Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes Reviews (25)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-05-22 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a great all around bike for touring and street riding. It has amazing power and handling and the braking is superb. I took it on a 1,700 mile, 4-day trip and was very comfortable. I have been riding bikes since 1969 and this FZ-1 is the best bike by far. It is rock solid reliable, has easy maintanance and a high MPG. It's a great all-around package.
- Len, Doylestown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-07 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hello fellow riders, I have always wanted this bike since the first review I read from the european market. I got myself a great deal on a used 2001 with 13,000 and change on the clock. It came with two jackets, two helmets, extra brake pads, flush mount signals(if i want to install them) some extra fluids and some minor mods. I have spent most of my riding career on vintage sport tourers, i.e. Yamaha FJ's and XJ's, Honda V65's, a 1993 Kawasaki Concours and a 1996 Triumph Sprint. Ergonomically, my 1983 XJ 900 Seca has been the most comfortable bike I have ever ridden. I also found it very fun to ride, as it was way ahead of it's time in design. The bike handled amazingly well for it's day, it cornered and stopped well and had great acceleration and torque for a 100hp bike, especially considering it was shaft drive. I was expecting a little more performance from this bike simply from the technological advances in recent years, what I wasn't expecting was the hair scorching acceration of this bike. This bike is amazing. Coming from vintage bikes to this bike was like being transported into the future via a time machine. This bike amazes me in every category. What a nimble little rocket this thing is. I am enjoying every minute on this trusty steed. The kicker is how cheap it is to maintain this bike. Over 20,000 miles before you have to pull the valve covers. Brilliant. Ride fast, but ride safe. Will
- William Hemmingway, West Bend, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-26 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased this bike 2 years ago with 6k on it. I put about 6-8k on a year by sport, touring, commuting. The power is amazing. I can sit on it all day. My insurance is cheaper than a lot of full plastic sportbikes (which is kinda funny). I don't understand why you would want to hide that sexy motor in the first place?! My girl loves sitting on the back of this bike instead of laying on my back.
- TreadHead, Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-13 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It starts the first time and is smooth in town but still has gobs of power. On a recent trip to Ocala and back I averaged 48 mpg. No oil use and still no leaks. I am waiting to see what the next 24,000 will bring.
- Gator007, Orange Park, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-17 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After having cruisers for a many years I made it over to the sport side of things. Now I am older and do like the comfort that most cruisers offer, but after yopu make it to the dragon you can understand why I now ride a more sport touring machine. No trailer queen here! I really was looking at a ZRX but decided that a decent fairing and centerstand was well worth it. My last bike had a centerstand and it is a rather nice feature. In stock form the FZ1 is a really great bike, but add a Corbin seat and a better windscreen (Givi,ZG,etc) and you've got a bike you can really put the miles on. Great performance with great handling from the factory. If you have it hammered down, grab on to the bars tight cause you're in for a great rush. That stout tubular frame really holds things together. I really like the torque, for the most part downshifting is just optional. Can be a little buzzy, nothing major at all, and the enginge heat is noticable. I was considering a newer FZ6, but found a really great deal on an 01 with extremely low miles.
- Jim, RTP, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-22 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What can I say, I'm STILL in love. It's fast, it handles, and it's comfortable. NO problems, knock on wood. Settled on Amsoil, change it ALOT more often than they say to, and Honda Red Can chain lube. The bike just gets BETTER. I've got a full fairing on it, bobbed that ugly rear fender, NOW it looks like what it is, a sport bike, only it's comfortable. Did I mention comfortable? EXACTLY what I wanted.
- R. Treamer, Grand Rapids , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-01 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After reading the cycle rag reviews, I sprung for a new blue streak last year. I bought my 1st street bike back in '83(GS650E)after playing on a YZ for 3 years, and was unbeleivably bored with it's poor performance! Ater many bikes up the displacement ladder, I've finally found something that puts a smile on my face EVERY time I get on it. This thing carves through the mountains like it was made for it, and purrs at a more moderate pace in the city without missing a beat. This bike will not dissappoint those who need the speed without the discomfort inherent with open class bikes. Now how much for new tires(again)!
- B.Wallis, Edmonton, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-11 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sportbike-like handling in a standard style frame. It works for me! I've put on 1000 kms on my FZ1 since I got it 3 weeks ago. Most of it commuting and a few "trips to the corner store". This machine is amazing. I find it easier to ride than my previous bike, a Virago 535s. The motor pulls very strong in the mid range. On the freeway, I've only reached 4000rpm in 6th gear and the motor had a lot more to offer. Of course the speed limit and breaking the engine in properly kept the throttle from being fully applied. I'm looking at an aftermarket windshield for freeway riding. I found yamahafz1.com to be really helpful.
- Joe, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-04-05 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just rolled over 5K and it just keeps getting better. As much power as you could want with a top end rush that puts a smile on your face. Will do just about anything very well!
- Dwight Allen, Layton, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-03-04 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike has spent The winter in my front room.I have made alot of modifications. corbin seat,lower cowl,slip on exhaust chain guard,taller windsheild,clear lens turn signals,super white headlight bulbs throttlemeister,tank pad.mobil1.As you can see I love this bike.
- Robert Kasem, Whitmore Lake, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-22 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It took me a few days to get used to the sitting position on the FZ1, but after that few days it's been nothing but fun riding. The bike is very fast and handles turns nicly, yet it is quite comfortable to ride. I love it!!!
- Phil Miner, Plainwell, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-11 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My husband bought a black FZ1 in April 2001 for himself, but one ride on the her and I was hooked! My husband never got it back. We traded in my Suzuki Bandit 600S and he got a Honda Superhawk VTR1000 as he prefers tourqey V-twins. So the FZ1 is all mine! As of August '01, the bike has 6700+ miles mainly put on by me. The bike gets better every time I ride it. Great for short or long rides especially with the Corbin aftermarket seat. Extremely comfortable riding position even for a short person. The bike has silky smooth acceleration until you hit about 7000 RPMs and then hold on! Will pull a wheel in first 3 gears if your not careful(he he). Thankfully she has fabulous brakes. Because I'm only 5' 4 1/2" and this is a tall bike we added a lowering kit from Adjustment Tech Racing and the GYT-R low handle bar mounts for a little more aggressive riding position. She is now almost perfect! I will be getting a taller windscreen by next Spring. Though the stock screen is good, at high speeds I get some head bobble. I have had her up to 154 MPH and she still had some left to give when I backed off. Great cornering and the only thing that has touched down is the feelers on the pegs no matter how steep the lean angle. Buy one you won't be disappointed!
- Deborah, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-11-13 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put 5000 miles on my FZ1 in a little over two months. It is fast and it handles well and it brakes like no other bike I have ever been on. But, the big secret is that it is a great touring bike. It will gobble up the interstate like crazy (very comfortable). With an aftermarket windshield (Givi), about four inches taller than stock, you can literally go coast to coast in comfort. I have spent entire days at 80+ mph. The bike has impressed me every time I get on it. It is everything in one bike. I have been riding for 30 years and I just have never been so impressed with a bike. Even the price is good. I hope what Yamaha has done will catch on with the other bike companies. Take your one liter sport bike engine, package it in a naked bike format and don't miss any of the details, like corning and brakes. I know there are other naked bikes, but you can't really compare them to this bike, it is one of a kind, at least for now.
- baRON, Wilmington, NC

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-21 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This baby is brand spanking new. Yes that means new tyres that need to be scrubbed in and fresh engine that needs some gentle loving until for now. Still, there's that new bike feeling. And what's more..... The first time I stopped at the traffic lights on a busy 3 lane highway, with cars all around me, I noticed just about everyone looking at the bike, most with that little bit of lust in their eye. All wondered if she was as fast as she looked. I'll be back to tell you a bit more about how she performs and what sort of personality she develops over time. For now I'll just nip outside and take another long look at her gorgeous lines before I turn in for the night. Dressed in lustrous metallic black, she sure is pretty. Cheers for Now GarryH
- Garryh, Melbourne, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-03 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
FZ1. rode again today with a friend who rides a TL1000r. we did the curves for 180 miles off and on. got passed at 140, with little time to compensate for the V twin. overall he was impressed most of all with the cornering ability of the FZ1. tabs on the pegs are toast. if yamaha had left the bank of R1 carbs as they were this would be a more serious surface to curve assault weapon. still happy as a pig in, you know. saw a d207 toasted. i feel the d207's are overated for the street if one uses a little forethought in the braking in deep curves. good luck all dale
- j.d.elliott, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-01 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned several bikes before this one, most notably a 750 Suzuki GSXR (great bike) and an FJ1200. This bike handles better than the Suzuki and pulls harder than the FJ1200. The manual says not to drive at sustained periods over 6000 RPMs during the break-in. This bike handles like a dream and pulls harder and harder as you get the RPMs up. It's so smooth you have no idea how fast you are going. Greatest bike ever.
- Clay Young, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-10 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just completed the run in and all is well. I have fitted a flat set of bars which makes the riding pos a little more forward and in my mind more comfortable. Not the Yamaha bars at US$ 65.00 but a local New Zealand make NZ$35.00 and they look just a good. Handling is great with lots of power can't wait until summer. At this stage very happy with my purchase.
- Mike Smith, New Zealand

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-17 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My FZ1 is a wonderful MC. Great handling and incredible power in a motorcycle that I can sit on for hours. This is a sportbike that doesn't make you pay the price of sore wrists and strained back. Very little vibration can be felt through the handlebars and footpegs. The short windshield provides a surprising amount of protection. As you can tell, I'm thrilled with this bike! There is one LARGE downside to the bike. It has been categorized by the insurance industry as "High Performance". This sends the premiums into the stratosphere. Since I'm 42, married with 24 years of riding experience and a good driving record, I'm not used to these outrageous insurance premiums. This doesn't seem right. The competition, Suzuki Bandit 1200 & Kawasaki ZRX1200R, are NOT classified as "High Performance" and have insurance rate 3 times less than the FZ1. If you know of an insurance company that has this bike correctly classified, please send me the info at my e-mail address.
- Bryan, Arlington, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-18 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After several months of research and shopping for a motorcycle, by Friday, May 4, 2001, I had pretty much decided that Yamaha's new FZ1 was the machine for me. While I had considered a couple of other sport-standards and at least one cruiser, I kept coming back to the FZ1. Perhaps it was the Yamaha's impressive credentials, its pedigree, or its list of standard features - perhaps its supermodel styling. Undoubtedly it was all of the above. At any rate, my Yamaha dealer must have known I was coming because he had two FZ1's stationed just inside the showroom door, one on either side of the entry isle. On the left a black FZ1, and on my right, a blue one. The salesman greeted me cheerfully and asked if I needed any help. "I'll take one of those," I said indicating the blue FZ1. Two weeks and one thousand miles later, I am beginning to get an inkling of the uncanny wisdom of my decision - wisdom far beyond my 44 years. When I say go, this thing will, "GEE-OH", it stops when I say WHOA, and, everything in between is pure motorcycling pleasure. My dimensions are: 6' X 195lbs X 36" inseam, and the FZ1 riding position is perfect. (read athletic) Although I haven't yet done any extended touring on the Yamaha, I did make a 212 mile round last Saturday afternoon and found that with a mid-course stop for ice cream, the FZ1's saddle is quite comfortable. As far as I can tell, the 2001 Yamaha FZ1 is strong in every way that a sport-standard motorcycle can be strong. Its R1 proven power plant, its powerful rear and dual front disc brakes, its second-to-none sport-standard riding position, and its fully adjustable front and rear suspension. And, if all of that weren't enough, there is the, "Unlike Any Other", absolutely awesome, "CAT-DADDY", styling. This is the stuff that classics are made of. Today is Friday, May 18, 2001 - I've only had the FZ1 for two weeks - I could have waited another 14 days to write this review, but it would still have ended the way it started - Yamaha's new FZ1 is the machine for me
- Don Shirley, Queen City, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-25 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Lots of power, great ergos, seems to handle well. I'm noticing a mid-range surging that my dealer says is normal. Kind of obnoxious around town, but not a problem when you get the revs up.
- LauraM, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-25 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned 3 used bikes before this one. This is my first new bike. I was considering 3 others but the second I sat on this baby... no contest. Due to weather I've only been out for a few good long cruises and I should wait a while to post a review but I have a feeling they will go quick and if this helps others decide, I promise you wont be disappointed. The riding position is exactly what I was looking for. Yamaha offers a straight titanium handlebar with a more aggressive riding position. The kicker is you have to change the throttle cable to accommodate it. I ordered the lower fairing, but I'm still waiting. The bike is very responsive and handles awesome. I already have the modifications planned out, some professional paint accents, some tint and a yosh pipe. After that everybody will be ooohing and awing!
- Matthew Souchuk, Windsor Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-24 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yamaha's hi-tech in-line four just keeps getting smoother. It begs to glide above 100 mph.-- a definite adrenaline high. I'm at 1,560 miles on the OD now, 40 miles until the engine is officially "broken in." (Yamaha's suggested waiting period to take it over 6000 rpm.) If you feel some vibration from the handlebars, don't worry. Once the engine smooths out, it all but disappears. The seat is comfy for about 150 miles, then your butt must switch over to endurance mode. (maybe it's just my butt.) Over 80 mph, riders may need to lean into the wind to abate head-bobble. I'm 6' tall @ 190lbs., with a 32" inseam; and the FZ1 fits me PERFECTLY. It is surprisingly light weight and easy to manage. The FZ1 offers intimidating looks, power, & speed; however it is NOT an intimidating ride. It is excellent! Call me an idiot, but I'm selling my car...
- Mike Ratcliffe, Little Rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-10 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first bike to own, and it's perfect. More power than anyone ever needs, and the riding position...Forget about it!! (Italian accent) This is a great all-around bike. It will wheelie, corner, and tour with the best of em!
- rhino738, Memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-12 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
High technology. Quality finish. Better in person than photos reveal. Great handling, shifting and power. And that wonderful riding position. Get one.
- First Stage, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-11 2001 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A very "sporty" standard. Lots of accessories. High tech engine. Great riding position. Get one.
- First Stage, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: