Yamaha Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (53)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-11-25 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall the bike is amazing. The power that comes out of it is extraordinary, and the 4 strokes can't compare at all. The back suspension is perfect, nice and soft, not a worry on the big jumps. The front suspension is a big stiff, but it's fixable. It's a fairly reliable bike, usually starts first or second kick every time and there's plenty of compression. I rode a mate's 2007 KTM SX-F250, and the power that that bike produces is absolutely horrible compared to the YZ. It's a perfect bike for racing. I usually ride in the forestry, and it's perfect for out there. The bike can usually get a top speed of about 150km./h., but obviously the bike isn't meant for long straights. It's got plenty of power for all the corners and the tight tracks. Overall, it's a 5-star bike. I'll never be upgrading.
- Matt Robson, Gympie, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-02 2001 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike for $800 off a friend, and I've only gotten to ride it two or three times because it's so cold, but this thing rips. It rails pretty much any other bike out there and I love it. It starts right up first or second kick and handles just as well as my 2010 KX250F I love the clutch on it for some reason. The only thing I don't really like is how you have to turn off the gas petcock before you shut off the bike or it will flood instantly and won't start. I've never heard of this before but I don't think I have ever turned off the gas on any of my other bikes and had a problem with it. But overall, I love this bike. I just wish I could race it in my local series but I can't because it's bored. Overall, it's well worth the $800 I paid for it.
- Tim, Wells, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-06 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 15-1/2 years old and I am racing it at the local track but this bike is made for anything. It has all good torque. it pops up in 1st, 2nd, even 3rd gear on the road. I have an amazing bike and it is this one.
- Terry Cheatham, Chowchilla, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-18 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an amazing bike. I just turned 15 and I've wanted a big bike that I could grow into. This bike is perfect for me. It's the best bike I've had so far. The only problem I have with it is that it leaks oil out of he motor when you ride for a few hours and the motor gets hot!!! But is a great bike overall.
- Eli stone , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-23 2001 Yamaha YZ80 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
About a month ago my dad got me a yz80 and it was love at first sight. I went to the dunes and my first lap I hit the power band in first and that front end went right up. Now I'm ripping it up. If you're going to buy a bike, buy a yz.
- rider, spokane, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-11 2001 Yamaha YZ80 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. It is wicked fast. It jumps nice and has good brakes. I would take this bike over anything.
- David kimble, Smethport, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-21 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the absolute best. I have no trouble keeping up with my mates when riding through trails and motocross tracks. This bike will pull up in any gear without trouble. This is the most powerful bike I've ridden in my life. This bike will beat any 2 stroke and the sound is 10 times better than a 2 stroke. If you have the chance to buy one, you should get one.
- brooksy, ulladulla, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-09 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like everyone else, starting it was difficult for the first three days. I live in Colorado Springs so we have tons of trail riding. The bike tears it up on the hills, rocks and sand. There is enough power for anything you want to do. The bike is very maneuverable through the turns and rocks. It is hard to not go fast on this bike. I bought it from a guy who wanted to get rid of it badly. It was the best money I have ever spent.
- Steven Tafoya, colorado springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-15 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my snowmachine for this bike, I thought I was getting jipped out of the deal. The first day I had it, I had a hard time starting it. The Decomp level took a little getting used to. On the 3rd day I could start it 1 kick everytime. This bike is so fast! It will pull wheelies literally in any gear. I live in alaska so it's usually a little cold out but this doesn't affect anything! It's usually a little easier to start on chillier days. So far I havn't used my hot cam pump thing, just the lever. This bike was an upgrade from my 03 rm 125... and it was so worth it!
- Christian Killian, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-05 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Couldn't be happier with this bike. Suspension is firm and hooks up well out of turns. Power delivery is phenomenal. Loads in mid-range and top-end of torque spectrum. Very reliable. All parts and components have held up well...just a top-end change every 40-50 hours or so.
- Todd Henry, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-21 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I mainly ride trails, all sorts, rocky, tight, sandy, rutted, some of everything, and this bike can handle it all. The suspension is plush enough to keep you on the bike all day (comfortably), but stiff enough to resist bottoming well, even in big whoops. The hardest thing for me, and others, at first was the starting procedure. I was used to easy to start 250 and the big bore starting takes a bit to get used to. With the bigger rear sprocket, my bike has plenty of get up and go in the bottom end with smooth power throughout. I have tried my hand at motocross too and this bike performs great (granted mine is heavier due to the weight the offroad accessories add). All in all, this bike is a great, light-feeling, maneuverable bike that can meet a wide variety of needs.
- Brendan H., P-town, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-08 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike three years ago from an ex-supercross racer. I mainly ride trails and I have to say that many people can't keep up with this bike. It doesn't matter where you ride: tight trails, smooth soft trails, sand; this is the bike you need. It kills the KTM 450's and 530's. The two strokes don't even have a chance. The bike (set up properly) smashes throught the whoop sections and has no problem carrying wheelies through them. To those who say that the KTM's handle better than the older four strokes... go out and ride with somebody who owns one of these bikes and you might not be saying that too loudly anymore.
- Alan Rosencrans, Puyallup, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-30 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 01 YZ426. It's a little bit heavy when compared to the latest generation of 450 MX bikes, but it's still an amazing bike. The power is unbelievable; I can pull wheelies in any gear. This bike really shines down low. I race enduros and on my KX250, I had difficulty going up steep slippery hills. I had to rev the engine out to get enough power up the hill, but once the revs on the smoker get up I lose traction. NOT ON THE YZ426! These tricky hills are no longer a problem and I can speed up any of them with ease. The power delivery of the 426 is incredible, especially down low. It's a torque monster! I have never had a problem starting mine either. It starts first or second kick, hot or cold. If the manual decomp lever bothers you, you could always put a 03 450 cam in it which will give you automatic decompression. The WR is corked from the factory compared to the YZ (but can easily and inexpensively be brought to YZ spec). The only negative thing about the YZ426 now in 2008 is that it's very heavy compared to newer bikes. Although it could potentially be competitive on a MX track or in an enduro race with newer 450s, the weight of the YZ426 will tire the rider out more quickly. Another big advantage of the 426 is the reliability. I don't know how reliable the new Yamaha 450 is, but I check my valves once or twice a year and for the past seven years my valves are still in spec. NO ADJUSTMENT NECESSARY! Do you know of any other 4-stroke MX bike that can make that claim?
- lowrydr310, Torrance, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-30 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I was 15 years old, my football coach made me give up racing motocross. I was riding a state-of-the-art Honda Elsinore CR125 (supposedly the best production MXer ever made at the time regardless of displacement). I vowed that I would get back into MXing sometime later in life. 32 years later, I just returned to MX play riding with a used 2001 YZ426. Boy am I old! This bike can do wheelies with ease in the 1st 3 gears with no effort and by just twisting the throttle. I've only ridin it 3 times on a fairly short track in NJ and have NEVER even gotten into 4th or 5th gears, but 1st gear is literally all you need on this track with such a powerful bike. Handling seems good but it is hard to tell because the track is 100% sand which is terrifying (I grew up in Ohio and used to race on packed dirt/mud, etc. and never experienced the vagueries of sand riding). I'm taking it very easy for now as I try to regain some of my old form. My only complaint is that the kick-starter is so high I can barely get my foot up on it. Thankfully, it starts on one kick (once you learn how to do it). Overall, this has been a great play bike that has performed flawlessly - so far so good!
- JV, Philly Burbs, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-13 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The YZ-250 is a nice bike. Its top end conquers the longest straights on the track and the bottom toughs it out through the roughest trails with ease. The only complaint that I have for the bike is that when you go to order parts the Yamaha parts list on the computers reads Competition N1 which is the YZ-250 but right above it it reads YZ250F so when you ask to order parts for a YZ-250 people see the competition N1 and the YZ250F and click on the 250F by mistake. This has happened to me on numerous accounts due to the way the computers are set up. But as for the goods on this bike, it really is an easy bike to ride. I bought it after I sold my TTR-125L and I thought it would be difficult to be able to ride it well. But it was quite easy to learn how to handle it and the low end power lets you just lug along through the back woods with ease unlike the YZ125 which you're constantly feathering the clutch on rough trails and tight spots.
- Matt Redding, Hopkinton, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-31 2001 Yamaha YZ80 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. Though many people say not to learn on a two stroke, I went and bought one and I did. I had never even ridden a two stroke before. Luckily, I had someone to help me out so it went pretty smooth. It took me a while to learn how to start out but within a few minutes I got the hang of it. This bike is a great bike. It is so fast that I was afraid to take it out of second gear the first time I rode it. The powerband is amazing. Every time it hits the powerband, I find my whole body shifting towards the back of the seat. The comfort is great; I had absolutely no fatigue. It is also a very reliable bike. It starts about 1st or second kick every time. The YZ 80 is a great bike for a person coming off of a TTR or any smaller four stroke. I would recommend it as a second bike. I love my YZ 80!
- me, nz, Alaska, Andorra

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-11 2001 Yamaha YZ80 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow, what a bike. It's been a while since I've rode a 2 stroke. The last was around a 96 YZ125. I wasn't so impressed with its power. I bought this for my son and the first time the powerband came in, I was like WOW! This thing spins the tire thru 4th gear easy and is just a pull like I can't explain. For my size with performance like that, it is saying something for this little bike. Hats off to Yamaha! This bike is a rocket!
- Aaron Roberts, Bloomington, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-27 2001 Yamaha YZ80 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. Though many people say not to learn on a two stroke, I went and bought one and I did. I had never even ridden a two stroke before. Luckily, I had someone to help me out so it went pretty smooth. It took me a while to learn how to start out but within a few minutes I got the hang of it. This bike is a great bike. It is so fast that I was afraid to take it out of second gear the first time I rode it. The powerband is amazing. Every time it hits the powerband, I find my whole body shifting towards the back of the seat. The comfort is great; I had absolutely no fatigue. It is also a very reliable bike. It starts about 1st or second kick every time. The YZ 80 is a great bike for a person coming off of a TTR or any smaller four stroke. I would recommend it as a second bike. I love my YZ 80!
- Peter Willette, Edina, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-21 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Previously a 2 stroke devotee - never thought a 4 stroke could deliver the performance of a 2 stroke - Wrong. Smooth predictable power and heaps of it! Starting? nothing difficult about it. Decompress just past top dead centre, return kickstart to top, release decompression lever and 1 committed fast kick. haven't had the opportunity to thoroughly test suspension - but experience so far tells me it's going to be good. This is easily the best bike I've ever owned.
- Rod, perth, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-28 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first dirt bike, motorcycle, and other than truck vehicle. Rode an old (1970's) 250 down the street twice many years ago and that's it prior to this. Obviously, comparison wise I cannot give a valid opinion but my observations were as follows: It was intimidating at first (Ocotillo wells) but got the hang of it quickly and within an hour was quite comfortable on this bike. INSANE POWER!!! Slowly working my way into the throttle after each ride I got to open it up with 1/2 throttle and my eyes sucked back into my head and the world shook. It seemed like I could easily blow other guys away with the power of this bike. Yet it was easy to handle, liked to stay straight, and is pretty light. I had no trouble picking it up or starting it; it was comfortable. Within a few rides, I was trying wheelies and skidding turns (I am sure there is a proper term for this). Seems easy to work on and pretty straightforward.
- AMC, san diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-20 2001 Yamaha YZ80 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2001 yz80 and I love it. It's so fast and it's insane on the tracks. I ride trails and tracks and I have fun all the time. Racing or trail riding, this bike is it.
- Jake Koonman, paxinos, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-20 2001 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has to be the best bike that I have ever owned. When I bought it a few months ago, it was bone stock except for a few add-ons here and there. This bike has a very powerful engine and I wouldn't plan to change anything. It is what you could say a wicked bike, it will keep up with the 05 CRF450 no problem and hill climbing on it is great. It's an all around great bike! Very Strong - No problems.
- Travis Coleman, Fedscreek, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-11 2001 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike second hand but the previouse owner took really good care of the bike and did NOT make any engine or performance upgrades and the bike still flys.
- ryaN, kentville, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-31 2001 Yamaha YZ80 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Dad just got me this bike and I love it! When I tried it out at the seller's house I was in first gear and when I hit the powerband the front wheel came right off the ground! Also my bike is totally stock! Hands down RIPPER!
- Cory Myer, Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-28 2001 Yamaha YZ426F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is sweet. It flies like no other. I am so excited to own this thing....if I were you I would go out and buy one right now...Yamaha rules!!
- Dirk Diggler, Winchestertonfieldville, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: