Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2001 Triumph Sprint ST Motorcycle reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

ML

Walnut Creek, California

Reviewed on 2008-03-20

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike new in '01 and have since put 57,000 miles on it. I've gone through 5 chains, lots of tires and a few sets of brake pads. The only problems I have had were all covered under warranty except the speedometer which stopped working after 2 1/2 years and 34,000 miles. The bike has always been reliable, fun to ride and a stronger performer. I would buy one again.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Julie

Becker, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2006-10-28

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Sprint ST is a wonderful choice. I have a 2001 model and its handling and agility are impressive; second to none in my opinion. I have been riding for twenty years and this is my favorite bike so far. The Sprint ST is a great looking bike and it sports plenty of power and speed as well. It's a bit tall for someone of my stature (5'6") but this obstacle is easily overcome with a pair of riding boots which have a generous heel. I have been very pleased with this bike; it's great for commuting to the city and has been a very dependable bike. I would highly recommend it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cooper

Gilbert, Arizona

Reviewed on 2005-09-22

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the Sprint St used (2nd owner) and have owned it for over a year now. The first owner got scared, after falling over with the bike at a light when a car honked and startled him and the bike fell over. He bent the front brake handle and scratched the right fairing. I got a great deal, only $3500.00. He just wanted to get rid of it. I was not in the market for a Triumph, I was looking for a Ducati Super Sport but, I ran across this guy and just could not pass it up. Now I realize it was only fate that brought us together. I am sold on Triumph. I mainly use the bike to commute to and from work, now I can't wait to go to work just for the hour ride I have. The only draw back is that my throttle hand goes numb after an hour of riding. Small price to pay in my book to keep the smile on my face!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Glenn Gradwell

Manchester, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2003-03-03

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
A great all round sports tourer, Comfortable yet quick. Handling is pretty damn good and although not an out and out sports bike it can give some of the Japanese machines a good run for their money. I love it !!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Geoff Sanford

Melbourne, Australia

Reviewed on 2002-10-14

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got the bike in 1999 and it now has 15000 miles on it. It was one of the earlier ones to arrive in the shops. It has been subject to battery recall and clutch cable recalls. The left hand side switch block blinker failed and has been replaced. The front valve stem tube needed replacing (persistent leak). I optioned the heated grips but have found that if cruising around with the headlights on at night time using the heated handgrips that the charging system struggles to keep the battery charged (it's fine if both aren't going or if one is travelling on highways... but stop start city traffic at night is an issue). The paint work seems not to have held it's finish as well as my previous bikes... it's looks older than it should. The optional panniers work well, but the right one suffers a slight leak in heavy rain. The handling is ok, but nothing spectacular... the engine feels wonderful. A freind of mine has a 2001 and has suffered none of these problems, so it seems mine is suffering from the woes that early production examples of lots of things suffer from. Never the less one should excercise caution if purchasing 2nd hand... the later the model the better (other things being equal).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Pearce

Waterloo, Ontario

Reviewed on 2002-06-14

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have 10,000 k and one year on my red 2001. The ergonomics are superb, the motor is sublime but the stock suspension is just not up to a 200 pound rider, let alone a passenger. With a new .95 kg/mm spring and cartridge emulators from Race Tech and a 25mm hike in the rear preload after a static sag test, it handles like a Honda 600 F4i. The suspension change also cured the high speed sweeper and crosswind weave which this bike is prone to.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jim watson

ocean springs, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2002-03-30

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 35+ years of riding and 33,000 miles on a 99 model ST, I can honestly say that for me, this is the perfect bike. It is not a sport bike, and has never pretended to be one, but in the right hands, will embarass a lot of so- called sport bikes. It has that wonderful 3 cyl. howl, comfort for all day riding, a cruising sweetspot 80- 100 mph, stone reliable, and gets 40+ mpg. For my riding habits, I couldn't imagine a better bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Landells

Mackay, Queensland, Australia

Reviewed on 2002-03-14

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my 2001 ST for 12 months and have done 6000 kms of trouble free and thoroughly enjoyable riding. This bike is exactly what I was looking for. Great for long distance and can still be thrown around if the urge is there. I have not had any trouble with my clutch cable however I have just received a recall notice to have the cable replaced so that should eliminate any future problems. Fuel economy is excellent and with the large tank gives me in excess of 400 kms before a refill. The seat could be a little softer however it didn't take long to get used to it. I would recommend the ST to anyone who is looking for a dual purpose tourer come sports bike. Would I buy another Triumph? Absolutely, except I plan on keeping my ST for a long time yet.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Scott

Scotts Mills, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2002-01-07

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I only weigh 170 lbs...and I do have a friend that changed seats to a firmer one because he weighs 200+. However, I have driven this bike (2000 year model) for 14,000 miles. I have found it to be fantastic in the corners (however I do know a racer that has changed front shocks and I readjusted the rear shock). I do not ride with small sports bikes and if that is what I wanted I would have chosen a Daytona. As to heat...I have driven through the Nevada desert in 110 weather, with no problems (except when I stop and then the sweat starts..I wear leathers). I tour with a full set of bags (very nice) and I had to adjust the clutch once (by the dealer..no charge). I have taken it to 145 on the straight(for fun once) and found I needed to duck my head behind the windscreen and then it was smooth. My only complaint is that I am short legged (29") and even with built up boots I have trouble in the parking lot. I will purchase a reduced height seat and a lower drive gear...1 tooth. Oh yes, on the last trip (3,000 miles) I averaged 58 mpg and I do have a K&N air cleaner. Would I purchase another Triumph...you bet.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

W.S.Wilson

Northern California

Reviewed on 2001-11-19

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Triumph Sprint ST

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
13 months 10,000 miles. BRG [so-called] Triumph sport can. Triumph rear hugger and Front fender extension. Suspension set to the recommended "Firm" settings. This is my first bike in 22 years. I have been very impressed with the brakes, power, looks, cornering, fit and finish. The only service related issue was the fuel sender which was replaced under warranty. The bike has never let me down with the exception of a flat battery the one time it was parked for 10 days. The tractor-like power delivery is wonderful, the FI is absolutely seamless, pulling cleanly from 2000 RPM and with ever-increasing authority from 3500 on up to 9500. The bike was too quiet with the stock pipe, couldn't even hear it at 40 MPH. The shifting is extremely light and sweet, I have only missed a shift (operator error) 3 times in 10,000 miles. The chain hasn't needed adjusting in the last 4000 miles. The original BT57 Bridgestones, ALWAYS kept inflated to 38PSI/F and 42PSI/R still had tread on them when they were replaced at 9500 miles due to being worn flat in the rear's center and cupping on the front, both of which became noticeable at about 8000 miles. I replaced them with BT010's. 40 MP(US)G plus or minus. It's such a gas to cruise through a corner cranked over on a rough back road in safety and comfort when my buddy on a ZX12R Kaw is bouncing off the seat. It also rides better on the back roads than his BMW K1200RS. What would I change? The fuel gauge would come off of full before 89 miles. The low beam spread would reach out further when the high beams are right. The tool kit would contain tools to remove the wheels. I made tools to do this and can supply information on how to make them if anyone is interested. In sum: Good looking, fast, smooth, comfortable, quality fit and finish, the MTBF of a rock. The dealer's service is perfect since he took the Triumphs away from the BMW mechs who resented working on Triumphs and were a little sloppy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: