Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles Reviews (9)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2018-08-20 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a good, with a comfortable ride. Its suspension is a bit soft, but it only makes a difference with big bumps, or riding 2 up. It could also use a gas gauge and a clock.
- Johnobody, Central Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-08-16 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This machine is an example of good "engineering". It's 10 years old, and she is still "Going Strong"!! Thank You Thunderbird For the "Craftmanship"!!!
- Thommy, Landskrona, Sweden

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-18 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike new. I traded a Sprint ST for it. My wife wanted a more comfortable riding position. It was a big step down in power, but much to my surprise I found I was taking turns faster. My first long ride was from LA to Tucson. When I arrived I was disappointed that the ride was over. I had done the same ride on the Sprint and didn't feel that way. I have taken the wife as far as Utah on one trip and Colorado on another. The Thunderbird is a very comfortable and capable bike. Four weeks ago I made a solo trip to Colorado. On day two of the ride back I crossed 8 passes, two of which were dirt roads and one a jeep trail. The following day I put in 920 miles. The more I ride this bike the more I love it. The only problem the bike has had was a broken speedo cable about 3 years ago. The Thunderbird is very capable in all riding conditions from Interstate to forest service roads, canyon carving or riding two up. Perhaps it is my size but I find this the most comfortable and rider friendly bike I have ever had. It is my 5th bike and probably will be my last, but that was what I thought of my BMW before it blew a tranny in Tucson, a drive shaft on I-15, and the alternator in San Diego. Last but not least it is a real show stopper. I have had more praise about the bikes looks than all the other bikes combined.
- Gary Lyons, La Quinta, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-27 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 1st one in 2002 and liked it so much that I convinced my son to get one. He is not into cruising and wants a sport bike. Now I have 2, one is set up with bags and fairing the other stock with a little extra chrome. I love them both and can't bring myself to sell either of them. Thunderbirds are great touring bikes for twisty Mt. roads. Harleys are a dime a dozen, but if you stop with one of these t-birds everybody wants a good long look.
- Maynard Sweigard, Vero Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-06 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After twenty years on middle weight japanese machinery this is a definite step up. I'm not a cruiser or crotch rocket rider. This is a serious motorcycle. The triple is a terrific powerplant. Very smooth, excellent quality. Suits my style of riding. Handling is fine for the real world. Although I would like the dbl disc upfront like on the Sport. I just took delivery so i will update later. You won't see yourself coming & going either. Draws lots of attention even though the Tbird has been around awhile.
- Roy Denny, Rhinebeck, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-01-18 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 2001 Triumph Thunderbird. Wish the foot pegs were lower and the handlebars higher. Does any one know where I can buy a big windshied and faring for it?
- Walter Vanderpool, Avon Park, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-27 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
here is an update from my earlier review...at nearly 1000 miles and with all the accessories installed plus adjusting the rear shock to its softest ride, the bike is nearly there. I added a National fairing, the king and queen seat, nylon bags, adjustable levers, and center stand. Wishes...that it were just a little longer, the pegs a little lower, and the gears a little wider..after owning 15 bikes I have never found one worthy of 5 stars, but this is as close as it gets I guess unless I get one custom built..ha..
- lewtag, Springfield, , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-07-26 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike after 13 years away from 2 wheels. I'm using it to go to work and for fun on the weekends. I agee with the comment about the heat buildup, the oil light comes on when it gets too hot in traffic. Overall the finish is great and the styling marks it out from the usual. The change from 2nd to 3rd could be smoother, too many false nuterals. The mountain roads in France and Switzerland show how good the handling is. And the king and Queen sadle make a huge difference to the comfort on longer rides.
- Dinsdale, Geneva, Switzerland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-29 2001 Triumph Thunderbird Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was originally in the market for a V-twin cruiser like most people these days. I looked at them all, both American and Japanese. When I came across Triumph, it occurred to me I didn't want to be like everyone else. I wanted a name with a heritage and yet was different. I'm in the process of breaking mine in and so far I'm very impressed with the power and refinement of the engine. Out of the box the bike is smooth and silky. Almost turbine like. Shifting is precise and solid. The brakes work like they're suppose to. The handling is quick and surefooted. It is truely a solid machine. You can feel the quality of its build. The finish of the chrome and paint is as good as anyone's. I'm looking forward to putting a lot of miles on this. I cut my teeth on dirt bikes so this is my first street bike and I know I made a good decision purchasing this motorcycle. Triumph is back!
- Dennis Strickland, Naples, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: