (a bit annoying on a new bike), stiffer fork springs. Or might just swap for a BMW Rockster :o).
- Andy C, Sydney, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-05 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Noted many reviewers changing their '01's with louder exhaust, different seats, etc., but I love my Bonnie just as it is. I'm one of those few over-40 types who actually hate the blaring exhaust on HD's and their clones. Sadly enough, my Bonnie is starting to get a little louder with age and I'm looking to pick up a new set of those stock pipes many others are getting rid of. I know when most of these reviews were written the Bonneville America wasn't available, and I hope the HD-type bike lovers will have reason to rejoice. I love a great, somewhat quieter, "straight" motorcycle (like the old CB750's, etc) and this Bonnie...stock...is wonderful.
- Scott Wally, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-01 2001 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this bike used 6 months ago with over 40k miles on it! runs like a champ- have been putting 100+ miles / day on it and have had no problems. Plenty of umph on the freeway and nible as can be. Only thing I would like to change is the exhaust- the stock pipes make it sound like a 50 cc!
- sethshady, san francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-02 2001 Triumph Speed Triple Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my 2001 S3 now for two years and have just started road racing it on a mountain circuit. I have owned many bikes in my life, but this one is truely a dominator. This bike will carve the turns with a knee down (or not) like a dream. The torque out of the twisties is responsive and powerful. I am running a carbon fiber high mount pipe, belly pan, bar end mirrors, fly-screen with wind-shield/guard and frame sliders as the only aftermarkets. The aftermarket low profile windshield cuts most of the windblast down at speed. Bar end mirrors help, but I have not found any truely good mirrors for this bike which gives an easy view of the sides and rear areas without comprimising the bikes "looks". Unless you can hide behind a thin tree, throw the stock mirrors away. Other than that, the bike is race or road ready out of the box and if you haven't ridden a Triple, you're missing out on a well kept secret.
- Jeremy Slaughter, Bristol, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-27 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 1st one in 2002 and liked it so much that I convinced my son to get one. He is not into cruising and wants a sport bike. Now I have 2, one is set up with bags and fairing the other stock with a little extra chrome. I love them both and can't bring myself to sell either of them. Thunderbirds are great touring bikes for twisty Mt. roads. Harleys are a dime a dozen, but if you stop with one of these t-birds everybody wants a good long look.
- Maynard Sweigard, Vero Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-03 2001 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently purchased a used '01 Tiger 955i with 8,000 miles on it. I couldn't be happier. At first, I was taken back by the bright lime green color - but I quickly got used to it and now really love it. The handling of the bike is superb. Quick steering, this bike is definitely a confidence builder. Plenty of horsies under the tank deliver the power needed for any type of riding. This bike is king on the freeway, with its 6 speed gear box cruising at a smooth 5,000 rpm and 75 mph. Braking is good, as well as the ergonomics. Quite comfortable for the long haul, yet easy on the back side in the city. I give this bike two thumbs up (and 5 stars).
- Timothy Fillpot, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-26 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE A BLACK/YELLOW 2000 MODEL. I BOUGHT IT WITH 2800 KILOMETRES ON THE CLOCK.I HAVE HAD NO TROUBLE WITH IT AT ALL EXCEPT FOR A FAULTY OIL PRESSURE LIGHT.AT 13000 K'S THE TAPPETS/VALVES NEED LOOKING AT. WITH 16 VALVES AND SHIMS ITS TOO ADVANCED FOR ME SO I WILL GE IT DONE. THE BRAKES SAVED US FROM COMING OFF AT 140KM/H WHEN A KANGAROO BOUNCED JUST AHEAD. I COULD FEEL ITS FUR. I FIND IT COMFORTABLE ON LONG TRIPS EXCEPT FOR THE PEAKY MOTOR AND GEARING.IT HAS POOR THROTTLE RESPONSE UNDER 3000 RPM AND IS ONLY REASONABLY POWERFUL UNDER 7000. HANDLING BRAKES AND FINISH ARE EXCELLENT. THE INJECTION SYSTEM AT SLOW CORNERS OR ROUNDABOUTS INHIBITS RESPONSE.IT WILL FLY THROUGH TRAFFIC. THE LIGHTS ARE PATHETIC AT NIGHT ABOVE 70KM/H.DANGEROUS.A SPOTLIGHT WOULD HELP. I CONSISTENTLY GET NEARLY 60 MPG OR 20 KILOMETRES PER LITRE AND RUN IT OMN HIGH OCTANE FUEL.WYNNS INJECTOR CLEANER NOW AND THEN HELPS SMOOTH OUT THE QUIRKY INJECTION SYSTEM I ENJOY KEEPING IT CLEAN AND I USE SILICON SPRAY FOR A SHOWROOM SHINE ON THE PLASTIC BITS AND THE FRAME.I RUN A PIRELLI TYRE ON THE BACK AND IS BETTER THAN A BRIDGESTONE ORIGINAL, GREATER STABILITY IF SLIGHTLY SLOWER DIRECTION CHANGES. I HAD NOT HAD A BIKE SINCE 1975 AND ENJOY THIS ONE. I INTEND KEEPING IT. I MAY GET A CRUISER OR BONNEVILLE TYPE AS WELL FOR LONG DISTANCE WORK AND MORE MANAGEABLE TWO UP RIDING. NOT AN ALL ROUNDER BIKE BUT NICE TO RIDE THE STREETS ON WITH THAT POWER RUMBLING BENEATH ME. EXCELLENT BIKE FULL OF TECHNOLOGY. FEELS BIT SMALL ON WHILE AT 180 TO 200 KM/H, LIKE A DART. GREAT ON ROUGH NARROW ROADS AT UP TO 140 + NEVER FEELS DANGEROUS OR PLAYS UP. THAT WILL DO SEE YOU ALL OUT THERE MAYBE.
- LARRY, PERTH, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-18 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for all who desire a sport bike.It handles like a champ and seems to have enough power to weight ratio to make any rider pleased.
- THE MAN, KNOXVILLE, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-05-04 2001 Triumph TT600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yeah, Yeah, Yeah. The engine runs hot, the fuel injection has problems, it doesn't start like it should. Guess what.. All of these problems have been fixed. At your local Triumph dealer you can get "Version 10" downloaded into your vehicle computer to fix all of your fuel injection nightmares. I just bought a 2001 TT600 with 2350 miles on it and I asked about all the up grades since production, and wouldn't ya know it, they downloaded the new software right then and there. I was amazed at the difference in software.... This little feature beats buying a high performance chip any day. I will admit the bike has a little torque problem in the early RPMs, but for the love, it red-lines at 14,000 people, USE ALL 14,000.. This stragedy will get ya to 85 in second gear. Just immagine what 6th gear brings.
- Jerod, Chanute, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-14 2001 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery of my Trophy 1200 (U.S. Specs) in late February 2001 in Germany. It seems as tough my butt has been glued to the seat ever since. The bike is absolutely fabulous. I'm a large man, 6'4weighing 275 pounds, and the Trophy hauls me around with no problem. It sits comfortably but my knee angle could be reduced a little. It s only noticeable after two or three hundred miles continuous riding. Last September my wife and I rode to Enkoeping, Sweden (75 kilometers) northwest of Stockholm. We averaged five hundred miles per day on the way there and on the way back. NO PROBLEMS WHATSOEVER! We were loaded like it was moving day and that inline fournever even breathed hard. In fact I had trouble keeping the thing under 90 miles per hour on the Autobahns. We ran into some crosswinds going over the bridges in Denmark that were pretty "hairybut even the cars were having problems. In moderate winds I haven't had any problems to speak of. The bike is solid all around and an absolute joy to ride. Crank the throttle and hang on because the bike is very responsive and it doesn't take a lot of twist to find yourself "flying lowdown the highway at speeds well in excess of 120 MPH (and this is a TOURING bike). I'm anxiously waiting for Triumph to bring out the next generation. Gotta have it!
- Emmett Williams, Rammelsbach

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-06 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After twenty years on middle weight japanese machinery this is a definite step up. I'm not a cruiser or crotch rocket rider. This is a serious motorcycle. The triple is a terrific powerplant. Very smooth, excellent quality. Suits my style of riding. Handling is fine for the real world. Although I would like the dbl disc upfront like on the Sport. I just took delivery so i will update later. You won't see yourself coming & going either. Draws lots of attention even though the Tbird has been around awhile.
- Roy Denny, Rhinebeck, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-29 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. Had wanted one for years but due to a ton of reasons never got one. Very glad I opted for the Bonnie over the sportster as it just seems to be something out of the ordinary around here (much like myself). No major problems that weren't handled quickly by the shop at the Triumph dealership. Great handling, fun to ride and strikes up a conversation everywhere I go. Never even made it home after first buying it before getting into a conversation on Triumph's history with a long time rider. Since this is my first bike I am still learning alot but commuting about 40 miles each way to work and home. Great stability, excellent handling, and plenty of power (well for me anyway). In this time of high gas prices I am loving the 46-48 mpg I am getting on the highway. 7800 miles and running strong!!
- CD Workman, Gibson, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-24 2001 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i just bought my 99 legend and most people who see it think its new. H-D guys get jealous of the paintjob which is superb they get wide eyed when the discover it's a triple and when they ask about the price...well lets say it kinda shakes thier faith a little, well maybe alot. Performance wise its ROCK SOLID, fast handles like a dream and the brakes are excellent. If your thinking about a new bike either if your a begginner like me or a more experienced rider Dont buy a new bike without test riding Triumph. If your thinking H-D you will be amazed how much money you will save. If your thinking metric you will get the same smoothness and reliability with real heritage to boot. You cannot go wrong with Trump!!!
- Triumph james, staten island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-23 2001 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Major buying market seems to be the 40-60s males, who had or REALLY wanted one in the past. This Bonnie doesn't leak, always starts and has a visual panache/X-factor that few bikes currently have. You better not mind talking to enthusiastic strangers if you buy this bike. A 'modern' 360deg. air/oil cooled, vertical twin, 790 cc, 4-vlv/cyl, dual o/h cams gives good speed and the handling is Triumph light and very sure footed. An ample, growing after-market accessories supply is emerging to cater to those of us who can't leave 'em alone. Like a number of other owners, I've picked up another 10HP at the rear wheel, through simple re-jetting and relieving the intake/exhaust flow characteristics. A secondary benefit to this tuning benefit to me is the sound. It now sounds like a Triumph, rather than the simpering, EPA wallflowers that most manufacturers are forced to produce. Most of the older Harley crowd at any bike gathering knows exactly what's coming to visit, before they even see her. Even though she's technically a 450# street bike, I cruise her a lot. I wouldn't have any other bikefor me, perfect.
- Bill Hart, Newport News, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-21 2001 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding my 883 sportster for 6 years this baby felt o so smooth. After only a week I was dragging the pegs in the corners! This is a very well balanced bike that you can really lean in the curves. Needs another gear. I will try changing the sprockets. Not comfortable for a passenger.
- Larry, Fort Hood, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-09 2001 Triumph Tiger Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Triumph and it will be my last. I should have learned from my first experience with my 1995 Triumph Thunderbird. It had many problems during its 86,000km life with me and I was, on more than one occasion, highly annoyed with the high cost of parts and service. My 2001 Tiger shows signs of giving me the same level of grief. After only 44,000km it has blown an alternator, is plagued by a squealing fuel pump, constantly vents coolant from the overflow tank after being filled to the proper level, has snapped a clutch cable, broken one of the cheap plastic quick disconnect fuel line couplings, suffered a plugged gas tank vent valve and still doesn't run right after the latest of several software update tunes has been downloaded to the F.I. management system. Some of the design issues include an overly soft front suspension, poor quality powdercoat finish on the engine cases and handlebars, and most frustratingly requires expensive radial tires with INNER TUBES. A flat tire on this bike will cost you upwards of $400CDN. Parts are very expensive and there are very few aftermarket items available for this model and for the entire Triumph lineup. A limited dealer network makes you think twice about taking any long trips; most mainstream bike shops will not have the required special tooling and diagnostic software to affect an emergency repair should you break down miles away from home. On the plus side, the bike has unique looks, a powerful engine, good brakes and is quite comfy on long rides.
- Mike, Kingston area, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-03 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A great all round sports tourer, Comfortable yet quick. Handling is pretty damn good and although not an out and out sports bike it can give some of the Japanese machines a good run for their money. I love it !!
- Glenn Gradwell, Manchester, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-20 2001 Triumph Legend TT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought it from local dealer w/ 2000 miles. Was equipped w/ windscreen, highway pegs, tank pads, center stand., I had installed off road silencers, jet kit for the carbs, had a speedo cable break, and a coil go bad. I love this motorcycle. Once in a while you find something you really like; if you would like a different responsive cruiser, I'll tell you more!
- Aaron Cox, Homewood , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-02-19 2001 Triumph Speed Triple Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
on a recent visit to a motorcycle show where i saw the various offerings from around the world, i was drawn to the looks of the speed 3. a massive back tyre hinted of things to expect. on the way home i dropped into a local dealer, and as if fate was directing me, a year old roulette green 955i had just been traded. mint with run in miles on the clock. in half an hour it was mine. the handling is so good i was scraping the exhaust in no time. progression of power is awesome. it is also a license saver as over 110mph is unpleasant, the backup i have had from triumph left me a permanent fan. out of warranty failure, free of charge, i was very pleased. if you like airtime it gives a hack like me feelings of ability. if i ever sell it, i will buy another. i would reccomend the stickiest tyres you can get. other than that its spot on. i get 2k on a back tyre, i dont know of any fun fair ride that is this mutch fun or amuses for so long. have you guessed i love it.!
- andrew penny, truro, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: