Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles Reviews (16)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-03-20 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in '01 and have since put 57,000 miles on it. I've gone through 5 chains, lots of tires and a few sets of brake pads. The only problems I have had were all covered under warranty except the speedometer which stopped working after 2 1/2 years and 34,000 miles. The bike has always been reliable, fun to ride and a stronger performer. I would buy one again.
- ML, Walnut Creek, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-28 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Sprint ST is a wonderful choice. I have a 2001 model and its handling and agility are impressive; second to none in my opinion. I have been riding for twenty years and this is my favorite bike so far. The Sprint ST is a great looking bike and it sports plenty of power and speed as well. It's a bit tall for someone of my stature (5'6") but this obstacle is easily overcome with a pair of riding boots which have a generous heel. I have been very pleased with this bike; it's great for commuting to the city and has been a very dependable bike. I would highly recommend it.
- Julie, Becker, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-22 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Sprint St used (2nd owner) and have owned it for over a year now. The first owner got scared, after falling over with the bike at a light when a car honked and startled him and the bike fell over. He bent the front brake handle and scratched the right fairing. I got a great deal, only $3500.00. He just wanted to get rid of it. I was not in the market for a Triumph, I was looking for a Ducati Super Sport but, I ran across this guy and just could not pass it up. Now I realize it was only fate that brought us together. I am sold on Triumph. I mainly use the bike to commute to and from work, now I can't wait to go to work just for the hour ride I have. The only draw back is that my throttle hand goes numb after an hour of riding. Small price to pay in my book to keep the smile on my face!!!
- Cooper, Gilbert, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-03-03 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A great all round sports tourer, Comfortable yet quick. Handling is pretty damn good and although not an out and out sports bike it can give some of the Japanese machines a good run for their money. I love it !!
- Glenn Gradwell, Manchester, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-14 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the bike in 1999 and it now has 15000 miles on it. It was one of the earlier ones to arrive in the shops. It has been subject to battery recall and clutch cable recalls. The left hand side switch block blinker failed and has been replaced. The front valve stem tube needed replacing (persistent leak). I optioned the heated grips but have found that if cruising around with the headlights on at night time using the heated handgrips that the charging system struggles to keep the battery charged (it's fine if both aren't going or if one is travelling on highways... but stop start city traffic at night is an issue). The paint work seems not to have held it's finish as well as my previous bikes... it's looks older than it should. The optional panniers work well, but the right one suffers a slight leak in heavy rain. The handling is ok, but nothing spectacular... the engine feels wonderful. A freind of mine has a 2001 and has suffered none of these problems, so it seems mine is suffering from the woes that early production examples of lots of things suffer from. Never the less one should excercise caution if purchasing 2nd hand... the later the model the better (other things being equal).
- Geoff Sanford, Melbourne, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-06-14 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 10,000 k and one year on my red 2001. The ergonomics are superb, the motor is sublime but the stock suspension is just not up to a 200 pound rider, let alone a passenger. With a new .95 kg/mm spring and cartridge emulators from Race Tech and a 25mm hike in the rear preload after a static sag test, it handles like a Honda 600 F4i. The suspension change also cured the high speed sweeper and crosswind weave which this bike is prone to.
- Jim Pearce, Waterloo, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-30 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 35+ years of riding and 33,000 miles on a 99 model ST, I can honestly say that for me, this is the perfect bike. It is not a sport bike, and has never pretended to be one, but in the right hands, will embarass a lot of so- called sport bikes. It has that wonderful 3 cyl. howl, comfort for all day riding, a cruising sweetspot 80- 100 mph, stone reliable, and gets 40+ mpg. For my riding habits, I couldn't imagine a better bike.
- jim watson, ocean springs, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-14 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2001 ST for 12 months and have done 6000 kms of trouble free and thoroughly enjoyable riding. This bike is exactly what I was looking for. Great for long distance and can still be thrown around if the urge is there. I have not had any trouble with my clutch cable however I have just received a recall notice to have the cable replaced so that should eliminate any future problems. Fuel economy is excellent and with the large tank gives me in excess of 400 kms before a refill. The seat could be a little softer however it didn't take long to get used to it. I would recommend the ST to anyone who is looking for a dual purpose tourer come sports bike. Would I buy another Triumph? Absolutely, except I plan on keeping my ST for a long time yet.
- John Landells, Mackay, Queensland, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-07 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I only weigh 170 lbs...and I do have a friend that changed seats to a firmer one because he weighs 200+. However, I have driven this bike (2000 year model) for 14,000 miles. I have found it to be fantastic in the corners (however I do know a racer that has changed front shocks and I readjusted the rear shock). I do not ride with small sports bikes and if that is what I wanted I would have chosen a Daytona. As to heat...I have driven through the Nevada desert in 110 weather, with no problems (except when I stop and then the sweat starts..I wear leathers). I tour with a full set of bags (very nice) and I had to adjust the clutch once (by the dealer..no charge). I have taken it to 145 on the straight(for fun once) and found I needed to duck my head behind the windscreen and then it was smooth. My only complaint is that I am short legged (29") and even with built up boots I have trouble in the parking lot. I will purchase a reduced height seat and a lower drive gear...1 tooth. Oh yes, on the last trip (3,000 miles) I averaged 58 mpg and I do have a K&N air cleaner. Would I purchase another Triumph...you bet.
- Ken Scott, Scotts Mills, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-19 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
13 months 10,000 miles. BRG [so-called] Triumph sport can. Triumph rear hugger and Front fender extension. Suspension set to the recommended "Firm" settings. This is my first bike in 22 years. I have been very impressed with the brakes, power, looks, cornering, fit and finish. The only service related issue was the fuel sender which was replaced under warranty. The bike has never let me down with the exception of a flat battery the one time it was parked for 10 days. The tractor-like power delivery is wonderful, the FI is absolutely seamless, pulling cleanly from 2000 RPM and with ever-increasing authority from 3500 on up to 9500. The bike was too quiet with the stock pipe, couldn't even hear it at 40 MPH. The shifting is extremely light and sweet, I have only missed a shift (operator error) 3 times in 10,000 miles. The chain hasn't needed adjusting in the last 4000 miles. The original BT57 Bridgestones, ALWAYS kept inflated to 38PSI/F and 42PSI/R still had tread on them when they were replaced at 9500 miles due to being worn flat in the rear's center and cupping on the front, both of which became noticeable at about 8000 miles. I replaced them with BT010's. 40 MP(US)G plus or minus. It's such a gas to cruise through a corner cranked over on a rough back road in safety and comfort when my buddy on a ZX12R Kaw is bouncing off the seat. It also rides better on the back roads than his BMW K1200RS. What would I change? The fuel gauge would come off of full before 89 miles. The low beam spread would reach out further when the high beams are right. The tool kit would contain tools to remove the wheels. I made tools to do this and can supply information on how to make them if anyone is interested. In sum: Good looking, fast, smooth, comfortable, quality fit and finish, the MTBF of a rock. The dealer's service is perfect since he took the Triumphs away from the BMW mechs who resented working on Triumphs and were a little sloppy.
- W.S.Wilson, Northern California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-24 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike as a replacement for my 96 sprint with 50k miles. Handling, comfort, performance and looks are great. Rode Futura and liked this better for two up. Installed Gen-Mar clip on risers for improved comfort. Triumph hard bags and carbon can. Great torque and mucho power that only a Triumph triple can deliver. You don't see one on every street corner also.
- Monk, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-18 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I too had exactly the same problem with my red 2001 ST. I had to have the bike hauled to the dealer (Echo Cycle Edmonton) who told me that it might be 2 weeks before a cable arrived. Fortunately, they took one off a showroom model and after an hour, I was on my way again. This seems to be an all too common problem and is part of the reason I can only give 4 stars. I also have the carbon wrap silencer which sounds nice but does not add much too performance. I have had the bike back to Echo Cycle 3 times in total trying to get the tune right. I am getting a large build up of carbon around the end of the pipe and some rough spots around 3500. Other than that, I'd have given 5 *'s!!
- Kevin Foster, Edmonton, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-02 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a blue ST a few days before Laguna Seca. At this time I have done over six thousand miles without one problem. Handling is good for a sport tourer and is very reassuring at high speed. Comfort is great and until it had done 4000 miles there was a buzz at 65 miles an hour. However, once the bike had gone over 4000 miles, the buzzing had disappeared. The trip from Eugene to Laguna Seca was done in one day and the comfort was great. Never have done a long trip before with such comfort. One thing I hate about the bike is the soft plastic covers on the rear view mirror stems. This bike has character. Triumph has done a good job. not withstanding the fantastic sound the three cylinder gives with the performance muffler.
- Chuckhib, Eugene, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-28 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I guess this is 3500 mile update along with a question to other 2001 ST owners. I was having a ball through the twisties a couple of weeks ago when I reached for some clutch for a downshift only to find I had no clutch. When I took it in for repair, the dealer informed me this was their 4th to replace. The cable breaks completely right at the lever. On close inspection of the new one it looks like a design problem to me due to the sharp edges of the (protective?) cover on the cable end. Luckily I was by myself and was able to nurse it home 45 miles with no clutch. Bad news is I could never find neutral without the clutch and downshifts were fairly rough. Good news is that upshifts were still fairly positive :- )). I still love so much about my green 2001 with those wonderful side and top bags to match. When the next cable goes however, so too will the bike. It appears to me that their cable supplier may be setting them up for some terrible liability problems if my dealer has fixed 4 already. Any others seeing this problem? If so, I would be interested in knowing.
- rxgolf, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-26 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I looked long and hard for a bike to replace my '88 K75c. Although I've only owned it for 3 months and 5k miles, I have been totally satisfied with the bike's braking, fuel economy (50 mpg), smooth power, and lack of vibration. My only complaint was the 2 months wait on the bags. Having ridden a couple of BMW's for the last 12 years, it was hard to really consider buying another brand. But when my trusted BMW mechanic told me that I should buy a Triumph because they were as good as or better than BMW, I was shocked. He then showed me his Daytona he'd been trying to break for a year and a half. Next, the K bike mechanic proudly displayed his Speed Triple that he had been flogging for about a year. I'm satisfied I chose the right bike for my use.
- Camargodave, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-08 2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my blue ST three months ago, and I'm very happy with it. I kept my '98 Magna at the time, because I thought it would be nice to have both a cruiser and a sporty bike. That was a big mistake. I hate riding the Magna now. Except for the transmission, the Triumph is far superior to the Magna. Granted, these two bikes aren't in the same category, but the Magna feels terrible compared to the ST. The ST has plenty of power, especially after installing the carbon fiber exhaust. The new pipe also made the exhaust note deepen. The wind protection is unbelievable. I can cruise around 80 mph with only the slightest wind reaching me. The brakes are solid, the handling is great, and the ergonomics are very comfortable. I have put in a few 250 - 300 mile rides in the last few weeks. I'm ready to get off it and rest after the first 100 miles or so, but I'm getting accustomed to the riding position and believe longer rides are in my future. This bike also gets between 45 and 50 miles per gallon. Couple that with the huge tank, and you can ride over 200 miles between stops. The only complaint I have is slow service. The dealer was supposed to install the bags before I picked up the bike. It took them two months before the bags even arrived. Actually, it took a month for the TIGER bags to arrive, then another month for the correct ones. Also, the dealer told me the mounting brackets were small and hardly noticeable when the bags were removed. He lied. The brackets are big, black, and ugly. Which is ok, really, because I don't plan on taking them off very often. I need them for those long trips I'm planning. If you want a bike that is high in performance but has a comfortable riding position and available luggage, look no further. I also like the fact that I still haven't met another rider with a bike just like mine. Oh, and Harley riders are more apt to accept a British bike over a Japanese one.
- lgw, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: